This page contains information about accessing e-books and print books via the ANZCA Library, as well as linked list of selected books related to Safety and Quality.
How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Technical support" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
Anaesthetic Crisis Handbook by
This resource is for educational purposes as well as improving patient safety. It is aimed at a New Zealand audience and a resource for hospitals and staff local to my region to be able to access the resource.
Anaesthetic Crisis Manual by
The Anaesthetic Crisis Manual is a practical quick-reference handbook giving step-by-step instructions for the management of the most common anaesthetic crises encountered in the OR. 20 crisis management protocols cover all major scenarios that require immediate therapeutic intervention to prevent a catastrophic outcome, including cardiac arrest, acute haemorrhage, anaphylaxis, aspiration, LAT, acutely elevated airway pressure, difficult airway, CICV, malignant hyperthermia, neonatal resuscitation and paediatric life support, acute bronchospasm, air embolism, ACM ischaemia, hyperkalaemia, laryngospasm, maternal collapse, post-partum haemorrhage and transfusion reaction
Anesthesia and Uncommon Diseases, 6e by
Anesthesia and Uncommon Diseases, 6th Edition, brings you up to date with new information on less commonly seen diseases and conditions, including the latest evidence and management guidelines. This unique medical reference book is essential for a complete understanding of today's best options and potential difficulties in anesthesia.
Annual report 2015-16: Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care by 
Avoiding Common Anesthesia Errors, 2e by
The full-colour Avoiding Common Anesthesia Errors, significantly updated for this second edition, combines patient safety information and evidence-based guidance for over 300 commonly encountered clinical situations. With a format that suggests conversations between an attending and a trainee, the book helps you identify potential problems and develop a treatment plan to minimize the problem.
Complications in Anesthesia, 3e by 
Complications in Neuroanesthesia by
Complications in Neuroanesthesia focuses on complications that may arise related to neuroanesthesia practice and discusses its various causes. Each complication is written as a separate chapter, and the pathophysiology and mechanisms of each complication, as well as measures for diagnosis, treatment and prevention are discussed.
Complications of Regional Anesthesia: Principles of Safe Practice in Local and Regional Anesthesia, 3e by
Reflecting the rapid growth of pain medicine and of ultrasound as a tool, this Third Edition is more comprehensive and inclusive than previous editions and features additional pages, tables, diagrams, and color illustrations. In addition to the discipline of Anesthesiology, other specialists, who use local and regional anesthesia techniques, (surgeons, ophthalmologists, emergency medicine physicians and dentists), have also contributed to this edition of the book.
Crisis Management in Acute Care Settings: Human Factors and Team Psychology in a High-Stakes Environment, 3e by
This book is unique in providing a comprehensive overview of the human factors issues relevant to patient safety during acute care. By elucidating the principles of human behavior and decision-making in critical situations and identifying frequent sources of human error, it will help healthcare professionals provide safer, more effective treatment when dealing with emergencies characterized by uncertainty, high stakes, time pressure, and stress. The third edition has emerged from an ongoing synergistic relationship between clinicians and behavioral scientists on both sides of the Atlantic to update and enhance each chapter -- blending the strengths of the two professions into a readily accessible text. Among other improvements, readers will find sharper articulation of concepts and significantly more information on the organizational impact on individual and team performance. Crisis Management in Acute Care Settings is the required reference for all who are learning about, teaching, or providing acute and emergency healthcare. It will be of high value for undergraduate and graduate medical and nursing program&and offer a much-needed resource for those who use high-fidelity healthcare simulation to teach teamwork.
Crisis Management in Anesthesiology, 2e by
The fully updated Crisis Management in Anesthesiology continues to provide updated insights on the latest theories, principles, and practices in anaesthesiology. From anaesthesiologists and nurse anaesthetists to emergency physicians and residents, this medical reference book will effectively prepare you to handle any critical incident during anaesthesia.
Emergencies in Anaesthesia, 3e by
The updated third edition of Emergencies in Anaesthesia is a practical, accessible guide to all emergency situations encountered during, and immediately following, anaesthesia. Re-structured to follow the ABCDE emergency approach, this handbook guides the clinician through what to do and when, in a format that can be used rapidly.
