This page contains information about accessing eBooks and print titles related to research support.
How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Webmaster (technical issues)" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
McGraw Hill e-Book access issues: There is an ongoing issue with McGraw-Hill e-books, whereby some users are improperly authenticated when accessing content within the IP range of another institution that also subscribes to MGH e-books. This results in the user being being unable to access some titles.
Access to the above collections should be unaffected when authenticated outside the IP range of the affected institutions. This includes access from home and access from a mobile device using 4/5G (and not the institutions' Wi-Fi). Users with a pre-existing MyAccess login, can sign out of the affected collections, and sign in using their MyAccess credentials.
Creating a MyAccess account:
ANZCA users requiring urgent access can submit chapter request/s via the Request an article service.
Choosing & Using Sources: A Guide to Academic Research by
Choosing & Using Sources presents a process for academic research and writing, from formulating your research question to selecting good information and using it effectively in your research assignments.
Doing Research by
A modules-based approach to learning research skills that emphasizes the reflective nature of information discovery, the contextual basis for evaluating that information, and a recognition that information has value.
Essential Writing, Communication and Narrative Skills for Medical Scientists Before and after the COVID Era by
When the COVID-19 pandemic occurred, all the main communication systems of medical research have undergone an epochal change. Many online journals and magazines have tried to publish inherent works of this specific problem as soon as possible, soliciting and preferring them to others, thus changing the system of free acceptance of scientific works once. Moreover, the way to communicate these works has no longer occurred through standard Scientific Congresses but with other systems, websites/streaming and webinars or virtual conferences.
General Anesthesia Research by
This book explores several aspects of the research in the field of general anesthesia, including mechanisms of action of inhaled and intravenous hypnotic agents; the anesthetics-induced neurotoxicity in children and elderly; features and physiopathology of postoperative cognitive side effects; and findings from preclinical research focused on the recognition of potential links between anesthetics and cancer cell biology.
How to Read a Paper: The Basics of Evidence-Based Medicine, 4e by
Everyone seeks to avoid getting into a lawsuit, but what do you do if this does happen? Getting sued for medical malpractice is one of the most traumatic events of a physician's career. This text will guide doctors and physicians through the process from the moment they receive a summons until the after-trial appeal process. It contains valuable information that physicians need to know to prevent making critical mistakes that can hurt their case. It comes with strategies explained to maximize their chances of a defendant's verdict. It includes vital information on how to change your attorney, act at the deposition and dress for court, and navigate through what is a mysterious and terrifying process in non-legalese language that is easy to understand including, what makes patients angry, strategies for coping, sample questions and tips on answering them, and what happens in court and how to continue if there is a bad outcome.
Introduction to the Research Process by
The purpose of this pack is to introduce the reader to the main features of the research process. The type of information which informs decisions about how to undertake a research project is described and supported by examples from primary care and other health services research. The pack is intended for health care professionals with little or no previous research knowledge.
Leading Your Research Team in Science by
This practical guide for team leaders, and those who aspire to become team leader, offers a unique approach to help readers develop research and become a more independent and productive investigator.
Non-Migraine Primary Headaches in Medicine: A Machine-Generated Overview of Current Research by
This book on tension-type headache is the second machine-generated scientific book in medicine published by Springer and reflects a new publication format which focuses on literature reviews: state-of-the-art computer algorithms were applied to select relevant sources from Springer Nature journal, rearrange them in a topical order, and provide short summaries of these articles. The result is the auto-summarization of current texts, organized by means of a similarity-based clustering routine in coherent chapters and sections. The human intervention of a world-renowned expert in this field grants the scientific soundness and appropriate organization of the contents identified. The AI-based approach seemed especially suitable to provide an innovative perspective as the topics are indeed both complex, interdisciplinary, and multidisciplinary, as is tension-type headache, the most diffuse among the chronic non communicable diseases. The result of this innovative process will of help especially for readers with limited time, interested in migraine and wishing to learn more about the subject quickly and if they are new to the topic. Springer seeks to support anyone who needs a fast and effective start in their content discovery journey, from the undergraduate student exploring interdisciplinary content, to Master- or PhD-thesis developing research questions, to the practitioner seeking support materials, this book can serve as an inspiration, to name a few examples.
Research and Evidence in Practice by
This etextbook is an introduction to the use of research-based evidence in professional health-care practice. It will help you to understand the role of evidence in health care, including how evidence is developed, and how to interpret research methods and outcomes.
The Research Guide: A Primer for Residents, Other Health Care Trainees, and Practitioners by
A step-by-step guide for novice researchers and their supervisors. Written and reviewed by Canadian experts, this practical and accessible guide enables new and experienced researchers to effectively design a study, conduct the research and interpret the findings.
