Recent additions to the ANZCA library's collection of e-books, print books and journal titles.
Critical Care Medicine: an Algorithmic Approach by
Make confident, evidence-based decisions in everyday critical care practice with Critical Care Medicine: An Algorithmic Approach. This first-of-its-kind decision making tool provides concise, practical guidance on key aspects of critical care in the form of easy-to-follow diagnostic and treatment algorithms, diagrams, and tables. The unique format saves you time as it guides you through best practices and reliable data to improve patient outcomes in the ICU. Chapters cover a particular organ system and are organized by disorder for easy reference. Each chapter includes a brief overview of the disorder, diagnostic algorithms, treatment algorithms, potential complications and strategies for overcoming them, and supporting references. Helpful mnemonics and advice from critical care experts are provided throughout. Key topics include ventilatory failure: ARDS, pulmonary embolism, asthma and COPD; ABG analysis; pleural effusion; acute respiratory failure; cardiac critical care; acute kidney injury, water and electrolyte management, acid-base disorders; infectious disease; COVID-19; critical care issues related to other medical specialties; and much more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations, 11e by
Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations has been the most trusted text of its kind for more than 50 years. This new edition follows the proven-effective design of previous editions, with each procedure fully explained across an illustrated two-page spread. The right page contains stunningly rendered line drawings with colour highlights depicting every important action surgeons must consider while performing the operation; the facing page includes consistently formatted coverage of indications, preoperative preparation, anesthesia, position, operative preparation, incision and exposure, procedure, closure, and postoperative care. Zollinger's Atlas of Surgical Operations is useful as a general surgery refresher or for learning a particular procedure. Thirteen added chapters cover procedures not in previous editions, including: Robotic surgery Laparoscopic surgery Endovascular procedures
Textbook of Laparoscopy for Surgeons and Gynecologists, 4e by
This textbook is a complete guide to laparoscopic surgery for practising and trainee general and laparoscopic surgeons. The fourth edition has been fully revised and features many new topics, providing the latest advances in the field. Divided into six sections, the book begins with discussion on the fundamentals of laparoscopic surgery - imaging systems, instruments, sterilisation, anaesthesia, and basic techniques.
Challenges in Research Policy: Evidence-Based Policy Briefs with Recommendations by
This open access volume addresses major challenges in research policy and provides advice on how to approach them. With chapters designed as accessible policy briefs, the book serves as an essential resource for new actors in research policy. It offers evidence-based recommendations on approaching research governance, funding, and evaluation challenges by covering these topics: Identifying and facilitating high quality research Evaluating transdisciplinary research quality Evaluating societal impact The dilemmas of grant peer review How citations relate to research quality Reforming research assessment The use of metrics in academic recruitment Quality criteria and concentration of research funding Balancing basic and external research funding Designing performance-based research funding systems Strategic steering of research at universities The consequences of paying to publish Each chapter combines research with practical advice and provides an overview of the state-of-the-art in research on the specific topic, as well as references for further reading.
Hensley's Practical Approach to Cardiothoracic Anesthesia, 7e by
Offering a comprehensive, up-to-date overview of the field, Hensley's Practical Approach to Cardiothoracic Anesthesia, 7en, edited by Drs. Karsten Bartels, Amanda A. Fox, Andrew D. Shaw, Kimberly Howard-Quijano, and Robert H. Thiele, is an ideal reference and review tool for fellows, residents, and practicing anaesthesiologists. Concisely written and readily accessible, it combines the depth of a reference book with the no-nonsense guidance of a clinically-oriented handbook. This edition has been newly reorganized for current practice patterns and to better align with the ACGME requirements for adult cardiothoracic anaesthesiology.
Miller's Anesthesia, 10e by
***Highly Recommended*** Offering up-to-date coverage of everything from historical and international perspectives to basic science and today’s clinical practice, Miller's Anesthesia 10e, remains the #1 reference and trusted learning resource for practitioners and trainees in this complex field. Dr. Michael Gropper leads a team of expert editors and contributing authors who provide current information on the technical, scientific, and clinical issues you face each day—whether you’re managing a challenging patient care situation, preparing for the boards, or studying for recertification.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5e Text Revision: DSM-5-TR by
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5e, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. It features a new disorder, Prolonged Grief Disorder, as well as codes for suicidal behaviour available to all clinicians of any discipline without the requirement of any other diagnosis.
Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology Handbook by
A high-yield, abridged version of the bestselling guide to general anesthesia and perioperative medicine. Drawing from the trusted classic, Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology Handbook has been pared down to the most essential information needed by anesthesia practitioners. The Handbook provides condensed, practical content relevant to clinical anesthesiology practice, covering topics within preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative care. Many tables and figures have been retained from the larger textbook. This new abridged resource serves as a high-yield review of the core content of the larger text, with bolded key concepts for ease of reference, Q&A, and more. * Convenient, abridged version--less than half the length of origin text * Ideal resource for residents and trainees preparing for daily activity * High-yield review with variety of review techniques, including Q&A.
Problem Based Learning Discussions in Onco-Anesthesia and Onco-Critical Care by
The book provides an insight into relevant anatomy, epidemiology, chemotherapeutic agents used in specific cancers and adverse effects, preoperative assessment and optimization, perioperative challenges specific to the procedure, fluid management, anesthetic techniques perioperative pain management options, post-operative complications and management of oncosurgical cases in detail. It provides information regarding management of oncological emergencies such as tumour lysis syndrome, acute stridor, SVC syndrome, malignant spinal cord compression, febrile neutropenia. It includes some cases for palliative/diagnostic procedures, such as, PTBD, portal vein embolization, ERCP and stenting. It covers the pre-anesthetic examination relevant to a particular case that helps in planning the anesthetic technique, such as, head and neck cancer history of drooling of saliva, breathlessness, change in the voice, inability to lie supine. Additionally, the book discusses certain controversial topics of interest such as TIVA vs inhalational in oncosurgeries, restrictive vs liberal blood transfusion, liberal vs restrictive vs goal directed fluid therapy, perioperative blood transfusion and cancer.
