Skip to Main Content

News: Latest news

Learn about the latest updates for ANZCA library services and resources.

Upcoming research webinars - 2024 CTN Educational Sessions - 'Research profiles: showcasing your research'

Title: 2024 CTN Educational Sessions - 'Research profiles: showcasing your research'
Date/Time: Tues, 20 February 2024, 11am - 12noon (AEDT) - 1 hr

A research profile is a critical tool for doctors involved in research. This educational session will cover:

  • Increasing your visibility, credibility and recognition
    • Research profiles
    • ORCID ID
  • Networking and creating an online presence
    • Social media networks for researchers
    • Creating your own website
    • CTN networking opportunities
  • Repositories and databases to create a meaningful online profile of your work and its impact
    • Research databases
    • Read by QxMD campaigns
    • University repositories
    • ANZCA Institutional Research Repository (AIRR) - Researcher profiles

Presenters: Kathryn Rough, ANZCA Research Library and John Prentice, ANZCA Library Manager
Moderator: Paige Druce, ANZCA Senior Clinical Trials Network Coordinator

Registration: email ctn@anzca.edu.au

ANZCA E-News (16 February 2024)

Latest titles

The library recently added several new titles to the collection, one as the result of a suggestion by a fellow. Cardiopulmonary Bypass has been added to our CVTP collection. Oxford's brand new Oxford Textbook of Respiratory Critical Care has also been added to our ICM collection.


Latest articles of interest

FANZCA, Anton Booth, has just published a systematic review on emergency airway management of adult epiglottitis.

Te Hā – te reo (For the breath)/NZ News (8 February 2024)

Latest articles of interest

Waikato-based fellow Jamie Sleigh recently co-authored a paper on Consciousness and General Anesthesia. CCR also recently published 2 articles that may be of interest to NZ-based intensivists.

Latest print titles

Additional copies of the popular print-only Ace your medical exams and Study less and still blitz your medical exams have been purchased for the New Zealand exam collection.


Training E-News (25 January 2024)

New year - new titles!

Rolling into 2024, a number of new training & exam-related titles have become available, including a new edition of Faust's Anesthesiology Review and a companion study text for Drugs in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care.


Training and exams hub:

The Training and Exams hub has been designed for trainees and educators participating in the ANZCA, FPM, RGA and DHM training programs to identify suitable training and exam resources, it includes online access to the Primary Exam Reading List, specific texts, and links to exam reports.

SOT induction modules and support hub:

A support hub has been created to highlight all the resources relevant to the SOT role, which also includes links to the new SOT induction modules.


Latest articles of interest

ANZCA E-News (17 January 2024)

New CPD-related library guide

ANZCA library - in conjunction with the ANZCA & FPM CPD Program - have just launched a new guide for CPD participants working in clinical support roles and/or without direct patient care. The guide provides information on key areas to consider, suggestions for compliant CPD activities and in-depth resource support for the newly-updated CPD curriculum. Several new titles have been purchased/subscribed to in order to supplement the new guide including BMJ Quality & Safety and Cultural Safety in Trauma-Informed Practice from a First Nations Perspective.


New year - new titles

Rolling into 2024, several new book and journal titles are now available. This includes a number of quality and safety-related titles, including a new journal subscription to BMJ Quality & Safety.


Note: Work has also begun on updating and expanding the ANZCA & FPM CPD Program and Keeping Current guides.



Latest articles of interest

ANZCA E-News (18 December 2023)

Obstetric anaesthesia guide update

As part of a series of major updates to our SIG-related resource guides, the library has recently updated the Obstetric anaesthesia guide. This includes a refresh of articles, books, websites, and other resources.

Access the Leadership & management guide

Latest articles of interest

Latest books

A round-up of the several recently-received donations, plus a new e-book on qualitative research.

FPM Synapse E-News (14 December 2023)

Research Review

Research Review recently released the latest entry in their Educational Series, which focusses on opioid dependence and the role of LAI buprenorphine.


