How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Technical support" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
Anesthesiology In-Training Exam Review: Regional Anesthesia and Chronic Pain by
Focused on rotations in regional anesthesia and chronic pain, this book provides a structured review of the concepts covered in the American Board of Anesthesiology in-training exam. The first section of the book covers regional anesthesia with dedicated chapters on basic science, acute postoperative pain, and nerve blocks for neuraxial, lower and upper extremity blocks, and head and neck. The second section on chronic pain includes chapters on basic science and common pain conditions - including craniofacial pain, CRPS, neuropathic pain, and cancer pain. This section closes on multimodal analgesia and other treatment approaches.
Atlas of Functional Anatomy for Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine: Human Structure, Ultrastructure and 3D Reconstruction Images by
The Atlas of Functional Anatomy for Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine contains more than 1500 images of unsurpassed quality, most of which have never been published, including scanning electron microscopy images of neuronal ultrastructures, macroscopic sectional anatomy, and three-dimensional images reconstructed from patient imaging studies.
Atlas of Image-Guided Intervention in Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine, 2e by
The Atlas of Image-Guided Intervention in Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine, 2e is a practical guide for practitioners who perform interventional procedures with radiographic guidance to alleviate acute or chronic pain. The author provides an overview of each technique, with detailed full-colour illustrations of the relevant anatomy, technical aspects of each treatment, and a description of potential complications.
Atlas of Pain Management Injection Techniques, 5e by
The Atlas of Pain Management Injection Techniques, 5e, helps you master the key nerve blocks you need to know to successfully treat 200 common and uncommon pain syndromes. Focusing on the "how to" details of pain management injection techniques, this bestselling atlas by Dr. Steven D. Waldman equips you to deliver safe, accurate and cost-effective pain relief to your patients using the most clinically appropriate imaging modalities.
Atlas of Sonoanatomy for Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine by
A comprehensive full-color anatomical atlas designed specifically for the anesthesiologist and pain physician. A clear understanding of relevant anatomy is essential for physicians who wish to master ultrasound-guided nerve blocks.
Atlas of Ultrasound-Guided Procedures in Interventional Pain Management, 2e by
With a focus on anatomy and sonoantomy, this beautifully illustrated updated edition captures the latest advances in the rapidly growing field of ultrasound-guided pain medicine and MSK procedures. This atlas is divided into seven sections that provide an overview and focus on interventional approaches and advancements. Authored by international experts, each clinical chapter features a maximal number of instructive illustrations and sonograms and provides a description of sonoanatomy, instructions on performing the procedure and how to confirm appropriate needle placement.
Atlas of Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia, 3e by
Step-by-step videos and images, board-style review questions, and coverage of new blocks make this highly respected title a must-have reference for clinical practice. Written by Andrew T. Gray, MD, PhD, one of the pioneers of the use of ultrasound to guide needle placement, Atlas of Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia, 3e, shows you how to safely and effectively use the latest methods and applications of this technique.
Blockmate: A Practical Guide for Ultrasound Guided Regional Anaesthesia by
This is a highly informative and carefully presented book for trainees and postgraduate students of anaesthesiology as well as practicing clinicians. This book aims to help them in selecting and implementing the most suitable regional block in each clinical scenario and successfully use the techniques of ultrasound-guided regional anaesthesia (USRA) in their practice.
Brown's Atlas of Regional Anesthesia, 7e by
An ideal clinical reference and learning tool for anaesthesiologists, nurse anaesthetists, and pain management specialists, Brown's Atlas of Regional Anesthesia, 7e, helps you provide optimal, safe regional anesthesia to every patient. Step-by-step illustrations demonstrate each technique in a simple, easy-to-follow manner, providing unmatched guidance on administering a wide range of nerve block techniques in all areas of the body. New videos, new illustrations, and new chapters improve your knowledge and expertise in all areas of this fast-changing field.
Complications of Regional Anesthesia: Principles of Safe Practice in Local and Regional Anesthesia, 3e by
Reflecting the rapid growth of pain medicine and of ultrasound as a tool, this Third Edition is more comprehensive and inclusive than previous editions and features additional pages, tables, diagrams, and color illustrations. In addition to the discipline of Anesthesiology, other specialists, who use local and regional anesthesia techniques, (surgeons, ophthalmologists, emergency medicine physicians and dentists), have also contributed to this edition of the book.
