It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
Items can be requested by searching the ANZCA Library, selecting the item title and then selecting the [ Request Item for Loan ] button
Items available for loan include textbooks, CD-ROMs and DVDs
Requested items are delivered/returned via courier FREE-OF-CHARGE
When placing a request, first-time users will be required to create a password for their personalised Library Account
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
Anesthesia for Trauma: New Evidence and New Challenges by Corey S. Scher (Editor)Trauma is the leading cause of death among people under the age of 40 and it ranks third for all age groups. Still, relatively few clinicians specialize in trauma and training is often obtained through experience.nbsp;The number of trauma patients is expected to continue to grow as pre-hospital care continues to advance. As well, hospitals increasingly see traumanbsp;treatment, which requires no pre-approval, as a good source of revenue. Given these developments,nbsp;the number of opportunities for specialists trained in trauma, including anesthesiologists and critical care physicians, will expandnbsp;in the years ahead. This book addresses the need for an up-to-date, comprehensive and clinically focused volume for practitioners and trainees in trauma anesthesia and critical care. It is organized by organ system. The editor is an attending physician at a major urban hospital center recognized worldwide for its outstanding emergency medical services including trauma care and is recruiting leading trauma anesthesiologists to contribute. Anesthesiologists, pain medicine physicians, critical care physicians and trainees are the target audience.
Publication Date: 2014-08-28
Bone and joint injuries : Trauma surgery III by Hans-Jörg Oestern (Editor); Otmar Trentz (Editor); Selman Uranues (Editor)There currently is a clear tendency to an increasing number of accidental injuries in elderly people, in sport injuries and car crashes also in countries which recently joined the European Union and candidates to join the European Union. Patients expect very good functional results even after serious injuries. But in contrast to this development, Trauma Surgery as an independent field, is not yet established in all European countries. Therefore, it seems mandatory to compile a book that covers the state-of-the-art in Trauma Surgery. The book also serves to harmonise the practice of Trauma Surgery within the European Union, and to prepare for the exam of the U.E.M.S.
Current Therapy of Trauma and Surgical Critical Care, 2e by Juan A. Asensio; Donald D. TrunkeyPractical and evidence-based, Current Therapy of Trauma and Surgical Critical Care, 2e, offers a comprehensive, contemporary summary of the treatment and post-operative management of traumatic injuries. The concise format makes it ideally suited for everyday use, and new, full-colour illustrations highlight the most important aspects of urgent surgical care, including ventilator management, damage control, non-invasive techniques, imaging, infection control, dealing with mass casualties, and treating injuries induced by chemical and biological agents.
Publication Date: 2015-06-10
Emergency Medicine: Clinical Essentials, 2e by James G. AdamsEmergency Medicine, 2e delivers all the relevant clinical core concepts you need for practice and certification, all in a comprehensive, easy-to-absorb, and highly visual format. This well-regarded emergency medicine reference offers fast-access diagnosis and treatment guidelines that quickly provide the pearls and secrets of your field, helping you optimize safety, efficiency, and quality in the ED as well as study for the boards. Get clear, concise descriptions and evidence-based treatment guidelines for a full range of clinical conditions, ranging from the common to the unusual.
Publication Date: 2012-09-05
Emergency Medicine: The Principles of Practice, 7e by Gordian W. O. Fulde; Sascha FuldeThis premier text offers accessible evidence-based clinical management and treatment advice that can be incorporated seamlessly into the daily demands of the emergency medicine environment. The comprehensive scope of content coverage ensures readers - both students and clinicians - are well equipped with the practical nous to succeed in the demanding world of emergency medicine.
Publication Date: 2020-09-28
Emergency Medicine Secrets, 7e by Katherine A. Bakes; Jennie Buchanan; Maria Moreira; Rich Byyny; Peter T. Pons [eds]Emergency Medicine Secrets, 7e, offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This highly regarded resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Fully revised and updated throughout, including protocols and guidelines that are continuously evolving and that increasingly dictate best practices.
