Library resource guides: Rural generalist anaesthesia (RGA) training: Other resources

Guide index

How to access e-resources

Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.

Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser, and trying again.

Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Technical support" via the college contact form

Want to learn more about SSO/MFA at ANZCA? See Protecting your data for more information, including instructions on how to set up MFA/SSO.

Experiencing difficulties, or need help? Contact the Library

Related guides

Apps

Wellbeing apps

Podcasts

Related websites

iMedicalApps (reviews of medical apps & healthcare technology)

iTunes (medical category)

Google Play (medical category)

Apps

Recommended apps are listed below, sorted by area. Additional information about ANZCA-subscribed/supported apps can be found on the Apps library guide.

Airway management

The Difficult Airway App (AMEC)
The Difficult Airway App™ guides the user quickly and easily through key algorithms, predictors of the difficult airway and the step-by-step approach to RSI taught in The Difficult Airway Course: Emergency™.
The Difficult Airway App (iOS/Apple)
The Difficult Airway App (Android/Google Play)
Purchase required

Billing

ASA Relative Value Guide (RVG)
The Relative Value Guide (RVG) provides comprehensive and accurate advice on billing and assists with deciphering the Medicare and private insurance rebate systems.

Note: The app is free of charge if you are a member of ASA. ASA also provides support and guidance should the members have any questions regarding the billing or item numbers. A valid member ID and password is required to log into the application.
ASA RVG App (iOS/Apple)
ASA RVG App (Android/Google Play)
Purchase required

Blood transfusion

iTransfuse (Australian Red Blood Cross)
The iTransfuse App promotes safe, appropriate and evidence-based transfusion by providing bedside access to transfusion education tools and resources.
iTransfuse (iOS/Apple)
iTransfuse (Android/Google Play)
Free

Drug information

AusDI (Australian Drug Information)
AusDI (Australian Drug Information) contains over 80,000 pages of Australian medicines information, a product identifier tool, and interactions and safety modules. Mobile-optimised site for use on devices.

Free registration required to access via mobile devices (college members)
See our AusDI guide for more information including full registration and access details

DrugDoses
For more than 30 years, Frank Shann's little booklet has helped physicians all around the world prescribe drugs. DrugDoses now contains more than 2500 entries. It lists every drug commonly prescribed for systemic use in both adults and children.
DrugDoses (iOS/Apple)
DrugDoses (Android/Google Play)
Purchase required

MDCalc
MDCalc clinical decision support is created exclusively by board-certified physicians for use by physicians, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, pharmacists, and medical students. The simple yet sleek app provides access to 550+ easy-to-use clinical decision tools including risk scores, algorithms, equations, formulas, classifications, dosing calculators, and more.
MDCalc (iOS/Apple)
MDCalc (Android/Google Play)

FPM Opioid Calculator [App]
The Opioid Equianalgesic Calculator is designed to support specialist and general medical practitioners, medical students, nurses, and allied health professionals involved in the care of patients with persistent pain.

Paediatric anaesthesia

CoPE Paediatric Emergency App
Copenhagen Paediatric Emergency (CoPE) App is developed with the intent of preparing the clinician in the management of acute life threatening conditions in the paediatric patient population.
CoPE Paediatric Emergency (iOS/Apple)
CoPE Paediatric Emergency (Android/Google Play)

PediHelp
PediHelp is an assistant-app for paediatric emergencies and anesthesia. The different age groups are marked with the usual color-coding. Just move your fingertips along the colour scale. All data is calculated immediately.
PediHelp (Android/Google Play)
Free - In-app purchases

Pedi STAT
Pedi-STAT is a rapid reference for RNs, paramedics, physicians and other healthcare professionals caring for pediatric patients in the emergency or critical care environment.
Pedi STAT (iOS/Apple)
Pedi STAT (Android/Google Play)
Purchase required

Emergency and clinical guidelines

ASCAR App
The ASCAR app has been designed by clinicians for clinicians with the aim of supporting Operating Theatre (OT) teams to plan and brief for complex cases effectively as well as respond appropriately to crises. The app allows you to carry in your pocket, the ever expanding library of ASCAR cognitive aids – so they are available in their most up-to-date version on your device whenever and wherever you are.
ASCAR (iOS/Apple)
ASCAR (Android/Google Play)
Free

Emergency Procedures App
The Emergency Procedures App is free and open access. It is produced clinicians via a not for profit organisation. Our aim is to reduce variation in practise and provide an accessible evidenced based methodology to assists providers in perform procedures safely and competently.
Emergency Procedures App (iOS/Apple)
Free

RCH Clinical Practice Guidelines
The information contained in this app provides quality, up-to-date health information as a resource for both medical practitioners and the wider community.
RCH Clinical Guidelines (iOS/Apple)
RCH Clinical Guidelines (Android/Google Play)

Logbooks

Somnus: The Anaesthesiology Logbook
Record cases, procedures, incidents, surgeons, supervisors and more - even create your own custom categories - and use them to filter your cases with advanced searches.
Somnus (iOS/Apple)
Purchase required