Anesthesiology Core Review: Part One: BASIC Exam, 2e by
The essential, high-yield review for Part One of the ABA BASIC Exam--updated to align with the latest exam blueprint Anesthesiology residents must pass the BASIC exam in order to continue their training. This essential resource is the single best way to take the stress out of this make-or-break exam, focus your study on nearly 200 must-know topics found on the board exam outline, and identify your areas of strength and weakness. Written by program directors with many years of board examination advising experience, Anesthesiology Core Review: Part One: BASIC Exam succinctly summarizes key concepts in basic science and clinical anesthesia practice. Space is conveniently provided throughout the book to add notes from other study resources. This updated second edition reflects the latest literature and incorporates new topics such as COVID-19. Concise review of all essential anesthesia concepts Great for keyword review and to generate power points for presentations Content correlates with the two-part ABA content outline for board certification Revised simultaneously with the Anesthesiology Core Review: Part Two: ADVANCED Exam Aligns with the updated American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA) BASIC Exam blueprint and incorporates new content with American Society of Anesthesiology guidelines
Perioperative Pain Management: A Clinical Guide by
Perioperative Pain Management: A Clinical Guide provides a unique and comprehensive approach to pain management, offering effective treatment strategies tailored to various specialties. This collaborative effort includes insights from experts in anesthesiology, pain management, physical medicine, addiction medicine, pharmacy, and surgery, ensuring diverse and inclusive content for all healthcare professionals involved in perioperative pain management. The book addresses special patient populations, highlighting specific challenges and strategies to meet their analgesic needs. Clinical providers seeking a blueprint for creating optimal perioperative pain management pathways will find this guide invaluable for planning and optimizing their clinical resources.
Anesthesia for Dental and Oral Maxillofacial Surgery by
Anesthesia for Dental and Oral Maxillofacial Surgery A comprehensive reference to anesthesia for dental, oral, and maxillofacial surgery Anesthesia for Dental and Oral Maxillofacial Surgery offers a comprehensive yet practical approach to anesthesiology for dentist anesthesiologists, oral and maxillofacial surgeons, and anesthesia providers in a dental environment. Taking a concise bulleted approach for fast access to information, the book covers all topics relevant to providing perioperative anesthetic management for the head and neck region. Coverage ranges from equipment, anatomy, physiology, and pharmacology to anesthetizing patients with specific conditions and for specific procedures. Designed for ease of use, the book makes it easy to find information relevant to cases ranging from common to rare. Anesthesia for Dental and Oral Maxillofacial Surgery readers will also find: Images throughout to facilitate key points A bulleted approach for easy reference A practical, accessible style, making it easy to find information at point of care Detailed coverage of preoperative aspects, pharmacology, key equipment, and more Anesthesia for Dental and Oral Maxillofacial Surgery provides anesthesia providers with all the information they need to confidently manage any case.
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2025 by
The #1 annual guide in adult internal medicine. Each year CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment (CMDT) undergoes extensive revision to deliver new clinical developments in every field of adult internal medicine--making it the most popular annual textbook of its kind.
The Pain of Cancer by
'The Pain of Cancer' should be an essential read for all doctors and nurses in frontline medicine who will day to day be faced with patients having complex pain problems related to cancer. Armed with the concepts and theory of pain management, embellished by real life practical examples contained within this book they will have increased confidence to provide effective pain management. Most importantly patients facing the despair of pain associated with cancer will have access to effective pain control.
Coaching Skills: The Definitive Guide to Being a Coach, 5e by
Relevant to lifestyle and executive coaching, human resources and careers, training and management, 'Coaching Skills' offers practical advice backed up by case studies and examples. This updated edition contains more extensive treatment of barriers to change in clients, new coverage of goal-setting, and more on assessing a client's needs.
Brown's Atlas of Regional Anesthesia, 7e by
An ideal clinical reference and learning tool for anaesthesiologists, nurse anaesthetists, and pain management specialists, Brown's Atlas of Regional Anesthesia, 7e, helps you provide optimal, safe regional anesthesia to every patient. Step-by-step illustrations demonstrate each technique in a simple, easy-to-follow manner, providing unmatched guidance on administering a wide range of nerve block techniques in all areas of the body. New videos, new illustrations, and new chapters improve your knowledge and expertise in all areas of this fast-changing field.
Total Reset: Realigning with our Timeless Holistic Blueprint for Living by
In 1991, curious about the ways of humanity’s oldest continuous culture, Greg Campbell exited corporate life to live in the remote Kimberley region of Australia with a traditional Aboriginal elder and powerful maban (shaman), Lulu, and his people. Concerned about the state of the world and threats to the continuity of all life, Lulu asked Greg to work with him and the Aboriginal people on one book, a journey of 31 years.
Care of Adults with Chronic Childhood Conditions: A Practical Guide, 2e by
This book addresses the unique healthcare needs of adults with chronic childhood illnesses. It presents a model of primary and secondary prevention for emerging adulthood: primary prevention, in which all young adults are screened for high-risk behaviours and health needs, and secondary prevention, in which young adults with chronic childhood conditions are optimized through coordinated care, connections to community resources and social/family support. Now in its revised and expanded second edition, this book is organized in seven parts.
Katzung's Pharmacology: Examination & Board Review, 14e by
Katzung’s Pharmacology Exam and Board Review covers all current drugs and antiretrovirals, immunologic agents, and chemotherapies. Edited by the world leading figures in pharmacology and medicine, the high-yield text focuses on basic principles, autonomic drugs, cardiovascular-renal drugs, and drugs with actions on smooth muscle, central nervous system drugs, and drugs used to treat chemotherapeutic drugs, and toxicology.
This authoritative resource delivers a clear, concise review of fundamental concepts backed by more than 1,000 review questions and answers. With fully up-to-date content, the chapter-based approach facilitates use with course notes or larger texts.
Blessed Days of Anaesthesia by 
Becoming a Scholarly Journal Editor: Practical Advice for Editors and Tips for Authors by
Along with the infamous "Reviewer 2," journal editors are a leading cause of angst among scholars. When editors are bad at their jobs, careers are damaged, reputations of journals suffer, and the overall scholarship within a field is weakened. Yet, despite their importance to the practice of academia, most editors do not receive any formal training on the editing process. Even well-published authors face a steep learning curve when navigating all of the moving parts of a scholarly journal and providing quality feedback to authors. This book is intended to be a guide for scholarly journal editors. It walks current and prospective editors through the various steps of the editing process, including establishing an editorial vision, creating editorial teams/boards, interpreting reviewers' comments and writing decision letters, and publicizing published articles and improving journal metrics. A secondary goal of the book is to provide authors with a peek inside the process of journal editing. By better understanding the decisions that editors make, authors can make more informed choices about which journals they shouletter understanding the decisions that editors make, authors can make more informed choices about which journals they should submit their work, as well as improve their chances for publication. etter understanding the decisions that editors make, authors can make more informed choices about which journals they shouletter understanding the decisions that editors make, authors can make more informed choices about which journals they should submit their work, as well as improve their chances for publication.