Publication Date: 2021-06-21
Encyclopedia of Trauma Care by Peter Papadakos (Editor); Mark Gestring (Editor)This encyclopedia is an authoritative compilation of practical information on major topics in trauma management. Its encyclopedic format will allow the reader to rapidly find up-to-date information on a specific topic of interest. The book is organized in an organ-based manner for ease of use when a practitioner is confronted with a particular injury. Each chapter takes the form of a clearly structured review of the subject in question and includes informative illustrations and tables as well as lists of classic references. In addition to the full range of organ-specific injuries, a number of important further topics are covered, including critical care of the trauma patient, trauma system organization, mass injury scenarios, the impact of new technologies, complications in trauma care, and ethical issues. All of the authors are leading experts, and the encyclopedia will provide an excellent source of information for both basic and clinical scientists and trainees in various fields.
Publication Date: 2015-07-30
Essentials of Disaster Anesthesia by Joseph McIsaac; Kelly McQueen; Corry Kucik [eds]This concise guide brings together the views and knowledge of experienced responders to offer a much-needed review of the essential elements of anaesthesia and intensive care for disasters and austere environments. Combining academic theory and practical advice, the book covers topics such as emergency and trauma surgery; airway management; chemical, biological and radiological exposure; personal protective equipment; and the psychological impact of working in the operating room in disaster situations.
Publication Date: 2020-06-25
Essentials of Trauma Anesthesia, 2e by Albert J. Varon; Charles Smith [eds]Essentials of Trauma Anesthesia provides a concise, practical review of the essential elements in the care of the severely injured trauma patient, including emergency airway management, fluid and blood resuscitation, regional and general anesthesia, and perioperative care. Essentials of Trauma Anesthesia identifies new trends in surgery and anaesthesiology practices that impact on the management of trauma patients.
Publication Date: 2012-06-07
General trauma care and related aspects. Trauma surgery II by Hans-Jörg Oestern (Editor); Otmar Trentz (Editor); Selman Uranüs (Editor)There currently is a clear tendency to an increasing number of accidental injuries in elderly people, in sport injuries and car crashes also in countries which recently joined the European Union and candidates to join the European Union. Patients expect very good functional results even after serious injuries. But in contrast to this development, Trauma Surgery as an independent field, is not yet established in all European countries. Therefore, it seems mandatory to compile a book that covers the state-of-the-art in Trauma Surgery. The book also serves to harmonise the practice of Trauma Surgery within the European Union, and to prepare for the exam of the U.E.M.S.
Publication Date: 2013-10-22
Head, thoracic, abdominal, and vascular injuries. Trauma surgery, I by Hans-Jörg Oestern (Editor); Otmar Trentz (Editor); Selman Uranues (Editor)There currently is a clear tendency to an increasing number of accidental injuries in elderly people, in sport injuries and car crashes also in countries which recently joined the European Union and candidates to join the European Union. Patients expect very good functional results even after serious injuries. But in contrast to this development, Trauma Surgery as an independent field, is not yet established in all European countries. Therefore, it seems mandatory to compile a book that covers the state-of-the-art in Trauma Surgery. The book also serves to harmonise the practice of Trauma Surgery within the European Union, and to prepare for the exam of the U.E.M.S.
Publication Date: 2011-01-19
Interventional treatment of wounds : a modern approach for better outcomes by Dennis Orgill (Editor)Our aging population, combined with an increase incidence of both diabetes and obesity, has fueled the need for better care of acute and chronic wounds associated with these diseases. Interventional Treatment of Wounds focuses on what modern surgery can do to accelerate the healing of such wounds. Utilizing case studies alongside background and in-depth analysis for each technique with color images and videos, this book is intended to guide the reader in surgical and non-surgical procedures to assist with wound closure.
Edited by the medical director of the Brigham and Women's Hospital Wound Care Center, Interventional Treatment of Wounds takes the plastic surgeon's point of view on wound care and various surgical and non-surgical interventional treatments. Where the typical wound care book addresses bandaging and dressing of various surface wounds, Interventional Treatment of Wounds delves into the surgical and interventional procedures that can effectively treat both acute and chronic wounds. Written for wound care professional including physicians, podiatrists, nurses, residents and students this book features three distinct sections covering surgical methods and techniques, amputation, and interventional techniques, paying special attention to skin grafts, flaps, and substitutions, as well as arterial and venous interventions.
