Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Indigenous health: Educational resources

This guide has been designed for anaesthetists and specialist pain physicians interested in Indigenous health to locate relevant resources on this topic, including those available through the ANZCA library.

Material and resources regarding First Nations peoples and cultures has historically been created and recorded by non-Indigenous people and may not have had the input of First Nations peoples themselves. As a result, this material may contain cultural inaccuracies and misinterpretations, or words and descriptions which could be considered insensitive, outdated and/or offensive in today's context.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people should be aware that the resources within this guide may contain images, voices, or names of deceased persons.

Navigation

Guide index

HomeLibrary > Library guides > Indigenous health

On this page

  • Reconciliation Australia - Share Our Pride: Learning resource
  • Online learning modules - Cultural Competency
  • Learning and education modules on understanding bias in health care
  • Mauriora Health Education - Cultural Competency course
  • ANZCA Training Program: Indigenous teaching and learning cases
  • Intercultural competency online learning
  • Indigenous Health Publications
  • Informit Indigenous Collection
  • Wiley Research: Indigenous Australia
  • The Lowitja Institute: LIt.search
  • 50 Words Project
  • Learning Ground: Indigenous Research Centre, IERC
  • Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS)
  • Australian Museum
  • Te Aka Māori-English, English-Māori Dictionary and Index
  • Australian Indigenous Languages Database (AUSTLANG)
  • Research guidelines

Learning and education modules on understanding bias in health care

The Health Quality and Safety Commission (New Zealand) has just released some modules for health practitioners about implicit bias, as part of its Patient Safety Week. 

The learning and education videos below were developed for Wiki Haumaru Tūroro - Patient Safety Week 2019. 

Access the three modules, and one quiz here.

Intercultural competency online learning

This intercultural competency resource is designed for practitioners in Australia and New Zealand, to assist you in viewing cultural perspectives in workplace interactions – including your own and perspectives of patients, colleagues and team members.
 
Completion of this activity by ANZCA Fellows may accrue continuing professional development points under the knowledge and skills category.
 
Now available through Networks.

Informit Indigenous Collection

The Informit Indigenous Collection provides access to emergent and ground-breaking research within the global community. 

Access the collection here.

50 Words Project

The 50 Words Project aims to provide fifty words in every Indigenous language of Australia.

The words are provided online with community permission, and with audio provided by a language speaker. The languages and words are displayed on a map of Australia so that users can easily find the information relevant to their local area. We hope that this will be a useful resource for schools and educational organisations to learn 50 words in their local language, and for the general public to discover and appreciate the diversity of First Nations' languages around Australia.

Access the 50 Words Project

Te Aka Māori-English, English-Māori Dictionary and Index

As well as the words one would expect in a traditional dictionary, Te Aka has encyclopaedic entries including the names of plants and animals (especially native and endemic species), stars, planets and heavenly bodies, important Māori people, key ancestors of traditional narratives, tribal groups and ancestral canoes. Māori names for institutions, country names, place names and other proper names are also provided.

Access Te Aka online

Download the app for iPhone and iPad

Download the app for Android

Reconciliation Australia - Share Our Pride: Learning resource

 Reconciliation Australia is an independent, not-for-profit organisation.
Our vision is for a just, equitable and reconciled Australia

Their mission is to inspire and enable all Australians to contribute to the reconciliation of the nation.

Visit the website here.


Share our Pride is designed to take you on an awareness-raising journey. This website will give you a glimpse of how life looks from an Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander perspective.

It works through material in a certain order so each chapter builds on the last. You'll get a taste of traditional cultures and learn about our shared history.

View the six chapters at this link

Mauriora Health Education - Cultural Competency course

The online Foundation Course in Cultural Competency was developed specifically for the registered New Zealand health workforce and provides a basic understanding of cultural competency & health literacy in the New Zealand Health context

Visit the website here.

Indigenous Health Publications

Wiley Research: Indigenous Australia

"Wiley, along with many of its publishing partners, is proud to present this collection of recent papers on the theme of ‘Indigenous Australia’. As a leading publisher of Australian academic and scientific journals, including a large number of journals owned by Australian research and practitioner organisations, Wiley is in an excellent position to provide readers with exposure to ideas from across the Australian research landscape. The papers collected here are from a broad range of journals in the fields of medicine, allied health, social sciences and environmental sciences. While from diverse fields of study, the papers share an interest in improving the lives of Australian indigenous peoples.

Browse the collection

Individual papers included in the collection will be freely available until 31 December 2016. Wiley would like to thank our publishing partners for their involvement in this initiative." -- From the Publisher

Some highlights from the collection of articles include:

Australian Indigenous Languages Database (AUSTLANG)

The Australian Indigenous Languages Database (AUSTLANG) system assembles information about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages from various sources. The core of AUSTLANG is the AUSTLANG database (online Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages database) which is linked to Google Maps. The system also facilitates access to other databases, PDF files and links to websites, which all provides information about Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages.

AUSTLANG enables users to search for a language by a language name or a place name, or by navigating Google Maps, and to view a variety of information on the language. AUSTLANG users can also launch a catalogue search of the AIATSIS collection catalogue, MURA.

Access AUSTLANG here.

AAMC: Anti-racism in Medicine Collection

Racism is discrimination based in an ideology of racial hierarchy that facilitates inequities between groups of people. Sociopolitically constructed racial categories and racism emerged as a necessary precursor to global systems of oppression, including slavery, and continues to fuel the systemic disenfranchisement of racial minorities in the United States. The police killings of George Floyd and Breonna Taylor are symbolic of the myriad of racial injustices that Black people have endured throughout history, while also underscoring the physical, political, socioeonomic, and existential assaults continually experienced by all Black and Brown communities.

Access the collection

Online learning modules - Cultural Competency

ANZCA Training Program: Indigenous teaching and learning cases

The teaching and learning cases have been developed for use in conjunction with the 2013 curriculum.
 
Four cases (7, 8a, 8b, 9) have been specifically developed to support case-based discussions involving indigenous Australian and Maori patients. 

The Lowitja Institute: LIt.search

This search tool provides easy access to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health literature on the PubMed database

You can choose to look at all literature or one of 27 search topics. You can refine each choice by entering keywords, filter options and published dates.

Click here to search LIt.search

Learning Ground: Indigenous Research Centre, IERC

Learning Ground is your gateway to the latest national and international publications focusing on Indigenous education, which spans early childhood, post school education, adult learning, and encompasses areas such as cultural diversity, parent and community engagement, wellbeing, identity and oral language. 

With over 9 400 searchable books, articles, conference papers and reports on Indigenous education from publishers in Australia and overseas, Learning Ground is an ideal first stop for policy makers, educators and graduate students. Moreover, Learning Ground is an ideal place for scholars to disseminate their work to the national and international indigenous education community.

Visit the website here.

Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS)

The Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS) is the world's premier institution for information and research about the cultures, languages, and lifestyles of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

Visit the website here.

Australian Museum

The Australian Museum, a leading cultural attraction located in the heart of Sydney's CBD. Their mission is to make nature, indigenous cultures and science accessible and relevant. 

Underpinning the Australian Museum's research is an irreplaceable collection of international standing - more than 18 million objects representing a timeline of the environmental and cultural histories of the Australian and Pacific regions.

Access the First Nations section of their website here.

Special report: Cultural safety within vocational medical training

ANZCA acknowledges the traditional custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present, and emerging.

ANZCA acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.