West's Respiratory Physiology: The Essentials, 11e by 
Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2025 by
For more than 25 years, Ferri's Clinical Advisor has provided immediate answers on the myriad medical diseases and disorders you're likely to encounter in a unique, easy-to-use format. A bestselling title year after year, this popular "5 books in 1" reference delivers vast amounts of information in a user-friendly manner. It is updated annually to provide current and clinically relevant answers on over 1,000 common medical conditions, including diseases and disorders, differential diagnoses, clinical algorithms, laboratory tests, and clinical practice guidelines--all carefully reviewed by experts in key clinical fields. Extensive algorithms, along with hundreds of high-quality photographs, illustrations, diagrams, and tables, ensure that you stay current with today's medical practice.
Handbook of Cardiac Critical Care and Anaesthesia by
This book provides clinical tips on the management of common emergencies that are regularly faced by critical care and acute care cardiologists in resource-limited settings. Based on the current guidelines, it explores the evaluation of the patient, followed by its treatment methodology. It highlights the beneficial effects of the use of cardiac drugs during an emergency. There is also a special section on preoperative evaluation and postoperative management of cardiac patients of different subsets. Medicolegal/documentation points are also discussed where relevant. It is useful as a ready reference for physicians, anaesthetists and cardiologists. Key Features * Reinforces certain teachings and recalls certain overlooked clinical points to address emergency situations in a busy, resource limited setting * Explains lucidly what the acute cardiac care/anaesthesia registrar or cardiology fellows ought to do in the intensive care and postoperative wards * Emphasizes the importance of clinical acumen and observation
Coté, Lerman and Anderson’s: A Practice of Anesthesia in Infants and Children, 7e by
Covering everything from preoperative evaluation to neonatal emergencies to the PACU, Coté, Lerman and Anderson’s A Practice of Anesthesia in Infants and Children, 7e, features state-of-the-art advice on the safe, effective administration of general and regional anesthesia and sedation strategies for young patients. This text reviews underlying scientific information, addresses preoperative assessment and anesthesia management in detail, and provides guidelines for postoperative care, emergencies, and special procedures. Comprehensive in scope and thoroughly up to date, this edition delivers unsurpassed coverage of every key aspect of paediatric anesthesia.
Goldman-Cecil Medicine, 27e by
For more than 90 years, what is now called Goldman-Cecil Medicine has been the authoritative source for internal medicine and the care of adult patients. Every chapter is written by acclaimed experts who, with the oversight of our editors, provide definitive, unbiased advice on the diagnosis and treatment of thousands of common and uncommon conditions, always guided by an understanding of the epidemiology and pathobiology, as well as the latest medical literature.
Gray's Anatomy for Students, 5e by
Gray's Anatomy for Students, 5e, is your go-to text for essential information in human anatomy. This fully revised volume focuses on the core information medical students need to know, in an easy-access format and with additional multimedia content to facilitate effective study and mastery of the material. A team of expert authors share a wealth of diverse teaching and clinical experience-all enhanced by more than 1,000 innovative, original illustrations by renowned illustrators Richard Tibbitts and Paul Richardson, who capture anatomical features with unrivalled clarity. Helps you understand the practical applications of anatomical concepts through unique coverage of surface anatomy, correlative diagnostic images, and clinical case studies. Contains increased representation of diverse population groups throughout, incorporating a wider range of skin tones and important clinical considerations related to transgender and intersex individuals.
Hall, Schmidt and Wood's Principles of Critical Care, 5e by
Considered the field's definitive text, Principles of Critical Care offers unmatched coverage of the diagnosis and treatment of the most common problems encountered in the practice of critical care. Written by expert critical care physicians who are also experienced teachers, the book features an organization, thoroughness, and clarity not found in any other reference on the topic.
Ganong's Medical Physiology Examination & Board Review, 2e by
Ganong's Medical Physiology Examination & Board Review, 2e succinctly covers all key physiology principles and includes clinical correlations to clarify the connection between physiology and clinical medicine. The book includes two comprehensive 100-question examinations, followed by the correct answer and rationales. Learning aids included bolded key terms, skill-builder questions that prompt readers to review previous material, and end-of-chapter checklists. New to 2e, each primary chapter is now accompanied by a full-colour “visual abstract” intended to be a “one stop shop” that summarizes the chapter’s key content in a readily digestible way.
Pediatric Emergency Medicine Secrets, 4e by
Pediatric Emergency Medicine Secrets, 4e, offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This highly regarded resource features the Secrets’ popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style – making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable.
Urgent Care Medicine Secrets, 2e by
Urgent Care Medicine Secrets, 2e, offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This highly regarded resource features the Secrets’ popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style – making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable.
Educating Together, Improving Together : Harmonizing Interprofessional Approaches to Address the Opioid Epidemic by
The United States is in the midst of an urgent and complex opioid crisis. To address how education and training can more effectively respond to this crisis, we must have a better understanding of problems in practice?or professional practice gaps?for health professionals and teams in practice. A coordinated response requires identifying and addressing professional practice gaps (PPGs) related to pain management, opioid use disorder, and other substance use disorder (SUD) care, as well as integrating evidence-based best practices into health professional education and training curricula across the continuum from undergraduate training into post-graduate continuing education This Special Publication presents two information-gathering efforts to assess persisting PPGs pertaining to pain management and SUD care and to better understand the current health professional education environment: the first is a comprehensive literature review, and the second is a survey of the regulatory landscape.
Physical Diagnosis of Pain: An Atlas of Signs and Symptoms, 5e by
In this easy-to-follow, how-to-do-it atlas, internationally recognized pain expert Dr. Steven D. Waldman provides a compendium of practical physical examination techniques that you can use in your daily practice to evaluate and diagnose patients in pain. Physical Diagnosis of Pain, 5e, is the only atlas devoted to this critical area of pain medicine, offering a real-world focus on how clinicians evaluate pain: "What is it?" rather than "Where is it?". You’ll be guided step by step through the evaluation and diagnosis of more than 280 pain-related conditions based on physical signs. Concise, superbly illustrated chapters help you rapidly diagnose pathology based on physical techniques rather than relying on imaging alone.
Simulation in EMS and Critical Care Transport by
This book provides a standard for all Emergency Medicine Services (EMS) agencies and Critical Care Transport (CCT) programs to follow as they conduct simulation training for their crew members. Simulation-based education for pre-hospital training and skill maintenance is now standard and there is a growing need for this this type of training tool. This title is an invaluable resource for EMS and CCT educators who aim to facilitate high quality simulations within their programs. The text provides guidance for running a successful simulation, including scenario charts and debriefing tips and topics. Included are over 30 simulation scenarios, broken into appropriate scope of practice for EMTs, paramedics, and critical care transport crews where applicable. The book's format is such that it can be followed to create a plan for simulation training. The first section provides a guide to using the text successfully and a concise overview of the theories and best practices of simulation-based education and debriefing. Next, clinical scenarios are presented by topic, including general care, cardiology, respiratory, neurology, trauma, obstetrics, pediatrics and toxicology. Each section offers specific disease-based simulation scenarios, including supporting imaging, physical exam, and laboratory data for the EMS and CCT community to use as part of their training and education. There are also suggested learning objectives, critical actions, and debriefing topics for each scenario. This resource is not designed with a specific simulation platform in mind and can be adapted to both low- and high-fidelity simulation settings. This book is a must-have resource for emergency medicine services agencies, critical care transport programs, and educators who work with pre-hospital providers.
