The Specialised Study Units (SSUs) define the further specialised knowledge and skills required for anaesthetic and perioperative management of patients in two specific contexts: paediatric anaesthesia; and obstetric anaesthesia and analgesia.
This guide contains resources intended to aid trainees in developing knowledge and skills specific to paediatric and obstetric patients throughout RGA training.
How to access e-resources
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser, and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Webmaster (technical issues)" via the college contact form
Want to learn more about SSO/MFA at ANZCA? See Protecting your data for more information, including instructions on how to set up MFA/SSO.
Experiencing difficulties, or need help? Contact the Library
Obstetric anaesthesia & analgesia
Recommended resources are listed below.
Additional obstetric anaesthesia & analgesia resources can be accessed via the Obstetric anaesthesia guide.
Key texts
Chestnut's Obstetric Anesthesia : Principles and Practice, 6e by
Comprehensive, user-friendly, and up to date, Chestnut's Obstetric Anesthesia: Principles and Practice, 6th Edition, provides the authoritative clinical information you need to provide optimal care to your patients. This substantially revised edition keeps you current on everything from basic science to anesthesia techniques to complications, including coverage of new research that is paving the way for improved patient outcomes.
Recommended texts
Analgesia, Anaesthesia and Pregnancy: A Practical Guide, 4e by
Now in its fourth edition, Analgesia, Anaesthesia and Pregnancy is a concise guide to obstetric anaesthesia and analgesia. This essential text reviews every topic and clinical challenge faced during delivery and focuses on pre-empting problems and maximising quality of care. It also covers acute emergencies related to pregnancy. This new edition features eleven new chapters that cover the significant updates in the field over the last few years. Presented in a clearly structured format, this practical guide will be an invaluable source of key information for any anaesthetist encountering obstetric patients, whether they are a practised consultant or still in training.
Anesthesia for Maternal-Fetal Surgery: Concepts and Clinical Practice by
This essential book discusses the different birth defects that can be treated during pregnancy and the important anaesthetic considerations for the mother and foetus undergoing these procedures. Experts in the fields of anaesthesiology, maternal foetal medicine, surgery, and paediatrics have come together to develop the content of this book.
Epidural Technique in Obstetric Anesthesia by
This book represents a unique and substantial guide, and will bring anaesthesiologists up-to-date on advances in the neuraxial technique and its applications in obstetrics. Today the epidural block is almost exclusively of interest to obstetric anesthesiologists, and how it is taught increasingly coincides with its applications in obstetrics.
Essentials of Anesthesia for Infants and Neonates by
Essentials of Anesthesia for Infants and Neonates provides a comprehensive guide to the special needs of infants undergoing anesthesia. It focuses on the first year of life, the time when anesthesia mortality and morbidity is highest.
Obstetric Anaesthesia, 2e by
The Oxford Specialist Handbook in Obstetric Anaesthesia returns for a second edition with updated practical management advice for medical and nursing staff in a portable, accessible format. An invaluable quick-reference resource for all consultant anaesthetists and SAS doctors involved in obstetric anaesthesia, as well as a succinct exam revision aid for the FRCA, this go-to guide provides incisive coverage of all aspects of the sub-specialty.
Obstetric Anesthesia by
Understand the anesthetic management challenges of the obstetric patient with this complete primer and review Obstetric Anesthesia is a clear, concise, and practical manual covering the basics of obstetric anesthesiology and the principles of basic management at the point of care. This essential introductory text covers the fundamental topics in an efficient and highly clinical manner. Numerous tables, bulleted lists, and text boxes highlight key issues such as common co-existing diseases and conditions that may affect anesthetic management. Obstetric Anesthesia features thirty chapters grouped into six logical sections: Pregnancy Providing Anesthesia Anesthetic Complications Obstetric Complications Common Co-Morbidities During Pregnancy Trauma During Pregnancy
Obstetric Anesthesia: A Case-Based and Visual Approach by
With 32 engaging and dramatic cases and 174 colorful, insightful and innovative graphics, this book takes a fresh, creative and highly visual approach to the fundamentals of obstetric anesthesia as well as emerging knowledge and three emerging technologies: 1) pre-procedural ultrasound to facilitate neuraxial block placement, 2) point-of-care transthoracic echocardiography to guide maternal resuscitation, and 3) electrical cardiometry to trend maternal cardiac output and avoid fetal hypoxia.
