This page contains the various e-books recommended throughout the rest of this guide, plus a number specific journals recommended for trainees.
For exam-specific texts, please refer to the assessment tab.
Guide index
Library > Library guides > Training & examinations > Anaesthesia training resources
PEx recommended reading list
Candidates are advised that all examination questions are based on Learning Outcomes and that the great majority of information required is contained in the recommended texts.
Recommended training texts
Useful resources to help with your training.
ANZCA Anaesthesia Training Program Handbook by
The ANZCA Anaesthesia Training Program Handbook (the ANZCA Anaesthesia Training Program Handbook) sets out in detail the requirements of the training program leading to FANZCA. It is intended that the ANZCA Anaesthesia Training Program Handbook will be the usual source consulted by those seeking information about training. Should there be conflict between this handbook and Regulation 37, then the regulation takes precedence.
ANZCA Anaesthesia Training Program Curriculum by
The ANZCA Anaesthesia Training Program Curriculum defines the learning outcomes, associated requirements and assessments of the ANZCA vocational training program.
Regulation 37 - Training in anaesthesia leading to FANZCA, and accreditation of facilities to deliver this curriculum by 
ANZCA Handbook for Accreditation by
The ANZCA Handbook for Accreditation sets out requirements expected of accredited training departments for all aspects of the training program leading to FANZCA. It is intended that the Handbook for Accreditation will be the usual source consulted by those seeking information about accreditation. Should there be conflict between this handbook and Regulation 37, then the regulation takes precedence.
Advanced Training in Anaesthesia: The Essential Curriculum (OHST) by
Advanced Training in Anaesthesia is authored by both trainees and specialists in order to create an authoritative yet accessible text. Containing everything candidates need to know to pass this final major hurdle in anaesthetic training, this book is ideal for exam revision.
Anesthesia Student Survival Guide: A Case-Based Approach, 3e by
This comprehensive update of the previous two successful editions covers both basic and advanced anesthesia topics. These include pharmacology, procedures, monitoring, equipment, subspecialty anesthesia, safety, professionalism, pain management, and more.
The Basics of Anesthesiology : A Primer for Medical Students by 
The First Year: What You Should Know After a Year of Anaesthesia Training (Revised Edition) by
Recommended
This book is not an exam primer nor is it a comprehensive textbook of anaesthesia. This is the book you give to the trainee specialist who is about to embark on their anaesthesia training. It contains the information they need to formulate and develop a safe practice of anaesthesia. This book lucidly describes and justifies the core knowledge, behaviours and practical skills that a junior trainee would be expected to possess after a year of anaesthesia. Written specifically for Australasian specialist anaesthetic trainees and those doing the Rural Generalist Anaesthesia (RGA) training course, this book fills the gaping hole in the existing anaesthetic literature. The curriculum for the Introductory Training period and the RGA is comprehensively addressed in this book.
How to Survive in Anaesthesia: A Guide for Trainees, 5e by
The first few months as a trainee anaesthetist are a daunting prospect, filled with new information, skills and terminology. This concise reference, now in its fifth edition, provides doctors with a clear introduction to the practice. Fully updated and split into four key parts for quick consultation, the reader can recap on the airway and anaesthetic equipment, and find crucial advice on crises such as cardiac arrest, haemorrhage and blood transfusion. Written in an accessible and often humorous style, How to Survive in Anaesthesia is an essential resource in learning the safe fundamentals of the practice for trainee anaesthetists.
OST Training in Anaesthesia: A Curriculum-Based Guide by
Training in Anaesthesia is a curriculum-based guide to the first phase of specialty training in anaesthetics, comprehensively covering the techinques, assessments, and basic medical and physiological knowledge that trainees learn as part of their basic training and which are examined by the Primary FRCA qualification.
Talley and O'Connor's Examination Medicine: A Guide to Physician Training, 9e by
Talley & O'Connor's Examination Medicine: A Guide to Physician Training, has prepared generations of physician trainees and medical students for their clinical examinations. Instructive, informative and aligned with current practice, this 9th edition gives you an overview of what to expect, what is expected of you and how to develop a mature clinical approach to complex medical problems.
Core texts
These resources are considered either recommended texts covering most areas of anaesthesia or are considered a "definitive" text for a particularly specialty.
Looking for our most popular titles? Check out our Anaesthesia essentials guide.
Anesthesiology, 3e by
Written by an internationally known team of experts, Anesthesiology, 3e provides a 360-degree view of the field, covering all the anesthetic considerations from preoperative preparation through postoperative care, and the full breadth of anesthesia practice, including pain medicine and critical care medicine.
