This page contains information about accessing e-books and print books via the ANZCA Library, as well as linked list of selected books related to Anaesthesia & Critical Care in Unusual & Transport Environments.
How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Webmaster (technical issues)" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
Anesthesia Outside the Operating Room, 2e by
Anesthesia Outside of the Operating Room is a comprehensive, up-to-date textbook that covers all aspects of anesthesia care in OOR settings, from financial considerations to anaesthetic techniques to quality assurance. With increasing numbers of procedures such as cardiac catheterization and imaging taking place outside of the main OR, anesthesia providers as well as non-anesthesia members of the patient care team will find this book critical to their understanding of the principles of anesthesia care in unique settings which may have limited physical resources.
Annual Update in Intensive Care and Emergency Medicine 2022 by
The Annual Update compiles reviews of the most recent developments in clinical intensive care and emergency medicine research and practice in one comprehensive book. The chapters are written by well recognized experts in these fields. The book is addressed to everyone involved in intensive care and emergency medicine, anesthesia, surgery, internal medicine, and pediatrics.
Auerbach's Wilderness Medicine, 7e by
Now in its 7th edition, Auerbach's Wilderness Medicine continues to help you quickly and decisively manage medical emergencies encountered in any wilderness or other austere setting! This indispensable resource equips physicians, nurses, advanced practice providers, first responders, and rescuers with the essential knowledge and skills to effectively address and prevent injuries and illnesses - no matter where they happen!
Cases in Paediatric Critical Care Transfer and Retrieval Medicine by
This highly illustrated book covers a multitude of clinical presentations in a case-based format to allow an authentic feel to the transfer process. Written by clinicians with experience in thousands of transfers, it brings together many years of experience from a world-renowned hospital. Following the case from initial presentation, to resuscitation and referral and finally with the transfer itself; the book explores the clinical stabilisation, human factors decisions and logistical challenges that are encountered every day by these teams.
Cases in Pre-Hospital and Retrieval Medicine, 2e by
This highly regarded case-based book focuses on the principles of pre-hospital and retrieval medicine and the continuum of care provided for critically ill or injured patients in the field. The second edition has been extensively re-written and updated to keep up with the rapidly expanding sub-speciality of Pre-Hospital and Retrieval Medicine (PHRM)/Pre-Hospital Emergency Medicine (PHEM). Written by leading specialists in PHRM, each question and discussion is usually illustrated with a photograph from author archives and real events. The cases are divided into the following themes: pre-hospital medicine; retrieval medicine; service development and special circumstances; and a new section on Paediatric and Neonatal retrieval.
Ciottone's Disaster Medicine, 3e by
Ciottone's Disaster Medicine, 3e, is the most comprehensive reference available to help accomplish these goals in every community. It thoroughly covers isolated domestic events as well as global disasters and humanitarian crises. Dr. Gregory Ciottone and more than 200 worldwide authorities share their knowledge and expertise on the preparation, assessment, and management of both natural and man-made disasters, including lessons learned by the responders to contemporary disasters such as the COVID-19 pandemic, Australian and western U.S. wildfires, European heatwaves, the Beirut explosion, recent hurricanes and typhoons, and the global refugee crisis.
Current Diagnosis & Treatment: Occupational & Environmental Medicine, 6e by
An updated and comprehensive guide to occupational and environmental injuries and illnesses, their diagnosis and treatment, and preventive measures in the workplace and community. Complete and concise, this clinically focused book is the go-to reference for health care professionals in all specialties who diagnose and treat acute and chronic occupational and environmental injuries and illnesses.
Emergencies in Anaesthesia, 3e by
The updated third edition of Emergencies in Anaesthesia is a practical, accessible guide to all emergency situations encountered during, and immediately following, anaesthesia. Re-structured to follow the ABCDE emergency approach, this handbook guides the clinician through what to do and when, in a format that can be used rapidly.
Emergency Medicine: The Principles of Practice, 7e by
This premier text offers accessible evidence-based clinical management and treatment advice that can be incorporated seamlessly into the daily demands of the emergency medicine environment. The comprehensive scope of content coverage ensures readers - both students and clinicians - are well equipped with the practical nous to succeed in the demanding world of emergency medicine.
