Asia-Pacific resources: Journals

Established in 1957, Acta Anaesthesiologica Scandinavica is the official publication of the Scandinavian Society of Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care Medicine. It publishes papers on original work in anaesthesiology, intensive care, pain and emergency medicine and subjects related to their basic sciences. With a rising impact factor, Acta Anaesthesiologica Scandinavica has a well established reputation for publishing high quality material and attracts a global readership in over 60 countries.

Advances in Anesthesia brings you the best current thinking from the preeminent practitioners in the field. A distinguished editorial board identifies current areas of major progress and controversy and invites specialists to contribute original articles on these topics. These insightful overviews bring concepts to a clinical level and explore their everyday impact on patient care.

Anaesthesia is the official journal of the Association of Anaesthetists of Great Britain and Ireland and is international in scope and comprehensive in coverage. It publishes original, peer-reviewed articles on all aspects of general and regional anaesthesia, intensive care and pain therapy, including research on equipment.

Anaesthesia and Intensive Care is an international journal publishing timely, peer reviewed articles that have educational value and scientific merit for clinicians and researchers associated with anaesthesia, intensive care medicine, and pain medicine. It is the official journal of the Australian Society of Anaesthetists, the Australian and New Zealand Intensive Care Society and the New Zealand Society of Anaesthetists.

Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine is a continually updated, evidence-based, learning resource for trainees. Mapped to the curriculum of both the Primary and Final Fellowship of the Royal College of Anaesthetists (FRCA) examinations, Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine provides high calibre and concise articles designed to help you pass the FRCA exams.

Anaesthesia, Critical Care & Pain Medicine (formerly Annales Françaises d'Anesthésie et de Réanimation) publishes in English the highest quality original material, both scientific and clinical, on all aspects of anaesthesia, critical care & pain medicine.

‘Anaesthesia, Pain & Intensive Care’, is an international, peer reviewed journal, and aims to encourage young physicians belonging to the sister specialties of anesthesiology, pain management, intensive care and resuscitation from the target area to indulge in genuine research.

Published monthly by the International Anesthesia Research Society (IARS) and includes peer-reviewed, original clinical and research articles, providing practicing physicians, researchers and allied medical personnel in anaesthesiology and related fields with a wealth of information to keep them up-to-date with the latest issues and advances in the field.

Anesthesia Progress is the official publication of the American Dental Society of Anesthesiology. The journal, published quarterly, is dedicated to providing a better understanding of the advances being made in the art and science of pain control in dentistry and provides a valuable forum to discuss anesthesia-related issues and opinions.

Anesthesiology is the official Journal of the American Society of Anesthesiologists. The Journal published its first issue in July 1940. The Journal receives nearly 1500 manuscript submissions per year, and publishes almost 4000 pages (about 3,000,000 words) of peer-reviewed material annually. Over 50% of the submissions and more than 6000 of its subscribers are from outside the United States, making it a major international publication.

Anesthesiology Clinics presents procedurally focused articles that update you on the latest trends in patient management, keep you abreast of the newest advances, and provide a sound basis for choosing treatment options.

Published quarterly—in March, June, September, and December—each issue offers state-of-the-art reviews on all types of anesthesia, including orthopedic, neuroanesthesia, vascular, thoracic, geriatric, pediatric, and obstetric, as well as practice management, pain management, monitoring, ambulatory care, palliative care, postoperative care, and critical care.

Anesthesiology Research and Practice is a peer-reviewed, Open Access journal that provides a forum for health care professionals engaged in perioperative medicine, critical care, and pain management. The journal publishes original research articles, review articles, and clinical studies related to anesthetic administration, preoperative and postoperative considerations, perioperative care, critical care, pediatric anesthesia, obstetric anesthesia, analgesia, clinical and experimental research, administration and efficacy, as well as technology and monitoring.

Best Practice & Research: Clinical Anaesthesiology provides a comprehensive review of current clinical practice and thinking within the specialty anaesthesiology.

