Library resource guides: SIMG resources: Starting out

Guide index

Assessment & learning pathways links

SIMG assessment process
Our SIMG assessment process evaluates the ability of a specialist to practise as an unsupervised specialist anaesthetist and/or pain medicine specialist at a standard comparable to that required of a fellow of ANZCA (FANZCA) or fellow of the Faculty of Pain Medicine (FFPMANZCA).
MBA expedited specialist pathway
The MBA expedited specialist pathway is for SIMGs seeking specialist registration in Australia.
MCNZ fast-track registration pathway
The Medical Council of New Zealand (MCNZ) has introduced a new fast-track registration for specialist international medical graduates (SIMGs), enhancing support for New Zealand’s medical workforce.
Short-term training (STT) pathway
Applicants who wish to enter a short-term training (STT) position in specialist anaesthesia or pain medicine in Australia must be assessed for the purpose of medical registration. This pathway does not lead to fellowship.
SIMG preliminary review (SPR)
The SPR is prepared for all applicants in Australia and summarises the initial assessment of an SIMG’s suitability to enter the SIMG process. You are able to provide further information in response if you so wish.
SIMG clinical practice assessment (CPA) period
The clinical practice assessment (CPA) period is the period of clinical practice an SIMG must complete during their individual program.
SIMG performance assessments
The SIMG PA is a one-day assessment conducted by two fellows and at times an observer in the SIMG’s actual working environment.
Area of Need pathway
The Area of Need (AoN) process applies to Australia only. The declaration that a specified position is an AoN is made by the relevant government jurisdiction not ANZCA.
FAQ - ANZCA & FPM SIMG pathways
Frequently asked questions about ANZCA & FPM SIMG pathways

SIMG Individual program

Following their initial assessment process, most successful applicants must then successfully complete a tailored individual program. The Individual Program is generally comprised of five components. Additional support resources have been linked in below:

SIMG Individual program links

Clinical practice assessment (CPA)
Patient clinical interaction assessment (PCIA) for SIMGs required to sit the anaesthesia examination [effective from 2025 Hospital Employment Year]
Anaesthesia examination/Pain Medicine examination or SIMG performance assessment
(SIMG PA)
Effective Management of Anaesthetic Crisis (EMAC) course [anaesthesia SIMGs only]
Multisource feedback
Continuing Professional Development (CPD)

Please refer to the Handbook for specialist international medical graduates for further information.

Training sites

The list of accredited ANZCA training sites for extended CPA periods can be found here:

Training sites links

ANZCA training sites
Clinical experience for the anaesthesia training program must be completed at an ANZCA-accredited training site.

Professional codes & guidelines

Applicable national guidelines and codes of practice are listed below.

National codes links

Standards of practice

ANZCA: Standards of practice
ANZCA is responsible for setting the standards of clinical practice for anaesthesia and pain medicine in Australia and New Zealand. Our activities in this area include issuing safety alerts; developing professional documents (prof docs); and overseeing incident reporting activities.
ANZCA Standards for Anaesthesia 2023
The purpose of this document is to articulate identified standards and associated indicators of quality care against which performance can be compared.
ANZCA: Supporting Professionalism and Performance: A Guide for Anaesthetists and Pain Medicine Physicians 2024

SIMG process for Australia

In Australia, ANZCA is accredited by the Australian Medical Council (AMC) with assessing and training anaesthetists/pain medicine SIMGs. Once the SIMG process is complete and you have met all the requirements set by the college, they advise the AMC that you are eligible for application for fellowship (and entry into the specialist register).

AMC: Specialist pathway The Specialist Pathway is for international medical graduates (IMGs) in one of the following categories: - overseas-trained specialists applying for assessment of comparability to the standard of a specialist trained in that specialty in Australia (specialist recognition) - overseas-trained specialists applying for an area of need specialist level position in Australia (area of need) - overseas-trained specialists or specialists-in-training wishing to undertake a short period of specialist or advanced training in Australia.
Ahpra - Medical Board of Australia: Guidelines - Short-term training in a medical specialty for international medical graduates who are not qualified for general or specialist registration
Ahpra - Medical Board of Australia: International medical graduates (IMGs) - Assessment pathways to registration for international medical graduates International medical graduates (IMGs) whose medical qualifications are from a medical school outside of Australia or New Zealand and who are seeking registration to practise medicine in Australia must provide evidence of eligibility to undertake one of the following assessment pathways: Competent Authority pathway; Standard pathway, or Specialist pathway.
Ahpra - Medical Board of Australia: Supervised practice for international medical graduates guidelines
Ahpra - Medical Board of Australia: Specialist Registration
more...less...
Specialist registration is available to medical practitioners who have been assessed by an AMC accredited specialist college as being eligible for fellowship. Fellowship is not a pre-requisite for specialist registration.
ANZCA: Fees and forms
Note: Most forms are for Australian-use only. See the New Zealand/Aotearoa section below for NZ-specific forms.