Emergency Ultrasound Made Easy, 3e by
This simple, jargon-free text fits in your pocket, providing an 'on-the-spot' guide to clinician-performed ultrasound in the emergency department, intensive care unit or in the field. Written by an international team of experts and comprehensively updated in its third edition, Emergency Ultrasound Made Easy brings together in one volume the latest indications for focused ultrasound, including those related to the COVID-19 pandemic. The text is highly accessible and easy to use in an emergency. It is aimed at the rapidly expanding cohort of non-radiologist clinical sonographers who use focused ultrasound. However, its broad scope (for example using ultrasound in the rapid diagnosis of DVT) makes it an invaluable addition to the library of any doctor with an interest in the technique, whether in primary care or the hospital setting. Simple to read and follow Free of jargon Fast step-by-step guide to ultrasound procedures Clear diagrams Tips and pitfalls to avoid Multiple accompanying videos featuring examples of ultrasound in clinical practice New chapter on the use of ultrasound in small anatomical structures such as the eyes and testes New chapter on paediatric ultrasound Respiratory chapter updated to include COVID-19 Multiple accompanying videos featuring examples of ultrasound in clinical practice New chapter on the use of ultrasound in small anatomical structures such as the eyes and testes New chapter on paediatric ultrasound Respiratory chapter updated to include COVID-19
Essentials of Disaster Anesthesia by
This concise guide brings together the views and knowledge of experienced responders to offer a much-needed review of the essential elements of anaesthesia and intensive care for disasters and austere environments. Combining academic theory and practical advice, the book covers topics such as emergency and trauma surgery; airway management; chemical, biological and radiological exposure; personal protective equipment; and the psychological impact of working in the operating room in disaster situations.
Field Guide to Wilderness Medicine, 5e by
Based on Dr. Auerbach's renowned Wilderness Medicine text, Field Guide to Wilderness Medicine, 5e, is your portable, authoritative guide to the full range of medical and emergency situations that occur in non-traditional settings. Useful for experienced physicians as well as advanced practice providers, this unique medical guide covers an indispensable range of topics in a well-illustrated, highly condensed format for quick access anytime, anywhere.
Improvised Medicine: Providing Care in Extreme Environments, 2e by
Comprehensive yet compact, practical, and enduring, Improvised Medicine: Providing Care in Extreme Environments, Second Edition, is the one book to toss into your bag when going to practice medicine in global, disaster, or other resource-poor settings, including theaters of war, regions of civil unrest, and economically deprived areas.
In-Flight Medical Emergencies: A Practical Guide to Preparedness and Response by
This book functions as a practical guide for health care professionals encountering medical emergencies during a commercial flight. A second edition to its successful predecessor, this text covers the most common emergencies encountered during flight, both general medical emergencies and those specifically tied to the effects of flying, including cardiac, respiratory, and neurological issues. Medicolegal issues are considered in depth for both United States domestic and international flights, as there is potential legal risk involved in giving medical assistance on a flight. This new edition includes expanded and updated original chapters revised based on available new research material. Additional chapters examine how to handle disruptive passengers experiencing acute behavioral issues during flight, emerging infectious diseases. This issue is particularly relevant due to COVID-19, specifically concerning the anxiety and readjustment challenges of resuming everyday travel. This edition includes a new chapter recounting the history of the handling of in-flight medical events. In-Flight Medical Emergencies, 2nd ed functions as an essential resource for physicians and all healthcare professionals who travel regularly.
Management of Track and Field Injuries by
This volume offers a comprehensive guide to the prevention, management of injury, risk factor mitigation, and rehabilitation in track and field athletes. It serves as a valuable resource for the sports medicine community, including surgeons, sports medicine physicians, physical therapists, and athletic trainers.
