Library resource guides: Apps: Apps A-Z

Guide index

Related guides

Apps

Wellbeing apps

Podcasts

Related websites

iMedicalApps (reviews of medical apps & healthcare technology)

iTunes (medical category)

Google Play (medical category)

Guide note

Hover mouse over logos for further information about each resource.

Further information available, or link to a Library guide

Click here to access the resource

App access available

Download app on Google Play

Download app on App Store

Mobile-optimised website

Anesthesia apps

Recommended Anesthesia apps are listed below, sorted by area. Additional information about ANZCA-subscribed/supported apps can be found on the Apps library guide.

Anesthesia 411
Anesthesia 411 is a collection of more than 125 of the most common cases seen by an anesthesiologist. With an easy to use layout Anesthesia 411 is perfect for the keen resident, CRNA or junior attending.
Anesthesia 411 (iOS/Apple)
Anesthesia 411 (Android/Google Play)
Purchase required

AnSo
AnSo is a convenient resource designed to help anaesthetists identify common sonoanatomy, in a time efficient manner, within the busy operating theatre. It has been created by practicing anaesthetists with an interest in teaching ultrasound and regional anaesthesia.
AnSo (iOS/Apple)

ANZCA & FPM CPD [App] This link opens in a new window
Designed for ANZCA and FPM fellows and continuing professional development (CPD) participants, the CPD Portfolio App streamlines the management of your CPD portfolio. From logging activity on-the-go, to real-time progress monitoring, this app makes staying up to date with your CPD requirements easier than ever.

ANZCA & FPM CPD (iOS/Apple)
ANZCA & FPM CPD (Android/Google Play)
ANZCA: CPD app FAQs We've collated answers to frequently asked questions (FAQs) from CPD participants.
ANZCA: Setting up SSO and MFA

Blood & clotting apps

Recommended Blood & clotting apps are listed below, sorted by area. Additional information about ANZCA-subscribed/supported apps can be found on the Apps library guide.

ASA Coags App
ASRA Coags makes the ASRA Pain Medicine Anticoagulation Guidelines a quick and easy reference for your practice. It provides quick access to drug-specific summary information.
ASRA Coags (iOS/Apple)
Purchase required

AnticoagEvaluator App
Make well-informed decisions on anti thrombotic therapy for your non-valvular AF patients with the updated AnticoagEvaluator.
AntiCoag Evaluator (iOS/Apple)
AntiCoag Evaluator (Android/Google Play)

Heparin Heuristics Lite
The following app contains information about heparin dose and reversal.
Heparin Heuristics Lite (iOS/Apple)

iTransfuse (Australian Red Blood Cross)
The iTransfuse App promotes safe, appropriate and evidence-based transfusion by providing bedside access to transfusion education tools and resources.
iTransfuse (iOS/Apple)
iTransfuse (Android/Google Play)
Free

Managing Dabigatran
The following app has been designed for doctors to help them manage patients on the anticoagulant dabigatran.
Managing Dabigatran (iOS/Apple)

Calculators (Drug & other)

Recommended calculators are listed below, sorted by area. Additional information about ANZCA-subscribed/supported apps can be found on the Apps library guide.

Reversing Warfarin
The following Reversing Warfarin App is designed for doctors to help them manage patients on the anticoagulant warfarin.
Reversing Warfarin (iOS/Apple)

AusDI (Australian Drug Information) This link opens in a new window
AusDI (Australian Drug Information) contains over 80,000 pages of Australian medicines information, a product identifier tool, and interactions and safety modules. Mobile-optimised site for use on devices.

Free registration required to access via mobile devices
See our dedicated AusDI guide for more information including full registration and access details

DrugDoses
For more than 30 years, Frank Shann's little booklet has helped physicians all around the world prescribe drugs. DrugDoses now contains more than 2500 entries. It lists every drug commonly prescribed for systemic use in both adults and children.
DrugDoses (iOS/Apple)
DrugDoses (Android/Google Play)
Purchase required

MDCalc
MDCalc clinical decision support is created exclusively by board-certified physicians for use by physicians, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, pharmacists, and medical students. The simple yet sleek app provides access to 550+ easy-to-use clinical decision tools including risk scores, algorithms, equations, formulas, classifications, dosing calculators, and more.
MDCalc (iOS/Apple)
MDCalc (Android/Google Play)

FPM Opioid Calculator [App] This link opens in a new window
The Faculty of Pain Medicine, ANZCA has developed a Opioid Calculator app designed to calculate dose equivalence of opioid analgesic medications.

See the dedicated FPM Opioid Calculator website for more information

Calculate by QxMD
Calculate by QxMD is a next-generation clinical calculator and decision support tool, freely available to the medical community. It contains over 200 unique calculators and decision support tools.
Calculate by QxMD (iOS/Apple)
Calculate by QxMD (Android/Google Play)

Clinical Frailty Scale App
The app is designed for frontline colleagues to download for use on mobile devices, to undertake clinical frailty scoring with patients in real time.
CFS App (iOS/Apple)
Free

Research tools

Recommended research tools are listed below, sorted by area. Additional information about ANZCA-subscribed/supported apps can be found on the Apps library guide.

