It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ANZCA primary exams (PEx): Recommended reading list
This page includes all books which are part of the recommended reading list for the ANZCA Primary exam.
Titles hyperlinked in crimson, can be accessed by clicking the heading.
Titles without a hyperlinked heading are available in hardcopy only and can be requested via the discovery service using the REQUEST PRINT LOAN link. You can access and request items from the complete list here.
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
Items can be requested by searching the ANZCA Library, selecting the item title and then selecting the [ Request Item for Loan ] button
Items available for loan include textbooks, CD-ROMs and DVDs
Requested items are delivered/returned via courier FREE-OF-CHARGE
When placing a request, first-time users will be required to create a password for their personalised Library Account
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
McGraw Hill e-Book issues: There is an ongoing issue with McGraw-Hill e-books, whereby some users are improperly authenticated when accessing content within the IP range of another institution that also subscribes to MGH e-books. This results in the user being being unable to access some titles.
Access to the above collections should be unaffected when authenticated outside the IP range of the affected institutions. This includes access from home and access from a mobile device using 4/5G (and not the institutions' Wi-Fi). Users with a pre-existing MyAccess login, can sign out of the affected collections, and sign in using their MyAccess credentials.
Check to make sure that it says Access Provided by: ANZCA in the top-right corner
Select the Sign in > Sign in or Create a Free MyAccess Profile from the dropdown [top-right corner]
Click the Create a Free MyAccess Account button
Complete the form and click the Create Profile button
ANZCA users requiring urgent access can submit chapter request/s via the Request an article service.
Beyond recommended reading
Candidates are advised that all examination questions are based on Learning Outcomes and that the great majority of information required is contained in the recommended texts. The most recent version of each of the following texts is the recommended text. However, some topics are only superficially covered in the textbooks and candidates are advised to draw on many resources as they study, in order to gain a deeper understanding of those areas that relate to everyday anaesthetic practice.
No specific textbook is recommended for the anatomy section of the syllabus, as any general text would be considered suitable. The following text could be consulted for more detailed information in specific areas.
Anatomy for Anaesthetists, 9e by Harold Ellis; Andrew LawsonThe text explores in depth those areas of particular interest to anaesthetists: the respiratory pathway, the heart, the vertebral canal and its contents, the peripheral nerves, the autonomic nervous system, and the cranial nerves, and also includes sections on the anatomy of pain and other zones of anaesthetic interest.
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology, 14e by John E. Hall, Michael E. Hall [eds]Known for its clear presentation style, single-author voice, and focus on content most relevant to clinical and pre-clinical students, Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology, 14e, employs a distinctive format to ensure maximum learning and retention of complex concepts. A larger font size emphasizes core information, while supporting information, including clinical examples, are detailed in smaller font and highlighted in pale blue - making it easy to quickly skim the essential text or pursue more in-depth study.
Principles of Physiology for the Anaesthetist, 4e by Peter Kam; Ian PowerThis book provides readers with an anaesthesia-focused alternative to general physiology textbooks. The new edition has been reorganised with the trainee anaesthesist in mind and includes the physiology of all major organ systems, with specific emphasis on the nervous, respiratory, and cardiovascular systems as well as special sections on pain, aging, specific environments and obesity
West's Respiratory Physiology: The Essentials, 11e by West, John B; Luks, Andrew MWest's Respiratory Physiology, 11e incorporates updates in many areas including blood-tissue gas exchange, mechanics, control of ventilation and the respiratory system under stress; all designed to aid clear understanding of pulmonary physiology. Clinical vignettes with questions emphasize how the physiology described can be applied to clinical situations, reinforcing reasoning and critical thinking. More than 100 USMLE-style multiple-choice questions with full explanations test reasoning skills for comprehension and exam preparation.
Nunn and Lumb's Applied Respiratory Physiology, 9e by Andrew B. LumbNunn and Lumb's Applied Respiratory Physiology, 9e, is your concise, one-stop guide to all aspects of respiratory physiology in health, disease, and in the many physiologically challenging situations and environments into which humans take themselves - with coverage from basic science to clinical applications.
Cardiovascular Physiology, 11e by Achilles J. Pappano; Withrow Gil WierGain a foundational understanding of cardiovascular physiology and how the cardiovascular system functions in health and disease. Cardiovascular Physiology, a volume in the Mosby Physiology Series, explains the fundamentals of this complex subject in a clear and concise manner, while helping you bridge the gap between normal function and disease with pathophysiology content throughout the book.
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, 15e by Bertram G. Katzung; Anthony J. TrevorPresented in full-colour and packed with hundreds of illustrations, Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, 15e is the wide-ranging, engaging guide students have counted on for decades. Organized to reflect the course sequence in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, the guide covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. This edition has been extensively updated to provide expanded coverage of transporters, pharmacogenomics, and new drugs.