Latest pain-related articles


FPM Training E-News (6 December 2023)

Latest books

The latest edition of Atlas of Common Syndromes has been added to the collection. In addition, there are new books examining myofascial pain and dysfunction and psychological pain management.


Training and SOT E-News (5 December 2023)

Latest articles of interest

A recent article in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care that was co-written by our former president, Lindy Roberts, explains how the Diploma of Rural Generalist Anaesthesia is supporting the rural and remote communities of Australia. 


Recent training titles of interest

New editions of Irwin & Rippe's Intensive Care Medicine and the *international* version of Advanced Paediatric Life Support (Note: An updated ANZ 7th edition of the APLS course manual is currently being finalised). Plus a new title focussing on remediation in medical education.


Te Hā – te reo (For the breath)/NZ News (22 November 2023)

NZ resources update

The ANZCA Library Manager recently attended the 2023 NZNC to report on the progress on updates to resourcing for NZ-based trainees and fellows in the last 12 months:

ANZCA Library at the 2023 NZ ASM

The ANZCA Library Manager recently attended the 2023 NZ ASM in Dunedin to promote the ANZCA Library resources to current and prospective trainees, fellows and CPD participants. A number of discussions also took place around how the library could better support the various SIGs, with a specific focus on improving communications with SIG members both in Australia and New Zealand.

Latest articles of interest

A recent article in Anaesthesia journal by 2 NZ-based fellows examining large effect sizes in discovery trials.

ANZCA E-News (17 November 2023)

Leadership & management guide update

As part of a series of major updates to our SIG-related resource guides, the library has recently updated the Leadership & management guide. This includes a full refresh of articles, books, websites, and other resources.

Access the Leadership & management guide

Recent titles of interest

A new edition of Irwin & Rippe's, a new title covering difficult airway case studies, and a print-only title examining anaesthesia in Ireland.


ANZCA E-News (16 October 2023)

Recent titles of interest


Recent articles of interest

A round-up of recent WebAIRS-related articles.


Training and SOT E-News (28 September 2023)

Recent titles of interest

New editions of Rang & Dales and Graphic Anaesthesia (both online and in print) plus Anesthesia Oral Board Review (only only) are now available.


New POM training guide

A new Perioperative Medicine (POM) training guide is now available. The guide provides support resources for the POM framework, roles in practice, units of study readings (Unit 1 currently available), as well as the numerous resources POM trainees may find useful. Watch this space as the guide grows in 2024 with the launch of the full POM course.


Recent articles of interest:


Training and exams hub:

The Training and Exams hub has been designed for trainees and educators participating in the ANZCA, FPM, RGA and DHM training programs to identify suitable training and exam resources, it includes online access to the Primary Exam Reading List, specific texts, and links to exam reports.

SOT induction modules and support hub:

A support hub has been created to highlight all the resources relevant to the SOT role, which also includes links to the new SOT induction modules.

FPM Synapse E-News (27 September 2023)

Recent titles of interest

Pain-related titles recently added to the collection include the latest in the Atlas of Interventional Pain series.

Recent articles of interest

A number of new pain-related articles have recently been added to the library guides.


ANZCA E-News (18 September 2023)

Recent titles of interest

A number of new NZ fellow authored or NZ-related articles have recently been added to the library guides.

Recent articles of interest

ANZCA E-News (17 August 2023)

Recent articles of interest

A number of new anaesthesia-related articles have recently been added to the library guides.


Recent titles of interest

The library has recently several new titles to the e-Book collection.


FPM Training E-News (10 August 2023)

Highlights include a new book on back pain and updates to the Learn@ANZCA readings, which are now reflected in the FPM Essential Topic Areas Reference lists

Latest books


Pain medicine training guide/ETA essentials update

The library - in conjunction with the Faculty of Pain Management - has now completed more updates to the FPM Essential Topic Areas Reference lists. The Learn@ANZCA readings have now been updated, and the full list of references are now accessible from the Pain Medicine Training guide.

