This page contains information about accessing e-books and print books via the ANZCA Library, as well as linked list of selected books related to the welfare of doctors.
How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Technical support" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
Clinical Psychology and Cognitive Behavioral Psychotherapy: Recovery in Mental Health by
Describes mental health disorders, therapy and the meaning of stigma
Aims at experts and non-experts,specifically to reduce stigma in mental health. Includes revision questions.
Coping in Good Times and Bad: Developing Fortitude by
No one thinks about how well they're coping with life's daily stresses, until they're not. Coping in Good Times and Bad brings together what we know about coping so we can create a life of health, joy, satisfaction, resilience and wellbeing. 'Coping' and 'resilience' have become very commonly used words, especially in our COVID-impacted world, but what we need is a template for a good life. Decades of research, teaching and professional practice have provided psychologist Erica Frydenberg with intimate insight into how and why we cope well and not so well, and practical ways of developing and refining our coping strategies. Integrating coping with key proven ideas in contemporary psychology, such as emotional intelligence, mindset, mindfulness and grit, she goes beyond focusing on particular kinds of crisis (trauma, relationship breakdown, anxiety), and addresses the need for a framework that strengthens us through life, in good times and bad.
Depression, Burnout and Suicide in Physicians: Insights from Oncology and Other Medical Professions by
This book provides a reference and contextual basis for depression, burnout and suicide among oncology and other medical professionals.
Emotional Design and the Healthcare Environment by
Through the use of emotional design, aimed at transforming healthcare environments, such as waiting rooms, in such a way as to boost the emotional wellbeing of patients, and thus their general attitudes, including in regard to their own healing processes, medical institutions can improve outcomes for the people they treat while simultaneously lowering overall costs.
The Essential Guide to Healthcare Professional Wellness: Proven Lessons from Leaders by
Healthcare professionals throughout the world heed a calling that compels them to devote their lives to the treatment of their patients. While this work is generally rewarding, these professionals frequently fall victim to stressors and happiness barriers that impact their ability to function at work, the longevity of their career and the quality of their relationships outside of the hospital. Burnout, diminished career fulfilment, substance abuse, and suicide data for healthcare professionals demonstrate that the risks to this population are incredibly real. Unfortunately, there is nothing to suggest that any of these stressors are improving as pandemics, access disparities, changes in healthcare system structure, and patient complexity further escalate work-related challenges. Thankfully, there are sources of help readily available to each of us. All healthcare professionals have encountered a colleague, mentor or expert who has already navigated or has a perspective on how to thrive in the setting of hardship. This book will organize the voices of these leaders in a way that provides readers with a source for advice and inspiration. Sections of chapters are dedicated to work-life balance, family, finances, faith, resiliency, and recovery. For those healthcare workers actively caring for patients and struggling with their career, this book will serve as a source of solace and inspiration that should help to reinvigorate and extend a successful career.
Essentials of Men’s Health by
"The textbook emphasizes pathophysiologic basis of major mens health problems, evidence-based algorithms for disease management, and integrated models of patient-centric treatment. It offers useful guidance on optimizing workflow, and patient education tools and resources, consistent with recent trends in healthcare delivery"
General Surgery Residency Survival Guide by
There are over 250 surgical residencies in the United States. Most residents experience some degree of shock once they start on the very first day, and the demands of residency are high. The current overall dropout rate is 16%, and there is evidence for higher burnout rates, suicide rates, addiction rates and divorce rates among all surgeons compared to other careers. There is therefore a critical need for the education of resiliency during surgical residency and guidance on surviving this challenging portion of their career. Unfortunately, the experiences of trial and error are the basis for survival, and resiliency training is often overlooked as part of the traditional surgical training. This practical guide is founded on many conversations with struggling general surgery residents and will have wide appeal, utilizing these experiences via interviews with current residents at different residency programs and covering an even wider variety of topics, with variable experiences based on differing ages, races, sexes, and marital statuses.
Handing Over: Reflections and Advice for Young Doctors by 
An Interdependent Approach to Happiness and Well-Being by
This open access book examines an interdependent approach to happiness and well-being, one that contrasts starkly with dominant approaches that have originated from Western culture(s). It highlights the diversity of potential pathways towards happiness and well-being globally, and answers calls - voiced in the UN's Sustainable Development Goals - for more socially and environmentally sustainable models. Leading global organizations including the OECD, UNICEF, and UNESCO are now proposing human happiness and well-being as a more sustainable alternative to a myopic focus on GDP growth. A timely and accessible book, it offers fresh insights for scholars and policymakers working in the areas of psychology, health, sociology, education, international development, public policy, and philosophy.