Obstetric Anesthesia for Co-Morbid Conditions by
This book presents general measures and offers a comprehensive overview of anesthetic considerations for specific serious medical problems in pregnant patients, with a focus on the anesthetic management of non-obstetric disorders during pregnancy and pregnancy-induced diseases. Although many books on this topic are available, this unique volume addresses specific disorders that may be encountered in daily obstetric anesthesia practice and discusses in detail serious medical problems during pregnancy. As such it is a valuable tool, providing targeted information particularly on the anesthetic considerations and management of not only non-obstetric diseases during pregnancy but also pregnancy- induced diseases.
Obstetric Anesthesia Practice, 1e by
Obstetric Anesthesia Practice is a timely update in the field, providing a concise, evidence-based, and richly illustrated book for students, trainees, and practicing clinicians. Comprehensive in scope, this book addresses the essential topics necessary for the practitioner to quickly assess the patient and risk stratify them, decide on the type of analgesic and anaesthetic plan most appropriate as well as its feasibility and safety, provide expert consultation to the other members of the obstetric team, manage anaesthesia care and complications, and arrange for advanced care if needed.
Obstetric Anesthesiology: An Illustrated Case-Based Approach by
This book provides concise, case-based discussion on the clinical scenarios and challenges faced in the provision of anesthesia and pain relief for expectant mothers. In the style of problem-based learning, each case is presented as a short scenario, followed by discussion of the causes, risk factors, management and controversies involved. The textbook features a wide range of cases, from common clinical scenarios that are experienced in day-to-day practice to the rare but significant pathologies less familiar to most clinicians.
Oxford Textbook of Obstetric Anaesthesia by
The Oxford Textbook of Obstetric Anaesthesia provides an up-to-date summary of the scientific basis, assessment for and provision of anaesthesia throughout pregnancy and labour. This highly authoritative textbook is conceptually divided into nine sections, detailing maternal and foetal physiology, foetal and neonatal assessment and therapy, anaesthesia before and during pregnancy, labour and vaginal delivery, anaesthesia for caesarean delivery, anaesthetic and obstetric complications, as well as systemic disease.
A Practical Approach to Obstetric Anesthesia, 2e by
Successfully combining the comprehensive depth of a textbook and the user-friendly features of a practical handbook, A Practical Approach to Obstetric Anesthesia, 2nd Edition, is a portable resource for both experienced and novice clinicians. Focusing on clinical issues in obstetric anesthesia, it uses an easy-to-follow outline format for quick reference, enhanced with numerous tables, figures, and photographs. The use of color in this edition highlights key information and improves readability for daily practice and study.
Shnider and Levinson's Anesthesia for Obstetrics, 5e by
Now in a fully updated Fifth Edition, Shnider and Levinson's Anesthesia for Obstetrics, continues to provide the comprehensive coverage that has made it the leading reference in the field. The rising number of Cesarean births and the more advanced age of first-time mothers in the United States have brought with them an increased risk for complications, making the role of the obstetric anesthesiologist increasingly important.Procedures
Williams Obstetrics, 26e by
Written by authors from the nationally renowned University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center and Parkland Hospital, the new edition of this authoritative, evidence-based work maintains its trademark comprehensive coverage and applicability at the bedside, while offering the most current information and insights
ANZCA professional documents
Recommended professional documents are listed below. The full suite of ANZCA professional documents can be accessed via the college page.
ANZCA resource guides
The college acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present and emerging.
The college acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Te Tiriti o Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
The college recognises the special relationship between the Pacific peoples of New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific, and is committed to supporting those fellows and trainees of ANZCA, and improving the health of Pacific peoples.
Library