Publication Date: 2018
Manual of Definitive Surgical Trauma Care: Incorporating Definitive Anaesthetic Trauma Care, 5e by Kenneth David Boffard [ed]The Manual of Definitive Surgical Trauma Care 5e, is ideal for training all surgeons who encounter major surgical trauma on an infrequent basis. The increasing role of non-operative management (NOM) has been recognised and the Military Module is substantially updated to reflect recent conflict experience. An expanded section highlights trauma management under austere conditions. Written by faculty who teach the DSTC Course, this definitive and well established book focuses on life-saving surgical techniques to use in challenging and unfamiliar incidents of trauma.
Publication Date: 2019-08-07
Military Advanced Regional Anesthesia and Analgesia Handbook, 2e by Buckenmaier C, et al [eds]The second edition of Military Advanced Regional Anesthesia and Analgesia Handbook (MARAA) has been thoroughly revised and updated. This beautifully illustrated step-by-step guidance provides pertinent and practical guidance for managing vital acute pain services in all civilian and military clinical settings. Opening chapters review equipment, local anaesthesia and additives, and physics of ultrasound and nerve stimulation. Much of the book is devoted to step-by-step guidance on performing various regional anaesthesia nerve blocks organized by pertinent neuroanatomy, use of nerve stimulation, and use of ultrasound.
Pain Control in Ambulatory Surgery Centers by Kanishka Rajput, Nalini Vadivelu, Alan David Kaye, Rinoo V Shah [eds]This book provides a comprehensive review of the, challenges, risk, stratification, and approaches and techniques needed to improve pain control in ambulatory surgery centers (ASCs). It addresses not only the management of acute perioperative pain but also describes modalities that could potentially reduce the risk of evolution of acute pain into chronic pain, in addition to weaning protocols and follow ups with primary surgical specialties and pain physicians as needed.
Publication Date: 2021-03-09
Pediatric Emergency Medicine Secrets, 3e by Steven M. SelbstAccess concise, yet complete clinical guidance on pediatric emergency care with Pediatric Emergency Medicine Secrets, a bestselling volume in the popular Secrets Series®. Ideal for quick review or exam prep, this updated medical reference book is an essential pocket guide covering common and unusual pediatric conditions.
Publication Date: 2014-12-15
Pediatric Imaging for the Emergency Provider by Robert Vezzetti; Jestin Carlson; Debra Pennington [eds]Written specifically for the non-specialist and those with limited pediatric training, Pediatric Imaging for the Emergency Provider provides expert guidance in this challenging area. Abundant high-quality imaging examples cover the full range of pediatric disorders you're likely to see, including trauma, musculoskeletal, pulmonary, ENT, cardiac, genitourinary, gastroenterology, neurological, and neonatal patients. Presents more than 80 common and important rare cases, supported with 450+ images across relevant modalities including ultrasound, radiography, CT, and MRI.
Publication Date: 2021-05-19
Penetrating Trauma: A Practical Guide on Operative Technique and Peri-Operative Management by George C. Velmahos (Editor); Elias Degiannis (Editor); Dietrich Doll (Editor)Surgery needs skill. Skill needs knowledge. Knowledge of tricks, moves, and tools. This book is about such knowledge. Expert authors have contributed technical pearls, gained by years of experience. The short "how-I-do-it" chapters offer the reader a quick and effective guide that will be invaluable when addressing any penetrating injury. The book is not intended to serve as a comprehensive volume of pathophysiology and management in trauma; rather the goal is to provide practical solutions on how to treat injuries surgically. It describes the steps that you must take when, in the middle of the night, confronted with devastating bleeding, you will have only one chance to save a life!
Publication Date: 2011-10-21
Prehospital Trauma Care by Eldar Soreide; Christopher M. Grande [eds]Encompasses all aspects of emergency medicine--triage assessment and treatment, anesthesia, intensive care, psychiatry, health and military disasters, burns, shock, and surgery. Written by over 70 distinguished international experts and considers geographic and cultural perspectives in trauma care.