Comprehensive Atlas of Ultrasound-Guided Pain Management Injection Techniques, 2e by
In recent years, ultrasound has become an essential tool for clinicians who care for patients suffering from acute or chronic pain. Comprehensive Atlas of Ultrasound-Guided Pain Management Injection Techniques, 2nd Edition, depicts in clear, step-by-step detail how to prepare and perform injections under ultrasound guidance.
Cousins & Bridenbaugh's Neural Blockade in Clinical Anesthesia and Pain Medicine, 4e by
This comprehensive, authoritative text presents the scientific foundations and clinical practice of neural blockade in both regional anesthesia and the management of pain. The Fourth Edition has been refined for clarity and flows logically from principles and pharmacology, to techniques for each anatomic region, to applications.
Decision-Making in Orthopedic and Regional Anesthesiology: A Case-Based Approach by
In light of evolving techniques and strategies for increasingly complex orthopaedic procedures, this accessible guide to patient management outlines the considerations involved in selecting the most suitable anaesthetic for both common and complex clinical scenarios. Chapters cover a multitude of clinical presentations and procedures, ranging from orthopaedic trauma to total joint replacement, outpatient hand procedures and regional anaesthetic placement in patients with pre-existing conditions.
Emergencies in Anaesthesia, 3e by
The updated third edition of Emergencies in Anaesthesia is a practical, accessible guide to all emergency situations encountered during, and immediately following, anaesthesia. Re-structured to follow the ABCDE emergency approach, this handbook guides the clinician through what to do and when, in a format that can be used rapidly.
Epidural Anaesthesia: Images, Problems and Solutions by
Epidural Anaesthesia: Images, Problems and Solutions brings together the most comprehensive collection of post-block epidurograms in the world into a single volume. With accompanying X-rays and contrast injection images, it clearly explains why an epidural block has failed and provides practical advice on how to avoid complications in the future. Key featuers: Contains over 180 clearly labelled X-rays and contrast injection images to help you learn using these examples. Uses X-rays and contrast injection images rather than more complext imaging technologies, to allow quick assessment of blocks in the most basic radiology department. Written by a world-renowned expert, providing consistency of style and approach throughout. Companion website contains downloadable images as well as moving X-rays of contrast injection, 3D reconstructions and explanatory cartoons. This unique book for specialist and trainee anaesthetists demonstrates, with simple X-rays and contrast injection, why epidurals are occasionally imperfect. Epidural Anaesthesia: Images, Problems and Solutions will enable you to refine your technique and avoid adverse outcomes in practice.
Essentials of Regional Anesthesia, 2e by
A guide to regional anesthesia. It covers various anatomical regions as well as the considerations in patients with chronic pain, obstetric patients, pediatric patients, and patients treated in the outpatient setting.
Hadzic's Peripheral Nerve Blocks and Anatomy for Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia, 3e by
Hadzic's is the most comprehensive colour guide to the procedures and equipment used in ultrasound guided nerve blocking. Colour drawings and photographs are bolstered by concise, step-by-step instruction from the world-renowned St. Luke's Hospital in New York. The Third Edition has been updated to include more international contributors, and better align the book's content with the New York School of Regional Anesthesia's (NYSORA) standards of practice.
Hadzic's Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management, 2e by
Presented in full color, this classic covers the theory and practice of regional anesthesia in its entirety, providing readers with both the physiologic principles and specific, state-of-the-art patient-management protocols and techniques. This second edition has been completely updated to reflect the profound advances in the field.
Interventional Pain: A Step-by-Step Guide to the FIPP Exam by
This comprehensive book serves as a review for the Fellow of Interventional Pain Practice (FIPP) exam and functions as a concise guide for all interventional pain doctors. Through educational initiatives, it helps to promote consensus-building among experts on the effectiveness of existing techniques and avenues for advancement of therapeutic performances.
Landmarks for Peripheral Nerve Blocks: Upper and Lower Extremities by
Designed for quick reference on the wards or in the operating room, this pocket-sized flip-book depicts the anatomic landmarks whose location is essential for successfully performing peripheral nerve blocks. Full-colour computer-generated drawings show surface anatomy and relevant deeper anatomic structures. Each chapter first presents basic anatomy including landmarks and then proceeds to brief descriptions of the most widely used blocks, as well as tips to troubleshoot problems and avoid complications.