Prime
The Prime app connects you to the most up-to-date journal citations and abstracts from the complete PubMed database, and provides some exclusive search tools.
Prime (iOS/Apple)
Prime (Android/Google Play)

Metajournal
Metajournal is a tool to help you provide your patients with the best, personalized, individualized and evidence-based care that only one clinician is able to provide in the context of that relationship: you.
Mobile optimised
Paid app

Read by QxMD [App] This link opens in a new window
Read by QxMD aims to provide a single place to keep up with new medical & scientific articles.

It is easy to set-up, employs an alerts-based approach to notifications, and displays content in the style of a personalised digital journal.

Includes full-text access to all subscribed ANZCA journal content, and the ability to request articles for non-subscribed content. For CPD participants it also includes a downloadable credits/time spent certificate.

Recommendation: This app is ideal for tracking newly-published articles and claiming time spent for CPD purposes.

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under Knowledge and skills journal reading activity.

BrowZine [App] This link opens in a new window
BrowZine is a mobile app for tablets and smart phones that allows you to access and browse e-journals from different publishers in one simple interface.

It is easy to set-up, defaults to PDF format for reading purposes, and journals can be browsed by both title and subject categories. Includes full-text access to all subscribed ANZCA journal content.

Recommendation: The perfect “armchair-reading” app for catching up with your favourite journals. Users are also able to create a user profile and save PDFs for offline use/bookmark articles for CPD purposes.

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under Knowledge and skills journal reading activity.

AudioDigest Anesthesiology Collection [App] This link opens in a new window
AudioDigest provides instant online and mobile access to 250+ accredited anaesthesiology, pain medicine and critical care audio lectures presented by experts from leading institutions, bringing clinicians a convenient continuing medical education (CME/CE) experience. Each lecture includes: objectives, pre-test Q&A, summary & readings, post-test Q&A, evaluation.

Free registration required to access
AudioDigest (iOS/Apple)
AudioDigest (Android/Google Play)

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under the Knowledge and skills Learning sessions activity. Use the Audio-Digest My Transcript feature to track completed activities.

Environmental apps

Recommended Environmental apps are listed below, sorted by area. Additional information about ANZCA-subscribed/supported apps can be found on the Apps library guide.

Anaesthetic Impact Calculator
Developed by the Royal College of Anaesthetists, the Anaesthetic&Impact Calculator&allows clinicians to calculate and compare the CO2e of inhaled anaesthesia agents and carrier gases.
Anaesthetic Impact Calculator (iOS/Apple)

Yale Gassing Greener
Yale Gassing Greener helps anaesthesia providers build environmentally conscious practices. The app features two calculators that provide reports on carbon emissions of inhaled anaesthetics.
Yale Gassing Greener (iOS/Apple)
Yale Gassing Greener (Android/Google Play)

Nerve block apps

Recommended Nerve block apps are listed below, sorted by area. Additional information about ANZCA-subscribed/supported apps can be found on the Apps library guide.

BLOCKJOCKS - Regional Anesthesia Education
BLOCKJOCKS gives anesthesiologists, nurse anesthetists (CRNA), anesthesia residents, and medical students the tools they need to understand and perform simple and complex nerve block techniques to control pain and provide anesthesia and analgesia for orthopedic surgery and other surgical procedures.
BLOCKJOCKS (iOS/Apple)
Free - In-app purchases

NYSORA Ultrasound-Guided Nerve Blocks App
The most practical reference guide to ultrasound-guided nerve blocks.
NYSORA Nerve Blocks (iOS/Apple)
NYSORA Nerve Blocks (Android/Google Play)

Clinical tools

Recommended clinical tools are listed below, sorted by area. Additional information about ANZCA-subscribed/supported apps can be found on the Apps library guide.

Access - by McGraw Hill [App] This link opens in a new window
The new MGH Access app allows users to search content from the AccessAnesthesiology and AccessMedicine collections, including: books and chapters (including Goodman & Gilman's and Harrison's), videos, podcasts, infographics, images, tables, and figures. Free registration required.

See our dedicated Access - by McGraw Hill guide for more information including full registration and access details.

ASA Relative Value Guide (RVG)
The Relative Value Guide (RVG) provides comprehensive and accurate advice on billing and assists with deciphering the Medicare and private insurance rebate systems.

Note: The app is free of charge if you are a member of ASA. ASA also provides support and guidance should the members have any questions regarding the billing or item numbers. A valid member ID and password is required to log into the application.
ASA RVG App (iOS/Apple)
ASA RVG App (Android/Google Play)
Purchase required

ASCAR App
The ASCAR app has been designed by clinicians for clinicians with the aim of supporting Operating Theatre (OT) teams to plan and brief for complex cases effectively as well as respond appropriately to crises. The app allows you to carry in your pocket, the ever expanding library of ASCAR cognitive aids – so they are available in their most up-to-date version on your device whenever and wherever you are.
ASCAR (iOS/Apple)
ASCAR (Android/Google Play)
Free

ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey is a medical search engine and database tool offering access to the Elsevier medical library. The service includes online books, journals, videos, drug information and procedures.
ClinicalKey (iOS/Apple)
ClinicalKey (Android/Google Play)

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under the Knowledge and skills ‘Journal readings’ activity.

