Library resource guides: Airway management: Apps, podcasts &amp; online lectures

Guide index

Related guides

Apps

Wellbeing apps

Podcasts

Related websites

iMedicalApps (reviews of medical apps & healthcare technology)

iTunes (medical category)

Google Play (medical category)

AudioDigest Spotlight

Users must register prior to listening.

Managing the Physiologically Difficult Airway (21 Oct 2024)
The goal of this program is to improve the management of the physiologically difficult airway.
Prevention of Pulmonary Aspiration in the Gastrointestinal Suite (14 February 2024)
This program aims to improve management of patients at risk for pulmonary aspiration, including identifying risk factors, the effects of semaglutide on gastric emptying, and use of point-of-care gastric ultrasonography.
Morbid Obesity: What Weight Should We Use to Titrate Drugs and Ventilation? (7 Jan 2024)
The goal of this program is to improve correctly determine the weight to use when titrating drugs and ventilation in the morbidly obese.
Airway Management in Penetrating Neck Trauma (21 Mar 2023)
This program aims to improve the management of penetrating neck injuries, and includes formulating a plan for anaesthetic management, recognising clinical findings and appropriate intubation methods.
Updates to American Society of Anesthesiologists' Difficult Airway Guidelines (28 Jan 2023)
This program aims to improve management of a difficult airway.
Perioperative Tracheostomies: Addressing the Holes in Our Knowledge of Airway Management (7 Dec 2022)
This program aims to improve the management of patients with tracheostomy by providing safe and appropriate anesthesia for tracheostomy procedures.
Ventilator Management in the Operating Room (14 Nov 2022)
This program aims to improve management of patients on the ventilator in the operating room, and includes strategies for early ventilator management of the critically ill.
An Introduction to Extracorporeal Membrane Oxygenation (14 Sep 2022)
This program aims to improve extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO) knowledge, and includes appropriate cannulation strategies in patients receiving ECMO.
Creative Approaches to the Difficult Airway (Aug 14, 2022)
This program aims to improve the management of the difficult airway using validated and novel techniques.
Emerging Concepts and Controversies in Pediatric Anesthesia (28 Jul 2022)
This program aims to improve the management of pediatric anesthesia and better manage complications with difficult airways in pediatric patients.
Surprise Difficult Airways in Remote Locations (28 Jun 2022)
This program aims to improve the success rates of intubation performed in remote locations. It also considers the effects of anatomic factors when choosing a rescue technique for a patient with a difficult airway.
Mechanical Power in Intraoperative Ventilation (21Jun 2022)
This program is to improve the management of intraoperative ventilation, and includes postoperative pulmonary complications caused by mechanical ventilation.
Pediatric Airway Management: When One Size Does Not Fit All (7 Feb 2022)
This program aims to improve the management of pediatric airways, especially for pediatric patients at risk of difficult intubation.
Navigating the Shared Airway (28 Jan 2022)
This program focuses on practice principles to improve performance during esophagogastroduodenoscopy (EGD) and shared airway procedures.
Rapid-sequence Induction in Patients with Trauma (7 Nov 2021)
This program aims to improve outcomes of anesthesia in patients with trauma, and includes reverse neuromuscular blockade through the appropriate use of sugammadex.
Managing the Pediatric Airway (28 May 2021)
This program aims to improve the management of airways in paediatric patients, and includes recognising risk factors, treating laryngospasm, and selecting appropriate endotracheal tubes.
Management of the Difficult Airway in Children (14 Jul 2020)
The following program aims to improve the management of difficult airways in children. Areas of interest include identifying airway management issues likely to occur in children and using clinical devices to manage pediatric airways.

Fully updated 2023/4 collection now available.

AudioDigest Anesthesiology Collection [App] This link opens in a new window
AudioDigest provides instant online and mobile access to 250+ accredited anaesthesiology, pain medicine and critical care audio lectures presented by experts from leading institutions, bringing clinicians a convenient continuing medical education (CME/CE) experience. Each lecture includes: objectives, pre-test Q&A, summary & readings, post-test Q&A, evaluation.

Free registration required to access
See our dedicated AudioDigest guide for more information including full registration and access details

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under the Knowledge and skills Learning sessions activity. Use the Audio-Digest My Transcript feature to track completed activities.

Podcasts

Recommended podcasts are listed below. Additional information about podcasts can be found on the Podcasts library guide.

Airway World® Podcasts
Airway World is dedicated to the advancement of airway management. Airway World is brought to you by the founders of The Difficult Airway Course™.
Airway World® Podcasts (iOS/Apple)

Intensive Care Network - Airway Podcasts
Airway podcast provided by the Intensive Care Network, a dedicated team of critical care specialists and trainees committed to providing high quality, free medical education.

Safe Airway Society Podcasts
Podcasts from The Safe Airway Society - the interprofessional airway society for Australia and New Zealand. Includes audio recordings of the Airwaves livestream, sessions from Safe Airway Society live meetings and other special events.
Safe Airway Society Podcasts (Spotify)
Safe Airway Society Podcasts (iOS/Apple)

Apps

Recommended apps are listed below, sorted by area. Additional information about ANZCA-subscribed/supported apps can be found on the Apps library guide.

Access - by McGraw Hill [App] This link opens in a new window
The new MGH Access app allows users to search content from the AccessAnesthesiology and AccessMedicine collections, including: books and chapters (including Goodman & Gilman's and Harrison's), videos, podcasts, infographics, images, tables, and figures. Free registration required.

See our dedicated Access - by McGraw Hill guide for more information including full registration and access details.

The Difficult Airway App (AMEC)
The Difficult Airway App™ guides the user quickly and easily through key algorithms, predictors of the difficult airway and the step-by-step approach to RSI taught in The Difficult Airway Course: Emergency™.
The Difficult Airway App (iOS/Apple)

Suggest an app or podcast

To suggest apps or podcasts for inclusion on this page, please use the Library feedback form