This guide contains resources provided by the ANZCA library to support your exam preparation. Titles hyperlinked in crimson, can be accessed by clicking the heading. Titles without a hyperlink are hardcopy resources only and can be requested via the discovery service using the REQUEST PRINT LOAN link. Access and request items from the complete hardcopy list here.
Written exams - general
The following texts have a specific section or focus on written exams.
Advanced Training in Anaesthesia: The Essential Curriculum (OHST) by
Advanced Training in Anaesthesia is authored by both trainees and specialists in order to create an authoritative yet accessible text. Containing everything candidates need to know to pass this final major hurdle in anaesthetic training, this book is ideal for exam revision.
Anatomy for the FRCA by
Anatomy questions are asked in all parts of the FRCA examinations, and for many trainees it is a particularly daunting part of the exams. This important new book provides a comprehensive, exam-orientated clinical anatomy book for anaesthetists preparing for all parts of the FRCA. It covers all body regions, relating underlying anatomy to practical procedures and anatomical principles, spanning the breadth of the curriculum and comprising exam-style questions: a chapter of SAQ questions, one of OSCE stations, one of SOE questions and one of MCQs. The text is highly illustrated in full colour with ultrasound images, diagrams and photographs of cadaveric material and models.
Anesthesia: A Comprehensive Review, 6e by
Offering complete, up-to-date coverage of everything from basic science through current clinical practice, Hall Anesthesia: A Comprehensive Review, 6e, provides 1,000 review questions that help you improve your mastery of anaesthesiology. You'll reinforce your current knowledge, identify areas that require more study, and improve your long-term retention of the material - all while preparing for certification and re-certification examinations as well as clinical practice.
Anesthesia Review, 2e by
Anesthesia Review, Second Edition is the ideal study aid for both the written and the oral board examinations in anesthesiology. This edition includes thoroughly updated information, particularly on airway management, pharmacology, patient safety, and quality assurance. Questions and answers include references to the latest editions of standard anesthesiology textbooks.
Anesthesia Secrets, 6e by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Anesthesia Secrets, 6th Edition offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in the practice of anesthesiology, including lists, tables, pearls and memory aids.
Anesthesiology Core Review: Part One: BASIC Exam, 2e by
The essential, high-yield review for Part One of the ABA BASIC Exam--updated to align with the latest exam blueprint Anesthesiology residents must pass the BASIC exam in order to continue their training. This essential resource is the single best way to take the stress out of this make-or-break exam, focus your study on nearly 200 must-know topics found on the board exam outline, and identify your areas of strength and weakness. Written by program directors with many years of board examination advising experience, Anesthesiology Core Review: Part One: BASIC Exam succinctly summarizes key concepts in basic science and clinical anesthesia practice. Space is conveniently provided throughout the book to add notes from other study resources. This updated second edition reflects the latest literature and incorporates new topics such as COVID-19. Concise review of all essential anesthesia concepts Great for keyword review and to generate power points for presentations Content correlates with the two-part ABA content outline for board certification Revised simultaneously with the Anesthesiology Core Review: Part Two: ADVANCED Exam Aligns with the updated American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA) BASIC Exam blueprint and incorporates new content with American Society of Anesthesiology guidelines
Anesthesiology Core Review: Part Two: ADVANCED Exam, 2e by
The most thorough and insightful guide to acing the make-or-break ABA ADVANCED Exam Anesthesiology Core Review: Part Two ADVANCED Exam is an all-in-one test-prep resource for mastering nearly 200 must-know topics, identifying your areas of strength and weakness, and waking up on test day with the utmost confidence. Written by program directors with years of board examination advising experience, the book is designed in a way that facilitates quick, solid learning. It is divided into sections that match the American Board of Anesthesiology ADVANCED exam blueprint: Basic Sciences Clinical Sciences Organ-based Basic & Clinical Sciences Clinical Subspecialties Special Issues in Anesthesiology With its expert authorship and concise yet thorough coverage, Anesthesiology Core Review: Part Two ADVANCED Exam is one of the most important steps you can take to ensure effective preparation for the new ABA ADVANCED Examination.
Anesthesiology Examination and Board Review, 7e by
Anesthesiology Examination and Board Review is the most time-proven and effective way to prepare for the ABA written examinations. This powerful study guide delivers 1,500 board-style multiple-choice questions with referenced, paragraph-length discussions for each answer.
