This guide contains resources provided by the ANZCA library to support your exam preparation. Titles hyperlinked in crimson, can be accessed by clicking the heading. Titles without a hyperlink are hardcopy resources only and can be requested via the discovery service using the REQUEST PRINT LOAN link. Access and request items from the complete hardcopy list here.
Written exams - MCQs
The following texts have a multiple choice question (MCQ) section or focus.
1,000 Practice MTF MCQs for the Primary and Final FRCA by
Written for anaesthesia trainees, this comprehensive text covers all the MCQ preparation required for both the Primary and Final FRCA exams. Broken down into five sections, there are 150 questions for each of the physics, pharmacology, anatomy, and physiology sections, and a fifth section of 400 questions covering clinical anaesthesia. The first four sections of 150 questions match the Primary exam and are laid out to follow its format. The fifth clinical section covers the entire clinical syllabus. The authors are educators in anaesthesia and surgery and their wealth of experience has been brought together in this text to benefit the next generation of anaesthetists. Covering the entire syllabus, with 1,000 expertly distributed questions, this is the most comprehensive text available for MCQ preparation for both parts of the FRCA.
The ANZCA Primary Exam Companion by
Highly Recommended The only ANZCA Primary Exam primer book written by an examiner. This book addresses all components of the anaesthetics primary exam with a focus on the vivas. Exam resources, exam technique, diagrams, opening viva questions, practice SAQs, a study template and 500 short format questions and answers that traverse the entire curriculum are contained within this book.
Get Through Final FRCA - MCQs by
With more than 950 questions, and containing diagrams found in the actual exam, this book encompasses the syllabus of the Final FRCA as set by the RCoA, including five complete examinations, each comprising of 90 MCQs. Questions have been modelled on actual exam questions so that they accurately reflect the style and level of difficulty.
Get Through Final FRCA: Single Best Answers by
A comprehensive revision guide, Get Through Final FRCA: Single Best Answers provides candidates with a definitive resource to aid passing their challenging Final FRCA written examination.This latest edition contains 180 new SBA questions along with detailed answer justifications.
Get Through FRCA Physics: MCQs by
Forming part of the best selling and well respected Get Through series, Get Through FRCA Physics is a book of multiple choice questions (MCQs), in the style of the FRCA examinations, that is based primarily on the principles of physics that apply in anaesthetic practice. It also includes questions on some aspects of basic chemistry, relevant to anaesthetic practice, which are frequently asked at the Primary and Final FRCA examinations and also on commonly used anaesthetic equipment.
Get Through Primary FRCA: MTFs by
With 300 brand new multiple true-false (MTF) questions and reasoned answers, Get Through Primary FRCA: MTFs, along with the companion SBA volume, provides candidates with the definitive revision resource for this challenging examination.
Get Through Primary FRCA: SBAs by
With 300 brand new single best answer questions and reasoned answers, this comprehensive revision guide provides the candidate with the definitive, revision resource for the newly introduced inclusion of SBA questions as part of the Primary FRCA examination.
MCQs and SBAs in Intensive Care Medicine by
Prepare with confidence for the FFICM and EDIC with this dedicated guide featuring 300 original multiple choice (MCQ) and single best answer questions (SBAs) covering the whole FICM curricula. Organized into ten practice papers so readers can practice the style and format of the real exam, questions cover a broad range of intensive care topics for postgraduate exams. Each answer includes a full explanation, up-to-date evidence-based guidelines and sources for further reading to ensure high-quality self-assessment. This invaluable resource provides intensive care medicine trainees with an ideal companion for the FFICM and EDIC and other postgraduate critical care exams.
MCQ Self-Test Companion to Lee's Synopsis of Anaesthesia by
A self-test, MCQ companion to 'Lee's Synopsis of Anaesthesia', aimed at helping trainee anaesthetists pass their exams. Each question and answer has a note of the relevant pages of the 11th edition of the Synopsis, which enables trainees to access a single, reliable reference source for further study. The book can also be used as a stand alone revision aid.
MCQs for the Final FRCA by
Multiple-choice questions (MCQs) are used by many examination boards as a way of testing a broad spectrum of knowledge in an easily administered and unbiased way. They form a critical part of both the Primary and Final FRCA (Fellowship of the Royal College of Anaesthetists) examinations.
MCQs for the Primary FRCA by
Designed specifically for the Primary FRCA examination, this book contains true/false multiple choice questions. It is divided into the three specific areas outlined in the FRCA curriculum: physics and measurement, physiology, and pharmacology. Each section includes a brief introduction, 170 mcqs and answers with explanations.
