The Specialised Study Units (SSUs) define the further specialised knowledge and skills required for anaesthetic and perioperative management of patients in two specific contexts: paediatric anaesthesia; and obstetric anaesthesia and analgesia.
This guide contains resources intended to aid trainees in developing knowledge and skills specific to paediatric and obstetric patients throughout RGA training.
How to access e-resources
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser, and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Webmaster (technical issues)" via the college contact form
Want to learn more about SSO/MFA at ANZCA? See Protecting your data for more information, including instructions on how to set up MFA/SSO.
Experiencing difficulties, or need help? Contact the Library
Paediatric anaesthesia
Recommended resources are listed below.
Additional paediatric anaesthesia resources can be accessed via the Paediatric anaesthesia guide.
Key texts
A Guide to Pediatric Anesthesia, 2e by
The second edition of the successful book "Your Guide to Pediatric Anesthesia" offers a practical approach to pediatric anesthesia with a concise account of the topic in a reader-friendly format. The book begins with an overview of pediatric anesthesia then continues with chapters related to different pediatric surgeries and the relevant anesthetic issues, including a chapter of emergency scenarios in pediatric anesthesia.
Recommended texts
Advanced Paediatric Life Support: A Practical Approach to Emergencies, Australia and New Zealand, 6e by
Advanced Paediatric Life Support is the internationally renowned manual on emergency paediatric care, written to support the course run by the Advanced Life Support Group. This edition has been adapted specifically for use in Australia and New Zealand, with the latest procedures, medications and clinical best practice to match the guidelines of the Australia and New Zealand Resuscitation Councils.
Advanced Paediatric Life Support: A Practical Approach to Emergencies, 7e by
The gold standard for treating paediatric emergencies. This book is the internationally renowned manual on emergency paediatric care. Written to support the course run by the Advanced Life Support Group, the book uses their structured approach: a tried and tested practical method of treating children during the crucial first few hours of a life-threatening illness or injury. Advanced Paediatric Life Support is used by doctors, nurses and allied health professionals dealing with emergencies in children. Its clear layout and straightforward style make it a highly practical tool both for training and in the event of an emergency. In the seventh edition you will find descriptions of both common and uncommon paediatric emergencies which you may encounter in clinical practice, their causes, and how to best treat them during the first hours after presentation.
Please Note: This is the new international edition. An updated ANZ 7th edition of the APLS course manual is currently being finalised which will incorporate the latest ILCOR 2021 guidelines, current best practice and Australia and New Zealand-specific content.
Anesthetic Management for the Pediatric Airway: Advanced Approaches and Techniques by
The advancement of tactics used in managing pediatric airway disorders can be attributed to an overall growth of collective knowledge among medical health professionals. This book is designed to sustain that growth of knowledge, with 18 chapters of insight and information by distinguished medical experts in both pediatric anesthesia and pediatric otolaryngology.
Clinical Pediatric Anesthesia: A Case-Based Handbook, 2e by
This second edition of Clinical Pediatric Anesthesia: A Case-Based Handbook offers a comprehensive review of the options, advantanges, and disadvantages of different aspects of the perioperative management of the pediatric patient, as well as examples of a wide range of relevant clinical scenarios.
Clinical Pediatric Anesthesiology by
Filling a void in the anesthesiology literature, this new text delivers a streamlined yet comprehensive discussion of the unique aspects and considerations necessary to successfully manage pediatric patients. Forty concise chapters written by leading pediatric anesthesiologists cover pertinent issues practitioners face in and out of the operating room.
Core Topics in Paediatric Anaesthesia by
This book covers all of the important elements of paediatric anaesthesia in a concise and structured manner. From the premature infant to the teenager, readers are guided through the complexities they may encounter, with key points at the end of each chapter to summarise the most important information.
Coté, Lerman and Anderson’s: A Practice of Anesthesia in Infants and Children, 7e by
Covering everything from preoperative evaluation to neonatal emergencies to the PACU, Coté, Lerman and Anderson’s A Practice of Anesthesia in Infants and Children, 7e, features state-of-the-art advice on the safe, effective administration of general and regional anesthesia and sedation strategies for young patients. This text reviews underlying scientific information, addresses preoperative assessment and anesthesia management in detail, and provides guidelines for postoperative care, emergencies, and special procedures. Comprehensive in scope and thoroughly up to date, this edition delivers unsurpassed coverage of every key aspect of paediatric anesthesia.