Research Impact: Guidance on Advancement, Achievement and Assessment by
This textbook takes the reader on a journey from how the UK Research Excellence Framework assesses impact to real examples of outstanding research impact case studies.
Research Methods in Health: Investigating Health and Health Services, 2e by
This is a comprehensive, easy to read, guide to the range of methods used to study and evaluate health and health services. It describes the concepts and methods used by the main disciplines involved in health research, including: demography, epidemiology, health economics, psychology and sociology.
Story, Not Study: 30 Brief Lessons to Inspire Health Researchers As Writers by
Brief, accessible lessons that guide researchers to write clear and compelling scientific manuscripts. The book is divided into three sections - Story, Craft, and Community. The Story section offers advice on getting the balance of study and story just right, introducing strategies for tackling each section of a scientific manuscript. The Craft section considers the grammatical and rhetorical tools of the trade, showing how they can be wielded for maximum impact. And the Community section offers suggestions for writing collaboratively, supporting other writers, and navigating peer review.;
Conducting Research in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine by
Provides a single resource for those starting out in research including practical advice for both clinical and scientific research.
Designing and Conducting Mixed Methods Research by
Combining the latest thinking in the field with practical, step-by-step guidance, Designing and Conducting Mixed Methods Research, 3e now includes seven mixed methods designs with accompanying journal articles illustrating each design.
Indigenous Data Sovereignty and Policy by
This book examines how Indigenous Peoples around the world are demanding greater data sovereignty, and challenging the ways in which governments have historically used Indigenous data to develop policies and programs. In the digital age, governments are increasingly dependent on data and data analytics to inform their policies and decision-making.
Methods in Health Services Research by
The Handbook of Health Services Research is a reference for all aspects of the field of health services and outcomes research.
Applied Statistical Considerations for Clinical Researchers by
This essential book details intermediate-level statistical methods and frameworks for the clinician and medical researcher with an elementary grasp of health statistics and focuses on selecting the appropriate statistical method for many scenarios. Detailed evaluation of various methodologies familiarizes readers with the available techniques and equips them with the tools to select the best from a range of options.
Clinical Research: Case Studies of Successes and Failures by
This book provides insights into how to be a productive clinical researcher via real-life case examples of successful clinical research - and also clinical research gone awry. Through these examples of success and failure, the book develops a blueprint for building a career in clinical research. Future medical practice depends on the quality of the clinical trials to which drugs, devices, and treatment procedures are subjected today. However, clinical trials are not easy to do, and many physicians and health care providers who attempt clinical research struggle in this endeavour, primarily because of lack of instruction. Clinical Research aims to fill the gap between training and research through case studies of a long-time clinical researcher's rich and varied experiences.
Clinical Research Informatics, 2e by
This extensively revised new edition comprehensively reviews the rise of clinical research informatics (CRI). It enables the reader to develop a thorough understanding of how CRI has developed and the evolving challenges facing the biomedical informatician in the modern clinical research environment
Clinical Trials, 2e by
This extensively revised second edition is a unique and portable handbook focusing on clinical trials in surgery. It includes new educational materials addressing the rapid evolution of novel research methodologies in basic science, clinical and educational research. The underlying principles of clinical trials, trial design, the development of a study cohort, statistics, data safety, data monitoring, and trial publication for device and drug trials are also discussed.
Clinical Trials: Study Design, Endpoints and Biomarkers, Drug Safety, and FDA and ICH Guidelines, 2e by
Clinical Trials, 2e offers those engaged in clinical trial design a valuable and practical guide. This book takes an integrated approach to incorporate biomedical science, laboratory data of human study, endpoint specification, legal and regulatory aspects and much more with the fundamentals of clinical trial design.
Developing a Successful Clinical Research Program by
This unique book is designed to help a medical team become a clinical research team. It includes practical information and tips for the initial stages of clinical research: building a team, negotiating a contract, developing a budget, and writing and improving a patient consent.
Miller's Anesthesia, 9e by 
Quality Assurance Implementation in Clinical Research Labs by
Covers all aspects of historical and conceptual framework of quality assurance with step by step notes on implementation.
Understanding Clinical Research by
Understanding Clinical Research addresses both the operational challenges of clinical trials and the needs of clinicians to comprehend the nuances of research methods to accurately analyse study results.
Evidence-Based Medicine: How to Practice and Teach EBM, 5e by
Now in its fifth edition, this classic introduction to the practice and teaching of evidence-based medicine is written for busy clinicians at any stage of their career who want to learn how to practise and teach evidence-based medicine (EBM). It is short and practical, emphasizing direct clinical application of EBM and tactics to practise and teach EBM in real-time. The online toolkit includes Critical appraisal worksheets, Educational prescription, Pocket Cards, EBM calculators, Educational Prescriptions, Clinical Questions log, Self evaluations. Thoroughly updated with examples from latest evidence/studies.