Barash, Cullen, and Stoelting's Clinical Anesthesia, 9e by
Covering the full spectrum of clinical issues and options in anesthesiology, Barash, Cullen, and Stoelting's Clinical Anesthesia provides insightful coverage of pharmacology, physiology, co-existing diseases, and surgical procedures. This award-winning text delivers state-of-the-art content unparalleled in clarity and depth of coverage, as well robust multimedia features that equip you to effectively apply today's standards of care and make optimal clinical decisions on behalf of your patients. Comprehensively covers the entire field of anesthesiology with a practical, clinical focus throughout. Features extensive multimedia content, including more than 300 updated procedural videos and 190 narrated interactive clinical vignettes. Includes Key Points in every chapter, with corresponding numbers in the chapter margins for quick reference. Highlights key references to quickly direct you to the most important and high-yield further reading. Contains useful appendices with formulas, pacemaker and implantable cardiac defibrillator protocols, information on herbal medications, an atlas of echocardiography, and more.
Basic Physiology for Anaesthetists, 2e by
Every trainee in anaesthesia requires a thorough understanding of basic physiology and its application to clinical practice. Now in its second edition, this comprehensively illustrated textbook bridges the gap between medical school and reference scientific texts. It covers the physiology requirements of the Primary FRCA examination syllabus.
Basic Sciences in Anesthesia, 2e by
Basic Sciences in Anesthesia, 2e presents the most recent evidenced-based knowledge in basic sciences in anesthesia. It covers topics from the syllabus of the American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA) basic science exam, including anatomy, pharmacology, physiology, physics in anesthesia, and more. In each chapter, key points summarize the content, followed by a pertinent and concise discussion of the topic, ending with multiple choice questions with answers and suggested further reading. This 2nd edition is fully revised featuring new chapters on infection prevention in anesthesiology, principles of patient safety, physician impairment, advance directives and informed consent.
Bonica's Management of Pain, 5e by
This exhaustively comprehensive edition of the classic Bonica's Management of Pain, expertly combines the scientific underpinnings of pain with clinical management. Substantially updated with theoretical advancements and contemporary therapies that have emerged since the previous edition published over a decade ago.
Cambridge Handbook of Anesthesiology by
The recent advances in the clinical practice of anesthesiology have increased the need for a new state-of-the art anesthesia handbook for practicing anesthesiologists, trainees and students. This practical book provides a modern, clinically focused guide for any clinical question related to anesthesia care, presenting comprehensive, yet succinct knowledge from experts in the field. It describes the best practice in a concise yet easily digestible format and features numerous tables and figures, a bulleted points/outline format, and algorithms allowing for rapid assimilation of key information. New techniques and common procedures are also covered in detail. This up-to-date pocketbook is perfect for quick reference in the operating room, providing rapid access to evidence-based clinical content covering the full breadth of the field, including pediatric, obstetric, cardiac and regional anesthesia sections. In addition to daily clinical practice, the book serves also as a convenient companion for board review and recertification exam preparation.
Chestnut's Obstetric Anesthesia : Principles and Practice, 6e by
Comprehensive, user-friendly, and up to date, Chestnut's Obstetric Anesthesia: Principles and Practice, 6th Edition, provides the authoritative clinical information you need to provide optimal care to your patients. This substantially revised edition keeps you current on everything from basic science to anesthesia techniques to complications, including coverage of new research that is paving the way for improved patient outcomes.
Clinical Anesthesia, 8e by
Unmatched in its clarity and depth of coverage as well as its robust multimedia features, this classic clinical reference brings you the very latest essential knowledge in the field, equipping you to effectively apply today's standards of care and make optimal clinical decisions on behalf of your patients. Key Features: Apply the latest know-how with a new chapter on cardiovascular pharmacology, new coverage of autonomic pharmacology, a greatly expanded Clinical Updates section, updated coverage of occupational hazards, and many other important additions.
Essential Notes in Pain Medicine by
Highly recommended
Mapped to the syllabus for the Fellowship of the Faculty of Pain Medicine of the Royal College of Anaesthetists (FFPMRCA), Essential Notes in Pain Medicine ensures readers have all the information needed to review the subject. Written by a multidisciplinary team of over 70 international contributors, this resource provides high-quality, up-to-date guidance on 247 topics such as pain assessment, pain physiology, pain interventions, the role of psychology and physiotherapy and many more.
A Guide to Pediatric Anesthesia, 2e by
The second edition of the successful book "Your Guide to Pediatric Anesthesia" offers a practical approach to pediatric anesthesia with a concise account of the topic in a reader-friendly format. The book begins with an overview of pediatric anesthesia then continues with chapters related to different pediatric surgeries and the relevant anesthetic issues, including a chapter of emergency scenarios in pediatric anesthesia.
Long Lives, Healthy Workplaces: A Toolkit for Anaesthetic Departments by
Long Lives, Healthy Workplaces is an initiative of the Wellbeing Special Interest Group and Everymind, with support from the Australian Society of Anaesthetists (ASA) and additional funding leveraged under The Prevention Hub. The purpose is to provide a toolkit to support better mental health and wellbeing for anaesthetists and anaesthetic trainees.
