This page contains the various e-books recommended throughout the rest of this guide, plus a number specific journals recommended for SIMG participants.
For exam-specific texts, please refer to the assessment tab.
How to access e-resources
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser, and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Technical support" via the college contact form
Want to learn more about SSO/MFA at ANZCA? See Protecting your data for more information, including instructions on how to set up MFA/SSO.
Experiencing difficulties, or need help? Contact the Library
Recommended SIMG texts
Useful resources to help with your SIMG training.
Handbook for Specialist International Medical Graduates (SIMGs) by
The SIMG Handbook complements this regulation and sets out in detail the requirements of the SIMG pathway leading to FANZCA or FFPMANZCA. The SIMG Handbook will be the usual source consulted by those seeking information about the SIMG pathway. Should there be conflict between this handbook and Regulation 23, then the regulation takes precedence.
Regulation 23 - Recognition as a specialist in anaesthesia or pain medicine; and eligibility for admission to fellowship by assessment for specialist international medical graduates (SIMGs) by
Regulation 23 - Recognition as a specialist in anaesthesia or pain medicine; and eligibility for admission to fellowship by assessment for specialist international medical graduates (SIMGs)
Orientation Induction and Supervision for International Medical Graduates: Best Practice Guidelines for Employers and Supervisors of International Medical Graduates by
These guidelines set out the roles and responsibilities for international medical graduates (IMGs) coming to work in New Zealand, and their employers and supervisors. Part A discusses orientation and induction, from preparation and recruitment through to starting work and following up in subsequent months. Part B deals with the supervision requirements for doctors coming to work in New Zealand. Orientation is an introduction and overview to medical practice in New Zealand. Induction is the familiarisation of systems and processes of the worksite and the individual service of departments.
ANZCA Anaesthesia Training Program Curriculum by
The ANZCA Anaesthesia Training Program Curriculum defines the learning outcomes, associated requirements and assessments of the ANZCA vocational training program.
Regulation 37 - Training in anaesthesia leading to FANZCA, and accreditation of facilities to deliver this curriculum by 
ANZCA Standards for Anaesthesia by 
Supporting Professionalism and Performance: A Guide for Anaesthetists and Pain Medicine Physicians 2024 by
The guide aims to assist fellows and trainees by providing a framework for understanding professionalism and performance as it applies to the practice of anaesthesia and pain medicine. The structure mirrors the ANZCA and FPM roles in practice and builds from the curriculum frameworks of the anaesthesia and pain medicine training programs under each of these roles.
The First Year: What You Should Know After a Year of Anaesthesia Training (Revised Edition) by
This book is an excellent primer for learning more about the Anaesthesia Training Program. It contains the information needed to formulate and develop a safe practice of anaesthesia. This book lucidly describes and justifies the core knowledge, behaviours and practical skills that a junior trainee would be expected to possess after a year of anaesthesia.
International Medical Graduate Physicians: A Guide to Training by
International Medical Graduate Physicians: A Guide to Training was created by prominent leaders in academic psychiatry to support the success of these international medical graduate physicians as they complete their clinical training and enter the physician workforce in this country. This insightful title has been developed as a valuable resource, filled with key information and personal narratives, to foster optimal wellbeing and decision making of IMG physicians as they navigate their careers. The text is thorough in scope and replete with perspectives, reflections, and tailored guidance for the reader.
Roberts Academic Medicine Handbook: A Guide to Achievement and Fulfillment for Academic Faculty by
This authoritative, updated and expanded title serves as the gold-standard resource to assist physicians, clinicians, and scientists in developing effective and satisfactory careers in academic medicine. Covering such critical topics as finding one's path in academic medicine, getting established at an institution, approaching work with colleagues, writing and reviewing manuscripts, conducting empirical research, developing administrative skills, advancing one's academic career, and balancing one's professional and personal life, each chapter includes valuable career pointers and best practice strategies, as well as pithy words to the wise and questions to ask a mentor or colleague.
Journals
Recommended journals are listed below. For a complete list of key anaesthesia, pain medicine, intensive care medicine, emergency medicine and medical education journals, see the library Journals page.
Requesting articles: Access the corresponding issue via BrowZine, select the article link, and click the 
button to request the article. Turnaround is usually 1-2 working days.
Interested in a personal subscription? Click here for more detail.
Journal apps
The college acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present and emerging.
The college acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Te Tiriti o Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
The college recognises the special relationship between the Pacific peoples of New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific, and is committed to supporting those fellows and trainees of ANZCA, and improving the health of Pacific peoples.
Library
Want to access BJA Ed online exams? See the