The Philosophy of Evidence-Based Medicine by
Evidence-based medicine (EBM) has become a required element of clinical practice, but it is critical for the healthcare community to understand the ongoing controversy surrounding EBM. Seeking to address questions raised by critics, The Philosophy of Evidence-based Medicine challenges the over dependency of EBM on randomized controlled trials.
Smith's Patient Centered Interviewing: an Evidence-Based Method, 4e by
Readers will learn how to confidently obtain from patients accurate biomedical facts, as well as critical personal, social, and emotional information, allowing them to make a precise diagnosis, develop effective treatment plans, and forge strong clinician-patient relationships.
Interpreting Qualitative Data: A Guide to the Principles of Qualitative Research, 4e by
David Silverman offers beginners a hands-on guide to getting the best out of a research methods course or an undergraduate research project.
InterViews: Learning the Craft of Qualitative Research Interviewing by
This thoroughly revised Second Edition retains the original's seven-stage structure, continuing to focus on the practical, epistemological, and ethical issues involved with interviewing.
Qualitative Research: A Practical Guide for Health and Social Care Researchers and Practitioners by
This guide is designed to support health and social care researchers and practitioners to conduct qualitative research.
The Cambridge Handbook of Health Research Regulation by
The first ever interdisciplinary handbook in the field, this vital resource offers wide-ranging analysis of health research regulation. The chapters confront gaps between documented law and research in practice, and draw on legal, ethical and social theories about what counts as robust research regulation to make recommendations for future directions.
Community-Led Research: Walking New Pathways Together by
The concept of community-led research has taken off in recent years in a variety of fields, from archaeology and anthropology to social work and everything in between. Drawing on case studies from Australia, the Pacific and Southeast Asia, this book considers what it means to participate in community-led research, for both communities and researchers. How can researchers and communities work together well, and how can research be reimagined using the knowledge of First Nations peoples and other communities to ensure it remains relevant, sustainable, socially just and inclusive?
Indigenous Knowledge Systems and Research Methodologies: Local Solutions and Global Opportunities by
Bringing together researchers from geographically, culturally, and linguistically diverse regions, Indigenous Knowledge Systems and Research Methodologies offers guidance and lessons learned from research projects in and with Indigenous communities around the world. This edited volume explores issues of power, representation, participation, and accountability in studies involving Indigenous peoples and draws on contributors' reflections of their own varied experiences conducting collaborative research in distinct yet related fields.
Te Ara Tika Guidelines for Māori Research Ethics: A Framework for Researchers and Ethics Committee Members by
This document outlines a framework for addressing Māori ethical issues within the context of decision-making by ethics committee members. It draws on a foundation of tikanga Māori (Māori protocols and practices) and will be useful for researchers, ethics committee members and those who engage in consultation or advice about Māori ethical issues from a local, regional, national or international perspective.
Essential Writing, Communication and Narrative Skills for Medical Scientists Before and after the COVID Era by
When the COVID-19 pandemic occurred, all the main communication systems of medical research have undergone an epochal change. Many online journals and magazines have tried to publish inherent works of this specific problem as soon as possible, soliciting and preferring them to others, thus changing the system of free acceptance of scientific works once. Moreover, the way to communicate these works has no longer occurred through standard Scientific Congresses but with other systems, websites/streaming and webinars or virtual conferences.
Medical Writing: A Guide for Clinicians, Educators, and Researchers by
This book is a clear and comprehensive guide that assists readers in translating observations, ideas, and research into articles, reports, or book chapters ready for publication. For both researchers and practicing physicians, skills in medical writing are essential. This third edition is additionally fully updated to include the intricacies of medical writing and publishing today, with new coverage of: open access, pay to publish and predatory journals, peer review fraud, publication bias, parachute studies, public domain images, and phantom authors.
The Process of Research Writing by
The title of this book is The Process of Research Writing, and in the nutshell, that is what the book is about.
Research and Writing Skills for Academic and Graduate Researchers by
These modules are for academic and higher degree researchers who want to develop and extend the skills required in the contemporary research environment. (This set of modules is under development - check back regularly to find additional content.)
Reporting and Publishing Research in the Biomedical Sciences by
Acts as one-stop guide on how to publish your research in clinical and biomedical research.
Thesis Writing for Master's and Ph. D. Program by
This book on Thesis Writing for Master's and Ph.D. program focuses on the difficulties students encounter with regard to choosing a guide; selecting an appropriate research title considering the available resources; conducting research; and ways to overcome the hardships they face while researching, writing and preparing their dissertation for submission.
Writing and Publishing a Scientific Research Paper by
The book covers all aspects of scientific writing from submission to publishing in detail.
ANZCA acknowledges the traditional custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present, and emerging.
ANZCA acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
Library