Miller's Anesthesia, 10e by
***Highly Recommended*** Offering up-to-date coverage of everything from historical and international perspectives to basic science and today’s clinical practice, Miller's Anesthesia 10e, remains the #1 reference and trusted learning resource for practitioners and trainees in this complex field. Dr. Michael Gropper leads a team of expert editors and contributing authors who provide current information on the technical, scientific, and clinical issues you face each day—whether you’re managing a challenging patient care situation, preparing for the boards, or studying for recertification.
Miller's Basics of Anesthesia, 8e by
Long regarded as the undisputed leading text of its kind, Miller's Basics of Anesthesia provides comprehensive yet concise coverage of both basic science and clinical topics in anaesthesiology. Under the experienced editorial leadership of Dr. Manuel C. Pardo, Jr., the 8th Edition has been meticulously updated to reflect the latest advances in practice and important aspects of contemporary anaesthesia care, including pathophysiology, pharmacology, regional anaesthesia, anaesthetic management, and special problems and patient groups.
Morgan & Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology, 7e by
Morgan & Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology, 7e is an essential resource for all anaesthesia students and practitioners. Hailed as the best primer on the topic, this trusted classic delivers comprehensive coverage of the field's must-know basic science and clinical topics in a clear, easy-to-understand presentation. The text is also ideal for coursework, review, or as a clinical refresher.
Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology Handbook by
A high-yield, abridged version of the bestselling guide to general anesthesia and perioperative medicine. Drawing from the trusted classic, Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology Handbook has been pared down to the most essential information needed by anesthesia practitioners. The Handbook provides condensed, practical content relevant to clinical anesthesiology practice, covering topics within preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative care. Many tables and figures have been retained from the larger textbook. This new abridged resource serves as a high-yield review of the core content of the larger text, with bolded key concepts for ease of reference, Q&A, and more. * Convenient, abridged version--less than half the length of origin text * Ideal resource for residents and trainees preparing for daily activity * High-yield review with variety of review techniques, including Q&A.
Oh's Intensive Care Manual, 8e by 
Oxford Handbook of Anaesthesia, 5e by
Written for anaesthetists at all stages of their careers, from trainees sitting exams through to experienced consultants as well as ODPs and nurses involved in theatre area work and pre-assessment, this comprehensive guide to the anaesthetic world is as indispensable as ever. This new edition has been completely revised and brings you the most up-to-date guidance and information to keep pace with fast-moving areas of anaesthesia, including a completely revised regional anaesthesia chapter.
Oxford Textbook of Anaesthesia (Vols. 1 & 2) by
This comprehensive work covers all aspects of anaesthesia; volume one addresses the fundamental principles and the basic sciences whose understanding is required for a logical, effective and evidence-based approach to practice. Volume two focuses on the clinical aspects of anaesthesia, including those aspects of intensive care and pain medicine that are required by all general anaesthetists.
Quick Draw Anatomy for Anaesthetists, 2e by
This new edition has been thoroughly revised and updated, and continues to provide you with simple instructions on how to draw and interpret the crucial anatomy you need for your anaesthetic training. Covers all the relevant anatomy in: Head, neck and neuro - from Circle of Willis to cervical plexus Vertebral column- from the spinal cord to the sacrum Cardiac- coronary arteries and venous drainage of the heart Airway and respiratory- from airway sensation to the diaphragm Abdomen- from the abdominal aorta to the nephron, via a TAP block Limbs- from blood vessels in the arms to the ankle, via the femoral canal For the majority of sections, in addition to a simple drawing and detailed explanation, there are also step-by-step illustrations to show you how to draw the anatomy yourself - taking some of the stress out of potential viva questions!
Smith and Aitkenhead's Textbook of Anaesthesia, 7e by
The goal for this Seventh Edition has remained to equip the reader with the basic knowledge and practical considerations required to administer anaesthesia and perioperative care for a whole range of surgical conditions in patients with all common medical comorbidities.
Yao & Artusio’s Anesthesiology: Problem-Oriented Patient Management, 9e by
Case-based and easy to use, Yao & Artusio's Anesthesiology: Problem-Oriented Patient Management is the bestselling study and review reference preferred by both residents and practicing anesthesiologists. The revised Ninth Edition prepares you for the oral and written boards with more than 60 real-world cases accompanied by questions that conform to the four areas of questioning on the oral boards, reinforcing step-by-step critical thinking about today's surgical anesthesia and patient management.
Access anywhere
Learn more about how to access ANZCA full-text resources whilst searching the web.
It is possible to access ANZCA library full-text resources outside the library via such services as Google Scholar and by utilising browser extensions like LibKey that allow you to link to the full-text when a citation appears on a web site (ie: PubMed/Wikipedia).
Journals
Recommended journals are listed below. For a complete list of key anaesthesia, pain medicine, intensive care medicine, emergency medicine and medical education journals, see the library Journals page.
Requesting articles: Access the corresponding issue via BrowZine, select the article link, and click the 
button to request the article. Turnaround is usually 1-2 working days.
Interested in a personal subscription? Click here for more detail.
Journal apps
Quick links
About ANZCA
Connect with us
ANZCA
FPM
Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.