Emergency Procedures App
The Emergency Care Institute Emergency Procedures app is based on the Australasian College of Emergency Medicine syllabus, providing standardised recommendations for common emergency department procedures with the aim to reduce variation in practise and provide an evidenced based methodology to assists providers in perform procedures safely and competently.
Emergency Procedures App (Mobile optimised website)
Free

Medscape
Medscape provides fast and accurate clinical answers at the point-of-care and is the leading medical resource for physicians, medical students, nurses, and other healthcare professionals.
Medscape (iOS/Apple)
Medscape (Android/Google Play)

nzRISK
nzRISK has been developed to be a simple and easy to use risk calculator based on the New Zealand population. It has been compiled using data from over 270,000 patients aged 18 or over undergoing non-cardiac surgery. It includes eight risk factors that can be entered below to give a 30 day, one and two year estimate of mortality. Each risk factor is associated with mortality and improves the performance of the calculator.
nzRISK (web tool)
Free

palliMEDS
The palliMEDS app from NPS MedicineWise and caring@home is designed to explain the use of eight medicines that have been endorsed for end-of-life care by the Australian and New Zealand Society of Palliative Medicine.
palliMEDS (iOS/Apple)

Randall
Randall enables the allocation of various subjects to a clinical trial at random.
Randall (iOS/Apple)

The Thinksulin App
A point of care app that will provide information and decision support on blood glucose level targets, hypoglycaemia management, blood glucose monitoring, basal-bolus calculations, and charting and reviewing doses.
Thinkinsulin (iOS/Apple)
Thinkinsulin (Android/Google Play)
Free

Logbooks

Recommended logbooks are listed below, sorted by area. Additional information about ANZCA-subscribed/supported apps can be found on the Apps library guide.

Somnus: The Anaesthesiology Logbook
Record cases, procedures, incidents, surgeons, supervisors and more - even create your own custom categories - and use them to filter your cases with advanced searches.
Somnus (iOS/Apple)
Purchase required

Vaper Logbook
Vaper is an electronic logbook/caselog for Anaesthesia.
- rapidly log cases while you work
- easy export of cases for a printed logbook/caselog
- rapid, intuitive data entry
Vaper (iOS/Apple)
Purchase required

Log4AS - Anaesthetic Logbook
The Log4AS App has been designed to produce the reports for those training in anaesthetics and consultant anaesthetists. The App allows you to collect operation, resuscitation, and procedural data on your mobile device and to print the required reports.
Log4AS (iOS/Apple)
Log4AS (Android/Google Play)
Free - In-app purchases

Paediatric anaesthesia

Recommended Paediatric anaesthesia tools are listed below, sorted by area. Additional information about ANZCA-subscribed/supported apps can be found on the Apps library guide.

Paediatric Emergency Tools
Paediatric Emergency Tools brings together expert knowledge and experience in a simple to use, offline and convenient application to facilitate dealing with clinical emergencies in children.
Paediatric Emergency Tools (iOS/Apple)
Paediatric Emergency Tools (Android/Google Play)
Purchase required

Pedi Crisis 2.0
This app contains peer-reviewed algorithms for treating 26 pediatric crisis situations. As an interactive version of the SPA critical event checklists, crucial details for these 26 pediatric critical events are now just a ‘tap’ away on your pocket device!
Pedi Crisis 2.0 (iOS/Apple)
Pedi Crisis 2.0 (Android/Google Play)

PediHelp
PediHelp is an assistant-app for paediatric emergencies and anesthesia. The different age groups are marked with the usual color-coding. Just move your fingertips along the colour scale. All data is calculated immediately.
PediHelp (iOS/Apple)
PediHelp (Android/Google Play)
Free - In-app purchases

Pedi STAT
Pedi-STAT is a rapid reference for RNs, paramedics, physicians and other healthcare professionals caring for pediatric patients in the emergency or critical care environment.
Pedi STAT (iOS/Apple)
Pedi STAT (Android/Google Play)
Purchase required

CoPE Paediatric Emergency App
Copenhagen Paediatric Emergency (CoPE) App is developed with the intent of preparing the clinician in the management of acute life threatening conditions in the paediatric patient population.
CoPE Paediatric Emergency (iOS/Apple)
CoPE Paediatric Emergency (Android/Google Play)
Purchase required

RCH Clinical Practice Guidelines
The information contained in this app provides quality, up-to-date health information as a resource for both medical practitioners and the wider community.
RCH Clinical Guidelines (iOS/Apple)
RCH Clinical Guidelines (Android/Google Play)

Airway management apps

Recommended Airway management apps are listed below, sorted by area. Additional information about ANZCA-subscribed/supported apps can be found on the Apps library guide.

The Difficult Airway App (AMEC)
The Difficult Airway App™ guides the user quickly and easily through key algorithms, predictors of the difficult airway and the step-by-step approach to RSI taught in The Difficult Airway Course: Emergency™.
The Difficult Airway App (iOS/Apple)