Fuhrman and Zimmerman's Pediatric Critical Care, 6e by
In the highly specialized field of caring for children in the PICU, Fuhrman and Zimmerman's Pediatric Critical Care is the definitive reference for all members of the paediatric intensive care team. The authors have carefully updated the 6th Edition of this highly regarded text to bring you the most authoritative and useful information on today's paediatric critical care-everything from basic science to clinical applications.
Gregory's Pediatric Anesthesia, 6e by
As the field pediatric anesthesia advances and expands, so too does the gamut of challenges that are faced by today's anesthesiologists. Gregory's Pediatric Anesthesia aims to fully prepare trainees and experienced professionals for modern practice by equipping them with the knowledge and cutting-edge techniques necessary to safely and successfully anesthetize children for a range of different surgeries and other procedures.
A Guide to Pediatric Anesthesia, 2e by
The second edition of the successful book "Your Guide to Pediatric Anesthesia" offers a practical approach to pediatric anesthesia with a concise account of the topic in a reader-friendly format. The book begins with an overview of pediatric anesthesia then continues with chapters related to different pediatric surgeries and the relevant anesthetic issues, including a chapter of emergency scenarios in pediatric anesthesia.
Litman's Basics of Pediatric Anesthesia, 3e by
Written in clear, concise language for superb readability, Litman's Basics of Pediatric Anesthesia, 3e, provides a solid foundation of essential knowledge in this complex field. It covers everything from general paediatric physiology and pharmacology principles through important paediatric diseases; preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative care; anesthesia for a full range of specific surgical procedures; pain management; and critical care.
Management of the Difficult Pediatric Airway by
Complications during airway management occur frequently when treating children. Although tracheal intubation is a routine procedure, there are no pediatric texts dedicated to this essential practice. The lack of specific resources and knowledge makes treating children with complex airways even more challenging. This landmark book is dedicated to the successful management of the complex pediatric airway. It explores and evaluates current research and covers novel topics such as airway ultrasonography and apneic oxygenation. It delineates the risks associated with intubating children, and their preventative measures.
Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics, 21e by
This fully revised edition continues to provide the breadth and depth of knowledge you expect from Nelson, while also keeping you up to date with new advances in the science and art of paediatric practice. Authoritative and reader-friendly, it delivers the information you need in a concise, easy-to-use format for everyday reference and study.
Oxford Textbook of Pediatric Pain, 2e by
The new edition of the Oxford Textbook of Pediatric Pain brings together an international team of experts to provide an authoritative and comprehensive textbook on all aspects of pain in infants, children, and youth. Divided into nine sections, the textbook analyses pain as a multifactorial problem to give the reader a comprehensive understanding of this challenging subject.
Pediatric Anesthesia Procedures by
Pediatric Anesthesiology Procedures is intended as a ready resource of common procedures in Pediatric Anesthesiology for both experts and novices. It will be useful to both those with extensive training and experience as well as beginners and those with distant experience or training. A wealth of knowledge in the human factors of procedure design and use has been applied throughout to ensure that desired information can be easily located, that steps are clearly identified and comprehensible, and that additional information of high relevance to procedure completion is co-located and salient.
Pediatric Emergency Medicine Secrets, 4e by
Pediatric Emergency Medicine Secrets, 4e, offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This highly regarded resource features the Secrets’ popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style – making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable.
Rogers' Textbook of Pediatric Intensive Care, 5e by
In the 5th Edition, more than 250 global contributors bring you completely up to date on today's understanding, treatments, technologies, and outcomes regarding critical illness in children.
Smith's Anesthesia for Infants and Children, 10e by
Smith's Anesthesia for Infants and Children provides clear, concise guidance on effective perioperative care for any type of pediatric surgery. The 10th Edition contains significantly revised content throughout, bringing you fully up to date with recent advances in clinical and basic science that have led to changes in today's clinical practice.
ANZCA professional documents
Recommended professional documents are listed below. The full suite of ANZCA professional documents can be accessed via the college page.
ANZCA resource guides
The college acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present and emerging.
The college acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Te Tiriti o Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
The college recognises the special relationship between the Pacific peoples of New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific, and is committed to supporting those fellows and trainees of ANZCA, and improving the health of Pacific peoples.
Library