Cambridge Handbook of Anesthesiology by
The recent advances in the clinical practice of anesthesiology have increased the need for a new state-of-the art anesthesia handbook for practicing anesthesiologists, trainees and students. This practical book provides a modern, clinically focused guide for any clinical question related to anesthesia care, presenting comprehensive, yet succinct knowledge from experts in the field. It describes the best practice in a concise yet easily digestible format and features numerous tables and figures, a bulleted points/outline format, and algorithms allowing for rapid assimilation of key information. New techniques and common procedures are also covered in detail. This up-to-date pocketbook is perfect for quick reference in the operating room, providing rapid access to evidence-based clinical content covering the full breadth of the field, including pediatric, obstetric, cardiac and regional anesthesia sections. In addition to daily clinical practice, the book serves also as a convenient companion for board review and recertification exam preparation.
Physics for the Anaesthetic Viva by
Physics for the Anaesthetic Viva is a succinct and practical text that comprehensively covers all aspects of the physics and clinical measurement curriculum for the FRCA examinations. Each section begins by explaining the basic science concepts, which are then expanded and related to everyday practice. Illustrations are used to enhance understanding of the concepts, and are presented in such a way as to be easy to reproduce in the exam setting. In addition, sample viva questions are provided at the end of each chapter to test learning, or for use in a mock viva session. Written by trainees for trainees, this book provides exactly what you need to pass the exam.
Cottrell and Patel's Neuroanesthesia, 7e by
Balancing must-know scientific knowledge with clinical applications, Cottrell and Patel's Neuroanesthesia, 7e, reflects the latest developments in neurosurgical anesthesia, providing a comprehensive, authoritative overview of this challenging field. Clinically oriented chapters offer key clinical points, case presentations, and discussions, delivering the complete and authoritative guidance you need to ensure optimal perioperative care and safety for neurosurgical patients. Broad, clearly organized coverage of all important aspects of neuroanaesthesia enables you to find reliable answers to any clinical question.
Cardiopulmonary Bypass by
The third edition of Cardiopulmonary Bypass offers a comprehensive, and up-to-date reference text to extracorporeal cardiopulmonary support. This book provides a clinically-focused tutorial with chapters spanning the technical aspects, patient related considerations, and human factors essential to contemporary practice of cardiopulmonary bypass. Written concisely to allow the reader to gain and apply critical knowledge to the clinical setting and featuring artwork that has been extensively updated to include numerous figures and color plates imbedded into each chapter. A remarkable collection of international experts in the fields of perfusion, anesthesiology, and cardiac surgery were recruited to co-author chapters, providing a multidisciplinary approach to case management. This completely updated edition includes expanded content on developments in minimally invasive extracorporeal circulation, anticoagulation, organ injury, and human factors. The comprehensive coverage of perfusion practice in a concise, highly illustrated format makes it the go-to, portable reference manual for perfusionists, cardiac surgeons, and anesthesiologists.
Cardiac Anesthesia: A Problem-Based Learning Approach by
Cardiac Anesthesia: A Problem-Based Learning Approach provides a comprehensive review of the dynamic and ever-changing field of cardiac anesthesia. Its problem-based format incorporates a pool of multiple-choice questions for self-assessment. Each of its 36 case-based chapters is accompanied by questions and answers, accessible online in a full practice exam. The cases presented are also unique, as each chapter starts with a case description, usually a compilation of several actual cases; it then branches out through case-based questions, to increasingly complex situations. This structure is designed to create an authentic experience that mirrors that of working through the nuances of a complicated clinical scenario. The discussion sections that follow offer a comprehensive approach to the chapter's subject matter, thus creating a modern, complete, and up-to-date medical review of that topic.
Local Anesthesia in Dentistry: A Locoregional Approach by
Local Anesthesia in Dentistry Distills the current body of knowledge in local anesthesia into a single, easy-to-use volume Local Anesthesia in Dentistry: A Locoregional Approach provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of local anesthetics, including anatomic considerations, pharmacology, armamentarium, injection techniques, indications, contraindications, complications, novel anesthetics formulations, and more. In-depth chapters offer clear criteria and guidelines for patient care, supported by hundreds of evidence-based references. Alongside this, standalone appendixes are hosted on the book's companion website. In these appendixes, the authors have distilled a wide body of research, summarizing the findings of the seminal studies in the field, including historical landmark studies and clinical trial data to support practical aspects of locoregional anesthesia discussed in the textbook. This easy-to-use volume: Provides students and professionals with a one-stop resource on local anesthesia in dentistry Offers critical evaluations of research and literature on each topic and subtopic Addresses all common local anesthetic techniques, including basic injection, mandibular and maxillary anesthesia, and local anesthesia in children Features practical quantitative data and step-by-step information on situations encountered in daily practice Designed to support all levels of dental professionals, Local Anesthesia in Dentistry: A Locoregional Approach is written by two highly experienced practitioners, making this authoritative resource a must-have for dentists, dental nurses, dental technicians, hygienists, specialists, students, and researchers. It is also a valuable reference for other healthcare providers looking to support future study.
Lead Like You: How Authenticity Transforms the Way Women Live, Love, and Succeed by
Is the life you're leading true to you? Do you feel like you're endlessly striving in a world that never stops asking for more? Too often, we exhaust ourselves in pursuit of supposed ideals. We give everything in search of 'success,' while struggling with stress, guilt, self-doubt, and burnout. It's time to dismantle the illusion of external validation. It's time to embrace your inherent worth as a woman and a leader. Lead Like You is a roadmap for rediscovering the authentic you and realising a new way to live and lead. The key to true transformation, radical resilience, and deep fulfilment lies within: learning to know yourself, care for yourself and truly be yourself, at work and in life. Lead Like You will show you how to ignite this personal and professional revolution. Through courageous stories, evidence-based practices and insights from psychology, author Jo Wagstaff shares indispensable tools for forging a profound connection with -- and caring for -- the self. Learn how you can lead your career and lead yourself with more purpose and power. Understand and overcome the external and internal forces that limit your potential Increase your self-awareness and identify your motivations, limiting behaviours and boundaries Discover the strength and power in mindfulness, self-care and self-compassion Learn how to forge authentic connections and healthier, more meaningful relationships Access and leverage the advantages of authentic leadership to make a difference within your organisation and the world Lead Like You shares the tools and knowledge you need to feel calm, confident, and empowered as a female leader. You'll discover how to find power in vulnerability and return to your true values and purpose. This book will inspire you to do the inner work and redefine your vision for success -- so you can live and lead true to yourself.