Vaper Logbook
Vaper is an electronic logbook/caselog for Anaesthesia.
- rapidly log cases while you work
- easy export of cases for a printed logbook/caselog
- rapid, intuitive data entry
Vaper (iOS/Apple)
Purchase required

Log4AS - Anaesthetic Logbook
The Log4AS App has been designed to produce the reports for those training in anaesthetics and consultant anaesthetists. The App allows you to collect operation, resuscitation, and procedural data on your mobile device and to print the required reports.
Log4AS (iOS/Apple)
Log4AS (Android/Google Play)
Free - In-app purchases

Pre-admission

Clinical Frailty Scale App
The app is designed for frontline colleagues to download for use on mobile devices, to undertake clinical frailty scoring with patients in real time.
CFS App (iOS/Apple)
Free

The Thinksulin App
A point of care app that will provide information and decision support on blood glucose level targets, hypoglycaemia management, blood glucose monitoring, basal-bolus calculations, and charting and reviewing doses.
Thinkinsulin (iOS/Apple)
Thinkinsulin (Android/Google Play)
Free

nzRISK
nzRISK has been developed to be a simple and easy to use risk calculator based on the New Zealand population. It has been compiled using data from over 270,000 patients aged 18 or over undergoing non-cardiac surgery. It includes eight risk factors that can be entered below to give a 30 day, one and two year estimate of mortality. Each risk factor is associated with mortality and improves the performance of the calculator.
nzRISK (web tool)
Free

Regional anaesthesia

AnSo
AnSo is a convenient resource designed to help anaesthetists identify common sonoanatomy, in a time efficient manner, within the busy operating theatre. It has been created by practicing anaesthetists with an interest in teaching ultrasound and regional anaesthesia.
AnSo (iOS/Apple)
AnSo (Android/Google Play)

AnticoagEvaluator App
Make well-informed decisions on anti thrombotic therapy for your non-valvular AF patients with the updated AnticoagEvaluator.
AntiCoagEvaluator (iOS/Apple)
AntiCoagEvaluator (Android/Google Play)

ASRA Coags App
ASRA Coags makes the ASRA Pain Medicine Anticoagulation Guidelines a quick and easy reference for your practice. It provides quick access to drug-specific summary information.
ASRA Coags (iOS/Apple)
Purchase required
This app is currently being updated. A new and improved ASRA Coags app is coming soon!

BLOCKJOCKS - Regional Anesthesia Education
BLOCKJOCKS gives anesthesiologists, nurse anesthetists (CRNA), anesthesia residents, and medical students the tools they need to understand and perform simple and complex nerve block techniques to control pain and provide anesthesia and analgesia for orthopedic surgery and other surgical procedures.
BLOCKJOCKS (iOS/Apple)
BLOCKJOCKS (Apple TV)
BLOCKJOCKS (Android/Google Play)
Free - In-app purchases

NYSORA Nerve Blocks App
The most practical reference guide to ultrasound-guided nerve blocks.
NYSORA Nerve Blocks (iOS/Apple)
NYSORA Nerve Blocks (Android/Google Play)

Courses

Additional recommended face-to-face courses.

Rural Anaesthetic Crisis Management (RACM)
The Rural Anaesthetic Crisis Management (RACM) course focusses on improving emergency anaesthetic skills for clinicians practising in rural and remote environments.
ABCs of Anaesthesia: Boot Camp Series
The ABCs of Anaesthesia Boot Camp has grown into a series of interactive lectures covering all the important concepts, frameworks and knowledge you need to know in your first 12 months of anaesthesia.

Journals links

Recommended journals are listed below. For a complete list of key anaesthesia, pain medicine, intensive care medicine, emergency medicine and medical education journals, see the library Journals page.

AJRH: The Australian Journal of Rural Health
Online: Vol. 5, 1997 - current
>> Alternate/direct access via Wiley.

more... less...

The Australian Journal of Rural Health (AJRH) is a multidisciplinary journal, which aims to facilitate the formation of interdisciplinary networks to build and advance rural practice for all health professionals. It includes articles on anaesthesia, pain medicine, medical education and indigenous health practice in a rural/remote context.
Anaesthesia and Intensive Care
Online: Vol. 1, 1972/3 - current
>> Alternate/direct access via Sage.
Print held: Vol. 1, 1972/3 - current

more... less...

Anaesthesia and Intensive Care is an international journal publishing timely, peer reviewed articles that have educational value and scientific merit for clinicians and researchers associated with anaesthesia, intensive care medicine, and pain medicine. It is the official journal of the Australian Society of Anaesthetists, the Australian and New Zealand Intensive Care Society and the New Zealand Society of Anaesthetists.
BJA: British Journal of Anaesthesia
Request latest articles: 12 months ago - current
Online: Vol. 1, 1923 - 12 months ago
>> Access via ScienceDirect.
Print held: Vol. 1, 1923 - Vol. 131, 2023
[missing: 116(2-12), 2016]

Requesting articles: Access the corresponding issue via BrowZine, select the article link, and click the button to request the article. Turnaround is usually 1-2 working days.
Interested in a personal subscription? Click here for more detail.

more... less...