Emergency Anesthesia Procedures by
Anesthesia emergencies can occur suddenly in the operating room or procedural areas, even with proper procedures and preparation. The anesthesia provider needs to be able to anticipate and quickly respond to these emergencies for a successful outcome. Checklists and cognitive aids can assist in predicting and quickly responding to an emergent event. Emergency Anesthesia Procedures describes the management of many of the anesthesia emergency events that can occur during a surgical procedure, and provides checklists and clearly defined steps designed to assist the reader during the management and response to an emergency. Each chapter provides symptoms and differential diagnoses as well as needed equipment and medications needed for a variety of emergent scenarios. Each chapter then presents a management strategy using clearly defined steps with tips on techniques to address the emergency, as well as how to address potential complications and pearls for success. As such, this book functions as a cognitive aid as well as an oral board review book and should appeal to established anesthesia providers as well as anesthesia providers in training.
The High-Risk Surgical Patient by
The aim of this book is to define and identify the clinical factors that warrant a broader and more detailed assessment of pre-operative surgical risk in difficult and unusual clinical settings. One of the sections is dedicated to the main pathway of peri- and post-surgical critical care based on the patient-specific deterioration risk and associated diseases; here, a panel of selected experts describes the correct patient-oriented pathways for complex or unscheduled surgical operations in order to reduce the operative risk. In addition, the book describes the latest trends in minimally invasive surgical techniques that are associated with peri- and post-operative risk reduction.
Hung's Management of the Difficult and Failed Airway, 4e by
A full-colour, case-based guide to effectively managing airway difficulties--updated to reflect the latest guidelines, devices, and techniques Written by the creators of the Difficult Airway Course: Anesthesia(tm) and presented in full-colon, this trusted resource covers the latest guidelines, leading-edge principles, tools, and procedures of airway assessment and management. Multidisciplinary in scope, the book encompasses the key areas of anesthesia, hospitalists, intensivists, emergency medicine, and paramedicine. Updated and revised, this fourth edition includes the most current review available of the many innovations that been introduced since publication of the previous edition. This is accompanied by a thorough review of the pharmacology of airway management designed to help you understand how to achieve the desired effects on ventilation and muscle strength. You'll find expert advice and strategies for treating patients in a range of settings, from pre-hospital care to the ER, as well as proven techniques for special patient populations. Hung's Management of the Difficult and Failed Airway, 4e features: Skill-building, case-based approach that highlights that the right tools and techniques Comprehensive review of the difficult or failed airway Chapter-ending questions that reinforce learning and allow you to assess your knowledge Dozens of airway management vignettes covering the intensive care unit, operating room, paediatric population, emergency room, and more .
Improving Anesthesia Technical Staff's Skills by
This book showcases state-of-the-art techniques as well as various clinical, technical and non-technical skills. By highlighting the reliability of the new techniques compared to standard clinical methods of predicting peri-operative problems in the operating rooms, it enables better management and utilization of operating rooms. The combined use of knowledge and technology has resulted in improvements in healthcare services that are not achieved by the use of the best technology but by the best use of technology.
Lean Six SIGMA for Hospitals: Simple Steps to Healthcare Quality and Patient Safety, 2e by
This thoroughly revised resource shows, step-by-step, how to simplify, streamline, analyse, and optimize healthcare performance using tested Lean Six Sigma and change management techniques. Lean Six Sigma for Hospitals, Second Edition, follows the patient from the front door of the hospital or emergency room all the way through discharge.
Making Healthcare Safe: The Story of the Patient Safety Movement by
This unique title provides a compelling and ground-breaking account of the patient safety movement in the United States, told from the perspective of one of its most prominent leaders, and arguably the movement's founder, Lucian L. Leape, MD. Covering the growth of the field from the late 1980s to 2015, Dr. Leape details the developments, actors, organizations, research, and policy-making activities that marked the evolution and major advances of patient safety in this time span.
