Library resource guides: Anaesthesia & critical care in unusual & transport environments: Apps, podcasts & online lectures

Guide index

Related guides

Apps

Wellbeing apps

Podcasts

Related websites

iMedicalApps (reviews of medical apps & healthcare technology)

iTunes (medical category)

Google Play (medical category)

AudioDigest Spotlight

Users must register prior to listening.

Challenges of Anesthesia Care During Flight (14 Sep 2024)
The goal of this program is to improve management of medical emergencies on airplanes, spaceships, and space stations.
Emergencies in Non-Operating Room Anesthesia (NORA) (14 Oct 2023)
The goal of this program is to improve outcomes in non-operating room anesthesia (NORA) settings by identifying challenges, removing hazards, and developing strategies and procedures.
When Things Go Wrong at the Independent Ambulatory Surgery Center (21 Apr 2023)
This program aims to improve surgical outcomes in ambulatory surgery centers (ASCs), including identifying patients who are good candidates for surgery and ensuring ASC requirements are fulfilled.
Preparing for Unexpected Emergency Cardiac Events in Ambulatory Surgery (7 Feb 2023)
This program is to improve emergency management at ambulatory surgical centres, and includes recognising the symptoms of oculocardiac reflex and medications to treat local aanesthetic systemic toxicity.
Types of Cases or Patients for Ambulatory Surgery: Is There Danger in Pushing the Envelope? (7 Jan 2023)
This program aims to improve appropriate selection of patients for ambulatory surgery.
Surprise Difficult Airways in Remote Locations (28 Jun 2022)
This program aims to improve the success rates of intubation performed in remote locations. It also considers the effects of anatomic factors when choosing a rescue technique for a patient with a difficult airway.
Ultrasonography in Acute Care Anesthesiology (21 Mar 2022)
This program aims to improve the use of ultrasonography in acute care (identify cardiac tamponade, lung injuries, elevated intracranial pressure).
Anesthesia for Trauma and Burns in Adults and Children (21 Feb 2022)
The program aims to improve anesthesia in patients with trauma and burns, including treatment in the ED and prehospital setting.
Combat Anesthesiology (7 Jan 2022)
This program is to improve practice of combat anaesthesiology, examines medical emergency response team strategies, field intubation and pre-hospital airway management.
Anesthesia for the Pediatric Outpatient (21 Jul 2021)
The program aims to improve pre-, peri- and postoperative care in paediatric outpatient surgery (OS).
Guidelines and Considerations for Ambulatory Anesthesia (7 Jun 2021)
This program aims to identify candidates for ambulatory surgery and anesthesia, and includes summaries of the impacts of obesity, obstructive sleep apnea, cardiac disease, and age on outcomes.
Regional Anesthesia In the Emergency Department (21 Dec 2020)
This program aims to improve pain management in the emergency department using regional anesthesia.
Ensuring Appropriate Patient Selection for Ambulatory Surgery: A Case Study (28 Sep 2020)
This program aims to improve safety in outpatient surgery, and includes applying appropriate exclusionary criteria and protocols for the assessment of children.

Fully updated 2023/4 collection now available.

AudioDigest Anesthesiology Collection [App] This link opens in a new window
AudioDigest provides instant online and mobile access to 250+ accredited anaesthesiology, pain medicine and critical care audio lectures presented by experts from leading institutions, bringing clinicians a convenient continuing medical education (CME/CE) experience. Each lecture includes: objectives, pre-test Q&A, summary & readings, post-test Q&A, evaluation.

Free registration required to access
See our dedicated AudioDigest guide for more information including full registration and access details

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under the Knowledge and skills Learning sessions activity. Use the Audio-Digest My Transcript feature to track completed activities.

Podcasts

Recommended podcasts are listed below. Additional information about podcasts can be found on the Podcasts library guide.

CoROM Cast. Wilderness, Austere, Remote and Resource-Limited Medicine
The College of Remote and Offshore Medicine (CoROM) releases a new podcast each Friday discussing wilderness medicine, austere healthcare and emergency medicine.
CoRom Cast (Spotify)
CoRom Cast (iOS/Apple)

Pre-Hospital Care Podcast
This podcast is designed to have engaging and inspirational conversations with some of the worlds leading experts in or relating to pre-hospital care. We hope you take a lot from the conversations both from a technical and non-technical perspective.
Pre-Hospital Care Podcast (Spotify)
Pre-Hospital Care Podcast (iOS/Apple)

The Prehospital Emergency Care Podcast
This is the Prehospital Emergency Care Podcast, the official Podcast for the National Association of EMS Physician's (NAEMSP) journal, Prehospital Emergency Care. This bimonthly podcast contains in-depth interviews with manuscript authors and engaging commentary.
The Prehospital Emergency Care Podcast (Spotify)
The Prehospital Emergency Care Podcast (iOS/Apple)