This text also includes answers with explanations and cross-references to key textbooks, allowing you to read more on difficult areas.
MCQs for the Primary FRCA by
Designed specifically for the revised Primary FRCA examination, this book contains true/false multiple choice questions. It is divided into the three specific areas outlined in the FRCA curriculum: physics and measurement, physiology, and pharmacology. Each section includes a brief introduction, 170 mcqs and answers with explanations. Uniquely the book includes answers with explanations and cross-references to key textbooks, allowing you to read more on difficult areas.
MCQs in Regional Anaesthesia and Pain Therapy by
This revision guide provides essential information in a concise manner and targets trainees with an interest in regional anaesthesia who may be taking any MCQ-based exam in the specialty. Divided into nine clear chapters, it serves both as an overview and as examination practice.
MCQ Tutor : Anaesthesia : Multiple Choice Questions by
This second edition of MCQ Tutor Anaesthesia presents a new collection of multiple choice questions, covering clinical science for trainees in anesthesia. Answer sheets are provided at the end of the volume.
Practice MCQ's for the Final FRCA by
Hundreds of multiple-choice review questions, with answers and rationales, help readers to prepare for the FRCA exam as well as other certification exams in anesthesiology.
QBase Anaesthesia 5: MCQs for the Final FRCA by
Another title in GMM's highly successful QBase series, this time focusing on the Final FRCA (Fellowship of the Royal College of Anaesthetists) with sets of examination papers the candidate can use to revise and practise their MCQ technique.
QBase Anaesthesia 6: MCQ Companion to Fundamentals of Anaesthesia by
As well as the usual QBase features that allow candidates to practice, mark, resit and infinitely customise MCQ examinations, this volume has the added value of being cross-referenced throughout to 'Fundamentals of Anaesthesia: 2nd Edition'.
SBA and MTF MCQs for the Final FRCA by
This practical book contains 60 single best answer and 120 multiple true/false questions to help you revise for the Final FRCA MCQ exam. Each question is accompanied by detailed explanations, giving additional information on each topic to enhance revision.
SBA and MTF MCQs for the Primary FRCA by
This practical book contains 60 single best answer and 120 multiple true/false questions to help you revise for the Primary FRCA MCQ exam. Each question is accompanied by detailed explanations, giving additional information on each topic to enhance revision. SBA and MTF MCQs for the Primary FRCA may be used both for examination practice and as a source of knowledge on many of the key topics in the syllabus.
SBAs and MCQs for Drugs in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care by
Designed to complement the highly popular Drugs in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care, this companion title provides high quality pharmacology practice questions for exam revision. Focusing specifically on pharmacological principles and agents, it is tailored for postgraduate exams in anaesthesia and intensive care including the FRCA, FFICM, the EDAIC, and the EDIC. Over 230 True/False MCQs and Single Best Answers help readers to test and consolidate knowledge learnt from Drugs in. Questions are arranged into 17 subject-themed chapters such as 'Intravenous anaesthetic agents' to focus revision. Structured questions and answers are accompanied by detailed explanations, cross-references to Drugs in where relevant, and further reading.
SBAs and MCQs for the Final FRCA by
Designed specifically for the revised Final FRCA examination, this book contains four mock exams, combining the new single best answer format with the traditional true/false format MCQs.
Single Best Answer MCQs in Anaesthesia - Volume 1: Clinical Anaesthesia by
This book comprises six sets of practice papers. Each set contains 30 single best answer questions which cover topics including clinical anaesthesia, pain and intensive care.
Single Best Answer MCQs in Anaesthesia - Volume 2: Basic Sciences by
Single best answer multiple choice questions are considered invaluable in assessing a trainee's ability to apply knowledge to clinical practice. This book comprises six sets of practice papers, each set containing 30 single best answer questions in basic sciences applicable to the practice of anaesthesia, pain management and intensive care.
How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Webmaster (technical issues)" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
McGraw Hill e-Book access issues: There is an ongoing issue with McGraw-Hill e-books, whereby some users are improperly authenticated when accessing content within the IP range of another institution that also subscribes to MGH e-books. This results in the user being being unable to access some titles.
Access to the above collections should be unaffected when authenticated outside the IP range of the affected institutions. This includes access from home and access from a mobile device using 4/5G (and not the institutions' Wi-Fi). Users with a pre-existing MyAccess login, can sign out of the affected collections, and sign in using their MyAccess credentials.
Creating a MyAccess account:
ANZCA users requiring urgent access can submit chapter request/s via the Request an article service.
ANZCA acknowledges the traditional custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present, and emerging.
ANZCA acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
Library