McLaughlin and Kaluzny's Continuous Quality Improvement in Health Care, 52 by
Through a unique interdisciplinary perspective on health care quality and safety, McLaughlin & Kaluzny's Continuous Quality Improvement in Health Care, 5e covers the subjects of operations management, organizational behaviour, and healthcare service delivery. With a broad focus on both the philosophy and processes of Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI), the challenges of implementation and institutionalization are addressed using examples from a variety of health care organizations, including primary care clinics, public health departments, and academic health centers.Significantly revised and updated throughout, the Fifth Edition offers a greater focus on practical application and incorporates contributions from leading health care quality. Additionally, the text has been reorganized and streamlined into 14 chapters, in lieu of the prior edition's 20 chapters, to make it an even more effective teaching and learning tool. While being more applied and practical, it does so without sacrificing depth. Extensive citations and detailed examples help students to understand the rationale and the most recent research and practice evidence that underpins the new techniques described. The 5th Edition features:- Streamlined coverage for enhanced teachability.- New chapters on Implementation Science, Lean Six Sigma, and Understanding Variation, Tools and Data Sources for CQI in Health Care- Greater focus on application. For example, the new implementation science chapter includes an appendix describing how to apply implementation science.- Discussion of the Quadruple Aim of health care and impact on CQI; how Public Health has institutionalized CQI to ensure community health quality; how CQI has been more broadly adopted in Low to Middle Income Countries; and much more.
Medication Safety during Anesthesia and the Perioperative Period by
With medication errors in healthcare an internationally recognised problem, this much-needed book delivers a comprehensive approach to understanding medication safety in the perioperative period. It reviews what medication adverse events are, and how often and where these errors occur, as well as exploring human cognitive psychology and explaining why things can go wrong at any time in a complex system.
Obstetric Anesthesia and Uncommon Disorders, 3e by
A thoroughly revised third edition of the acclaimed textbook for caregivers involved in the management of pregnant women with uncommon diseases or an unusual or rare condition. The book offers valuable case reports and experience collated by an international team of editors and contributors who are leading experts in the field. This edition contains five additional chapters covering topics like cardiac and neuraxial point of care ultrasound, substance abuse, rare inherited conditions, and anesthesia for rare foetal and placental conditions. Clear, concise management guidelines and algorithms are provided, and each chapter is written from the viewpoint of the obstetric anaesthetist. Numerous tables, figures and photographs provide visual aids and each chapter contains valuable clinical insights highlighting the essential facts. Featuring updated figures and references, links to useful websites for further reading and a list of commonly used abbreviations.
Optimizing Widely Reported Hospital Quality and Safety Grades: An Ochsner Quality and Value Playbook by
This practical, engaging book provides concise, real life-tested guidance to healthcare teams concerned with widely reported and incentivized hospital quality and safety metrics, offering both a conceptual approach and specific advice and frameworks for reviewing quality and safety numerator events, from the perspective and experience of clinicians and administrators, working within the Ochsner Health System. The text opens with the rationale for closely managing widely (including publicly) reported hospital patient quality and safety measures. Attention is given to the financial implications of quality performance, with respect to both penalties and payment incentives used by payer organizations. It then reviews the major public ratings and their relevant methodologies, including CMS, AHRQ and NSHN. In addition, it addresses ratings by proprietary organizations that have a large member clientele, such as Vizient, USNews, Leapfrog, Healthgrades, CareChex and others. Each metric - for example, the AHRQ Patient Safety Indicators (PSIs), and other metrics such as readmission rate, risk adjusted complications, hospital-acquired conditions and mortality - is addressed in a stand-alone chapter. For each, the importance, approach to review, opportunity for optimization, and engagement of healthcare staff are reviewed and discussed. Overall, this book forefronts the benefits of a collaborative approach within a health system. The concurrent review process, multidisciplinary collaboration among quality improvement, clinical documentation, coding and medical staff personnel are all emphasized. Also described in detail is the approach to and specific opportunities for medical staff education and engagement. Additional key topics include Engagement of the Medical Staff and House Staff (i.e., residents and other trainees), Futile Care, Surgical Quality Improvement (NSQIP), Nursing Provider Partnership, and Translation of Data Review to Successful Performance Improvement. Specialty chapters on pediatric, neurologic and transplant quality metrics are also included.
