This page contains information about accessing e-books and print books via the ANZCA Library, as well as linked list of selected books with a Rural focus.
How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Webmaster (technical issues)" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
Anaesthesia in Remote Hospitals: A Guide for Anaesthesia Providers by
This book provides a concise and practical guide for Non-Physician Anaesthesia Providers (NPAPs) such as nurse anaesthetists and Non-Specialist Physicians working in remote settings. In many hospitals in low and even in some middle-income countries, nurse anaesthetists are working without the presence of a specialist anaesthesiologist at their hospital. During their training on the job or at one of the few schools of anaesthesia they have to act as improvising do-it-yourself-teachers for one another. Later in their professional life, NPAPs are often organising their continuous medical education themselves, trying to provide short presentations on topics between attending to patients. This book fills the need for a quick- to-read guide for the everyday work of NPAPs and Non-specialist physician anaesthesia providers, addressing challenges such as electricity failure, lack of technical support, drugs and materials, equipment and support of specialist anaesthesiologists. Anaesthesia in Remote Hospitals: A Guide for Anaesthesia Providers covers the most important fields of anaesthesia in a typical district or referral hospital in a place where resources are limited. It provides many useful tables with doses of drugs, sizes of airway equipment, infusion rate, examples of observation charts and anaesthesia records. Nurse Anaesthetists, Clinical Officers and Resident Physicians will find this book to be an essential guide to Anaesthesia within low resource and remote settings.
Anesthesia in Low-Resourced Settings: Near Misses and Lessons Learned by
This book outlines the many anesthesia-related obstacles, concerns, and challenges that may be encountered by western trained anaesthesiologists in low-resourced settings. Each chapter presents a challenging scenario with solutions. It is therefore an essential handbook that will prepare those performing anesthesia in this milieu.
Anesthesia Outside the Operating Room, 2e by
Anesthesia Outside of the Operating Room is a comprehensive, up-to-date textbook that covers all aspects of anesthesia care in OOR settings, from financial considerations to anaesthetic techniques to quality assurance. With increasing numbers of procedures such as cardiac catheterization and imaging taking place outside of the main OR, anesthesia providers as well as non-anesthesia members of the patient care team will find this book critical to their understanding of the principles of anesthesia care in unique settings which may have limited physical resources.
Cases in Paediatric Critical Care Transfer and Retrieval Medicine by
This highly illustrated book covers a multitude of clinical presentations in a case-based format to allow an authentic feel to the transfer process. Written by clinicians with experience in thousands of transfers, it brings together many years of experience from a world-renowned hospital. Following the case from initial presentation, to resuscitation and referral and finally with the transfer itself; the book explores the clinical stabilisation, human factors decisions and logistical challenges that are encountered every day by these teams.
Emergencies in Anaesthesia, 3e by
The updated third edition of Emergencies in Anaesthesia is a practical, accessible guide to all emergency situations encountered during, and immediately following, anaesthesia. Re-structured to follow the ABCDE emergency approach, this handbook guides the clinician through what to do and when, in a format that can be used rapidly.
Essentials of Disaster Anesthesia by
This concise guide brings together the views and knowledge of experienced responders to offer a much-needed review of the essential elements of anaesthesia and intensive care for disasters and austere environments. Combining academic theory and practical advice, the book covers topics such as emergency and trauma surgery; airway management; chemical, biological and radiological exposure; personal protective equipment; and the psychological impact of working in the operating room in disaster situations.
Manual of Definitive Surgical Trauma Care: Incorporating Definitive Anaesthetic Trauma Care, 5e by
The Manual of Definitive Surgical Trauma Care 5e, is ideal for training all surgeons who encounter major surgical trauma on an infrequent basis. The increasing role of non-operative management (NOM) has been recognised and the Military Module is substantially updated to reflect recent conflict experience. An expanded section highlights trauma management under austere conditions. Written by faculty who teach the DSTC Course, this definitive and well established book focuses on life-saving surgical techniques to use in challenging and unfamiliar incidents of trauma.