Anesthesiology In-Training Exam Review: Regional Anesthesia and Chronic Pain by
Focused on rotations in regional anesthesia and chronic pain, this book provides a structured review of the concepts covered in the American Board of Anesthesiology in-training exam. The first section of the book covers regional anesthesia with dedicated chapters on basic science, acute postoperative pain, and nerve blocks for neuraxial, lower and upper extremity blocks, and head and neck. The second section on chronic pain includes chapters on basic science and common pain conditions - including craniofacial pain, CRPS, neuropathic pain, and cancer pain. This section closes on multimodal analgesia and other treatment approaches.
Applied Anatomy for the FRCA by
Applied Anatomy for the FRCA covers the anatomical knowledge that trainee anaesthetists who are revising for the Primary and Final FRCA exams will need. The topics covered are derived from the FRCA curriculum and include the most up-to-date version of past exam questions, in order to ensure targeted and successful exam revision.
Basic Anesthesiology Examination Review by
Basic Anesthesiology Examination Review is a high-yield, streamlined study aid specifically designed for Anesthesiology residents preparing for the American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA) Basic Anesthesiology Exam. Chapters deliver succinct and efficiently communicated summaries of all content listed in the ABA exam outline, plus highlighted key facts, mneomnics, and relevant images and diagrams.
Dr Podcast Scripts for the Final FRCA [ACCESS VIA INTERNET ARCHIVE] by
Dr Podcast (www.dr-podcast.com) is a great way to revise for the FRCA exams and has been met with widespread enthusiasm from candidates. It provides podcasts of questions and model answers with no redundant material. Dr Podcast scripts are now available in print format. Containing the scripts of all 103 individual podcasts from the Dr Podcast Final FRCA collection, they also include diagrams the reader can draw to explain their answers. They cover the entire syllabus for the Final FRCA, allowing the readers to experience the style of the questions likely to be asked and providing tips on how to excel in the exam. Each podcast is written by a successful candidate who has insight and experience of the exam, and all material has been reviewed by experienced consultants with detailed knowledge of the educational standards. For those preparing for the Final FRCA exams, Dr Podcast scripts are a must.
Dr Podcast Scripts for the Primary FRCA by
Dr Podcast (www.dr-podcast.com) is a great way to revise for the FRCA exams and has been met with widespread enthusiasm from candidates. It provides podcasts of questions and model answers with no redundant material.
Equipment in Anaesthesia and Critical Care: A Complete Guide for the FRCA by
This textbook offers an excellent detailed overview of basic principles, mechanics, and physics of technical equipment used in anaesthesia and intensive care medicine.
Essential Equations for Anaesthesia: Key Clinical Concepts for the FRCA and EDA by
This book provides a simple, portable, reference guide to all the equations that candidates may be asked about during their examinations. The content is split into four sections: physics, pharmacology, physiology and statistics. Each equation is clearly explained, derived where necessary, and placed into a clinical context using a worked or clinically relevant example to demonstrate its use.
Essential Pharmacology for the ANZCA Primary Examination by
This book is designed to assist in the preparation for sitting the pharmacology component of the primary examination of the Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists. The main aim is not to offer yet another heavy duty textbook but to organise the material that you would normally highlight in those texts into a practical and concise source of information.
Examination Anaesthesia: A Guide to the Final FANZCA Examination, 2e by
This updated exam guide keeps pace with these developments and assists anaesthetic trainees in preparation for the exam. Examination Anaesthesia is a comprehensive study guide that focuses solely on the anaesthetic exam, eliminating confusion between this and the intensive care exams.
Examination Intensive Care Medicine, 2e by
This book covers the key components of the exam syllabuses for FCICM, EDIC and DICM, and builds on the ICM component of the previous edition, Examination Intensive Care and Anaesthesia. The book deals with all elements of the individual clinical examinations including performance strategies and provides a chapter on paediatric intensive care.
Faust's Anesthesiology Review, 6e by
Authored by current and former physicians at the Mayo Clinic, Faust's Anesthesiology Review, 6th Edition, is an invaluable review source for success on exams and in practice. It covers a broad range of important and timely topics in a succinct, easy-to-read format, providing the essential information you need to master the latest advances, procedures, guidelines, and protocols in anesthesiology.