Patient Safety and Quality Improvement in Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine by
An accessible and richly illustrated guidebook to the most important methodologies and frameworks for improving safety and quality, written specifically for clinicians in anaesthesia and perioperative medicine. The book begins with chapters on design and the use of simulation to set the stage for successful quality improvement (QI) efforts before providing an in-depth look at the individual tools, reporting and use of databases. The following chapters then discuss the use of these tools and theories in practical projects. Finally, the book considers the difficult topic of people, communication and behaviour, importantly addressing the human factors that can make or break QI efforts. The book skilfully blends expert knowledge and valuable examples from years of experience and trials from varied providers to demonstrate the successful paths to improve patient outcomes. For clinicians, nurses and trainees in anaesthesia and perioperative medicine seeking tools and strategies to lead and participate in QI projects.
Patient Safety and Quality Improvement in Healthcare: A Case-Based Approach by
This text uses a case-based approach to share knowledge and techniques on how to operationalize much of the theoretical underpinnings of hospital quality and safety. Written and edited by leaders in healthcare, education, and engineering, these 22 chapters provide insights as to where the field of improvement and safety science is with regards to the views and aspirations of healthcare advocates and patients.
Perioperative Mortality in New Zealand: Fifth report of the Perioperative Mortality Review Committee (the POMRC). Report to the Health Quality & Safety Commission New Zealand by
This report presents information on perioperative mortality in New Zealand during 2009–2013 for two new clinical areas: 30-day mortality following operations and procedures under general anaesthesia and day-of-the week mortality. As part of the POMRC’s continued surveillance of perioperative mortality over time, rates for a number of clinical areas and procedures included in previous reports are presented here for 2009–2014.
Perioperative Quality Improvement by
Perioperative Quality Improvement provides up-to-date, easy-to-read guidance for perioperative clinicians on this critical topic. Each chapter covers a pertinent area of QI in the perioperative setting, focusing on both concepts and implementation. Written and edited by key opinion leaders in the field, this text is a relevant, concise resource for anaesthesiologists, surgeons, nurse anaesthetists, and hospitalists-anyone involved in perioperative medicine regardless of specialty area. Explains concepts related to understanding the tools and techniques used in improving the quality of care, establishing a culture of quality, prioritizing areas of improvement, collecting and analysing data, communicating, motivating people to change, and performing ongoing evaluations.
Principles of Perioperative Safety and Efficiency by
Perioperative safety continues to be a global challenge. It is estimated that approximately 200 million surgical procedures are performed annually worldwide, and despite various national and global safety initiatives, perioperative adverse event rates remain alarmingly high. Although hospitals and governmental agencies impose safety standards and certification by organizations such as the Joint Commission, which can address issues of perioperative safety, many hospitals in developed, developing or underdeveloped countries lack the resources or knowhow to decrease perioperative adverse events. Filling a gap in the literature, this book teaches healthcare providers the basic principles of perioperative safety and efficiency, including checklists and processes to reduce adverse events.
Quality and Safety in Anesthesia and Perioperative Care by
Quality and Safety in Anesthesia and Perioperative Care offers practical suggestions for improving quality of care and patient safety in the perioperative setting. Chapters are organized into sections on clinical foundations and practical applications, and emphasize strategies that supportreform at all levels, from operating room practices to institutional procedures.
Quality Measures: The Revolution in Patient Safety and Outcomes by
This book offers the perspective of the healthcare provider and aims to fulfil the unmet need to educate other healthcare providers on recognizing quality measures and understanding how to achieve them to meet standards of quality care.
Quick Reference Handbook: Guidelines for Crisis in Anaesthesia by
The guidelines in this handbook are not intended to be standards of medical care. The ultimate judgement with regard to a particular clinical procedure or treatment plan must be made by the clinician in the light of the clinical data presented and the diagnostic and treatment options available.
