Library resource guides: Obstetric anaesthesia: Apps, podcasts & online lectures

Guide index

Related guides

Apps

Wellbeing apps

Podcasts

Related websites

iMedicalApps (reviews of medical apps & healthcare technology)

iTunes (medical category)

Google Play (medical category)

AudioDigest Spotlight

Users must register prior to listening.

Updates in Obstetric Anesethesia (28 Nov 2024)
The goal of this program is to improve patient care in obstetric anesthesia
Obstetric Anesthesia (7 March 2024)
The goal of this program is to examine the adverse effects on breastfeeding in neostigmine vs glycopyrrolate and pain scores associated with dexamethasone.
In Search of a Tubal Ligation Anesthetic (21 Aug 2023)
The goal of this program is to improve anesthetic considerations in tubal ligation.
Traumatic Injury During Pregnancy (21 Mar 2023)
This program aims to improve the management of traumatic injuries during pregnancy.
Anesthesia for Emergency Cesarean Delivery (7 Mar 2023)
This program aims to improve outcomes of emergency caesarean delivery, and includes comparing the risks and benefits of regional vs general anesthesia, and choosing safe anaesthetics.
Anesthesia for Nonobstetric Surgery in Pregnancy (7 Mar 2023)
This program aims to improve outcomes of anesthesia for non-obstetric surgery in pregnancy, and includes assessing the impact and minimising harm to the foetus.
Enhanced Recovery After Surgery (ERAS) for Cesarean Delivery (7 March 2023)
This program aims to improve outcomes of elective caesarean delivery, and includes measures to comply with the Society for Obstetric Anesthesiology and Perinatology (SOAP) enhanced recovery after elective cesarean delivery (ERAC) recommendations.
Substance Abuse During Pregnancy: Peripartum and Anesthetic Implications (21 Dec 2022)
This program aims to improve management of substance use disorder in pregnant patients.
Non-obstetric Surgery in the Pregnant Patient (21 Nov 2022)
This program aims to improve the perioperative management of patients undergoing nonobstetric surgery during pregnancy.
Post-Cesarean Multimodal Analgesia (28 Oct 2022)
This program aims to improve delivery of post-caesarean multimodal analgesia, as well as regimens for pain management after caesarean delivery that are safe for use in breastfeeding women.
Obstetric Anesthesia in the Setting of COVID Positivity (14 Jul 2022)
This program aims to improve outcomes of obstetric anesthesia in patients with COVID-19.
Breastfeeding and Medications (14 Jul 2022)
This program is to improve management of medication in breastfeeding mothers, including the pharmacokinetics of drugs to treatment recommendations made for breastfeeding mothers.
Post-cesarean Delivery Pain Management for the Opioid-dependent Patient (21 Apr 2022)
This program aims to improve the management of postcesarean delivery pain in opioid-dependent patients, mainly individuals at increased risk for postcesarean delivery pain related to opioid use disorder.
The Medicolegal Challenges in Teen Pregnancy (21 Feb 2022)
This program aims to promote ethically and legally sound preanesthesia counseling of the adolescent with a positive preoperative pregnancy test.

Fully updated 2023/4 collection now available.

AudioDigest Anesthesiology Collection [App] This link opens in a new window
AudioDigest provides instant online and mobile access to 250+ accredited anaesthesiology, pain medicine and critical care audio lectures presented by experts from leading institutions, bringing clinicians a convenient continuing medical education (CME/CE) experience. Each lecture includes: objectives, pre-test Q&A, summary & readings, post-test Q&A, evaluation.

Free registration required to access
See our dedicated AudioDigest guide for more information including full registration and access details

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under the Knowledge and skills Learning sessions activity. Use the Audio-Digest My Transcript feature to track completed activities.

Apps

Recommended apps are listed below, sorted by area. Additional information about ANZCA-subscribed/supported apps can be found on the Apps library guide.

Ostheimer by Stanford AIM Lab
Materials provided on this app were created by Dr Pervez Sultan, an Associate Professor of Obstetric Anesthesiology at Stanford University School of Medicine. This app provides SOAP members with convenient access to supporting documents that can be used throughout the year to support teaching and evidence-based clinical care.

Podcasts

Recommended podcasts are listed below. Additional information about podcasts can be found on the Podcasts library guide.

The Critical Care Obstetrics Podcast
A unique inter professional team with decades of experience caring for critically ill pregnant women. Join them as they review clinical topics and make them easy to understand.
The Critical Care Obstetrics Podcast (Spotify)
The Critical Care Obstetrics Podcast (iOS/Apple)

Obsgynaecritcare podcast
Tune in to this podcast to listen to interviews, tutorials and discussion on all things relating to critical care, anaesthesia and pain medicine in Obstetrics and Gynaecology.
Obsgynaecritcare podcast (iOS/Apple)

Partum the Interruption
Partum the Interruption shares the tough and honest discussions that take place daily on labor and delivery between physicians, patients, and the entire multidisciplinary team. Podcast host Dr. M is a board-certified Obstetric Anesthesiologist, and passionate about maternal and neonatal wellness during pregnancy, labor, and delivery. Whether you’re interested in clinical topics and the latest evidence-based medicine on L&D, or want to hear about unique labor and delivery experiences, there is sure to be an episode for you!
Partum the Interruption (Spotify)
Partum the Interruption (iOS/Apple)

RCOA podcast: Obstetric anaesthesia and ethics
Podcast episode by the Royal College of Anaesthetists features a discussion about the ethical issues in obstetric anaesthesia. Hosted by RCoA Council member Professor William Harrop-Griffiths.
Obstetric anaesthesia and ethics (iOS/Apple)