Long Lives, Healthy Workplaces: A Toolkit for Anaesthetic Departments by
Long Lives, Healthy Workplaces is an initiative of the Wellbeing Special Interest Group and Everymind, with support from the Australian Society of Anaesthetists (ASA) and additional funding leveraged under The Prevention Hub. The purpose is to provide a toolkit to support better mental health and wellbeing for anaesthetists and anaesthetic trainees.
Medical Student Well-Being: An Essential Guide by
This book tackles the most common challenges that medical students experience that lead to burnout in medical school by carefully presenting guidelines for assessment, management, clinical pearls, and resources for further references. Written by national leaders in medical student wellness from around the country, this book presents the first model of care for combating one of the most serious problems in medicine. Each chapter is concise and follows a consistent format for readability. This book addresses many topics, including general mental health challenges, addiction, mindfulness, exercise, relationships and many more of the important components that go into the making of a doctor.
Medical Student Well-being is a vital resource for all professionals seeking to address physician wellness within medical schools, including medical students, medical education professionals, psychiatrists, addiction medicine specialists, hospitalists, residents, and psychologists.
Men's Health and Wellbeing by
This book provides a concise overview of the latest controversies and advances in men's health. It covers the male anatomy, physiology, and the metabolic syndromes that most commonly affect males. A range of benign and malignant conditions affecting the prostate, testes, rectum and colon are detailed. Chapters feature an easy-to-follow format and feature learning objectives to highlight the key concepts in each chapter aiding the reader to develop a thorough understanding of fundamental aspects in men's health. Men's Health and Wellbeing features insightful reviews of controversies and recent developments in men's health, and is a valuable resource for all trainee and practicing medical professionals who treat these patients.
Mindful Medical Practitioners: A Guide for Clinicians and Educators by
Following up on Mindful Medical Practice, this book describes in detail how mindfulness is being taught to medical students, residents, practicing physicians, and allied health care professionals. Steps to set up and integrate programs into curricula are featured and educators' questions concerning practical aspects of doing this work are addressed.
Occupational Well-being in Anesthesiologists by
Occupational Well-Being of Anaesthesiologists brings together academics and practitioners concerned with the very real issues facing the health of anaesthesiologists around the world.
The publication covers four key areas:
Principles and Foundations of Occupational Health; Institutional Responsibilities with the Occupational Wellbeing of Anaesthesiologists; Biological Risks and Occupational Health of Anesthesiologists; Interdisciplinary Aspects and Occupational Health.
Physician Crisis: Why Physicians Are Leaving Medicine, Why You Should Stay, and How To Be Happy by
This book is the first volume to individually dissect and explore the reasons physicians are leaving medicine. It lays out potential solutions to many of the problems, which will result in a happier practicing physician. Chapters begin with the nature of the problem, and go through a physician's life cycle on the job, from medical school through post-grad and onwards. Chapters will also cover issues as a practicing physician and how to help alleviate these problems. The book ends with potential solutions to the issue of physician burnout. Physician Burnout:Why Doctors Are Leaving Medicine and How to Fix It is a must-have resource for practicing physicians, healthcare providers, and healthcare management. It is also a great resource for medical school students and those looking to get into the healthcare field.
Physician Mental Health and Well-Being: Research and Practice by
This book explores the important topic of mental health and related problems among physicians, including trainees. The all-too-common human response of "suffering in silence" and refusing to seek help for professional and personal issues has ramifications for physicians who work in safety-sensitive positions, where clear-headed judgment and proper action can save lives. Problems covered include burnout, disruptive and unprofessional behaviours, impaired performance, traumatic stress, addiction, depression and other mood disorders, and suicide.
The Resilient Physician : A Pocket Guide to Stress Management by
Written by a veteran clinician for medical practitioners of all disciplines and levels of experience, this concise pocket guide presents a frank discussion about facilitating resiliency in the face of the personal and professional challenges of a medical career. Furthermore, it provides proven techniques and suggestions for stress management aimed at the maintenance of a more successful practice and peaceful life. First defining and elucidating the problems of stress plaguing the field, including burnout, substance abuse and suicide, the bulk of the book presents and discusses ways to combat and master the everyday stress of the "medical marriage," such as engaging in mindfulness training, learning to forgive oneself and others, listening to your own body, utilizing time away from medicine, and performing simple acts of kindness and gratitude.
Stress in Anaesthetists by
Stress can be defined as mental, emotional or physical strain or tension and is an integral part of life. Moderate amounts of stress provide the driving
force which enables mankind to function optimally. Undue stress, however, is eventually unsustainable and may in extreme situations result in mental or physical disintegration. It is inevitable that events both in personal and professional life will prove stressful. Learning to cope with these stresses is an important part of development.