Manual of Definitive Surgical Trauma Care: Incorporating Definitive Anaesthetic Trauma Care, 5e by
The Manual of Definitive Surgical Trauma Care 5e, is ideal for training all surgeons who encounter major surgical trauma on an infrequent basis. The increasing role of non-operative management (NOM) has been recognised and the Military Module is substantially updated to reflect recent conflict experience. An expanded section highlights trauma management under austere conditions. Written by faculty who teach the DSTC Course, this definitive and well established book focuses on life-saving surgical techniques to use in challenging and unfamiliar incidents of trauma.
Mechanical Ventilation in Emergency Medicine, 2e by
This book functions as both an introduction and a refresher of fundamental mechanical ventilation concepts. It reviews the core evidence-based principles of ventilation and focuses on this topic as it occurs in the emergency setting, covering the management from intubation until transfer to the ICU. Comprehensive and concise, this second edition features updated new material on blood gas analysis, advanced modes of ventilation, as well as a completely revamped chapter on the ventilator screen, and five new case studies.
Medicine for the Outdoors: The Essential Guide to First Aid and Medical Emergencies, 6e by
Since 1986, Medicine for the Outdoors has been hailed as the definitive take-along manual on the subject. Packed with step-by-step instructions and how-to explanations, this updated edition tells you the best way to respond to just about any medical problem. Logically organized, simple-to-understand enhanced illustrations and an increased focus on new topics mean this medical reference book may literally save your life. Whether you're venturing into mountains, deserts, forests, or out to sea, it belongs in your pack!
Military Advanced Regional Anesthesia and Analgesia Handbook, 2e by
The second edition of Military Advanced Regional Anesthesia and Analgesia Handbook (MARAA) has been thoroughly revised and updated. This beautifully illustrated step-by-step guidance provides pertinent and practical guidance for managing vital acute pain services in all civilian and military clinical settings. Much of the book is devoted to step-by-step guidance on performing various regional anaesthesia nerve blocks organized by pertinent neuroanatomy, use of nerve stimulation, and use of ultrasound.
Non-Operating Room Anesthesia by
The demand for anesthesiologists outside of the operating room continues to grow as the number of minimally invasive procedures proliferates and the complexity of diagnostic procedures undertaken outside of the OR increase. Non-Operating Room Anesthesia is an easy-to-access, highly visual reference that facilitates an in-depth understanding of NORA procedures and protocols needed to minimize risk and complications and to maximize growth opportunities. "In this book, Drs. Mark Weiss and Lee Fleisher have provided an important tool to address both the challenges and opportunities for anesthesiologists in providing non-operating room anesthesia (NORA) care."
Office Based Anesthesia Complications: Prevention, Recognition and Management by
This text provides detailed methods to allow the surgeon and anesthetist to risk stratify patients as well as prevent, recognize and manage the most common anesthesia related complications in office-based settings.
Out of Operating Room Anesthesia: A Comprehensive Review by
This book covers all aspects of out of operating room anesthesia and deep sedation practice. The practical aspects of anesthesia are emphasized, with particular stress on management of un-anticipated adverse events. A concise, yet comprehensive description of relevant basic sciences is also included. Although the contributors are predominantly North American, essential elements of out of OR practice in countries other than the USA are incorporated. Situations like those that contributed to the death of Joan Rivers are addressed with particular emphasis on their recognition, prevention and management. The importance of safety as the key element in providing anesthesia in remote or unfamiliar areas is highlighted and discussed. A lack of accurate documentation is a major drawback in out of OR anesthesia practice and the reader is drawn to the importance of documentation, both from a practical and medico legal standpoint. A separate chapter deals with research and future directions in out of OR anesthesia. Out of Operating Room Anesthesia: A Comprehensive Review, is primarily aimed at all anesthesia providers: anesthesiologists, nurse anesthetists and residents. Specific chapters such as dental anesthesia, anesthesia for ER procedures and sedation for cosmetic procedures will be useful as a reference guide to physicians exposed to brief training in anesthesia during their non-anesthesia residency program.
Pain Control in Ambulatory Surgery Centers by
This book provides a comprehensive review of the, challenges, risk, stratification, and approaches and techniques needed to improve pain control in ambulatory surgery centers (ASCs). It addresses not only the management of acute perioperative pain but also describes modalities that could potentially reduce the risk of evolution of acute pain into chronic pain, in addition to weaning protocols and follow ups with primary surgical specialties and pain physicians as needed.
