Page index
CICM library guides
ANZCA library guides of interest
Other ANZCA library guides
Please Note: Resources on the ANZCA library guides use ANZCA-only linking. CICM users can search for and access this content via the search widget and A-Z lists linked from this page.
Authentication update
When authenticating, please ensure that you use the CICM Members Portal login (scroll down) and not the MDP Login. if you experience any issues, please contact ictsupport@cicm.org.au.
Recent titles added to the collection
Fast Facts for the Primary FRCA and EDAIC: Basic Science for Anaesthetists [CICM] by
By facilitating timely revision of the entire curriculum, this book makes sure that candidates for both the Primary FRCA and for the EDAIC will enter the examination hall with a positive mindset and comprehensive knowledge of the basic sciences required by anaesthetists.
Passing the Final FFICM: High-Yield Facts for the MCQ & OSCE Exams [CICM] by
This innovative resource serves as a fusion of an MCQ guide and a textbook, providing essential content for postgraduate trainees gearing up for the FFICM Final exam, a vital part of the CCT in Intensive Care Medicine. Crafted to meet the unique requirements of the MCQ while also addressing the necessity for concise, well-structured responses in the OSCE, this book prioritises quick topic transitions, delivering focused, streamlined learning across a range of ICM topics. Its uniqueness lies in its unorthodox structure; rather than having a conventional table of contents, it gives you the freedom to start your learning adventure from any page. Each of the 1,400 facts is structured as a question, reflecting the format of both exams. Answers are conveniently positioned just below, eliminating the need for constant page-flipping. The material is carefully curated to cover the breadth of the ICM curriculum, weaving in valuable insights from the author's and colleagues' exam experiences. Random questions replicate the unpredictability of both exams and enhance the reader's capacity to swiftly switch between topics during self-assessment. This balances knowledge application and active recall while using memory-enhancing methods like self-quizzing, chunking, and spaced repetition.
Key Trials in Intensive Care Medicine: Passing the Final FFICM [CICM] by
This essential guide encompasses over 160 pivotal papers critical for doctors preparing for postgraduate exams in intensive care, interviews, or commencing an intensive care rotation. Chosen for their educational merit and significant influence on intensive care medicine, these key trials, studies, and meta-analyses are distilled into succinct, easy-to-read summaries. The guide steers clear of intricate numerical details and statistical analyses, concentrating instead on the core information necessary to comprehend the significance of these influential papers. Tailored specifically for the OSCE and SOE components of exams like the Final FFICM and EDIC, it provides concise summaries and key results, focusing on the most crucial information for exam success. Serving as a resource that underpins the evidence base of contemporary intensive care clinical practice, these summaries are an indispensable tool for both exam preparation and ongoing professional development in intensive care medicine.
After the ICU: Multidisciplinary Perspectives on Supporting Critical Illness Survivors [CICM] by
After the ICU: Multidisciplinary Perspectives on Supporting Critical Illness Survivor fills a gap in the existing literature on the subject. Arranged in three sections, the book addresses the ways in which care in the ICU can impact life afterwards and provides a framework for the recovery process. The early chapters feature personal stories from patients describing their life-threatening illness, journey to recovery, and the clinicians who helped them along the way. In the following chapters, clinicians, physicians, nurses, and patients' family members share their unique perspectives on the recovery process. Each chapter includes a specific section dedicated to tips for clinicians. Includes key concepts of care across the arc of the ICU patient encounter; Evidence-based interventions are presented and summarized in a practical stepwise approach; Features accounts from patients, clinicians, physicians, nurses, and others involved in the care and recovery process.
Critical Care Medicine: an Algorithmic Approach [CICM] by
Make confident, evidence-based decisions in everyday critical care practice with Critical Care Medicine: An Algorithmic Approach. This first-of-its-kind decision making tool provides concise, practical guidance on key aspects of critical care in the form of easy-to-follow diagnostic and treatment algorithms, diagrams, and tables. The unique format saves you time as it guides you through best practices and reliable data to improve patient outcomes in the ICU. Chapters cover a particular organ system and are organized by disorder for easy reference. Each chapter includes a brief overview of the disorder, diagnostic algorithms, treatment algorithms, potential complications and strategies for overcoming them, and supporting references. Helpful mnemonics and advice from critical care experts are provided throughout. Key topics include ventilatory failure: ARDS, pulmonary embolism, asthma and COPD; ABG analysis; pleural effusion; acute respiratory failure; cardiac critical care; acute kidney injury, water and electrolyte management, acid-base disorders; infectious disease; COVID-19; critical care issues related to other medical specialties; and much more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Miller's Anesthesia, 10e [CICM] by
Offering up-to-date coverage of everything from historical and international perspectives to basic science and today’s clinical practice, Miller's Anesthesia 10e, remains the #1 reference and trusted learning resource for practitioners and trainees in this complex field. Dr. Michael Gropper leads a team of expert editors and contributing authors who provide current information on the technical, scientific, and clinical issues you face each day—whether you’re managing a challenging patient care situation, preparing for the boards, or studying for recertification.
The latest intensive care titles are "spotlighted" on the Intensive care medicine essentials guide.
First Part Exams recommended reading list
CICM trainees can now access a dedicated library guide containing the complete list of the First Part Examination Recommended Readings.
The majority of titles are now available online to trainees for the very first time.
AudioDigest access now available!
CICM via ANZCA library users now have access to AudioDigest.
AudioDigest provides instant online and mobile access to 245+ accredited anaesthesiology, pain medicine and critical care audio lectures presented by experts from leading institutions, bringing clinicians a convenient continuing medical education (CME/CE) experience. Each lecture includes: objectives, pre-test Q&A, summary & readings, post-test Q&A, evaluation. Free registration required.
See our dedicated Audio-Digest guide for further information including full registration and access details.
BrowZine and LibKey access now available!
CICM via ANZCA library users can now access their favourite journals using BrowZine!
BrowZine is a mobile app for tablets and smart phones that allows you to access and browse e-journals from different publishers in one simple interface. It's the perfect armchair reading app or for reading on therun!
See our dedicated BrowZine guide for further information including full access details.
In addition, you will now also be able to access CICM via ANZCA Library full-text when searching on the web using our LibKey Nomad web browser extension.
LibKey allows users to access the available CICM via ANZCA full-text no matter where you search on the web.
See our dedicated Full text via browser extensions guide for further information including full access details.
What can I access?
CICM users are able to access the following ANZCA library online services and content:
What's excluded:
Access anywhere
Enable access to CICM via ANZCA library full-text for anywhere on the web.
We rely on your feedback to further develop and support CICM user access to the ANZCA library. Use the link below to provide content suggestions, as well as to make recommendations, report issues, and to give general feedback.
CICM 
Library feedback form