Non-Operating Room Anesthesia by
The demand for anesthesiologists outside of the operating room continues to grow as the number of minimally invasive procedures proliferates and the complexity of diagnostic procedures undertaken outside of the OR increase. Non-Operating Room Anesthesia is an easy-to-access, highly visual reference that facilitates an in-depth understanding of NORA procedures and protocols needed to minimize risk and complications and to maximize growth opportunities. "In this book, Drs. Mark Weiss and Lee Fleisher have provided an important tool to address both the challenges and opportunities for anesthesiologists in providing non-operating room anesthesia (NORA) care."
Office Based Anesthesia Complications: Prevention, Recognition and Management by
This text provides detailed methods to allow the surgeon and anesthetist to risk stratify patients as well as prevent, recognize and manage the most common anesthesia related complications in office-based settings.
Pediatric Sedation Outside of the Operating Room: A Multispecialty International Collaboration, 3e by
Third edition of a multidisciplinary reference that features an international authorship and is also of use for a broad range of specialists who deliver paediatric sedation in the non-OR setting.
Practical Ambulatory Anesthesia by
This combination of authoritative evidence-based guidance and personal advice ensures the reader benefits from the latest scientific knowledge and the authors' wealth of experience. Chapters discuss how to plan, equip and staff an ambulatory unit, pharmacology, key concepts of ambulatory care, pre- and post-operative issues, quality assurance, and current controversies.
Advanced Surgical Techniques for Rural Surgeons by
This unique reference fulfils the unmet need of a textbook that addresses the scope of practice for surgeons practicing in rural regions. The text provides up-to-date content covering a wide breadth of topics relevant to surgical care in rural areas, with focus on the surgical diseases that are often treated by surgical subspecialists in the urban setting.
Application of the Political Economy to Rural Health Disparities by
This thought-provoking monograph analyzes the longstanding political and economic structures underlying entrenched health inequities in rural areas worldwide. Bypassing familiar data on the subject, it critiques existing approaches to why core social determinants of health are underrepresented in rural communities, and synthesizes knowledge from health behaviors to spatial politics to make creative, equitable suggestions for intervention. The author reviews classic economic and current sociopolitical theory to pinpoint governments’ decision-making processes behind resource allocation as they translate into poor service access, service quality, and health outcomes. In reply, corrective policy measures are recommended to address these conditions at the root-cause level, in keeping with global goals of improved health for all.
Australia's Rural, Remote and Indigenous Health, 3e by
Australia's Rural, Remote and Indigenous Health 3e is a practical guide to the delivery of health care in rural and remote Australia. Drawing on personal experiences of rural practitioners, historical accounts, literature analysis and epidemiology, it discusses the economic, social and political forces that shape healthcare in rural and remote Australia.
HIV/AIDS in Rural Communities: Research, Education, and Advocacy by
This wide-ranging volume reviews the experience and treatment of HIV/AIDS in rural America at the clinical, care system, community, and individual levels. Rural HIV-related phenomena are explored within healthcare contexts (physician shortages, treatment disparities) and the social environment (stigma, the opioid epidemic), and contrasted with urban frames of reference. Contributors present latest findings on HIV medications, best practices, and innovative opportunities for improving care and care settings, plus invaluable first-person perspective on the intersectionality of patient subpopulations. These chapters offer both seasoned and training practitioners a thorough grounding in the unique challenges of providing appropriate and effective services in the region.
The Leading Edge: Innovation, Technology and People in Australia's Flying Doctor Service by
The advent of the Royal Flying Doctor Service in the 1930s was a testimony to Australian innovation and ingenuity. Much has been written about the early history of the iconic organisation, adapting aircraft and pedal radios to meet the needs of people in vast remote areas. In this book, Dr Stephen Langford, the Service's longest serving medico, provides a compelling account of the Service since the late 1970s. Langford's history emphasises the technology and innovation that has enabled the RFDS to remain at the forefront of aeromedical care. [Subject:?History, Medicine, Aeromedical Care]
Physician Assistants: Policy and Practice by
Explore the past, present, and future of PA practice. The authors, noted educators, researchers, and practitioners, draw on extensive research to trace the evolution of the PA's roles and responsibilities in the delivery of health care services. Their presentation of historical content balanced with discussions of the ethical, educational, legislative, and economic forces that are shaping that the profession makes this the perfect classroom tool for PA's learning their field and their professional role.