The Thriving Doctor: How to Be More Balanced and Fulfilled, Working in Medicine by
How can you protect your right to a balanced life in a profession that demands perfection? Medical life is challenging. The culture is competitive, the environment intense, the machinery complex and unwieldy, and the expectations high. Under such constant stress, many doctors sacrifice their own wellbeing to try and provide the best possible care for their patients. We've got it backwards. Only by first looking after yourself can you truly provide the best care for others. Non-clinical skills have untapped potential in providing both personal and - you guessed it - clinical benefits. Research has clearly shown that patient experience and patient health outcomes are better when doctors are compassionate and well themselves. Thriving doctors have better rapport with others, make less errors and feel more satisfied and engaged in their work. Medicine has spent little energy helping doctors build their skills in communication, emotional regulation, mind management, leadership, and compassion. Coaching offers a way to immediately start bridging this known gap. Coaching provides deep listening, powerful questions, and a view from outside the culture of medicine that notices different things. You are a whole human, and it's time to treat yourself like it.
Obstetric Anesthesia and Uncommon Disorders, 3e by
A thoroughly revised third edition of the acclaimed textbook for caregivers involved in the management of pregnant women with uncommon diseases or an unusual or rare condition. The book offers valuable case reports and experience collated by an international team of editors and contributors who are leading experts in the field. This edition contains five additional chapters covering topics like cardiac and neuraxial point of care ultrasound, substance abuse, rare inherited conditions, and anesthesia for rare foetal and placental conditions. Clear, concise management guidelines and algorithms are provided, and each chapter is written from the viewpoint of the obstetric anaesthetist. Numerous tables, figures and photographs provide visual aids and each chapter contains valuable clinical insights highlighting the essential facts. Featuring updated figures and references, links to useful websites for further reading and a list of commonly used abbreviations.
Hyperbaric Oxygenation: Mitochondrial Activity and Brain Physiological Functions by
Exposure of patients to a high oxygen environment is a standard treatment in a select group of patients. The development of oxygen toxicity must be avoided in those patients. This book describes the effects of normobaric and hyperbaric oxygen treatment of animal models on brain biochemical and physiological responses. This book provides a summary of our knowledge on the effects of hyperbaric oxygenation on mitochondrial activity in vivo, and other functions of the brain. A chapter covering the use of hyperbaric hyperoxia in patients' brain pathology and care is also included. This is an ideal book for students, research groups, and clinicians studying hyperbaric oxygen and its connection to mitochondrial activity and brain physiological functions.
Pain Management: Practical Applications of the Biopsychosocial Perspective in Clinical and Occupational Settings by
This title is directed primarily towards health care professionals outside of the United States. It deals specifically with the management of potentially chronic l pain, how to assess patients with pain, the factors involved in the development of chronic pain and the setting up and running of a pain management programme. The main focus is on musculoskeletal and fibromyalgic type pain. Cancer pain is not addressed. The authors address not only what is recommended in the management of pain but also whether and why it is done, thereby covering not only the content of interdisciplinary pain management but also the processes involved. Provides extensive background material and covers broad issues which other books lack Focuses on not only what is done with the management of pain but whether and why it is done Includes the nuts and bolts of setting up and running a pain management programme Addresses the application of pain management programmes in a wide range of fields Has a multidisciplinary approach and therefore appeals to a multidisciplinary market Two new co-authors: Kay Greasley and Bengt Sjolund. Major restructuring of chapters and rewriting of content with new authors for many of them. Greatly increased discussion of biopsychosocial management in individual clinical practice. Addresses the needs of the individual practitioners as well as those working in specialised pain management units. Includes more on primary care and secondary pain prevention. Expanded discussion of the clinical-occupational interfaces. Particular emphasis on the identification and targeting of modifiable risk factors for chronic pain and prolonged disability. The following topics stregthened throughout: communication, the nature of groups, medication and iatrogenics. Potential of an evidence-based biopsychosocial approach to pain management highlighted.
Mothermorphosis: Australian Storytellers Write about Becoming a Mother by
The mythology of motherhood is often reduced to cliché. But how do we articulate the complex internal conflicts, the exhilaration and the absurdity of this transformation? Mothermorphosis is a collection of essays on the experience as told by some of Australia's most talented writers and storytellers. In these stories we read about the yearning for a child, the private and public expressions of love, identity in the face of motherhood, gratitude, pride, celebration and loss. Ultimately we learn that there is no one version of this epic story, no one tale that could ever speak for all, and no one way of encapsulating the experience. However, in reading other women's experiences, the hard bits, the ridiculous bits, we can only become more compassionate, not just to other mothers but hopefully to ourselves.
Daughters of Durga: Dowries, Gender Violence and Family in Australia by
In the early 2010s a spate of domestic violence-related murders in the Victorian Indian community compelled psychiatrist Manjula Datta O'Connor to investigate the causes of patriarchal abuse in South Asian families. As a practitioner with many decades experience in the field, Datta O'Connor questioned whether a better understanding of history and culture could help these communities implement measures to prevent family violence. But the most powerful lessons came from those she met through her practice - survivors of transnational abuse and of sexual and dowry exploitation. These women taught Datta O'Connor about human resilience and strength and the myriad ways women find the inner power to survive. These are the daughters of the goddess Durga, wielding the tools of history to produce meaningful change.
Coping in Good Times and Bad: Developing Fortitude by
No one thinks about how well they're coping with life's daily stresses, until they're not. Coping in Good Times and Bad brings together what we know about coping so we can create a life of health, joy, satisfaction, resilience and wellbeing. 'Coping' and 'resilience' have become very commonly used words, especially in our COVID-impacted world, but what we need is a template for a good life. Decades of research, teaching and professional practice have provided psychologist Erica Frydenberg with intimate insight into how and why we cope well and not so well, and practical ways of developing and refining our coping strategies. Integrating coping with key proven ideas in contemporary psychology, such as emotional intelligence, mindset, mindfulness and grit, she goes beyond focusing on particular kinds of crisis (trauma, relationship breakdown, anxiety), and addresses the need for a framework that strengthens us through life, in good times and bad.