SIMG process for New Zealand (Aotearoa)

The SIMG process in New Zealand differs from the Australian process in that it is run by the Medical Council of New Zealand (MCNZ) with advice from ANZCA at specific stages. Those stages are: preliminary assessment, full assessment, position description (including orientation plan), approval. MCNZ is involved in the decision-making process at every stage, ending in approval for entry into the New Zealand vocational register (equivalent to Australia’s specialist register).

MCNZ: Moving to practise in New Zealand Moving to New Zealand to practise medicine is a big decision. Here are some key questions and answers.
MCNZ: Pathways to registration in a vocational scope Vocational registration is a form of permanent, specialist registration which allows you to work independently in New Zealand.
MCNZ: Registration policy Our policies set out the rules and criteria we use to make decisions on applications for registration. These policies will also be referenced on the pages that provide detail on how to apply for registration.
MCNZ: Scopes of practice - Anaesthesia Anaesthesia is the provision of anaesthetics, peri-operative care, intensive care and pain management to patients and can include the provision of resuscitation, retrieval/transportation (inter and intra hospital) and hyperbaric medicine to patients. Encompassed in this is the advancement of professional standards, patient safety, education and the advancement of the science and practice of anaesthesia, perioperative medicine, intensive care and pain medicine.
MCNZ: Vocational (specialist) training and recertification programmes Once a doctor successfully completes prevocational medical training and has received registration within a general scope of practice, a doctor is then eligible to enrol in a vocational medical training programme. Doctors undertaking this training are referred to as trainee doctors, and are usually employed as registrars.
MCNZ: Vocational (specialist) training and recertification providers and accreditation standards It is the Council’s role to ensure that the quality of training and education programmes offered by medical colleges is of a high standard. Council regularly assess training providers against its robust accreditation standards.

MCNZ application forms for New Zealand-based SIMGs

MCNZ: Fees, forms and checklists
Use for: Supervisor and position description approval forms.
more...less...
This page contains a full list of our forms including application, report and referee forms, as well as checklists and the current fees payable.
MCNZ: Provisional vocational registration for non-NZ, non-AUS SIMGs (i.e: entry into the MCNZ SIMG process).
more...less...
If you trained and qualified as a specialist outside of New Zealand and Australia and wish to work in New Zealand as a specialist you can apply based on overseas training and qualifications and we will assess your case on its merits.
MCNZ REG4: Employer application for approval of position and supervisor (UK & Irish graduates + Locum tenens)
MCNZ REG7: Application for approval of position and supervisor: Provisional vocational scope of practice (use for all other SIMGs)

MCNZ supervision process for New Zealand-based SIMGs

MCNZ: SIMGs working under supervision (policies and reports)
All international medical graduates (IMGs) registered in a provisional general, provisional vocational and special purpose scope of practice must be supervised. This is to support their practice while they become familiar with the New Zealand health system and the expected standard of medical practice.
MCNZ: Orientation, Induction and Supervision for International Medical Graduates [Guide]
These guidelines set out the roles and responsibilities for international medical graduates (IMGs) coming to work in New Zealand, and their employers and supervisors.
ANZCA CPA report for SIMGs
All ANZCA SIMGs must use the ANZCA CPA forms for the final CPA report, as it clarifies the FTE of the applicant.
- anaesthesia
- pain medicine

Learn@ANZCA

Learn@ANZCA (formerly Networks) is the college's learning management system. The system contains numerous courses and resources which will be of interest to trainees and fellows.

Note: Some resources located in Learn@ANZCA require that you first register before accessing.

ANZCA: Setting up SSO and MFA Everything you need to know about single-sign on (SSO), multi-factor authentication (MFA), and how we're keeping your data safe.

SIMG documents

The current version of curriculum and the training handbook can be accessed below.

Handbook for specialist international medical graduates (SIMGs) The SIMG Handbook complements this regulation and sets out in detail the requirements of the SIMG pathway leading to FANZCA or FFPMANZCA. The SIMG Handbook will be the usual source consulted by those seeking information about the SIMG pathway. Should there be conflict between this handbook and Regulation 23, then the regulation takes precedence.
Regulation 23 - Recognition as a specialist in anaesthesia or pain medicine; and eligibility for admission to fellowship by assessment for specialist international medical graduates (SIMGs) Regulation 23 - Recognition as a specialist in anaesthesia or pain medicine; and eligibility for admission to fellowship by assessment for specialist international medical graduates (SIMGs)
Regulation 37 - Training in anaesthesia leading to FANZCA, and accreditation of facilities to deliver this curriculum Regulation 37 - Training in anaesthesia leading to FANZCA, and accreditation of facilities to deliver this curriculum.
Regulation 42 - Assessment of short-term training applications for anaesthesia and pain medicine for international medical graduates in Australia Regulation 42 - Assessment of short-term training applications for anaesthesia and pain medicine for international medical graduates in Australia
ANZCA Anaesthesia Training Program Curriculum The ANZCA Anaesthesia Training Program Curriculum defines the learning outcomes, associated requirements and assessments of the ANZCA vocational training program.
ANZCA Standards for Anaesthesia 2023 The purpose of this document is to articulate identified standards and associated indicators of quality care against which performance can be compared.