The Final FRCA Constructed Response Questions: A Practical Study Guide by
The only book to offer clear guidance on HOW TO APPROACH the questions in this exam Covers past questions, which reguarly recur in the Final FRCA exam - thus saves candidates enormous amounts of work going back through past papers. The author has a 'helicopter view' of what to include in the answers, brought by years of teaching, experience and knowledge of what the College is looking for. The presentation of the information is exactly as it should be presented for the exam. The candidate will thus learn to understand by example how they can score marks in the exam and avoid wasting time on lengthy prose. Carefully referenced and well researched.
The First Year: What You Should Know After a Year of Anaesthesia Training (Revised Edition) by
Recommended
This book is not an exam primer nor is it a comprehensive textbook of anaesthesia. This is the book you give to the trainee specialist who is about to embark on their anaesthesia training. It contains the information they need to formulate and develop a safe practice of anaesthesia. This book lucidly describes and justifies the core knowledge, behaviours and practical skills that a junior trainee would be expected to possess after a year of anaesthesia. Written specifically for Australasian specialist anaesthetic trainees and those doing the Rural Generalist Anaesthesia (RGA) training course, this book fills the gaping hole in the existing anaesthetic literature. The curriculum for the Introductory Training period and the RGA is comprehensively addressed in this book.
Fundamentals of Anaesthesia, 4e by
Fundamentals of Anaesthesia is the gold standard text for the Primary FRCA, encapsulating the basic principles of modern anaesthesia in one easily accessible volume. Written and edited by experts with extensive FRCA examination experience, this text deliberately blends the expertise of invited authors in an unrivalled consistency of style more akin to that of a single author text. All of the subject matter required to pass the exam is condensed into an easy-to-read format. This fully updated fourth edition includes new guidelines, an improved chapter structure, and a new section on clinical ultrasound.
Graphic Anaesthesia: Essential Diagrams, Equations and Tables for Anaesthesia, 2e by
Graphic Anaesthesia is a compendium of the diagrams, graphs, equations and tables needed in anaesthetic practice. Each page covers a separate topic to aid rapid review and assimilation. The relevant illustration, equation or table is presented alongside a short description of the fundamental principles of the topic and with clinical applications where appropriate. Now fully updated, this second edition contains 35 new topics, including significant additions to the drugs and equipment sections, and new sections on clinical prediction and anatomy related to regional anaesthesia.
A Guide to Pediatric Anesthesia, 2e by
The second edition of the successful book "Your Guide to Pediatric Anesthesia" offers a practical approach to pediatric anesthesia with a concise account of the topic in a reader-friendly format. The book begins with an overview of pediatric anesthesia then continues with chapters related to different pediatric surgeries and the relevant anesthetic issues, including a chapter of emergency scenarios in pediatric anesthesia.
Hadzic's Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management: Self-Assessment and Review by
Regional anesthesia and acute pain management protocols are rapidly changing. The introduction of ultrasound in international pain management and regional anesthesia has resulted in significant changes in the practice, management, protocols, techniques applications, and their effects on patient safety and efficacy.
Hung's Management of the Difficult and Failed Airway, 4e by
A full-colour, case-based guide to effectively managing airway difficulties--updated to reflect the latest guidelines, devices, and techniques Written by the creators of the Difficult Airway Course: Anesthesia(tm) and presented in full-colon, this trusted resource covers the latest guidelines, leading-edge principles, tools, and procedures of airway assessment and management. Multidisciplinary in scope, the book encompasses the key areas of anesthesia, hospitalists, intensivists, emergency medicine, and paramedicine. Updated and revised, this fourth edition includes the most current review available of the many innovations that been introduced since publication of the previous edition. This is accompanied by a thorough review of the pharmacology of airway management designed to help you understand how to achieve the desired effects on ventilation and muscle strength. You'll find expert advice and strategies for treating patients in a range of settings, from pre-hospital care to the ER, as well as proven techniques for special patient populations. Hung's Management of the Difficult and Failed Airway, 4e features: Skill-building, case-based approach that highlights that the right tools and techniques Comprehensive review of the difficult or failed airway Chapter-ending questions that reinforce learning and allow you to assess your knowledge Dozens of airway management vignettes covering the intensive care unit, operating room, paediatric population, emergency room, and more .
Katzung's Pharmacology: Examination & Board Review, 14e by
Katzung’s Pharmacology Exam and Board Review covers all current drugs and antiretrovirals, immunologic agents, and chemotherapies. Edited by the world leading figures in pharmacology and medicine, the high-yield text focuses on basic principles, autonomic drugs, cardiovascular-renal drugs, and drugs with actions on smooth muscle, central nervous system drugs, and drugs used to treat chemotherapeutic drugs, and toxicology.