Emergency Anesthesia Procedures by
Anesthesia emergencies can occur suddenly in the operating room or procedural areas, even with proper procedures and preparation. The anesthesia provider needs to be able to anticipate and quickly respond to these emergencies for a successful outcome. Checklists and cognitive aids can assist in predicting and quickly responding to an emergent event. Emergency Anesthesia Procedures describes the management of many of the anesthesia emergency events that can occur during a surgical procedure, and provides checklists and clearly defined steps designed to assist the reader during the management and response to an emergency. Each chapter provides symptoms and differential diagnoses as well as needed equipment and medications needed for a variety of emergent scenarios. Each chapter then presents a management strategy using clearly defined steps with tips on techniques to address the emergency, as well as how to address potential complications and pearls for success. As such, this book functions as a cognitive aid as well as an oral board review book and should appeal to established anesthesia providers as well as anesthesia providers in training.
Barash, Cullen, and Stoelting's Clinical Anesthesia, 9e by
Covering the full spectrum of clinical issues and options in anesthesiology, Barash, Cullen, and Stoelting's Clinical Anesthesia provides insightful coverage of pharmacology, physiology, co-existing diseases, and surgical procedures. This award-winning text delivers state-of-the-art content unparalleled in clarity and depth of coverage, as well robust multimedia features that equip you to effectively apply today's standards of care and make optimal clinical decisions on behalf of your patients. Comprehensively covers the entire field of anesthesiology with a practical, clinical focus throughout. Features extensive multimedia content, including more than 300 updated procedural videos and 190 narrated interactive clinical vignettes. Includes Key Points in every chapter, with corresponding numbers in the chapter margins for quick reference. Highlights key references to quickly direct you to the most important and high-yield further reading. Contains useful appendices with formulas, pacemaker and implantable cardiac defibrillator protocols, information on herbal medications, an atlas of echocardiography, and more.
Oxford Textbook of Respiratory Critical Care by
Respiratory critical care is essential to modern critical care medicine. To successfully support critically ill patients, an understanding of specific lung conditions and syndromes, their pathophysiological basis, and evidence-based management strategies is of vital importance. The Oxford Textbook of Respiratory Critical Care provides an authoritative account of respiratory critical care medicine with a clear focus on how to manage respiratory disease inthe critically ill.The fundamentals of pathophysiology, diagnosis, and treatment, for respiratory diseases and conditions are outlined with a specific focus on management in the criticalcare setting. Across 66 chapters, common and unusual respiratory conditions are included as well as those aspects of pulmonary disease in which the management in critical illness is unique. The text equips the reader with up-to-date knowledge of clinical practice for the respiratory system, lung diseases within critical care medicine and the impact of critical illness on lung biology.Each chapter highlights advances in the field as well as emphasising the importance ofgetting the basics right. Key messages, controversies, and directions to further research points allow both focused reading and deeper engagement. A dedicated chapter to COVID-19, and sections throughoutexplore the impact of this novel virus in specific areas of respiratory critical care. Edited and written by an international group of recognized experts from many disciplines, this essential textbook is relevant to medics globally. This is an indispensable guide for clinicians, researchers and nurses working in Critical Care, Anaesthesia, Respiratory Medicine, Acute Medicine, and Emergency Medicine.
Looking for the Primary Exam (PEx) Recommended reading list? Try the Primary Exam (PEx) guide.
Need help prepping for your exams? Try the Exam Preparation guide.
Looking for our most popular titles? Check out our Anaesthesia essentials guide.
Handing Over: Reflections and Advice for Young Doctors by 
Safer Surgery for Africa: Challenges and Solutions by
Almost everyone will need surgery in their lifetime, but in Africa nearly 95% of the population do not have affordable surgery and anaesthesia.
More people die after surgery than from HIV, TB, and malaria combined.
In Africa, adults are twice as likely to die after surgery, and for children that number rockets to eleven. Mothers who need caesarean sections face the greatest risk: the mortality rate is fifty times higher than high-income countries. Most of these deaths do not happen in the operating theatre, but on the ward during recovery.
Through extensive research and personal narratives from physicians across the continent, Professor Bruce Biccard provides a history of death and surgery, describes the current state of surgery in Africa, and presents two models for improving surgical care and outcomes.
Fortunately, the solutions are simple and cost-effective, but making them happen has never been easy; even the basic hygiene we now take for granted was once met with resistance. So Bruce presents a manifesto for surgical health, showing us all how to make the world a healthier place.
It's The Menopause: What You Need to Know in Your 40s, 50s and Beyond by
A reassuring, practical go-to book from trusted author Kaz Cooke in her laugh-out-loud style, informed by menopause doctors & other experts, and the voices of thousands of real women. Here's help for the mental & physical challenges of perimenopause, menopause, ‘early' menopause and is-this-even-menopause. Get the lowdown on everything you need to know about menopause. Does it really go on for years? Should you take HRT, and what's MHT? What the hell is happening to your hair? Why do you want to bite everyone? Which medical or 'natural' treatments can you trust? Hot flushes; Sleep problems; Sneaky wee; Weirdly heavy periods; Anxiety & depression; Brain fog; Bad sex; Dry skin; Weight gain; Confidence crash; Mysteriously Irritable Vulva & more! And lots of positive, happy stuff (yes, really)!
Letters from Spring Street: "24 Years of Surgical Recollections" ; Short Stories of Surgical Interest Covering Events and Personalities in the Surgical Domain by Barash, Cullen, and Stoelting's Clinical Anesthesia, 9e by
Covering the full spectrum of clinical issues and options in anesthesiology, Barash, Cullen, and Stoelting's Clinical Anesthesia provides insightful coverage of pharmacology, physiology, co-existing diseases, and surgical procedures. This award-winning text delivers state-of-the-art content unparalleled in clarity and depth of coverage, as well robust multimedia features that equip you to effectively apply today's standards of care and make optimal clinical decisions on behalf of your patients. Comprehensively covers the entire field of anesthesiology with a practical, clinical focus throughout. Features extensive multimedia content, including more than 300 updated procedural videos and 190 narrated interactive clinical vignettes. Includes Key Points in every chapter, with corresponding numbers in the chapter margins for quick reference. Highlights key references to quickly direct you to the most important and high-yield further reading. Contains useful appendices with formulas, pacemaker and implantable cardiac defibrillator protocols, information on herbal medications, an atlas of echocardiography, and more.
Safety As We Watch: Anaesthesia in Ireland 1847-1998 by
The first operation under anesthesia in Ireland took place 175 years ago when John MacDonnell, a surgeon at the Richmond Hospital, Dublin amputated the arm of Mary Kane on January 1st 1847. This occurred less than three months after the first public demonstration of the use of ether for painless surgery in Boston. Over the next 150 years, anesthesia was to evolve from an apprentice-based craft to become a highly technical specialty, integral not just in the operating theater but also to a wide range of other medical settings.The book, in the first published history of the specialty in Ireland, describes the personalities, institutions and innovators who led the development of anesthesia in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, from 1847 to the foundation of the College of Anaesthetists of Ireland in 1998.