Visa requirements

Information about the visa requirement for both countries.

Visa requirements links

Australia

Australian Government - Dept of Health & Aged Care: Applying for a visa
If an international medical graduate plans to work in Australia, they will need a visa. Learn how to get the right visa for working as a doctor in Australia.

New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Odyssey recruitment: Visa Categories For Work & Residence New Zealand 2022
If you are planning to work in New Zealand and are not a citizen or permanent resident, then you will almost certainly need to apply for a visa. This guide will take you through the options available in 2022.

National health systems

Information about the Australian and New Zealand (Aotearoa) health systems and services.

National health systems links

Australia

Australian Government - Dept of Health & Aged Care: The Australian health system
Australia’s health system is jointly run by all levels of Australian government – federal, state and territory, and local.
Ahpra - Medical Board of Australia: Medical specialties and specialty fields
The Ministerial Council has approved a range of specialties for medicine. Some specialties also have specialty fields.

New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Ministry of Health - Manatū Hauora: New Zealand health system
This provides an overview of New Zealand’s health and disability system. It describes the main organisations and structures in the system, their roles, functions, and legislative responsibilities.
Medical Council of New Zealand - Te Kaunihera Rata o Aotearoa: Types of vocational scope
There are 36 areas of medicine, or 'scopes of practice', within which you can be registered and work as a specialist in New Zealand. This is the standard that an overseas-trained specialist is compared against when they are assessed for vocational registration in New Zealand (VOC3).

Acronyms

An updated list of common college and medical community acronyms.

Acronyms links

Common college and medical community acronyms

Protecting your data

Everything you need to know about single-sign on (SSO), multi-factor authentication (MFA), and how we're keeping your data safe.

Protecting your data links

ANZCA: Setting up SSO and MFA
Learn more about setting up SSO/MFA at ANZCA.

ANZCA & FPM resources

ANZCA & FPM resources links

Handbook for Specialist International Medical Graduates (SIMGs) by Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists The SIMG Handbook complements this regulation and sets out in detail the requirements of the SIMG pathway leading to FANZCA or FFPMANZCA. The SIMG Handbook will be the usual source consulted by those seeking information about the SIMG pathway. Should there be conflict between this handbook and Regulation 23, then the regulation takes precedence.
Publication Date: v1.3 - December 2024
Regulation 23 - Recognition as a specialist in anaesthesia or pain medicine; and eligibility for admission to fellowship by assessment for specialist international medical graduates (SIMGs) by Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists Regulation 23 - Recognition as a specialist in anaesthesia or pain medicine; and eligibility for admission to fellowship by assessment for specialist international medical graduates (SIMGs)
Publication Date: v2.2 - December 2024
Orientation Induction and Supervision for International Medical Graduates: Best Practice Guidelines for Employers and Supervisors of International Medical Graduates by Medical Council of New Zealand (MCNZ) These guidelines set out the roles and responsibilities for international medical graduates (IMGs) coming to work in New Zealand, and their employers and supervisors. Part A discusses orientation and induction, from preparation and recruitment through to starting work and following up in subsequent months. Part B deals with the supervision requirements for doctors coming to work in New Zealand. Orientation is an introduction and overview to medical practice in New Zealand. Induction is the familiarisation of systems and processes of the worksite and the individual service of departments.
ISBN: 9780958279284
Publication Date: 2011
ANZCA Anaesthesia Training Program Curriculum by Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists The ANZCA Anaesthesia Training Program Curriculum defines the learning outcomes, associated requirements and assessments of the ANZCA vocational training program.
Publication Date: v1.13 December 2024
Regulation 37 - Training in anaesthesia leading to FANZCA, and accreditation of facilities to deliver this curriculum by Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists
Publication Date: v2.5 - December 2024
ANZCA Standards for Anaesthesia by Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists
Publication Date: 2023
The purpose of this document is to articulate identified standards and associated indicators of quality care against which performance can be compared.
Supporting Professionalism and Performance: A Guide for Anaesthetists and Pain Medicine Physicians 2024 by Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists (ANZCA) The guide aims to assist fellows and trainees by providing a framework for understanding professionalism and performance as it applies to the practice of anaesthesia and pain medicine. The structure mirrors the ANZCA and FPM roles in practice and builds from the curriculum frameworks of the anaesthesia and pain medicine training programs under each of these roles.
Publication Date: Version 2.0, published in 2024