Anesthetic Pharmacology: Basic Principles and Clinical Practice, 2e by Alex S. Evers; Mervyn Maze; Evan D. Kharasch [eds]Anesthetic Pharmacology: Basic Principles and Clinical Practice, 2e, is an outstanding therapeutic resource in anesthesia and critical care: Section 1 introduces the principles of drug action, Section 2 presents the molecular, cellular and integrated physiology of the target organ/functional system and Section 3 reviews the pharmacology and toxicology of anaesthetic drugs. The new Section 4, Therapeutics of Clinical Practice, provides integrated and comparative pharmacology and the practical application of drugs in daily clinical practice.
Pharmaceutics for the anaesthetist by RD MacPhersonAbstract
Pharmaceutics is that branch of science concerned with the manufacture and formulation of pharmaceutical products, and is a subject almost exclusively in the domain of pharmacists and those concerned with pharmaceutical manufacture. However, there are some aspects of pharmaceutics that are of particular importance to the anaesthetist, such as the pharmacology of the various preservatives, antimicrobials and other additives found in anaesthetic products, and an understanding of basic processes such as emulsification and lyophylisation. This review aims to survey those areas.
Publication Date: MacPherson RD. Pharmaceutics for the anaesthetist. Anaesthesia. 2001;56(10):965-979.
For more information about the Primary Exam (PEx), please visit the ANZCA Anaesthesia exams website.
AccessMedicine: Human anatomy modules
AccessMedicine now includes interactive modules allow for visualization of the human body in an interactive, 3D format where both male and female anatomy modules can be viewed. Choose a module and then utilize the options on the left-side of the screen to learn more about human anatomy.
Additionally, there a number of discrete anatomy tours for areas of the body including the brain, muscles and nerves, the spine and many more.
Basic Science for Anaesthetists, 2e by Sylva DolenskaThe aim of this book is to provide a concise and understandable review of the physics, mathematics, statistics, physiology and pharmacology of anaesthesia. There are several additional chapters relevant to the Primary FRCA examination. New topics covered include the ventilatory response to oxygen and carbon dioxide, which is now a core knowledge requirement, new concepts in cardiovascular physiology, receptor types and the molecular actions of anaesthetics.
Chestnut's Obstetric Anesthesia : Principles and Practice, 6e by Chestnut DH, et al.Comprehensive, user-friendly, and up to date, Chestnut's Obstetric Anesthesia: Principles and Practice, 6th Edition, provides the authoritative clinical information you need to provide optimal care to your patients. This substantially revised edition keeps you current on everything from basic science to anesthesia techniques to complications, including coverage of new research that is paving the way for improved patient outcomes.
Clinical Anesthesia, 8e by Barash, et al.Unmatched in its clarity and depth of coverage as well as its robust multimedia features, this classic clinical reference brings you the very latest essential knowledge in the field, equipping you to effectively apply today's standards of care and make optimal clinical decisions on behalf of your patients. Key Features: Apply the latest know-how with a new chapter on cardiovascular pharmacology, new coverage of autonomic pharmacology, a greatly expanded Clinical Updates section, updated coverage of occupational hazards, and many other important additions.
Essential Pharmacology for the ANZCA Primary Examination by Vesselin PetkovThis book is designed to assist in the preparation for sitting the pharmacology component of the primary examination of the Australian and New Zealand College of Anesthetists. The main aim is not to offer yet another heavy duty textbook but to organise the material that you would normally highlight in those texts into a practical and concise source of information.
Miller's Basics of Anesthesia, 8e by Manuel Pardo [ed]Long regarded as the undisputed leading text of its kind, Miller's Basics of Anesthesia provides comprehensive yet concise coverage of both basic science and clinical topics in anaesthesiology. Under the experienced editorial leadership of Dr. Manuel C. Pardo, Jr., the 8th Edition has been meticulously updated to reflect the latest advances in practice and important aspects of contemporary anaesthesia care, including pathophysiology, pharmacology, regional anaesthesia, anaesthetic management, and special problems and patient groups.
Oxford Handbook of Anaesthesia, 5e by Freedman R, Herbert L, O'Donnell A, Ross N [eds]Written for anaesthetists at all stages of their careers, from trainees sitting exams through to experienced consultants as well as ODPs and nurses involved in theatre area work and pre-assessment, this comprehensive guide to the anaesthetic world is as indispensable as ever. This new edition has been completely revised and brings you the most up-to-date guidance and information to keep pace with fast-moving areas of anaesthesia, including a completely revised regional anaesthesia chapter.
Ward's Anaesthetic Equipment, 6e by Anew J. DaveyWard's Anaesthetic Equipment is a highly accessible single source to aid understanding of the key principles behind equipment function and design. This sixth edition of the classic reference text on anaesthetic equipment is again extensively revised to reflect the very latest advances.
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Talk to us
We rely on your feedback to further develop and support the ANZCA library. Use the link below to provide content suggestions, as well as to make recommendations, report issues, and to give general feedback.
ANZCA acknowledges the traditional custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present, and emerging.
ANZCA acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.