Back Up: Why Back Pain Treatments Aren't Working and the New Science Offering Hope. by
Liam Mannix is one of the many who experience back pain, and he takes this as a starting point for this compelling and urgent work of investigative journalism. A theory has emerged, born from cutting-edge neuroscience, that claims back pain often has little to do with the back or the discs or the spine. Instead, back pain is all about the brain. This new science offers new solutions -- including, remarkably, evidence that just by teaching people this theory of pain we can reduce it.
There's a Cure for This : A Memoir by
Encompassing whanau, love, death, '90s action movies and scarfie drinking, There's a cure for this is Espiner's own story, from a childhood spent shuttling between a 'purple lesbian state house and a series of man-alone rentals' to navigating parenthood on her own terms; from the quietly perceived inequities of her early life to hard-won revelations as a Maori medical student and junior doctor during the Covid-19 pandemic.
Clear, irreverent and beautiful, this book offers a candid and moving examination of what it means to be human when it seems like nothing less than superhuman will do.
Every Doctor: Healthier Doctors = Healthier Patients by
The second edition of this well-received text advocates for a transformational change in the way doctors protect their mental health, look out for their colleagues, co-create a kinder, more humane work culture and lead health system reform. Offering practical strategies and real solutions, based both on medical literature and the wisdom of experienced doctors, the new edition reimagines health care, where every doctor is encouraged and supported to: prioritise psychological wellbeing and physical protection promote healthy workplace cultures, fairness and safety build strong relationships by sharing challenges save lives through medical co-leadership rediscover the joy in medicine Brimming with poignant and hopeful stories and quotes from a diverse array of doctors from many different specialities and at all career stages, the book is a celebration of the growing global interconnectedness and the changing face of the medical profession. An invaluable support and companion for those in the early years of medicine, Every Doctor is a must-read for all doctors across all specialties and wherever they practise in the world, because exemplary care of patients, peers, profession and self is a lifelong journey.
Advanced Paediatric Life Support: A Practical Approach to Emergencies, Australia and New Zealand, 6e by
Advanced Paediatric Life Support is the internationally renowned manual on emergency paediatric care, written to support the course run by the Advanced Life Support Group. This edition has been adapted specifically for use in Australia and New Zealand, with the latest procedures, medications and clinical best practice to match the guidelines of the Australia and New Zealand Resuscitation Councils.
Essentials of Equipment in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Perioperative Medicine, 6e by
Essentials of Equipment in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Peri-Operative Medicine is a highly practical textbook for trainees in anaesthesia and an invaluable guide for all those who work with anaesthetic equipment, including anaesthetic and intensive care nurses and operating department practitioners.
Another Day in the Colony by
In this collection of deeply insightful and powerful essays, Chelsea Watego examines the ongoing and daily racism faced by First Nations peoples in so-called Australia. Rather than offer yet another account of ‘the Aboriginal problem’, she theorises a strategy for living in a society that has only ever imagined Indigenous peoples as destined to die out.
Australia's Toxic Medical Culture: International Medical Graduates and Structural Power by
This book explores dominance in Australia's medical culture through the positioning of international medical graduates (IMGs). It argues that IMGs are 'othered' and ultimately positioned as an underclass, a positioning validated and reinforced by the intersecting inequalities of class, race and nation. It also suggests that the positioning of IMGs is organised through the dimensions of structural power, hegemonic power and interpersonal power, which allow an exploration of power relations between the structures of the health system, the Australian medical profession and the agency of IMGs.
The Myth of Normal: Trauma, Illness & Healing in a Toxic Culture by
Western countries invest billions in healthcare, yet mental illness and chronic diseases are on a seemingly unstoppable rise. Nearly 70% of Americans are now on prescription drugs. So what is 'normal' when it comes to health?
Dr Mate connects the dots between our personal suffering and the pressures of modern-day living - with disease as a natural reflection of a life spent growing further and further apart from our true selves. But, with deep compassion, he also shows us a pathway to health and healing.
Filled with stories of people in the grip of illness or in the triumphant wake of recovery, this life-affirming book, co-written with his son Daniel, proves true health is possible - if we are willing to reconnect with each other and our authentic selves.
Symptom Management in Advanced Cancer, 4e by
This new edition provides practical and up-to-date information and advice on the symptoms that professionals in cancer care encounter, and details the framework of knowledge enabling the clinician to develop a scientific approach to managing symptoms.
The Adult Learner: The Definitive Classic in Adult Education and Human Resource Development, 9e by
How do you tailor education to the learning needs of adults? Do they learn differently from children? How does their life experience inform their learning processes? These were the questions at the heart of Malcolm Knowles' pioneering theory of andragogy which transformed education theory in the 1970s. The resulting principles of a self-directed, experiential, problem-centred approach to learning have been hugely influential and are still the basis of the learning practices we use today. Understanding these principles is the cornerstone of increasing motivation and enabling adult learners to achieve. The 9th edition of The Adult Learnerhas been revised to include: Updates to the book to reflect the very latest advancements in the field. Addition of two new chapters on: diversity and inclusion in adult learning, and on andragogy and the online adult learner. An updated supporting website: This website for The Adult Learner9th Edition will provide basic instructor aids. For each chapter there will be a PowerPoint presentation, learning exercises, and added study questions. Revisions throughout to make it more readable and relevant to your practices. If you are a researcher, practitioner or student in education, an adult learning practitioner, training manager, or involved in human resource development, this is the definitive book in adult learning you should not be without.
Pain in Residential Aged Care Facilities: Management Strategies, 2e by
This new edition is designed as a “one stop shop” with easy-to-use information and resources at the fingertips of the residential aged care facility workforce. It is relevant for personal care assistants, registered nurses, general practitioners, physiotherapists, psychologists, dieticians, occupational therapists, pharmacists and other allied health professionals to identify, assess and manage pain by addressing various pain management strategies.
The 2nd edition of this landmark document is authored and reviewed by expert multidisciplinary stakeholders. It includes revised and expanded content, including two new chapters Pain at the End of Life and Pain and Nutrition. It also aligns with the new Australian Aged Care Quality Standards effective from 01 July 2019. The document aims to provide contemporary research and expanded clinical practice insights and knowledge that should be utilised to inform clinical practice for the management of pain in residential aged care facilities.
https://www.apsoc.org.au/Pain-in-RACF2-Resources
The First Year: What You Should Know After a Year of Anaesthesia Training (Revised Edition) by
Recommended
This book is not an exam primer nor is it a comprehensive textbook of anaesthesia. This is the book you give to the trainee specialist who is about to embark on their anaesthesia training. It contains the information they need to formulate and develop a safe practice of anaesthesia. This book lucidly describes and justifies the core knowledge, behaviours and practical skills that a junior trainee would be expected to possess after a year of anaesthesia. Written specifically for Australasian specialist anaesthetic trainees and those doing the Rural Generalist Anaesthesia (RGA) training course, this book fills the gaping hole in the existing anaesthetic literature. The curriculum for the Introductory Training period and the RGA is comprehensively addressed in this book.
