Library resource guides: Asia-Pacific resources: Tools

Guide index

Open access resources

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability and accessibility of Open Access books. Find out more on the site.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides free access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Listing of Open Access DataBases (LOADB) A listing of Open Access Databases, which focus on science and technology areas, with the aim of expanding to other subject areas in the future.
PubMed Central PubMed Central (PMC) is a free full-text archive of full-text biomedical articles. It is similar to PubMed, except that PMC contains only freely accessible full-text items.
ScienceOpen ScienceOpen is a discovery platform with interactive features for scholars to enhance their research in the open, make an impact, and receive credit for it.
Unpaywall They harvest Open Access content from over 50,000 publishers and repositories, and make it easy to find, track, and use.
Western Pacific Region Index Medicus (WPRO) The Western Pacific Region Index Medicus (WPRIM) is the regional bibliographic index of medical and health journals published by the Member States of the Western Pacific Region. This is the Region’s contribution to the Global Index Medicus (GIM) initiative which aims to extend to all the benefits of the knowledge that is essential to the fullest attainment of health. WPRIM allows free, public access to research and publications that may not be available through other popular medical indexes.
Zenodo Zenodo is a general-purpose open-access repository developed under the European OpenAIRE program and operated by CERN. It allows researchers to deposit data sets, research software, reports, and any other research related digital artifacts.

Repository resources

BASE BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 150 million documents from more than 7,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access).
openDOAR OpenDOAR is the quality-assured global directory of academic open access repositories. It enables the identification, browsing and search for repositories, based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held.

Internet and medical resource packages

eGranary Digital Library The eGranary Digital Library -- "The Internet in a Box" -- is an off-line information store that provides instant access to over 35 million digital resources for those lacking adequate Internet connections.
Wiki Project Med Wiki Project Med Foundation (WPMEDF), which also operates under the name Wikimedia Medicine, is a nonprofit corporation founded in December of 2012 with the purpose of promoting development and distribution of health care content on Wikimedia projects. We do this by forming collaborations with other like-minded organizations, giving talks at universities and other organizations, and working to develop greater access to the medical literature for Wikipedians, among many others.