Military Advanced Regional Anesthesia and Analgesia Handbook, 2e by
The second edition of Military Advanced Regional Anesthesia and Analgesia Handbook (MARAA) has been thoroughly revised and updated. This beautifully illustrated step-by-step guidance provides pertinent and practical guidance for managing vital acute pain services in all civilian and military clinical settings. Much of the book is devoted to step-by-step guidance on performing various regional anaesthesia nerve blocks organized by pertinent neuroanatomy, use of nerve stimulation, and use of ultrasound.
Multiple Choice Questions in Regional Anaesthesia, 2e by
This book is aimed at those studying for the European Society of Regional Anesthesia Diploma Examinations, regional anesthesia component of FRCA examinations, and exit examinations for regional anesthesia fellowships. It is also relevant to the regional anesthesia component of US Board examinations and the Canadian fellowships in regional anesthesia.
Nerve Blockade and Interventional Therapy by
This book provides physicians practicing at pain management clinics with comprehensive explanations of interventional therapeutic procedures including nerve blockade, as well as pharmacotherapy. Interventional therapeutic procedures including nerve blockade are categorized by devices into landmark ("blind"), X-ray-guided, ultrasound-guided, CT-guided, MR-guided, and endoscopic techniques.
Peripheral Nerve Blocks: A Color Atlas, 3e by
Thoroughly updated for its Third Edition, this full-colour atlas is a step-by-step guide to performing more than 60 peripheral nerve blocks, including those used in children. For each nerve block, the book provides detailed information about indications, patient positioning, needle size, drug selection, volume for infusion rate, anatomic landmarks, approach, and technique and offers tips for maximizing effectiveness and minimizing complications.
A Practical Approach to Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine, 5e by
Originally authored by Michael F. Mulroy, MD, this respected title has helped practitioners provide effective regional anesthesia for nearly 30 years. Now it has been retitled A Practical Approach to Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine to reflect the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education's recent establishment of Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine as an anesthesiology fellowship. This clinical reference has evolved with the many changes in this subspecialty to continue bringing you the up-to-date, clinically focused, hands-on guidance you need to offer your patients the best possible care.
A Practical Guide to Point of Care Ultrasound (POCUS) by
This book covers point of care ultrasound (POCUS) in a practical, problem oriented and illustrated manner. It begins with introduction to the basic principles of medical ultrasound imaging and ultrasound guided interventions and outlines point of care ultrasound in a lucid manner for rapid learning for medical students as well as practitioners. It contains chapters on ultrasound of the airways, thoracic ultrasound including lungs and transthoracic screening echocardiogram, vascular assessment, ultrasound of the abdomen for focussed trauma assessment, gastric volume assessment and ultrasound guided interventions such as vascular cannulations, pleurocentesis, etc. along with some of the latest point of care ultrasound techniques such as ocular assessment and assessment of the foetus and placenta in the operation theatre. This book will help the intensivist, emergency physician and anaesthesiologist to learn the basics of POCUS, which ostensibly, is the future of medical practice. It also includes objective structured clinical examination (OSCE) questions after every chapter as well as multiple choice questions (MCQs) that will benefit the students greatly. The book also includes videos from some of the celebrated practitioners of POCUS providing a unique learning experience. This book is suited for students, trainees and practitioners alike. The modules of POCUS described here are part of the curriculum of anaesthesiology in the UK, USA, Singapore, Australia/ New Zealand and most of the countries. The book also covers the curriculum of POCUS in critical care and emergency medicine courses.
Regional Nerve Blocks in Anesthesia and Pain Therapy: Imaging-guided and Traditional Techniques, 5e by
This comprehensive atlas, which includes a wealth of illustrations and anatomic pictures created by the editors, covers a broad range of both regional anesthesia and pain intervention techniques, including neuromodulation. The book is unique in that it covers ultrasound and fluoroscopic-guided techniques, as well as traditional landmark-guided techniques.
Steps to Successful Regional Anesthesia: Challenges and Solutions by
The book covers regional anesthetic techniques, featuring flowcharts, illustrations, and necessary instruments. It provides tips and tricks for adequate analgesia during surgical procedures, particularly coverage of dermatomal sparing, failed spinal/epidural, and anatomical variations. The chapters cover various aspects of regional anesthesia, including block-related anatomy, troubleshooting barriers to successful blocks, use of a tourniquet and regional anaesthesia in extremes of age. It includes a step-by-step approach helping readers visualize the procedure in real time. The book is an invaluable resource for practicing doctors in peripheral and central locations and postgraduates.