Rural Health Disparities: Public Health, Policy, and Planning Approaches by
This innovative resource offers a unique, multidisciplinary approach for the utilization of planning theory to eliminate health disparities in rural communities. The book provides tools in the public health, policy, and planning disciplines to help resolve significant differences in life expectancy and quality of life in these communities, concluding with a progressive vision for alleviating geographical health disparities on a local, national, and global scale.
Rural Landscapes of Community Health: The Community Health Assessment Sustainable Education (CHASE) Model in Action by
The book describes a novel method of engaging rural communities in partnership initially with nurse learners to research and employ the Community Health Assessment Sustainability Education (CHASE) model. CHASE provides a consolidated structure that immerses nurse learners in community development in partnership with their group peers, community organisations and educational supervisors. The book engages with community development practitioners, community activists including rural health practitioners who provide services to rural populations, undergraduate health disciplines, postgraduate learners, educators, and researchers.The CHASE system is described in detail and offers case studies on its application in a variety of geographical contexts. CHASE is a starting point that does not set out to impose a single understanding - it is adapted in practice to rural communities' requirements.
Tropical Health Orientation Manual for Health Practitioners in Northern Australia by
The Tropical health orientation manual (THOM) provides an introduction to clinically important conditions common in northern Australia. It is a resource for health practitioners who are unfamiliar with tropical diseases and/or new to working in this region.
For a comprehensive list of titles, see: Rural health
Looking for rural/remote titles related to indigenous populations? See our Indigenous health guide.
Information and Communication Technology (ICT) Frameworks in Telehealth by
This book aims to explore technology solutions and systems to help people in remote areas in order to improve medical care.
Telemedicine, Telehealth and Telepresence: Principles, Strategies, Applications, and New Directions by
Telemedicine and telehealth have consistently been shown to be effective for remote areas or limited-resource locations, regular medical and surgical practice, primary care, second opinion, extreme conditions, major crises, and disaster management. The aim of this book is to bring all aspects of telemedicine and e-health to the reader, in a simple, make-sense approach, in one tome. The book is structured in four parts with 29 chapters written by the best experts in the field from around the world, including clinicians, scientists, and administrators of telemedicine programs. Part I deals with basic principles of telemedicine and telepresence. Historical journeys of telemedicine and strategies, building sustainable telemedicine and telehealth programs in the United States and in the Balkans, as well as incorporation of telemedicine in the current ongoing pandemic COVID-19 are well described and are must read. Current technological developments, rules and regulations, legal and business aspects and consent are also addressed. Part II describes strategies for building sustainable telemedicine and telehealth programs. Telehealth patient portals and public-private partnership modes of technology, as well the role of international telemedicine and how to make it work, are valuable chapters of great significance. Part III describes outcomes-based evidence clinical applications of telemedicine in trauma, burns, intensive care, paediatric care, psychiatry, and stroke. Finally, one important chapter for the readers is the telemedicine for prison and jail population. The final part, Part IV depicts surgical telementoring and teleproctoring, a chapter written by 18 various surgical experts, a true gem for the readers. The book ends with promises and hurdles of telemedicine in austere conditions.
Telemedicine: The Computer Transformation of Healthcare by
This book provides an overview of the innovative concepts, methodologies and frameworks that will increase the feasibility of the existing telemedicine system. With the arrival of advanced technologies, telehealth has become a new subject, requiring a different understanding of IT devices and of their use, to fulfill health needs. Different topics are discussed - from the basics of TeleMedicine, to help readers understand the technology from ground up, to details about the infrastructure and communication technologies to offer deeper insights into the technology. The use of IoT and cloud services along with the use of blockchain technology in TeleMedicine are also discussed.
Telemedicine in the ICU by
This text provides a concise, yet comprehensive overview of telemedicine in the ICU. Written by experts in the field, Telemedicine in the ICU is a practical guide for intensive care physicians and hospital administrators that provides all the information necessary in building and maintaining a successful tele-ICU program.
Understanding Telehealth by
From email to videoconferencing, telehealth puts real-time healthcare solutions at patients' and clinicians' fingertips.Written by past presidents of the American Telemedicine Association, Understanding Telehealth explains how clinical applications leveraging telehealth technology are optimizing healthcare delivery.
The college acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present and emerging.
The college acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Te Tiriti o Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
The college recognises the special relationship between the Pacific peoples of New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific, and is committed to supporting those fellows and trainees of ANZCA, and improving the health of Pacific peoples.
Library