The Thriving Doctor: How to Be More Balanced and Fulfilled, Working in Medicine by
How can you protect your right to a balanced life in a profession that demands perfection? Medical life is challenging. The culture is competitive, the environment intense, the machinery complex and unwieldy, and the expectations high. Under such constant stress, many doctors sacrifice their own wellbeing to try and provide the best possible care for their patients. We've got it backwards. Only by first looking after yourself can you truly provide the best care for others. Non-clinical skills have untapped potential in providing both personal and - you guessed it - clinical benefits. Research has clearly shown that patient experience and patient health outcomes are better when doctors are compassionate and well themselves. Thriving doctors have better rapport with others, make less errors and feel more satisfied and engaged in their work. Medicine has spent little energy helping doctors build their skills in communication, emotional regulation, mind management, leadership, and compassion. Coaching offers a way to immediately start bridging this known gap. Coaching provides deep listening, powerful questions, and a view from outside the culture of medicine that notices different things. You are a whole human, and it's time to treat yourself like it.
Transforming the Heart of Practice: An Organizational and Personal Approach to Physician Wellbeing by
This unique, step-by-step guide offers a comprehensive exploration of burnout and physician wellbeing, a vital issue that steadily has become widely discussed in the professional and mainstream press. More than twenty chapter authors contribute to this multidimensional volume, including physicians, psychologists, researchers, healthcare administrators, chaplains, professional coaches, and counselors. Section one of the book establishes context, provides a brief overview of the phenomenon of physician burnout, establishes its validity, and makes a case for the reason it has emerged as a critical issue in American healthcare. Section two provides a rationale for healthcare institutions (hospitals, physician groups, medical associations) to make a commitment to physician wholeness, while section three then starts the process of delineating a step-by-step curriculum to address the dilemma, providing additional detail and personal experience direct from the frontlines of combatting burnout. Section four focuses on developing and sustaining a healthy professional culture that is aligned with the mission of the organization, and section five addresses the spiritual component of physician wholeness, Section six concludes the book with two personal essays that poignantly express the nature of two common experiences affecting physicians that require uncommon insight, patience, courage. Transforming the Heart of Practice is a major contribution to the literature and will serve as an invaluable resource for anyone concerned with addressing this crisis in American healthcare.
Understanding and Cultivating Well-being for the Pediatrician: A Compilation of the Latest Evidence in Pediatrician Well-being Science by
This is a book designed for pediatricians, health care leaders, and organizations looking to better understand and implement strategies for pediatrician well-being.
Wellbeing by
This book provides a detailed guide for surgeons and surgical trainees on a variety of facets relevant to wellbeing, and how to maintain wellbeing throughout a career in academic surgery. Individual and external factors relevant to wellbeing are both covered in relation to the surgeon. Aspects covered include healthcare roles, personal factors, socio-cultural factors, the regulatory business, and payer environment. Potential strategies for managing welfare including considerations for both students and residents are provided, as are methodologies for studying aspects of wellbeing. Wellbeing offers a practical and personal insight on maintaining wellbeing in academic surgery and is a valuable resource for all practicing and trainee surgeons across a variety of disciplines, as well as those who are interested in studying factors affecting the wellbeing of surgical specialists.
Workplace Conditions by
This Element reviews the evidence for three workplace conditions that matter for improving quality and safety in healthcare: staffing; psychological safety, teamwork, and speaking up; and staff health and well-being at work. The authors propose that these are environmental prerequisites for improvement.
Workplace Wellness: From Resiliency to Suicide Prevention and Grief Management; A Practical Guide to Supporting Healthcare Professionals by
This book uniquely provides actionable strategies along the wellness continuum in multiple dimensions: personal, institutional and professional; while applicable across disciplines: nursing and allied health, advanced practice providers and physicians. Further, the content is presented in a manner that can be taught to those entering the workforce, or serve as a primer for Wellness Officers. Most mental health texts focus on the needs of patients and ignore the mental health needs of clinicians. This book fills that gap embracing wellness initiatives as a matter of mental health. Wellness strategies for Inclusion Diversity and Equity are presented. The often ignored subject of suicide is approached head-on with evidence-based strategies for prevention. At the far end of the continuum of wellness, grief management after losing a colleague to death and/or suicide will be addressed. Each chapter includes learning objectives, a brief presentation of the science, application of principles into wellness practice, opportunities for future research and discussion questions.
For a comprehensive list of titles, see: wellbeing
Cry of the Damaged Man: A Personal Journey of Recovery by
While driving to work in 1984, Dr Tony Moore, a well-known surgeon and rehabilitation specialist, was hit by a 30 tonne truck, crushing him and his car and changing his life forever. "Cry of the Damaged Man" is his unique story of recovery from a patient's point of view but with a doctor's knowledge and experience.Challenging and intensely personal, "Cry of the Damaged Man" is an illuminating journey of recovery and self-discovery. First published in 1991, "Cry of the Damaged Man" became an instant bestseller.