Safer Healthcare: Strategies for the Real World by
The authors of this book set out a system of safety strategies and interventions for managing patient safety on a day-to-day basis and improving safety over the long term. These strategies are applicable at all levels of the healthcare system from the frontline to the regulation and governance of the system.
The SAGES Manual of Quality, Outcomes and Patient Safety by
In this thoroughly revised second edition of the frequently downloaded manual, The SAGES Manual of Quality, Outcomes, and Patient Safety. A panel of experts update and expand their survey of the many factors that influence quality in the world of surgery, surgical outcomes, and threats to patient safety. Among the highlights include a section devoted to threats to quality and outcomes and safety, such as surgeon wellness and burnout, disruptive behavior, second victims, the surgeon with declining skills, and maintaining quality in the setting of a crisis. Another all-new section focuses on surgical controversies, such as whether or not to use robotic surgical technology and whether or not it influences surgical outcomes; whether or not routine cholangiography reduces the common bile duct injury rate; whether or not having a consistent operating room team influences surgical outcomes, and whether a conflict of interest truly influences surgical quality. Further, this manual updates chapters on surgical simulation, teamwork and team training, teleproctoring, mentoring, and error analysis. State-of-the-art and readily accessible, The SAGES Manual of Quality, Outcomes, and Patient Safety, Second Edition will offer physicians strategies to maintain surgical quality in a rapidly changing practice environment the tools they require to succeed.
Surgical Patient Care: Improving Safety, Quality, and Value by
This book focuses exclusively on the surgical patient and on the perioperative environment with its unique socio-technical and cultural issues. It covers preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative processes and decision making and explores both sharp-end and latent factors contributing to harm and poor quality outcomes.
Textbook of Patient Safety and Clinical Risk Management by
Implementing safety practices in healthcare saves lives and improves the quality of care: it is therefore vital to apply good clinical practices, such as the WHO surgical checklist, to adopt the most appropriate measures for the prevention of assistance-related risks, and to identify the potential ones using tools such as reporting and learning systems.
Textbook of Patient Safety and Clinical Risk Management by
Implementing safety practices in healthcare saves lives and improves the quality of care: it is therefore vital to apply good clinical practices, such as the WHO surgical checklist, to adopt the most appropriate measures for the prevention of assistance-related risks, and to identify the potential ones using tools such as reporting and learning systems.
Understanding Patient Safety, 3e by
Understanding Patient Safety, 3e is the essential book for anyone seeking to learn the core clinical, organizational, and systems issues of patient safety. Written in an engaging and accessible style by one of the world's leading authorities on patient safety and quality, this full-color text is filled with valuable cases and analyses, as well as table, graphics, references, and tools.
Safety of Anaesthesia: A Review of Anaesthesia-related Mortality Reporting in Australia and New Zealand (2018-2020) by
The 12th triennial Safety of Anaesthesia report has been released and confirms that Australia and New Zealand continue to be incredibly safe countries in which to receive an anaesthetic.
Reflecting the college’s high training standards, and the use of modern airway management tools, data shows this triennium there were no reported Category 1 deaths caused by failures of airway management. Most reported Category 1 deaths related to anaphylaxis, and pulmonary aspiration or its sequalae.
Consistent with previous years, most reported anaesthesia-related deaths related to emergency surgery
(75 per cent). The medical condition of the patient also continued to be a major contributor of reported anaesthesia-related mortality.
Safety of Anaesthesia: A Review of Anaesthesia-related Mortality Reporting in Australia and New Zealand (2015-2017) by 
Safety of Anaesthesia: Review of Anaesthesia-related Mortality Reporting in Australia and New Zealand 2012-2014 by 
Safety of Anaesthesia: Review of Anaesthesia-related Mortality Reporting in Australia and New Zealand 2009-2011 by 
Safety of Anaesthesia: Review of Anaesthesia-related Mortality Reporting in Australia and New Zealand 2006-2008 by 
The Checklist Manifesto: How to Get Things Right by
Reveals the surprising power of the ordinary checklist now being used in medicine, aviation, the armed services, homeland security, investment banking, skyscraper construction, and businesses of all kinds.