Founded in 1923, the British Journal of Anaesthesia (BJA) remains the oldest and largest independent journal of anaesthesia. The journal strives to support research and discovery in the field by publishing the best original articles in all branches of Anaesthesia.
BJA Education
Online: Vol. 15, Iss. 3, 2015 - current
>> Alternate/direct access via ClinicalKey.
Print held: Vol. 15, No. 3, 2015 - Vol. 23, 2023
Continues: Continuing Education in Anaesthesia, Critical Care & Pain

Want to access BJA Ed online exams? See the Self-assessment tools guide.

more... less...

BJA Education, formerly Continuing Education in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Pain, is a joint venture of the British Journal of Anaesthesia and The Royal College of Anaesthetists in the UK. It is also the official journal of The Faculty of Pain Medicine, The College of Anaesthesiologists of Ireland, The Hong Kong College of Anaesthesiologists and the Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine.

Podcasts links

Recommended podcasts are listed below. Additional information about podcasts can be found on the Podcasts library guide.

ABC's of Anaesthesia
An Australian medical education podcast about all things in Anaesthesia. We want to provide everyone from medical student to specialist with interesting interviews, exam tips and discuss the latest information, practice and techniques. Hosted by Lahiru Amaratunge and Kas Wickramarachchi.
ACCRAC
ACCRAC stands for Anesthesia and Critical Care Reviews and Commentary. The aim of this podcast is to help trainees who are reviewing for their exams as well as to provide a forum for interesting topics, debates and interviews in the areas of anesthesia and critical care.
Broome Docs
Welcome to Broome Docs, this site is intended to provide a single source of up-to-date educational material for country doctors.
Deep Breaths
Highly Recommended Welcome to Deep Breaths, a podcast covering topics related to the ANZCA part 2 (Final) anaesthetic exam. Now take a deep breath, relax, and enjoy easy to digest content which will supercharge your exam prep, or help you keep up to date.
EMCrit
EMCrit is devoted to Maximally Aggressive Care: Maximally Aggressive Curative Care and Maximally Aggressive Palliative Care
ObsGynaeCritCare
This website is devoted to the discussion and dissemination of ideas, knowledge and emerging concepts relating to all aspects of critical care of obstetric and gynecologic patients. This is a non profit website with no industry or financial affiliations.
Roadside to Resus
We will bring you podcasts on a variety of Emergency Medicine topics that you’ll use every day in and around the resus room, centered around evidenced based medicine and with reference to national and international guidelines.

Website links

Recommended websites are listed below.

The Anaesthesia Collective
Recommended An online collaboration to create educational resources for anaesthesia. Material for medical professionals – from students to specialists.
Life in the Fast Lane (LITFL)
Life in the Fast Lane (LITFL) Library, anthologies and collections of emergency medicine and critical care education.
NYSORA
Established in 1994, NYSORA is a World Leader in Education in Anesthesiology, ULTRASOUND, Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine. NYSORA utilizes standardized methods, proprietary educational tools (e.g. NYSORA SIMULATORS™) and over 2 decades of experience to deliver its educational mission.

Anesthesia Considerations
We provide comprehensive anesthetic considerations for a variety of medical conditions & surgeries
Deranged Physiology
A free online resource for information regarding intensive care medicine, as well as an exploration of human physiology. It has revision notes and questions covering both the CICM First and Second Part Exams.
How Stuff Works: Science
HowStuffWorks explains thousands of topics, ranging from the flu to black holes to conspiracy theories, with video and illustrations so you can learn how.
Ketamine Nightmares
Site consisting of dedicated PEx and FEx links and resources managed by Stuart N Watson. PEx SAQs, VIVA questions, medical conditions, numerous links and resources including Mark Reeve's excellent Primer document.
OpenAnesthesia
OpenAnesthesia™ (OA), sponsored by the IARS, is an online multimodal toolkit specifically designed to advance graduate medical education in anesthesia.
Propofol Dreams
Propofoldreams is a collection of study notes designed to help more people pass the ANZCA Primary Exam. It covers numerous topics, equipment, mock SAQs, etc.
Rural Anaesthesia Down Under (RADU)
Closed Facebook Group. Please search and request membership if you are on Facebook for access to various resources including the “RADU Dropbox” and peer discussions.
WFSA (World Federation of Societies of Anaesthesiologists)
The World Federation of Societies of Anaesthesiologists is a unique, global network of National Societies that brings together qualified practitioners of this specialised area of medicine.

Videos links

Recommended YouTube channels are listed below.

ABC's of Anaesthesia (YouTube)
Creating educational material and a platform to share knowledge and practical tips in anaesthesia.
Ki-Jinn Chin
Welcome to my collection of educational videos on regional anesthesia and vascular access. My goal is to increase the accessibility, safety and efficacy of these valuable techniques to further advance perioperative patient care.
Ninja Nerd
Our mission statement at Ninja Nerd is to deliver high quality science and medicine lectures on YouTube for FREE. We are here to provide a platform that can supplement to a more rounded learning experience, and have you walk away understanding the big picture.
University of Kentucky Department of Anesthesiology
The objective of the Department of Anesthesiology at the University of Kentucky is to teach the information, skills and attitudes necessary to achieve and maintain clinical excellence.