Doctors' Marriages: A Look at the Problems and Their Solutions, 2e by
Responding to demographic changes among physicians and six years of new experiences since the first edition, Dr. Myers has revamped his well received work. He includes new information on older physicians, gay and lesbian physicians, medical student abuse, economic strain on interns, depression, malpractice, ethical violations, and other stressors which may cause marital difficulties. Therapists seeking to council symptomatic physicians, as well physicians themselves, will find this a humane, readable, and useful book.
Emotional Female: A Brilliant Young Surgeon's Journey Through Ambition and Dedication to Exploration and Burnout by
Yumiko Kadota was every Asian parent's dream- model student, top of her class in medical school and on track to becoming a surgeon. A self-confessed workaholic, she regularly put 'knife before life', knowing it was all going to be worth it because it would lead to her longed-for career. But if the punishing hours in surgery weren't hard enough, she also faced challenges as a young female surgeon navigating a male-dominated specialty. She was regularly left to carry out complex procedures without senior surgeons' oversight; she was called all sorts of things, from 'emotional' to 'too confident'; and she was expected to work a relentless on-call roster - sometimes seventy hours a week or more - to prove herself. Eventually it was too much and Yumiko quit. Emotional Female is her account of what it was like to train in the Australian public hospital system, and what made her walk away. Yumiko Kadota is a voice for her generation when it comes to burnout and finding the resilience to rebuild after suffering a physical, emotional and existential breakdown. This is a brave, honest and unflinching work from a major new talent.
Every Doctor: Healthier Doctors = Healthier Patients by
The second edition of this well-received text advocates for a transformational change in the way doctors protect their mental health, look out for their colleagues, co-create a kinder, more humane work culture and lead health system reform. Offering practical strategies and real solutions, based both on medical literature and the wisdom of experienced doctors, the new edition reimagines health care, where every doctor is encouraged and supported to: prioritise psychological wellbeing and physical protection promote healthy workplace cultures, fairness and safety build strong relationships by sharing challenges save lives through medical co-leadership rediscover the joy in medicine Brimming with poignant and hopeful stories and quotes from a diverse array of doctors from many different specialities and at all career stages, the book is a celebration of the growing global interconnectedness and the changing face of the medical profession. An invaluable support and companion for those in the early years of medicine, Every Doctor is a must-read for all doctors across all specialties and wherever they practise in the world, because exemplary care of patients, peers, profession and self is a lifelong journey.
How to Survive in Medicine: Personally and Professionally by
Focussing on the causes, symptoms and management of psychological problems experienced by doctors at all stages in their careers, this book considers the difficulties and stressors of medicine as a career, linking to studies that look at what interventions are successful in the workplace and offering various solutions.
Keeping the Doctor Alive: A Self Care Guidebook for Medical Practitioners by
This guidebook provides medical practitioners with information and resources on strategies for self care as an essential element of their professional life. It aims to encourage medical practitioners to recognise and discuss the challenges facing them, promote self care as an integral and accepted part of the professional life of medical practitioners, and assists medical practitioners to develop useful strategies for self care.
The Myth of Normal: Trauma, Illness & Healing in a Toxic Culture by
Western countries invest billions in healthcare, yet mental illness and chronic diseases are on a seemingly unstoppable rise. Nearly 70% of Americans are now on prescription drugs. So what is 'normal' when it comes to health?
Dr Mate connects the dots between our personal suffering and the pressures of modern-day living - with disease as a natural reflection of a life spent growing further and further apart from our true selves. But, with deep compassion, he also shows us a pathway to health and healing.
Filled with stories of people in the grip of illness or in the triumphant wake of recovery, this life-affirming book, co-written with his son Daniel, proves true health is possible - if we are willing to reconnect with each other and our authentic selves.
This is Going to Hurt: Secret Diaries of a Junior Doctor by
Scribbled in secret after endless days, sleepless nights and missed weekends, comedian and former junior doctor Adam Kay's This Is Going to Hurt provides a no-holds-barred account of his time on the NHS front line.
Time to Care: How to Love Your Patients and Your Job by
Supplementary website: http://www.heartsinhealthcare.com/
When Breath Becomes Air by
At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with inoperable lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, the next he was a patient struggling to live.
Women and Stress: How to Manage Stress and Take Control of Your Life by
A guide to stress management for women examines the most common and persistent sources of stress, describes treatments that range from traditional to alternative methods, and offers daily affirmations that provide inspiration and release.
Quick links
About ANZCA
Connect with us
ANZCA
FPM
Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.
Library