Pediatric Imaging for the Emergency Provider by
Written specifically for the non-specialist and those with limited paediatric training, Pediatric Imaging for the Emergency Provider provides expert guidance in this challenging area. Abundant high-quality imaging examples cover the full range of paediatric disorders you're likely to see, including trauma, musculoskeletal, pulmonary, ENT, cardiac, genitourinary, gastroenterology, neurological, and neonatal patients. Presents more than 80 common and important rare cases, supported with 450+ images across relevant modalities including ultrasound, radiography, CT, and MRI.
Pediatric Sedation Outside of the Operating Room: A Multispecialty International Collaboration, 3e by
Third edition of a multidisciplinary reference that features an international authorship and is also of use for a broad range of specialists who deliver paediatric sedation in the non-OR setting.
Practical Ambulatory Anesthesia by
This combination of authoritative evidence-based guidance and personal advice ensures the reader benefits from the latest scientific knowledge and the authors' wealth of experience. Chapters discuss how to plan, equip and staff an ambulatory unit, pharmacology, key concepts of ambulatory care, pre- and post-operative issues, quality assurance, and current controversies.
A Practical Guide to Point of Care Ultrasound (POCUS) by
This book covers point of care ultrasound (POCUS) in a practical, problem oriented and illustrated manner. It begins with introduction to the basic principles of medical ultrasound imaging and ultrasound guided interventions and outlines point of care ultrasound in a lucid manner for rapid learning for medical students as well as practitioners. It contains chapters on ultrasound of the airways, thoracic ultrasound including lungs and transthoracic screening echocardiogram, vascular assessment, ultrasound of the abdomen for focussed trauma assessment, gastric volume assessment and ultrasound guided interventions such as vascular cannulations, pleurocentesis, etc. along with some of the latest point of care ultrasound techniques such as ocular assessment and assessment of the foetus and placenta in the operation theatre. This book will help the intensivist, emergency physician and anaesthesiologist to learn the basics of POCUS, which ostensibly, is the future of medical practice. It also includes objective structured clinical examination (OSCE) questions after every chapter as well as multiple choice questions (MCQs) that will benefit the students greatly. The book also includes videos from some of the celebrated practitioners of POCUS providing a unique learning experience. This book is suited for students, trainees and practitioners alike. The modules of POCUS described here are part of the curriculum of anaesthesiology in the UK, USA, Singapore, Australia/ New Zealand and most of the countries. The book also covers the curriculum of POCUS in critical care and emergency medicine courses.
Prehospital Emergency Medicine Secrets by
Prehospital Emergency Medicine Care Secrets is an all-new addition to this popular series, offering practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This new resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable.
Prehospital Trauma Care by
Encompasses all aspects of emergency medicine--triage assessment and treatment, anesthesia, intensive care, psychiatry, health and military disasters, burns, shock, and surgery. Written by over 70 distinguished international experts and considers geographic and cultural perspectives in trauma care.
Retrieval Medicine (OSH) by
Retrieval Medicine is the practice of acute, emergency, and critical care medicine in the ‘transport’ environment This handbook covers the complex problems in the retrieval environment. It covers retrieval systems, governance, and coordination; the retrieval environment; and retrieval platforms, as well as equipment. It also involves crisis resource management.
Rosen's Emergency Medicine: Concepts and Clinical Practice, 10e by
The fully revised 10th Edition delivers practical, evidence-based knowledge and specific recommendations from clinical experts in a clear, precise format, with focused writing, current references, and extensive use of illustrations to provide definitive guidance for emergency conditions.
