There are seven Clinical Fundamentals (CFs), which define the fundamental specialty knowledge and skills of anaesthetists applicable across all areas of practice.
They are: general anaesthesia and sedation; airway management; regional and local anaesthesia; perioperative medicine; pain medicine; resuscitation, trauma and crisis management; and safety and quality in anaesthetic practice.
This guide contains resources to aid in developing knowledge and skills in these areas through RGA training.
How to access e-resources
Your college ID (or staff username) and ANZCA password are used to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser, and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Webmaster (technical issues)" via the college contact form
Experiencing difficulties, or need help? Contact the Library
General anaesthesia & sedation
Recommended resources are listed below. Additional general anaesthesia resources can be accessed via the Anaesthesia essentials guide.
Key texts
The First Year: What You Should Know After a Year of Anaesthesia Training (Revised Edition) by
***Highly recommended***
This book is not an exam primer nor is it a comprehensive textbook of anaesthesia. This is the book you give to the trainee specialist who is about to embark on their anaesthesia training. It contains the information they need to formulate and develop a safe practice of anaesthesia. This book lucidly describes and justifies the core knowledge, behaviours and practical skills that a junior trainee would be expected to possess after a year of anaesthesia. Written specifically for Australasian specialist anaesthetic trainees and those doing their Diploma of Rural Generalist Anaesthesia (DRGA), this book fills the gaping hole in the existing anaesthetic literature. The curriculum for the Introductory Training period and the DRGA is comprehensively addressed in this book.
Miller's Anesthesia, 9e by
***Highly Recommended*** Miller's Anesthesia, 9e, remains the preeminent reference in the field. Contains fully revised and updated content throughout, including numerous new videos online. Includes four new chapters: Clinical Care in Extreme Environments: High Pressure, Immersion, and Hypo- and Hyperthermia; Immediate and Long-Term Complications; Clinical Research; and Interpreting the Medical Literature.
Oxford Handbook of Anaesthesia, 5e by
Written for anaesthetists at all stages of their careers, from trainees sitting exams through to experienced consultants as well as ODPs and nurses involved in theatre area work and pre-assessment, this comprehensive guide to the anaesthetic world is as indispensable as ever. This new edition has been completely revised and brings you the most up-to-date guidance and information to keep pace with fast-moving areas of anaesthesia, including a completely revised regional anaesthesia chapter.
Smith and Aitkenhead's Textbook of Anaesthesia, 7e by
The goal for this Seventh Edition has remained to equip the reader with the basic knowledge and practical considerations required to administer anaesthesia and perioperative care for a whole range of surgical conditions in patients with all common medical comorbidities.
Recommended texts
Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z, 6e by
The alphabetical arrangement with extensive cross-referencing ensures a full understanding of topics. The succinct and clear text and diagrams'make for easy quick reference. The exam preparation checklist is ordered by key topics to facilitate effective revision. The contents are easily accessible with the accompanying ebook.
Analgesia, Anaesthesia and Pregnancy: A Practical Guide, 4e by
Now in its fourth edition, Analgesia, Anaesthesia and Pregnancy is a concise guide to obstetric anaesthesia and analgesia. This essential text reviews every topic and clinical challenge faced during delivery and focuses on pre-empting problems and maximising quality of care. It also covers acute emergencies related to pregnancy. This new edition features eleven new chapters that cover the significant updates in the field over the last few years. Presented in a clearly structured format, this practical guide will be an invaluable source of key information for any anaesthetist encountering obstetric patients, whether they are a practised consultant or still in training.
Australasian Anaesthesia 2021 by 
Avoiding Common Anesthesia Errors, 2e by
The full-colour Avoiding Common Anesthesia Errors, significantly updated for this second edition, combines patient safety information and evidence-based guidance for over 300 commonly encountered clinical situations. With a format that suggests conversations between an attending and a trainee, the book helps you identify potential problems and develop a treatment plan to minimize the problem.
Coté and Lerman's A Practice of Anesthesia for Infants and Children, 6e by
Comprehensive in scope and thoroughly up to date, this 6th edition delivers unsurpassed coverage of every key aspect of pediatric anesthesia.
Decision Making in Anesthesiology: An Algorithmic Approach, 5e by
The 5th edition of this book has been fully revised with the latest advances in anaesthesia practice. Each chapter presents a step by step decision making algorithm with explanatory text and supplemental tables, providing clinicians and trainees with answers for nearly 250 anaesthetic management problems. General principles in anaesthesia care are discussed, as well as detailed examination of preoperative problems, anaesthesia in surgical specialty areas, postoperative management, and perioperative management.
Hadzic's Peripheral Nerve Blocks and Anatomy for Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia, 3e by
Hadzic's is the most comprehensive colour guide to the procedures and equipment used in ultrasound guided nerve blocking. Colour drawings and photographs are bolstered by concise, step-by-step instruction from the world-renowned St. Luke's Hospital in New York. The Third Edition has been updated to include more international contributors, and better align the book's content with the New York School of Regional Anesthesia's (NYSORA) standards of practice.
Maths, Physics and Clinical Measurement for Anaesthesia and Intensive Care by
This book covers these core topics in a logical and structured format, creating a more enjoyable learning experience that is accessible and easy to digest. Each chapter opens with a set of learning objectives and summary of chapter contents. Following this is a clinical scenario that relates to the themes of the chapter and a number of hypothetical questions relating to the scenario are laid-out. Clinical pearls are presented in boxes for more advanced learning opportunities. Each chapter closes with a set of MCQ or SBA self-test questions to test the readers' knowledge of the chapter. This book covers everything needed for the FFICM and FRCA exams, making it an essential text for exam candidates, tutors, and those working in theatres, anaesthesia and the ICU.
Morgan & Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology, 7e by
Morgan & Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology, 7e is an essential resource for all anaesthesia students and practitioners. Hailed as the best primer on the topic, this trusted classic delivers comprehensive coverage of the field's must-know basic science and clinical topics in a clear, easy-to-understand presentation. The text is also ideal for coursework, review, or as a clinical refresher.
An Overview of TCI and TIVA, 3e by
An Overview of TCI and TIVA is an invaluable source of information on the practice of total intravenous anesthesia (TIVA) with or without target-controlled infusion (TCI) technology. In this long-awaited third edition of their popular book they have maintained the small size while thoroughly updating it to include recent developments and insights in the field, many of which have emerged from the work of their own research group.
Pharmacology and Physiology for Anesthesia: Foundations and Clinical Application, 2e by
Pharmacology and Physiology for Anesthesia: Foundations and Clinical Application, 2e, delivers the information you need in pharmacology, physiology, and molecular-cellular biology, keeping you current with contemporary training and practice. This thoroughly updated edition is your one-stop, comprehensive overview of physiology, and rational anaesthetic drug selection and administration, perfect for study, review, and successful practice.
Stoelting's Pharmacology and Physiology in Anesthetic Practice, 6e by
Stoelting's Pharmacology and Physiology in Anesthetic Practice provides trainees and practitioners an in-depth but concise presentation of those aspects of pharmacology and physiology that are relevant either directly or indirectly to the perioperative anaesthetic management of patients. This is a difficult topic but is foundational to the practice of anaesthesia and trainees face questions on it in their in-training and qualifying exams.
ANZCA professional documents
Recommended professional documents are listed below. The full suite of ANZCA professional documents can be accessed via the college page.
ANZCA acknowledges the traditional custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present, and emerging.
ANZCA acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
Library