This authoritative resource delivers a clear, concise review of fundamental concepts backed by more than 1,000 review questions and answers. With fully up-to-date content, the chapter-based approach facilitates use with course notes or larger texts.
Key Topics in Anesthesia: Clinical Aspects, 3e by
This 3rd edition contains 360 multiple choice questions arranged as practice papers of 90 questions each. The format is that used for the examination for Fellowship of the Royal College of Anaesthetists.
Maths, Physics and Clinical Measurement for Anaesthesia and Intensive Care by
This book covers these core topics in a logical and structured format, creating a more enjoyable learning experience that is accessible and easy to digest. Each chapter opens with a set of learning objectives and summary of chapter contents. Following this is a clinical scenario that relates to the themes of the chapter and a number of hypothetical questions relating to the scenario are laid-out. Clinical pearls are presented in boxes for more advanced learning opportunities. Each chapter closes with a set of MCQ or SBA self-test questions to test the readers' knowledge of the chapter. This book covers everything needed for the FFICM and FRCA exams, making it an essential text for exam candidates, tutors, and those working in theatres, anaesthesia and the ICU.
Miller's Anesthesia Review, 3e by
Encompassing all anesthesia topics from basic to advanced, Miller's Anesthesia Review, 3e, is an ideal study guide to assess your knowledge and deepen your understanding. This easy-to-use resource is conveniently cross-referenced to the newest edition of Miller & Pardo: Basics of Anesthesia. Hundreds of questions cover everything from physiologic and pharmacologic principles through anesthetic machine systems, anesthetic delivery in a variety of settings, and anesthesia administration for a full range of disease states.
Morgan & Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology Cases by
Essential for written and oral board preparation, this new companion to Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology, 6e is packed with informative clinical case vignettes. 300 succinct case descriptions emphasize common medical issues faced in clinical practice. Each case is followed by a series of board-style question and answers. The book reveals how experienced clinicians use critical thinking in their clinical decision making.
The Physics, Clinical Measurement and Equipment of Anaesthetic Practice for the FRCA, 2e by 
Physics, Pharmacology and Physiology for Anaesthetists: Key Concepts for the FRCA, 2e by
A key requirement of the primary and final FRCA examinations is a sound understanding of the basic sciences behind anaesthetic practice. It is important to be able to describe these principles clearly, particularly in the viva section of the examinations. Featuring several new topics, this fully updated new edition provides all the important graphs, definitions and equations which may be covered in the examinations.
Physics and Measurement for Anesthesia: Basic Science Essentials for Anesthesia and Critical Care Exams by
Anesthesia is a practical, clinically based medical science. Its conduct requires Anesthesiologists and Intensivists to learn and understand the principles of applied physics related to equipment responsible for the clinical care of patients. This book is written primarily for anesthetic registrars/residents and their teachers, to assist with preparation for the post graduate, basic science examinations in anesthesia and critical care medicine. Each topic is systematically covered using first principles, contextual examples, and illustrations to explain and demonstrate complex concepts. This comprehensive book is an up-to-date compilation of these scientific principles that can easily be applied to any operating theatre or intensive care unit around the world.
Preparing to Pass the FRCA: Strategies for Exam Success by
Preparing to Pass the FRCA: Strategies for Exam Success equips you with the skills of effective revision and time management to maximise your success.The book takes each element of the FRCA exam and provides tips and techniques on how to approach the different types of questions, and includes worked examples with answers, so that you can undertake your revision accordingly.It will help you to target your revision so you can cover the breadth of topics in the FRCA syllabus and ensure that you structure your revision in an efficient way, as well as helping you to approach the exam and convey your knowledge through writing or speech correctly.
Yao & Artusio’s Anesthesiology: Problem-Oriented Patient Management, 9e by
Case-based and easy to use, Yao & Artusio's Anesthesiology: Problem-Oriented Patient Management is the bestselling study and review reference preferred by both residents and practicing anesthesiologists. The revised Ninth Edition prepares you for the oral and written boards with more than 60 real-world cases accompanied by questions that conform to the four areas of questioning on the oral boards, reinforcing step-by-step critical thinking about today's surgical anesthesia and patient management.
How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Technical support" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
Quick links
About ANZCA
Connect with us
ANZCA
FPM
Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.
Library