Simulation in EMS and Critical Care Transport by
This book provides a standard for all Emergency Medicine Services (EMS) agencies and Critical Care Transport (CCT) programs to follow as they conduct simulation training for their crew members. Simulation-based education for pre-hospital training and skill maintenance is now standard and there is a growing need for this this type of training tool. This title is an invaluable resource for EMS and CCT educators who aim to facilitate high quality simulations within their programs. The text provides guidance for running a successful simulation, including scenario charts and debriefing tips and topics. Included are over 30 simulation scenarios, broken into appropriate scope of practice for EMTs, paramedics, and critical care transport crews where applicable. The book's format is such that it can be followed to create a plan for simulation training. The first section provides a guide to using the text successfully and a concise overview of the theories and best practices of simulation-based education and debriefing. Next, clinical scenarios are presented by topic, including general care, cardiology, respiratory, neurology, trauma, obstetrics, pediatrics and toxicology. Each section offers specific disease-based simulation scenarios, including supporting imaging, physical exam, and laboratory data for the EMS and CCT community to use as part of their training and education. There are also suggested learning objectives, critical actions, and debriefing topics for each scenario. This resource is not designed with a specific simulation platform in mind and can be adapted to both low- and high-fidelity simulation settings. This book is a must-have resource for emergency medicine services agencies, critical care transport programs, and educators who work with pre-hospital providers.
Squid's Little Pink Book: A Pocket Guide for Emergency Doctors by
This book is specifically written and designed for the pocket and to be carried everywhere by the busy emergency doctor. It is for quick reference and memory jogging when standing at a patient's bedside postulating a diagnosis. It is for those panicked moments when you feel out of control or when you just need a friend to back you up. It is to be your guide to the questions you need to already have answered before you make the consult and get grilled by the specialty team.
Textbook of Acute Trauma Care by
This book provides a systemic approach to acute trauma care in line with the ABCDE paradigm and up-to-date information on assessing and managing major trauma from the pre-hospital to the rehabilitation phase. The Textbook of Acute Trauma Care also focuses on non-clinical issues relevant to trauma such as training and logistics of retrieval and repatriation, aviation considerations in HEMS, legal and forensic evidence considerations and ethical issues dealing with trauma patients.
Textbook of Adult Emergency Medicine, 5e by
This fully revised Fifth Edition provides clear and consistent coverage of this constantly evolving specialty. Building on the success of previous editions it covers all the major topics relevant to the practice of emergency medicine. The book will prove invaluable to professionals working in this setting - including nurse specialists and paramedics - who require concise, highly practical guidance, incorporating the latest best practice and evidence-based guidelines.
Understanding Telehealth by
From email to videoconferencing, telehealth puts real-time healthcare solutions at patients' and clinicians' fingertips.Written by past presidents of the American Telemedicine Association, Understanding Telehealth explains how clinical applications leveraging telehealth technology are optimizing healthcare delivery.
Vascular Neurosurgery in Environments with Limited Resources by
Embark on a transformative journey with this groundbreaking guide tailored for seasoned neurosurgeons in developed countries. This book serves as a compass for those inspired to extend their expertise to resource-constrained settings, elevating the standards of cerebrovascular surgery in developing nations. Beyond surgical techniques, it addresses intercultural nuances, language barriers, and the challenges of bridging the medical divide. This is not just a guide; it's a call to action, urging experts to actively share their knowledge with neurosurgeons in less privileged environments.
For a comprehensive list of titles, see: Anaesthesia & critical care in unusual & transport environments
The Ambulatory Anesthesia and Perioperative Analgesia by
This comprehensive guide, from one of the country's top training centers, offers expert guidance on clinical procedures in anesthesia. Perfect as a training manual, clinical reference, and management guide for ambulatory clinics, this text features coverage of the essential topics of office and patient management, vital to success in ambulatory surgeries.
Anesthesia Outside the Operating Room, 2e by
Anesthesia Outside of the Operating Room is a comprehensive, up-to-date textbook that covers all aspects of anesthesia care in OOR settings, from financial considerations to anaesthetic techniques to quality assurance. With increasing numbers of procedures such as cardiac catheterization and imaging taking place outside of the main OR, anesthesia providers as well as non-anesthesia members of the patient care team will find this book critical to their understanding of the principles of anesthesia care in unique settings which may have limited physical resources.
The college acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present and emerging.
The college acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Te Tiriti o Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
The college recognises the special relationship between the Pacific peoples of New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific, and is committed to supporting those fellows and trainees of ANZCA, and improving the health of Pacific peoples.
Library
