Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Help (CICM via ANZCA): Search tips & FAQs

Welcome to the new CICM via ANZCA Library's WorldCat Discovery service. The new service allows users to access the entire ANZCA Library collection through a single Google-like search interface. This includes article-level access to over 900+ full-text medical journals, and title-level access to 9000+ medical e-books.
 

Page index

CICM Library > Help

Search and access options

You can access the entire collection in one of several different ways:

SEARCH/ACCESS full-text articles usingDiscovery service
SEARCH/ACCESS journals/books usingWebsiteDiscovery service
ACCESS titles using complete A-Z lists:WebsiteBrowseWebsiteSearch
Information

The new discovery service includes a number of new features, including:

  • Fully-optimised for mobile and hand-held devices
  • Maori language access options for New Zealand users
  • The ability to perform article/abstract-level searching against all our journals/e-journals and then connect to the full-text
  • The ability to perform title-level searching against all our journals/e-journals and then connect to the e-journal (at the title level)
  • The ability to perform title/abstract-level searching against all our books/e-books and then connect to e-books (at the title level)
  • The ability to save searches
  • The ability to create saved lists
  • The ability to export citations
  • The ability to send links to other users for particular resources
  • The ability to view and renew your existing loans

The discovery service matches on exact spelling.

- Words with alternate spellings should be searched using both spellings:

  • Anaesthesia anesthesia
  • Paediatrics pediatrics

- Alternatively, wildcards and truncation can be used:

  • An?esthesia - this will match both anaesthesia and anesthesia
  • P?ediatrics - this will match both paediatrics and pediatrics
  • Medic* - this will find any variation on the word medicine

Titles containing commonly used words should be restricted to title matching.

- Click in search box and select XXXX in Title (where XXXX = your search term)
- Append an index term to your search:

  • ti: is a title keyword search - for example: ti:miller's anesthesia
  • ti= is an exact title search - for example: ti=miller's anesthesia

- Cant find it? Try Worldwide!

Whilst the vast majority of ANZCA’s library resources show as held, there are some articles that can only be accessed by expanding your search to Libraries Worldwide.

Simply click on the Libraries Worldwide facet in the left sidebar or select the Do you want to expand your search to libraries worldwide? link.

  1. Navigate to the CICM Library Home page and use the NEW search widget or go directly to the discovery service home page
  2. Search for a particular title or enter keywords related to your area of interest (for example: pain medicine)

Note: If already within the discovery layer, you will also have the option of just searching against the Title

  1. After your result set displays, navigate to the sidebar and refine your search results:

  1. There are a number of different filters available, including:

  1. Note: Some options will only become visible as you drill down - for example: if Print book is not displaying as an option, first select Book, and then Print book

  1. If an article is available full-text, it can be accessed by clicking on the [ View full text ] button

  1. Similarly, full-text e-journals and e-books can be accessed by clicking on the [ Access journal ] or [ View eBook ] buttons:

  1. View the full bibliographic record (and view print holdings) by selecting the items' title:

  1. The item detail pane will display - most recent titles will have access to Google Preview:

  1. Toggle the Description heading to display the full bibliographic item details:

InformationThe discovery service collapses all the different editions and formats (print and e-book) into a grouped or representative record.

Be default, the record displayed is usually for the most recently held item.

Different (older) editions and print holdings can be accessed in several ways:

  1. Select an alternate edition or alternate format using the links in the More local formats section:

  1. By deselecting the Group related editions tick box in the top-left corner of the screen - this will then display all held editions/formats seperately:

  1. Alternatively, the user can select the View all editions & formats link on the search results screen or within the "representative" item title navigate to the Editions & Formats section and toggle the panel to display ALL the editions for this title, including those Held by: ANZCA Library:

After you perform a search in WorldCat Discovery, items in your search results will include icons for users to quickly add records to a list, email a record or a list of records, copy a record link, or export a citation. The icons are available from the brief results, the action panel, and on the detailed record (mobile view).


- Format a citation: Generate and copy a styled citation.
- Export a citation: Cite the record using EndNote, RefWorks or RIS format.


Email record: Choose Email to share a single record with up to five (5) email recipients.
- Note: You also have the option to add a record to a list and email the list to up to five recipients at the end of your session using My Items or My Personal List (see details below).