Training E-News (27 July 2023)


Recent titles of interest

The library has recently purchased a number of titles to supplement the anaesthesia training curriculum:

Recent articles of interest

A number of new education-related articles have recently been added to the library guides.

ANZCA E-News (17 July 2023)

Recent articles of interest

A number of new anaesthesia-related articles have recently been added to the library guides.


Recent titles of interest

The library has recently added 2 new titles related to the Uluru Statement of the Heart/Voice to Parliament to the general collection.


Te Hā – te reo (For the breath)/NZ News (12 July 2023)

Recent articles of interest

A number of new NZ fellow authored or NZ-related articles have recently been added to the library guides.


New NZ print titles

Several new print titles have recently been added to the NZ collection.


NZ print collection

Did you know that the NZ office has its own print collection available for loan? Requested items are delivered/returned via courier free-of-charge.

FPM Synapse E-News (29 June 2023)

Recent articles of interest

A number of new pain-related articles have recently been added to the library guides.


Recent titles of interest

A number of new pain-related titles have recently been added to the library collection.


ANZCA E-News (19 June 2023)

Recent articles of interest

Recent titles of interest

A number of new titles have recently been added to the library collection, including Obstetric Anesthesia: Quick References & Practical Guides, Textbook of Critical Care, 8e and Elsevier’s 2024 Intravenous Medications (formerly Gahart's Intravenous Medications).

Guides refresh

We recently updated another of our specialists guides.

The Acute Pain guide is your gateway to acute pain resources available via the ANZCA Library and beyond. The guide has recently been refreshed with an updated titles list, and includes a number of recently published articles.

Te Hā – te reo (For the breath)/NZ News (31 May 2023)

Recent articles of interest

A round-up of a number of recent articles of interest including the latest issue of New Zealand Anaesthesia and Pain Management Research Review.


NZ print collection

Did you know that the NZ office has its own print collection available for loan? Requested items are delivered/returned via courier free-of-charge.

Training and SOT E-News (25 May 2023)

Latest books

New editions of Essentials of Equipment in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Perioperative Medicine and Radiology for Anaesthesia and Intensive Care now available.


Recent articles of interest

A round-up of a number of recent articles of interest.


Training and exams hub:

The Training and Exams hub has been designed for trainees and educators participating in the ANZCA, FPM, RGA and DHM training programs to identify suitable training and exam resources, it includes online access to the Primary Exam Reading List, specific texts, and links to exam reports.

SOT induction modules and support hub:

A support hub has been created to highlight all the resources relevant to the SOT role, which also includes links to the new SOT induction modules.

ANZCA E-News (19 May 2023)

Guides refresh

We recently refreshed two of our library guides.

The Apps guide provides access to a number of highly-utilised apps. Spotlighted apps include ;Read by QxMD, BrowZine and the newly-updated AudioDigest. The revamped A-Z list includes a number of apps used by anaesthetists and pain specialists in their everyday work. If you think there is an app that we should be spotlighting, please let us know!

We've also updated our popular Drug Information guide. The guide includes access to AusDI, AMH and Therapeutic Guidelines, with the Journals & articles tab including a Most Read pharmacology feed.

Latest books

The college has just purchased anniversary edition of the classic The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People. Previously only available in print, this is now available to access online for the first time.


Please Note: Free registration is required to access the above audio lecture.

FPM Training E-News (18 May 2023)

Latest books

A new e-book on Neuropathic Pain management has just been added to the collection. We've also added another title (print only), on the Symptom Management in Advanced Cancer.


Pain medicine training guide/ETA essentials update

The library - in conjunction with the Faculty of Pain Management - has now completed updates to the FPM Essential Topic Areas Reference lists. The Module 2 readings have now been fully revised and updated, with all references for Module 2 now available online.

Note: The full list of references is only accessible via the Pain Medicine Training guide, as the Learn@ANZCA readings have yet to be updated.