Founded in 1923, the British Journal of Anaesthesia (BJA) remains the oldest and largest independent journal of anaesthesia. The journal strives to support research and discovery in the field by publishing the best original articles in all branches of Anaesthesia.

BMC Anesthesiology is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers articles on all aspects of anaesthesiology, critical care, perioperative care and pain management, including clinical and experimental research into anaesthetic mechanisms, administration and efficacy, technology and monitoring, and associated economic issues.

This journal, according to the mission statement, spans the fields of anesthesia, acute and chronic pain, perioperative medicine and critical care. In addition, the Journal publishes practice guidelines and standards articles relevant to clinicians.

Published bimonthly and offering a unique and wide ranging perspective on the key developments in the field, each issue of Current Opinion in Anesthesiology features hand-picked review articles from our team of expert editors. With fifteen disciplines published across the year – including cardiovascular anaesthesiology, neuroanaesthesia and pain medicine – every issue also contains annotated references detailing the merits of the most important papers.

The European Journal of Anaesthesiology publishes original work of high scientific quality. Preference is given to experimental work or clinical observation in man, and to laboratory work of clinical relevance.

International Anesthesiology Clinics is a valuable resource for any medical professional seeking to stay informed and up-to-date regarding developments in this dynamic specialty. Written by authorities from leading centres throughout the world, the journal takes a truly international look at the field.

The International Journal of Obstetric Anesthesia is the only journal publishing original articles devoted exclusively to obstetric anaesthesia and bringing together all three of its principal components; anaesthesia care for operative delivery and the perioperative period, pain relief in labour and care of the critically ill obstetric patient.

Journal of Anaesthesiology Clinical Pharmacology is a quarterly peer-reviewed international journal published by the Research Society of Anaesthesiology Clinical Pharmacology. The journal allows free access (Open Access) to its contents and permits authors to self-archive final accepted version of the articles on any OAI-compliant institutional / subject-based repository.

The Journal of Anesthesia is the official journal of the Japanese Society of Anesthesiologists. This journal publishes original articles, review articles, special articles, clinical reports, short communications, letters to the editor, and book and multimedia reviews.

The Journal of Anesthesia History is an international peer-reviewed journal dedicated to advancing the study of anesthesia history and related disciplines. The Journal addresses anesthesia history from antiquity to the present. Its wide scope includes the history of perioperative care, pain medicine, critical care medicine, physician and nurse practices of anesthesia, equipment, drugs, and prominent individuals. The Journal serves a diverse audience of physicians, nurses, dentists, clinicians, historians, educators, researchers and academicians.

The Journal of Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anesthesia is primarily aimed at anaesthesiologists who deal with patients undergoing cardiac, thoracic or vascular surgical procedures. JCVA features a multidisciplinary approach, with contributions from cardiac, vascular and thoracic surgeons, cardiologists, and other related specialists. Emphasis is placed on rapid publication of clinically relevant material. The journal is international in scope and encourages innovative submissions from all continents.

The Journal of Clinical Anesthesia (JCA) addresses all aspects of anaesthesia practice, including anesthetic administration, pharmacokinetics, preoperative and postoperative considerations, coexisting disease and other complicating factors, cost issues, and similar concerns anaesthesiologists contend with daily.

The Journal of Neurosurgical Anesthesiology (JNA) is a peer-reviewed journal which publishes articles on all aspects of perioperative neuroscience. Specifically, the journal's scope includes clinical neuroanaesthesiology and neurocritical care, foundational neuroscience of anaesthesiology and brain and spinal cord injury, and neurologic outcomes after non-neurologic surgery and critical illness. The journal publishes original clinical and laboratory investigations, review articles, research letters and other correspondence, and special articles including clinical practice guidelines.

Oxford Open Digital Health is an Open Access journal that publishes methodologically rigorous evaluations, evidence reviews, study protocols and other policy-relevant research on Digital Health Interventions with a particular focus on Low and Middle-Income Countries.