Share record link: Opens a pop-up window with the permalink displayed. Copy and share the link.


Save record: Adds the record to the My Items list - which can then be emailed to yourself, exported as citations or shared with others (see details below).
- Note: Records added to a list are stored temporarily for the session until the session times out.


My Items and My Personal Lists

Users can save up to 100 records in a list by clicking on the Save icon that appears next to the item. When users reach the limit, the interface displays text as a warning message: "Your list is full. Please remove records from your list or clear your list to add more records." Users can close the message and continue to search; However, they will not be able to add another record to the list until one or more records are removed.

Users can remove one record at a time by using the icon beside each record. Users can delete all records in the list by clicking Select All, then clicking the Delete icon.

To create and save a personal list:

  1. Search for the items you would like to include in a list. 
  2. Click the Save icon to add the citation to the list.
  3. When finished, click My Items in the upper right corner to display the list.
  4. Click on the Create List icon.
  5. Provide a List Name (required) and List Description (optional).
  6. Select a Privacy preference.
    • Shared: a permalink is generated for others to view, site and share the list. Changes to the list are updated in realtime after the page is refreshed.
    • Private: the default value, no permalink is created and the list is only visible to its creator.
  7. This option can be changed after the list has been saved. If a Shared list is changed to Private, the list content automatically becomes inaccessible to anyone with the original permalink.
  8. Click Save.

Email item(s) from My Items or My Personal Lists:

  1. Go to the list or saved item you want to share. 
  2. Click the Email icon: an Email List window will display.
  3. Enter up to five email addresses, separated by commas in the Email Address(es) field.
  4. Provide a Subject and (optional) Message (limit 500 characters).
  5. Click Send Email or Send List. Your items or list will be sent.

Cite multiple items from My Items or My Personal Lists:

  1. Go to the list containing items you want to cite.
  2. Click the check box next to the items you want to create citations for or check the Select All box.
  3. Click the Cite icon: a Cite List window will display.
  4. Select the citation style: the citations appear in a Copy & Paste box.
  5. Export the citations by clicking on one of the Export options or copy and paste them from the text box.

To move items from My Personal Lists or My Items to a Personal List:

  1. Go to the list containing items you want to move.
  2. Click the check box next to the items you want to move, or select all by checking the Select All box.
  3. Click the Move icon: a Move Records window will display.
  4. Select the list to which you want to move the items.
  5. Click Select List.

To clear entries from your temporary list:

  1. Select individual items to be removed from the list or click the box to Select All.
  2. Click the Delete icon.
  3. A message opens to confirm this action.
  4. Click Delete Records to continue or Cancel to return to the list.

JournalsANZCA Library provides access to a large range of medical journals and e-journals, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.

  • The full-text of many titles can be accessed online (College ID and CICM password)
  • Journals available in print are not available for loan

InformationFor further information about accessing journals, see the Journals page

E-booksANZCA Library provides access to a large range of medical e-books.

  • The full-text of many titles can be accessed online (College ID and CICM password)
  • The Library subscribes to several large e-book collections, in addition to subscribing to a number of individual titles

InformationFor further information about accessing e-books see the e-Books page

This service not available to CICM users.

Search and use query syntax

WorldCat Discovery can be searched using Boolean operators and approximate term queries. Save your searches to quickly reproduce queries.

How item bibliographic data is displayed

See where and how item bibliographic data is displayed in WorldCat Discovery records.

Use the Advanced Search screen

Use the Advanced Search screen to refine your WorldCat Discovery search results.

Filter and refine search results

Refine your WorldCat Discovery search results with search filters and suggested results.

Share records and create citations

Browse the Shelf to view nearby items

Nau mai ki to whare pukapuka hou!

New Zealand-based users will be pleased to know that the discovery service includes a Māori language interface.

Simply navigate to the Language drop-down (which can be found in the navigation sidebar/footer) and change the setting to Māori - the interface will then automatically update to utilise Māori language options throughout.

CICM Talk to us

We rely on your feedback to further develop and support CICM user access to the ANZCA Library. Use the link below to provide content suggestions, as well as to make recommendations, report issues, and to give general feedback.

Library feedback form