There are seven Clinical Fundamentals (CFs), which define the fundamental specialty knowledge and skills of anaesthetists applicable across all areas of practice.
They are: general anaesthesia and sedation; airway management; regional and local anaesthesia; perioperative medicine; pain medicine; resuscitation, trauma and crisis management; and safety and quality in anaesthetic practice.
This guide contains resources to aid in developing knowledge and skills in these areas through RGA training.
How to access e-resources
Your college ID (or staff username) and ANZCA password are used to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser, and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Webmaster (technical issues)" via the college contact form
Experiencing difficulties, or need help? Contact the Library
Airway management
Recommended resources are listed below. Additional airway management resources can be accessed via the Airway management guide.
The Airway Manual: Practical Approach to Airway Management by
The book provides up-to-date and easy to understand information on airway management with special emphasis on practical management along with required theory background and key points. It covers all aspects of airway management including education, training, audit, controversies, recent advances, case discussion, etc. The book covers all the techniques of airway management like the use of video laryngoscopy, fibre-optic intubation, and retrograde intubation. Further, the book includes a chapter on airway management during transmittable infectious diseases, such as COVID-19. The book also includes separate chapters on the available guidelines; discussion of interesting cases; neonatal airway; and out of hospital airway management.
Core Topics in Airway Management, 3e by
The new edition of this popular book remains a clear, practical and highly-illustrated guide to all necessary aspects of airway management. The book has been updated throughout, to cover all changes to best practice and clinical management and provides extensive coverage of the key skills and knowledge required to manage airways in a wide variety of patients and clinical settings. The best of the previous editions has been preserved, whilst new chapters on videolaryngoscopy, awake tracheal intubation, lung separation, airway ultrasonography, airway management in an epidemic and many more have been added.
Hagberg and Benumof's Airway Management, 5e by
Considered the go-to reference in airway management not only in anesthesia practice but also in emergency medicine and intensive care settings, Hagberg and Benumof's Airway Management ensures that practitioners worldwide are familiar and proficient with the most recent developments in equipment and scientific knowledge in this fast-changing area. Covering all aspects of this fundamental practice, the new 5th Edition facilitates the safe performance of airway management for all airway practitioners, regardless of specialty, using a concise, how-to approach, carefully chosen illustrations, and case examples and analysis throughout.
Hung's Difficult and Failed Airway Management, 3e by
Within its pages you will find the most up-to-date review available of the many innovations that been introduced since publication of the previous edition. This is accompanied by a thorough review of the pharmacology of airway management designed to help you understand how to achieve the desired effects on ventilation and muscle strength.
Management of the Difficult Pediatric Airway by
Complications during airway management occur frequently when treating children. Although tracheal intubation is a routine procedure, there are no pediatric texts dedicated to this essential practice. The lack of specific resources and knowledge makes treating children with complex airways even more challenging. This landmark book is dedicated to the successful management of the complex pediatric airway. It explores and evaluates current research and covers novel topics such as airway ultrasonography and apneic oxygenation. It delineates the risks associated with intubating children, and their preventative measures.
Nunn and Lumb's Applied Respiratory Physiology, 9e by
Nunn and Lumb's Applied Respiratory Physiology, 9e, is your concise, one-stop guide to all aspects of respiratory physiology in health, disease, and in the many physiologically challenging situations and environments into which humans take themselves - with coverage from basic science to clinical applications.
West's Respiratory Physiology: The Essentials, 11e by
West's Respiratory Physiology, 11e incorporates updates in many areas including blood-tissue gas exchange, mechanics, control of ventilation and the respiratory system under stress; all designed to aid clear understanding of pulmonary physiology. Clinical vignettes with questions emphasize how the physiology described can be applied to clinical situations, reinforcing reasoning and critical thinking. More than 100 USMLE-style multiple-choice questions with full explanations test reasoning skills for comprehension and exam preparation.
ANZCA professional documents
Recommended professional documents are listed below. The full suite of ANZCA professional documents can be accessed via the college page.
Can't Intubate, Can't Oxygenate (CICO)
EdWISE e-Learning Site
Airway e-Learning Module. Note: Users need to create a [free] user account to access module.
The Vortex approach website has a number of Vortex-related resources.
The Vortex approach by Nick Chrimes
Chrimes N, Fritz P. The Vortex approach: Management of the unanticipated difficult airway. Free eBook, 2013. ISBN: 9781301795505.
The Vortex Approach by
This text outlines a simple, team-based approach to managing the unanticipated difficult airway. The approach is designed to address many of the issues identified as contributing to morbidity & mortality in difficult airway management. It consists of a comprehensive education program based around a simple framework for decision making and supported by a straightforward cognitive tool.
Suggested reading
Apps
Recommended apps are listed below, sorted by area. Additional information about ANZCA-subscribed/supported apps can be found on the Apps library guide.
ANZCA acknowledges the traditional custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present, and emerging.
ANZCA acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
Library
