Skip to Main Content

Rural generalist anaesthesia (RGA) training: General anaesthesia & sedation

There are seven Clinical Fundamentals (CFs), which define the fundamental specialty knowledge and skills of anaesthetists applicable across all areas of practice. They are: general anaesthesia and sedation; airway management; regional and local anaesthesia; perioperative medicine; pain medicine; resuscitation, trauma and crisis management; and safety and quality in anaesthetic practice.

This guide contains resources to aid in developing knowledge and skills in these areas through RGA training.

General anaesthesia & sedation

Recommended resources are listed below.

Key texts

Recommended texts

ANZCA professional documents

Recommended professional documents are listed below. The full suite of ANZCA professional documents can be accessed via the college page.

ANZCA resource guides

ANZCA acknowledges the traditional custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present, and emerging.

ANZCA acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.