Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Asia-Pacific resources: Educational resources

This page contains educational resources that are available free online to health professionals working in registered institutions in LMIC.

WMA

HINARI - Access to Research in Health Programme

HINARI Programme set up by WHO together with major publishers, enables low- and middle- income countries to gain access to one of the world's largest collections of biomedical and health literature. Up to 15,000 journals (in 30 different languages), up to 47,000 e-books, up to 100 other information resources are now available to health institutions in more than 100 countries, areas and territories benefiting many thousands of health workers and researchers, and in turn, contributing to improve world health.

Research HelpFind out if your region is eligible for the programme.

InformationCheck if your institution is registered for Hinari.

InformationRegister your institution via this form.

Research HelpClick here for training resources on how to use Hinari.


View a list of key anaesthesia and pain medicine JOURNALS available through Hinari.

View a list of key anaesthesia and pain medicine E-BOOKS available through Hinari.


Local Hinari contacts

InformationInterested in Hinari training, access or have a question? Contact your local WHO representative.

Papua New Guinea 

Alternatively University of Papua New Guinea Library may be able to provide access to doctors in PNG. Contact: Library@upng.ac.pg 

Fiji

  • Contact still pending

Embase now available via HINARI

Elsevier is making its biomedical database Embase available to Hinari users with immediate effect. Researchers and healthcare professionals in developing countries now have access to one of the world’s most comprehensive biomedical literature databases.

To access Embase:

  1. Log into Hinari
  2. Select ‘databases’.
  3. You will find Embase in the overview of databases offered through Research4Life

Research4Life Training

Research4Life offers training materials for free on their website, with the intention of supporting researchers and users of their online resources, author skills, reference management tools, resources for researchers, etc

WebsiteVisit this website for Research4Life training material to download for free, information about local workshops and advanced courses for Hinari. 

Cochrane

The Cochrane Library's mission is to promote evidence-informed health decision-making by producing high-quality, relevant, accessible systematic reviews and other synthesized research evidence. 

Their work is internationally recognised as the benchmark for high-quality information about the effectiveness of health care.

InformationClick here for information about access options.


Cochrane has launched a new Interactive Learning module on Health Equity.

InformationRead more here.

WebsiteAccess Module 11: Health equity in systematic reviews

Part of the Cochrane Interactive Learning course on Conducting an Intervention Review, this module will give you an introduction to health equity considerations when planning and conducting a systematic review.

Western Pacific Region Index Medicus (WPRO)

The Western Pacific Region Index Medicus (WPRIM)

The Western Pacific Region Index Medicus (WPRIM) is the regional bibliographic index of medical and health journals published by the Member States of the Western Pacific Region. This is the Region’s contribution to the Global Index Medicus (GIM) initiative which aims to extend to all the benefits of the knowledge that is essential to the fullest attainment of health. WPRIM allows free, public access to research and publications that may not be available through other popular medical indexes. 

The WPRIM is a project of the World Health Organization (WHO). Western Pacific Regional Office in collaboration with several institutions in its Member States. For more information on the background of this resource, please visit this website.

WebsiteAccess the Western Pacific Region Index Medicus (WPRO) here.

ANZCA acknowledges the traditional custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present, and emerging.

ANZCA acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.