PAIN Reports is an official publication of the International Association for the Study of Pain (IASP). An open access multidisciplinary journal that publishes continuously. PAIN Reports promotes a global, rapid, and readily accessible forum that advances clinical, applied, and basic research on pain.

Devoted to the dissemination of research of interest and importance to practising anaesthetists everywhere, the scientific and clinical content of Pediatric Anesthesia covers a wide selection of medical disciplines in all areas relevant to paediatric anaesthesia, pain management and peri-operative medicine. The International Editorial Board is supported by the Editorial Advisory Board and a team of Senior Advisors, to ensure that the journal is publishing the best work from the front line of research in the field. The journal publishes high-quality, relevant scientific and clinical research papers, reviews, commentaries, historical vignettes, correspondence, case presentations and book reviews.

Regional Anesthesia & Pain Medicine, the official publication of the American Society of Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine (ASRA Pain Medicine), is a monthly journal that publishes peer-reviewed scientific and clinical studies to advance the understanding and clinical application of regional techniques for surgical anesthesia and postoperative analgesia. Coverage includes intraoperative regional techniques, perioperative pain, chronic pain, obstetric anesthesia, paediatric anesthesia, outcome studies, and complications.

Seminars in Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anesthesia is a quarterly journal that serves the educational needs of clinicians practicing cardiac, thoracic, vascular anesthesia, thoracic and abdominal transplant anesthesia, paediatric/congenital cardiothoracic anesthesia, and related specialties. SCVA provides the anesthesia practitioner with access to timely reviews that summarize the data and expert opinion supporting evidence-based medicine and current best practices. It fulfils an important niche as one of only two journals devoted to the anaesthetic and perioperative care of patients with heart, lung, vascular, and paediatric/congenital heart disease as well as patients requiring thoracic or abdominal organ transplantation.

Trends in Anaesthesia and Critical Care aims to be a leading biomedical review journal, providing reviews and comment on highly topical subjects and the latest breakthroughs in basic, clinical and translational research. This includes basic and clinical research aimed at understanding disease processes and clinical practice of importance to anaesthesia and critical care.

The AMJ has been established to publish material from a broad base of medical and paramedical researchers / experts. We publish a variety of papers ranging from research and audit through to discussion and opinion pieces.

The Australian and New Zealand Journal of Obstetrics and Gynaecology (ANZJOG) is an editorially independent publication owned by the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists (RANZCOG) and the RANZCOG Research foundation. ANZJOG aims to provide a medium for the publication of original contributions to clinical practice and/or research in all fields of obstetrics and gynaecology and related disciplines. Articles are peer reviewed by clinicians or researchers expert in the field of the submitted work.

Official journal of The European Society of Intensive Care Medicine and The European Society of Paediatric and Neonatal Intensive Care. "Intensive Care Medicine" is the publication platform for the communication and exchange of current work and ideas in intensive care medicine. It is intended for all those who are involved in intensive medical care, physicians, anaesthetists, surgeons, pediatricians, as well as those concerned with pre-clinical subjects and medical sciences basic to these disciplines.

JAMA: The Journal of the American Medical Association is a peer-reviewed medical journal published 48 times a year by the American Medical Association. It publishes original research, reviews, and editorials covering all aspects of biomedicine.

The Lancet is a weekly peer-reviewed general medical journal. It is among the world's oldest and best known general medical journals.

The Medical Journal of Australia (MJA) is Australia’s leading peer-reviewed general medical journal. It has been delivering ground-breaking research to the medical community since 1914.

Neuromodulation: Technology at the Neural Interface is the preeminent journal in the area of neuromodulation, providing our readership with the state of the art clinical, translational and basic science research in our field and representing the needs of the broad neuromodulation community. For clinicians, engineers, scientists and members of the biotechnology industry alike, Neuromodulation provides timely and rigorously peer reviewed articles on the technology, science and clinical application of devices that interface with the nervous system to treat disease and improve function.

The New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM) is a weekly medical journal published by the Massachusetts Medical Society.