Library resource guides: Indigenous health: Databases

This guide has been designed for anaesthetists and specialist pain physicians interested in Indigenous health to locate relevant resources on this topic, including those available through the ANZCA library.

Material and resources regarding First Nations peoples and cultures has historically been created and recorded by non-Indigenous people and may not have had the input of First Nations peoples themselves. As a result, this material may contain cultural inaccuracies and misinterpretations, or words and descriptions which could be considered insensitive, outdated and/or offensive in today's context.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that the resources within this guide may contain images, voices, or names of deceased persons.

The college welcomes your feedback regarding any potential omissions, misrepresentations, or inaccuracies regarding First Nations peoples, as well as suggestions for additional resources.

Guide index

Library > Library guides

Educational resources

Videos, podcasts & online lectures

Websites

Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet

Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet
Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet is an innovative Internet resource that aims to inform practice and policy in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health by making research and other knowledge readily accessible.

Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet: Cultural Safety for Health Professionals
The portal aims to support teaching health professionals to critically reflect on the concept of cultural safety and to deliver safe, accessible and responsive healthcare that is free from racism. Links are provided here to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health and cultural safety resources, relating to the five capabilities of a refreshed Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Curriculum Framework.

Informit Indigenous Collection

Informit Indigenous Collection
Informit’s Indigenous Collection offers broad scope for critical international engagement with topical and historical issues paramount to understanding Indigenous studies across the world. It champions ground-breaking Indigenous-led research in current fields, such as cultural and language revitalisation, biocultural knowledge, and decolonisation initiatives. This interdisciplinary platform gives a definitive voice to Indigenous communities in Australia, New Zealand and beyond.

Learning Ground: Indigenous Research Centre, IERC

Learning Ground: Indigenous education research database
Learning Ground is a gateway to the latest national and international publications focusing on Indigenous education from early childhood through to post-school education and adult learning. Topics covered include cultural diversity, parent and community engagement, wellbeing, identity and oral language.

With over 9400 searchable books, articles, conference papers and reports on Indigenous education from publishers in Australia and overseas, Learning Ground is an ideal first stop for policy makers, educators and graduate students. It is also an ideal place for scholars to disseminate their work to the national and international Indigenous education community.

The Lowitja Institute: LIt.search

Lowitja Institute
Lowitja Institute is Australia's only national Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community controlled health research institute, named in honour of its patron, Dr Lowitja O’Donoghue AC CBE DSG.
Lowitja Institute: LIt.Search
This search tool provides easy access to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health literature on the PubMed database. You can choose to look at all literature or one of 27 search topics. You can refine each choice by entering keywords, filter options and published dates.

The college acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present and emerging.

The college acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Te Tiriti o Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.

The college recognises the special relationship between the Pacific peoples of New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific, and is committed to supporting those fellows and trainees of ANZCA, and improving the health of Pacific peoples.