Contents
The problem of extreme complexity
The checklist
The end of the master builder
The idea
The first try
The checklist factory
The test
The hero in the age of checklists
The save
Complications: A Surgeon's Notes on an Imperfect Science by
In gripping accounts of true cases, surgeon Atul Gawande explores the power and the limits of medicine, offering an unflinching view from the scalpel's edge. Complications lays bare a science not in its idealized form but as it actually is--uncertain, perplexing, and profoundly human. Complicationsis a 2002 National Book Award Finalist for Nonfiction.
Consent, Benefit, and Risk in Anaesthetic Practice [ACCESS VIA INTERNET ARCHIVE] by
Patients' expectations regarding involvement in their own healthcare have increased dramatically over the past few years. No longer is it acceptable for the doctor to dictate treatment; patients demand information regarding treatment options, and input into the selection of the most appropriate treatment plan.
Errors, Medicine and the Law by
Untoward injuries are unacceptably common in medical treatment, at times with tragic consequences for patients. The phrases 'an epidemic of error' and 'the medical toll' have been coined to describe this problem of 'iatrogenic harm', which it has been suggested may have contributed to 98,000 deaths per year in the US. Some of these incidents are the result of negligence on the part of doctors, but more usually they are no more than inevitable concomitants of the complexity of modern healthcare.
Managing Risks of Organizational Accidents by
This is a practical book aimed at those whose daily task it is to think about and manage or regulate the risks of hazardous technologies. The book is not targeted at any one domain, but attempts to identify general tools and principles that are applicable to all organizations facing dangers of one sort or another.
Patient Safety, 2e by
When you are ready to implement measures to improve patient safety, this is the book to consult. Charles Vincent, one of the world's pioneers in patient safety, discusses each and every aspect clearly and compellingly. He reviews the evidence of risks and harms to patients, and he provides practical guidance on implementing safer practices in health care.
Safer Surgery: Analysing Behaviour in the Operating Theatre by
Owing to rising concern about patient safety, surgeons and anaesthetists have looked for ways of minimising adverse events. Clinicians have encouraged behavioural scientists to bring research techniques used in other industries into the operating theatre in order to study the behaviour of surgeons, nurses and anaesthetists. Safer Surgery presents one of the first collections of studies designed to understand the factors influencing safe and efficient surgical, anaesthetic and nursing practice.
Safer Surgery for Africa: Challenges and Solutions by
Almost everyone will need surgery in their lifetime, but in Africa nearly 95% of the population do not have affordable surgery and anaesthesia.
More people die after surgery than from HIV, TB, and malaria combined.
In Africa, adults are twice as likely to die after surgery, and for children that number rockets to eleven. Mothers who need caesarean sections face the greatest risk: the mortality rate is fifty times higher than high-income countries. Most of these deaths do not happen in the operating theatre, but on the ward during recovery.
Through extensive research and personal narratives from physicians across the continent, Professor Bruce Biccard provides a history of death and surgery, describes the current state of surgery in Africa, and presents two models for improving surgical care and outcomes.
Fortunately, the solutions are simple and cost-effective, but making them happen has never been easy; even the basic hygiene we now take for granted was once met with resistance. So Bruce presents a manifesto for surgical health, showing us all how to make the world a healthier place.
Standards and Recommendations for Safe Perioperative Practice, 5e by
The fifth edition of AfPP’s benchmark publication has been revised and updated for 2022. Following the launch of the Standards and Recommendations Online in January, the printed version is now also available to buy.
Written by practitioners for practitioners, ‘Standards and Recommendations for Safe Perioperative Practice’ is the essential reference tool for all theatre departments. It provides comprehensive guidance on evidence-based best practice and minimising risk in and around the operating theatre.
The college acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present and emerging.
The college acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Te Tiriti o Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
The college recognises the special relationship between the Pacific peoples of New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific, and is committed to supporting those fellows and trainees of ANZCA, and improving the health of Pacific peoples.
Library