Transforaminal Full-Endoscopic Lumbar Surgery under the Local Anesthesia: State of the Art by
This book presents the latest devices and techniques in transforaminal full-endoscopic lumbar discectomy (TELD). This minimally invasive procedure can be used to treat various spinal conditions, such as herniated nucleus pulposus, discogenic pain, foraminal stenosis, lateral recess stenosis, and infection.
Trigeminal Nerve Pain: A Guide to Clinical Management by
Trigeminal Nerve Pain comprehensively covers how to manage patients with this often debilitating pain and is of use to trainees and practising internists, hospitalists, surgeons and anaesthesiologists seeking to increase their understanding of this complex condition.
Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia: A Practical Approach to Peripheral Nerve Blocks and Perineural Catheters by
Regional anaesthesia is a fast-growing field, fuelled by the application of ultrasound technology over the last decade. This book is a technique-oriented guide, which introduces the use of ultrasound technology with practical instruction in the placement of peripheral nerve blocks and continuous perineural catheters. Each procedure is summarized for quick, easy reference, and supplemented by ultrasound images, colour photos, and detailed illustrations.
Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine, 2e by
Get up-to-date on all of the techniques that are rapidly becoming today's standard of care with Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine, 2nd Edition. With this extensively revised edition, you'll see how the increased use of ultrasound for diagnosis and treatment of chronic pain and other medical conditions can transform your patient care.
Ultrasound Guided Regional Anesthesia, 2e by
Ultrasound technology is enabling anesthesiologists to perform regional anesthetic procedures with greater confidence in accuracy and precision. With improvements in visualizing neural anatomy and needle movement, ultrasound guidance improves patient safety and operating room efficiency. Ultrasound Guided Regional Anesthesia provides authoritative, in-depth coverage of ultrasound guided regional anesthesiafor the anesthesiologist beginning to use ultrasound and makes a great reference for the more seasoned physician.
Ultrasound in Peripheral, Neuraxial and Perineuraxial Regional Anaesthesia by
This comprehensive, highly didactic book on ultrasound-guided regional anesthesia (peripheral, neuraxial and perineuraxial nerve blocks) presents meticulously labelled images, diagrams and picture-in-picture samples and includes high-quality, vignetted illustrations that are consistent in style. The ultrasound images are outstanding and carefully selected to demonstrate the most clinically relevant situations. Importantly, they have a real-world appearance, including actual needle paths and desired disposition of injectate during nerve block procedures; most are from the original database of Dr. Eisenberg. All the supplementary material is authoritative and presented as an artful balance of years of clinical experience and a summary of the peer reviewed literature.
Vascular Anesthesia Procedures by
Vascular Anesthesia Procedures will review the essential topics of the field from vascular anatomy to common vascular procedures, anaesthetic techniques in general and regional anaesthesia, complications, perioperative patient monitoring, and post-operative management. Chapters are concise, up-to-date, evidence-based, and richly illustrated throughout.
For a comprehensive list of titles, see: Regional anaesthesia
Cousins & Bridenbaugh's Neural Blockade in Clinical Anesthesia and Pain Medicine, 4e by
This comprehensive, authoritative text presents the scientific foundations and clinical practice of neural blockade in both regional anesthesia and the management of pain. The Fourth Edition has been refined for clarity and flows logically from principles and pharmacology, to techniques for each anatomic region, to applications.
Hadzic's Peripheral Nerve Blocks and Anatomy for Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia, 3e by
Hadzic's is the most comprehensive colour guide to the procedures and equipment used in ultrasound guided nerve blocking. Colour drawings and photographs are bolstered by concise, step-by-step instruction from the world-renowned St. Luke's Hospital in New York. The Third Edition has been updated to include more international contributors, and better align the book's content with the New York School of Regional Anesthesia's (NYSORA) standards of practice.
MCQs in Regional Anaesthesia and Pain Therapy by
This revision guide provides essential information in a concise manner and targets trainees with an interest in regional anaesthesia who may be taking any MCQ-based exam in the specialty. Divided into nine clear chapters, it serves both as an overview and as examination practice.
Regional Anaesthesia: a Pocket Guide by
Regional Anaesthesia: A Pocket Guide is an essential companion to the practice of regional anaesthesia for consultants and trainees in the specialty. Filled with practical advice and carefully designed for ease of use, this book is the helpful aid to practice that anaesthetists have been waiting for.
Quick links
About ANZCA
Connect with us
ANZCA
FPM
Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.
Library