Publication Date: 2001-07-27
Primary management of polytrauma by Suk-Kyung Hong, Dong Kwan Kim, Sang Ryong JeonThis well-illustrated book describes a practical approach to the primary management of patients who have multiple injuries, or polytrauma, with the aim of providing medical and paramedical personnel with the knowledge required in order to achieve optimal clinical outcomes. The opening chapters explain initial assessment and management and the early diagnosis and treatment of shock. The primary management of injuries to the head, spine, chest, abdomen, musculoskeletal system, and soft tissues is then discussed in detail. The role played by diagnostic and interventional radiology in trauma management is explained, and an individual chapter is devoted to care of the pediatric patient. The book emphasizes the need for systematic assessment of multiple injuries from head to toe and the fact that the mechanisms and severity of injury and the anatomic disruption will differ in each patient. Taking these factors into account, readers will be able to identify and initiate treatment of those injuries likely to cause most harm to the individual patient.
Publication Date: 2019
Roberts and Hedges' Clinical Procedures in Emergency Medicine and Acute Care, 7e by James R. RobertsComprehensive, detailed, and up to date, Roberts and & Hedges' Clinical Procedures in Emergency Medicine and Acute Care, 7e, provides highly visual coverage of both common and uncommon procedures encountered in emergency medicine and acute care practice. It clearly describes the ins and outs of every procedure you're likely to consider, such as how, why, when to, and when not to perform them, and recommends other emergency or acute care procedures that may be an option. Thoroughly revised and updated throughout, the 7th Edition remains the most well-known and trusted procedures manual in its field.
Publication Date: 2018-02-07
Rosen's Emergency Medicine: Concepts and Clinical Practice, 9e by Ron Walls; Robert Hockberger; Marianne Gausche-HillGenerations of emergency medicine residents and practitioners have relied on Rosen's as the source for current information across the spectrum of emergency medicine practice. The 9th Edition continues this tradition of excellence, offering the unparalleled clarity and authority you've come to expect from the award-winning leader in the field. Throughout the text, content is now more concise, clinically relevant, and accessible than ever before - meeting the needs of today's increasingly busy emergency medicine practitioner.
Publication Date: 2017-05-18
The Shock Trauma Manual of Operative Techniques by Thomas M. Scalea (Editor)This manual provides a practical approach to operative trauma management. Written entirely by physicians who currently practice in shock trauma, the manual features a hands-on approach and practice to dealing with shock trauma that is regularly utilized by the faculty at the R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center. The volume includes numerous photographs that illustrate operative techniques in great detail. The book is also presented in a manual format so that it fits easily into a white coat pocket, making it a portable and readily accessible reference. The Shock Trauma Manual of Operative Techniques is a valuable resource for practicing surgeons in the community who cover the Emergency Department and thus, may be called upon to provide operative therapy for trauma, residents, particularly those in whom operative trauma is not a part of their training, and fellows who are training in surgical critical care and trauma.
Publication Date: 2015-04-23
Squid's Little Pink Book: A Pocket Guide for Emergency Doctors by Lydia LozziThis book is specifically written and designed for the pocket and to be carried everywhere by the busy emergency doctor. It is for quick reference and memory jogging when standing at a patient's bedside postulating a diagnosis. It is for those panicked moments when you feel out of control or when you just need a friend to back you up. It is to be your guide to the questions you need to already have answered before you make the consult and get grilled by the specialty team.
Publication Date: 2020-12-04
Textbook of Adult Emergency Medicine, 5e by Peter Cameron; Mark Little; Biswadev Mitra; Conor Deasy [eds]This fully revised Fifth Edition provides clear and consistent coverage of this constantly evolving specialty. Building on the success of previous editions it covers all the major topics relevant to the practice of emergency medicine. The book will prove invaluable to professionals working in this setting - including nurse specialists and paramedics - who require concise, highly practical guidance, incorporating the latest best practice and evidence-based guidelines.