Goodman and Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14e by 
The ANZCA Primary Exam Companion by
This book addresses all components of the anaesthetics primary exam with a focus on the vivas. Exam resources, exam technique, diagrams, opening viva questions, practice SAQs, a study template and 500 short format questions and answers that traverse the entire curriculum are contained within this book.
Study Less and Still Blitz Your Medical Exams by
Patsy Tremayne's earlier book "Ace Your Medical Exams" distilled her vast knowledge and experience, focusing on the outcome - passing the written and clinical examinations. And it does this well.
This new book by Patsy and Kell Tremayne enters this part of the fray, aimed at the medical environment, and explicitly for junior doctors. It is based on knowledge and experience and illustrated through case-based teaching.
Ace Your Medical Exams: Even When Everything is Stacked Against You by
"How often have you put off studying because you've had a long, tiring work shift, or you feel guilty at not spending enough time with your family? For many doctors, finding a study and testing program they can stick to is an almost impossible task. Most regimes ask too much, too often, and are invariably too hard. ACE YOUR MEDICAL EXAMS doesn't ask you to do the impossible. It introduces you to the psychological strategies and techniques designed to cultivate peak performance and personal growth. What good performers in any field have in common is an ability to quickly move past the negative emotion of a failure and learn from the experience.The book bridges the gap between research and practice by clearly illustrating essential concepts with case studies, anecdotes, and examples." -- Back cover.
If You Want Them to Listen, Talk Their Language: Communication, Motivation and Success in Business and Personal Relationships Using the Process Communication Model by
This book explains not only the concepts of the Process Communication Model®, it also gives you highly practical application examples. You will learn more about how the skills to observe and decode behaviours will allow you to form and maintain relationships based on constructive communication.
The Registrar by
With the frenetic pace of a psychological thriller, The Registrar offers a rare insight into the world of a surgeon-in-the-making from one who has survived it. Told with compassion, skill and emotional heart, this gripping and moving novel goes behind the headlines to reveal the human experience of being both doctor and patient in a medical system at breaking point.
If in Doubt : An Anaesthetist's Story by
In this ground-breaking book, If In Doubt, retired consultant anaesthetist, Dr Keith Wilkinson, shares a frank and unique glimpse into this little understood profession. Drawing on anecdotes from a career that spanned nearly four decades, three of which took place in a small island hospital where he was required to know every aspect of anaesthesia, Dr Wilkinson sets out to answer the most important questions.
Essential Notes in Pain Medicine by
Highly recommended
Mapped to the syllabus for the Fellowship of the Faculty of Pain Medicine of the Royal College of Anaesthetists (FFPMRCA), Essential Notes in Pain Medicine ensures readers have all the information needed to review the subject. Written by a multidisciplinary team of over 70 international contributors, this resource provides high-quality, up-to-date guidance on 247 topics such as pain assessment, pain physiology, pain interventions, the role of psychology and physiotherapy and many more.
Thanks for the Feedback: The Science and Art of Receiving Feedback Well by
The authors of the classic 'Difficult Conversations' teach you how to take criticism productively in this book. Receiving feedback is an important skill, and the rewards for learning well are substantial. But feedback can be painful, sometimes brutally so. This title takes an honest look at why feedback feels so hard, and gives readers the framework and tools needed to metabolize challenging information and use it to fuel real change.
Talley & O'Connor's Clinical Examination: A Systematic Guide to Physical Diagnosis (Vols. 1 & 2), 9e by
Talley and O'Connor's Clinical Examination addresses the core principles and clinical skills that underpin diagnosis for safe, effective medical practice. The text takes an evidence-based, patient-centric approach to conducting a clinical examination.
Research Design: Qualitative, Quantitative, and Mixed Methods Approaches, 5e by
Text compares qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design. For all three approaches, the authors include a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, key elements of the research process, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research applications, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry.
Co-Active Coaching: The Proven Framework for Transformative Conversations at Work and in Life, 4e by
Co-Active Coaching offers current and aspiring coaches, leaders and managers in organisations and anyone wanting to strengthen interpersonal relationships, a practical, yet transformative communication process called the Co-Active Model.
An Introduction to Coaching Skills: A Practical Guide, 3e by
This bestselling book introduces you step-by-step to the key skills needed to become a successful coach. Supported by an Online Resource site with over 70 videos of coaching in action, this practical book will be an invaluable resource for novices and trainee coaches.
Skills for Communicating with Patients, 3e by
Skills for Communicating with Patients, 3e, is one of two companion books on improving communication in medicine, which together provide a comprehensive approach to teaching and learning communication skills throughout all levels of medical education in both specialist and family medicine.
The Heart-Centredness of Medicine by
The Heart-Centeredness of Medicine is written by Dr Olivia Ong who is an established pain physician working in private and public practice in Australia, and a medical leadership coach and mentor helping busy, high achieving doctors avoid burnout and exhaustion, and achieve a balanced life through her Life Transformation for Doctors program. This book has been written to address an urgent need that very few of the people who rely on doctors know anything about.
The Chloroformist by
Until 1846, surgery was performed without anaesthesia: extraordinary operations, carried out on conscious, terrified patients. Surgeons of that era were bold and courageous and saved many lives, but anaesthesia changed everything. With an unconscious patient, the surgeon could take his time. Surgery became slower, more careful and more delicate. And as anaesthesia removed the pain of surgery, the medical world gave more attention to surgical infection, heralding in the use of antiseptics and eventually aseptic surgery.
West's Respiratory Physiology: The Essentials, 11e by 
Against All Odds: The Inside Account of the Thai Cave Rescue, and the Courageous Australians at the Heart of It by
In June 2018, for seventeen days, the world watched and held its breath as the Wild Boars soccer team were trapped deep in a cave in Thailand. Marooned beyond flooded cave passages after unexpected rains, they were finally rescued, one-by-one, against almost impossible odds, by an international cave-diving team which included Australians Dr Richard Harris and Dr Craig Challen.
The college acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present and emerging.
The college acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Te Tiriti o Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
The college recognises the special relationship between the Pacific peoples of New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific, and is committed to supporting those fellows and trainees of ANZCA, and improving the health of Pacific peoples.
Library