ANZCA E-News (18 April 2023)

ANZCA Library at the 2023 ASM

You can find out more about the ANZCA Library at the ANZCA stand located in the Healthcare Industry area. at this years ASM Library staff will be available during all breaks from Saturday to Tuesday and will be more than happy to answer any library-related queries you may have. We’ll also be attending the FPM Symposium on the Thursday preceding the ASM.


Incision Academy Trial

The library has just commenced a 30-day trial on Incision Academy that will take us through to the end of the 2023 ASM. The Incision Academy contains high quality courses on surgery-related skills and procedures with videos, human body anatomy, and tech training. The portal includes a wide variety of perioperative and anaesthesia-related courses covering a wide variety of topics including patient prep, airway management and regional anaesthesia

To learn more about the trial - including full access details - see our Trials page.


Recent articles of interest

A round-up of recent articles of interest.


Please Note: Free registration is required to access the above audio lecture.

FPM Synapse E-News (4 April 2023)

A number of new pain-related book titles have recently been added to the library collection, including Elsevier’s 2023 Intravenous Medications (formerly Gahart's Intravenous Medications).


New journals

Alongside the recently announced Neuromodulation subscription and the return of Regional Anaesthesia & Pain Medicine (RAPM), thelibrary is pleases to announce the library has also gained access to Current Pain and Headache Reports as part of it's new Springer journals collection subscription.

Current Pain and Headache Reports provides in-depth review articles contributed by international experts on the most significant developments in the field.


Recent articles of interest

A round-up of recent articles of interest, including a recent joint editorial from from the major pain journals "Promoting Inclusion, Diversity, and Equity in Pain Science".

Training E-News (29 March 2023)

New RGA library guide

The library - in conjunction with the RGA working group - has created a Rural Generalist Anaesthesia (RGA) library guide to support the new RGA course.

The guide provides support resources covering roles in practice, clinical fundamentals, the specialist study units, assessment/exams, rural and remote practice, as well as the numerous apps/websites/resources RGA trainees may find useful.

You can access the RGA library guide here.

Latest books

ANZCA fellow - and former SOT/current primary examiner - Lachlan Rathie has recently updated his book: The First Year: What you should know after a year of anaesthesia training.

The library has been provided with a PDF version available for download, and also has print copies available for loan.

SOT E-News (27 March 2023)

Latest books

ANZCA fellow - and former SOT/current primary examiner - Lachlan Rathie has recently updated his book: The First Year: What you should know after a year of anaesthesia training.

The library has been provided with a PDF version available for download, and also has print copies available for loan.

ANZCA E-News (17 March 2023)

Journal coverage extended

The journal coverage for Pediatric Anesthesia and Emergency Medicine Australasia has now been extended, with both titles now available from 1991. For Pediatric Anaesthesia, this now means we have full online access from volume 1.

Recent articles of interest

A round-up of recent articles of interest:

Audio-Digest lectures

Spotlight on a recent Audio-Digest lecture of interest:

Please Note: Free registration is required to access the above audio lecture.

Te Hā – te reo (For the breath)/NZ News (15 March 2023)

Recent articles of interest

A round-up of recent articles of interest:


NZ print exam book update

As mentioned in the last e-news, the library recently purchased additional print copies of the high-use Primary Exam and Exam Prep texts for use by NZ-based trainees. This includes texts such as the recently released ANZCA Primary Exam CompanionThe physics, clinical measurement, and equipment of anaesthetic practice for the FRCA; Pharmacology and physiology for anesthesia; Nunn and Lumb's applied respiratory physiology; and Dr Podcast scripts for the primary FRCA. These texts are now available for loan.


NZ print collection

Did you know that the NZ office has its own print collection available for loan? Requested items are delivered/returned via courier free-of-charge.