Publication Date: 2019-08-07
Trauma and Combat Critical Care in Clinical Practice by Sam D. Hutchings (Editor)Intensive Care Medicine (or Critical Care, the terms are used interchangeably) is an evolving specialty both within the UK and worldwide. It has recently been established as a UK speciality in it's own right, and is at the centre of the modern acute hospital, responsible for managing the sickest and most complex patients. There is a growing cadre of critical care specialists in the UK, underpinned by a large number of doctors in training within the specialty. Management of patients with severe traumatic injury is provided by intensive care specialists, often in conjunction with a range of other professionals such as surgeons and interventional radiologists. The management of these patients, who have competing complex injuries can be challenging. Traumatic injury is recognised as a significant cause of preventable mortality and such patients are now clustered within Major Trauma Centres across the UK. The Defence Medical Services of the UK have spent the last 10 years managing patients with very severe traumatic injuries, first in Iraq and most recently in Afghanistan. The lessons learnt from this experience has filtered through to the NHS, resulting in many changes to established practice. Whilst several books have been published based on this experience, none have focused on the intensive care management of such patients, which represents a vital link in the chain of survival from injury to recovery.
Publication Date: 2016-11-02
Trauma Surgery - Volume 1: Trauma Management, Trauma Critical Care, Orthopaedic Trauma and Neuro-Trauma by Salomone Di Saverio (Editor); Gregorio Tugnoli (Editor); Fausto Catena (Editor); Luca Ansaloni (Editor); Jaishree Naidoo (Editor); Noel Naidoo (Editor)Trauma surgery has increasingly become a specialized field inspired by different principles and philosophy. A good trauma surgeon is a surgeon who knows how to perform abdominal vascular, thoracic, urologic, gynecologic, and orthopaedic procedures and is able to repair multiple traumatic injuries in the best sequence possible. In this first volume, practical, up-to-date guidance is provided on the optimal critical care and ICU management of trauma patients. In addition, individual chapters focus on specific injuries in orthopaedic trauma (and especially spinal trauma) and neurotrauma, with the aim of providing a fresh view of the surgical approach and practical suggestions for improving the skills of treating surgeons. Educational issues and the organization of a trauma center are also covered. The volume will be a handy pocket guide for trainee surgeons and any surgeon, physician, or nurse who treats trauma patients. It will be particularly relevant for emergency department physicians, critical care and ICU doctors, orthopaedic surgeons, neurosurgeons, and professionals responsible for trauma care and decision making, programs of trauma education, or organization of a trauma center. Also available: Trauma Surgery Vol. 2: Thoracic and Abdominal Trauma
Publication Date: 2014-01-07
Trauma Team Dynamics: A Trauma Crisis Resource Management Manual by Lawrence Marshall Gillman (Editor); Sandy Widder (Editor); Michael Blaivas (Editor); Dimitrios Karakitsos (Editor)This is the first book exploring the unique dynamics created by a multidisciplinary trauma team and how crisis management strategies can improve teamwork and communication and, potentially, improve patient resuscitation outcomes. Crisis resource management (CRM) is integral to the way that we manage ourselves, team members, and patients during emergency situations. It is essentially the ability to translate knowledge of what needs to be done into effective actions during a crisis situation. Building on the revolutionary American College of Surgeons Advanced Trauma Life Support (ATLS®) course, Trauma Team Dynamics illustrates the integration of the principles of CRM to team dynamics throughout the resuscitation -from the scene, through pre-hospital care and transport, to the trauma bay, and finally to definitive care and beyond. The editors and contributors are international experts in trauma, critical care, emergency medicine, nursing, respiratory therapy, and pre-hospital care and include NASA- and United States military-affiliated experts. Trauma Team Dynamics is intended for use as both a day-to-day clinical resource and a reference text, and includes self-assessment questions as well as guidance on CRM curriculum design and implementation.
Publication Date: 2015-11-02
Wounds and Lacerations: Emergency Care and Closure, 4e by Alexander T. TrottWith Wounds and Lacerations: Emergency Care and Closure, you'll get clear, concise guidance on the latest techniques and strategies for treating lacerations, wounds, and burns. This medical reference book will help you optimize every aspect of patient care based on current literature and guidelines. Expedite review and reference with a bulleted "Key Practice Points" section at the beginning of each chapter. Quickly reference the latest recommendations for tetanus and rabies prophylaxis.
Publication Date: 2012-03-21
For a comprehensive list of eBooks and print books, click the link below.
ANZCA acknowledges the traditional custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present, and emerging.
ANZCA acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.