FPM Training E-News (9 March 2023)

Pain medicine training guide/ETA essentials update

The library - in conjunction with the Faculty of Pain Management - has recently updated access to the FPM Essential Topic Areas Reference lists. The content for the lists has been thoroughly revised to match the updated FPM curriculum.

The updated reference content has moved to online access - where available - to ensure the most current version of the resource is available to trainees. The FPM Essentials tab of the Pain Medicine training guide is now the primary access point for all FPM Essential Topic Areas (ETAs) reference content.

The list has also been embedded in the new Learn@ANZCA portal for ease of access, and can also be accessed from the Training & Exams hub: Pain Medicine Training & Exams section.

ANZCA E-News (17 February 2023)

Recently added titles

Alongside the newly launched RGA course, the ANZCA library is undertaking a 12 month trial subscription to The Australian Journal of Rural Health. AJRH includes articles on anaesthesia, pain medicine, medical education and indigenous health practice in a rural/remote context.


A number of new e-book titles have recently been added to the library collection, including Elsevier’s 2023 Intravenous Medications (formerly Gahart's Intravenous Medications).

Recent articles of interest

A round-up of recent articles of interest, including a special issue of MJA focussing on health inequities in Australia.


AudioDigest collection update

Keep up-to-date on the latest anaesthesia and pain medicine research and practice, in your car, office, home, gym or while travelling.

AudioDigest provides instant online and mobile access to 245+ accredited audio lectures and board reviews presented by experts from leading institutions, providing trainees with a convenient "learning on the run experience".

The collection has been fully updated for 2023 and includes many new and topical lectures covering managing COVID-patients in the theatre, anaesthetic complications and airway management.

See our updated AudioDigest guide for further information including full access details.

Training E-News (1 February 2023)

Keep up-to-date on the latest anaesthesia and pain medicine research and practice, in your car, office, home, gym or while travelling.

AudioDigestprovides instant online and mobile access to 245+ accredited audio lectures and board reviews presented by experts from leading institutions, providing trainees with a convenient "learning on the run experience".

The collection has been fully updated for 2023 and includes many new and topical lectures covering managing COVID-patients in the theatre, anaesthetic complications and airway management.

Seeour updatedAudioDigest guide for further information including full access details.

Latest books

ANZCA fellow Lachlan Rathie has written a new book aimed at Primary Exam trainees. The library has multiple copies now available for loan. In addition, the latest edition of Goodman & Gilman's is now available online and in print.

Recent articles of interest

A round-up of recent articles of interest:


Training and exams hub:

The Training and Exams hub has been designed for trainees and educators participating in the ANZCA, FPM and DHM training programs to identify suitable training and exam resources, it includes online access to the Primary Exam Reading List, specific texts, and links to exam reports.

SOT E-News (1 February 2023)

Latest books

ANZCA fellow Lachlan Rathie has written a new book aimed at Primary Exam trainees. The library has multiple copies now available for loan.

Recent articles of interest

A round-up of recent articles of interest:

SOT induction modules and support hub:

A support hub has been created to highlight all the resources relevant to the SOT role, which also includes links to the new SOT induction modules.

BJA change of access (4 November 2021)

Due to a significant and unsustainable price increase, the ANZCA Library will discontinue its online subscription to the British Journal of Anaesthesia (BJA) from 1 January 2022.

See the complete college news item for more information

With this change, college members will continue to receive the following free online access to the BJA:

  • Issues published pre-2022
  • Issues published from 2022 onward that are older than 12 months

This content will be available through the library’s discovery service, journals list, apps and other linking tools and platforms. It will also be possible to request any newer articles not online through the library free-of-cost.

Any current college fellow, trainee, or SIMG, can also take out a personal subscription to the BJA at a heavily discounted rate.

See the college BJA personal subscriptions page for more information

Talk to us

We rely on your feedback to further develop and support the ANZCA library. Use the link below to provide content suggestions, as well as to make recommendations, report issues, and to give general feedback.

Library feedback form

ANZCA acknowledges the traditional custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present, and emerging.

ANZCA acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.