This guide contains resources provided by the ANZCA library to support your exam preparation. Titles hyperlinked in crimson, can be accessed by clicking the heading. Titles without a hyperlink are hardcopy resources only and can be requested via the discovery service using the REQUEST PRINT LOAN link. Access and request items from the complete hardcopy list here.
VIVAs (Oral & clinical examination)
The following texts have a specific section or focus on oral exams or clinical examination.
The Anaesthesia OSCE by
The Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE) assesses key practical aspects of anaesthetic competence and forms a key part of the Primary examination of the Royal College of Anaesthetists. In the examination, the candidate moves from a series of stations which test clinical assessment, data interpretation, communication and technical skills. This book helps the trainee to practice the examination. In the wider context, it will also help the anaesthetist to develop essential practical skills, such as history taking and communication, which are an invaluable part of day to day anaesthetic practice.
Anaesthesia OSCE by
The Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE) assesses key practical aspects of anaesthetic competence and forms a key part of the Primary examination of the Royal College of Anaesthetists. In the examination, the candidate moves through a series of stations which test clinical assessment, data interpretation, communication, and technical skills.
The Anaesthesia Viva 1: A Primary FRCA Companion. Vol 1: Physiology & Pharmacology, 2e by
This first volume covers the essentials of physiology, pharmacology, and statistics and gives the candidate a comprehensive range of possible questions and exemplary model answers to provide the perfect self-learning tool, and it is also useful as a concise reference for the established anaesthetist, being packed with up-to-date information on fundamental questions that face the anaesthetist on a daily basis.
The Anaesthesia Viva 2: Physics, Clinical Measurement, Safety & Clinical Anaesthesia by
This is the new edition of the second volume in this successful and well-known two volume series and covers physics, measurement, safety, and clinical anaesthesia. The book puts together over 200 commonly asked viva questions in these key areas as well as model short answers, supported with clear line diagrams.
Anesthesia Oral Board Review: Knocking Out the Boards, 2e by
A fully updated edition of a popular, illustrated review book, covering all of the essential topics required to pass the current American Board of Anesthesiology Applied Oral and OSCE Examinations. Thoroughly revised to reflect recent literature and changes in anesthesia practice, 12 new chapters explore topics like Point of Care Ultrasound (POCUS), Intraoperative Transesophageal Echocardiography (TEE), Foreign Body Aspiration, and Patient Blood Management. The book also contains questions and model answers, alongside valuable tips for exam success reflecting the new exam structure. Chapters feature a sample case and clinical issues alongside a Knockout Treatment Plan, a model providing an answer that could be used in the exam, and a Technical Knockout section, offering additional tips for successfully passing the examination. An evidence-based approach presented in a concise outline-oriented format, this resource also functions as an introduction to anesthesia rotations and as a technical study guide for students.
Anesthesia Pearls by
In this vignette-based companion to the highly popular Anesthesia Secrets, Dr. James Duke and colleagues present a wealth of real-patient cases and focus on the important preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative anesthetic considerations.
Anesthesia Review, 2e by
Anesthesia Review, Second Edition is the ideal study aid for both the written and the oral board examinations in anesthesiology. This edition includes thoroughly updated information, particularly on airway management, pharmacology, patient safety, and quality assurance. Questions and answers include references to the latest editions of standard anesthesiology textbooks.
Anesthesia Student Survival Guide: A Case-Based Approach, 3e by
This comprehensive update of the previous two successful editions covers both basic and advanced anesthesia topics. These include pharmacology, procedures, monitoring, equipment, subspecialty anesthesia, safety, professionalism, pain management, and more.
Anesthesiology: A Problem-Based Learning Approach by
Anesthesiology: A Problem-Based Learning Approach is a textbook which will give a comprehensive overview of general anaesthesiology. The case based problem learning discussions allow for more interesting reading and possibly better retention of information. With progressive technology, advanced surgical procedures have been introduced, and confounding complications need to be anticipated and managed.
Anesthesiology: Clinical Case Reviews by
Divided into twelve sections that cover the entirety of anesthetic practice, this is a case-based, comprehensive review of anesthesiology that covers the basics of anesthetic management and reflects all new guidelines and recently developed standards of care. Each chapter of Anesthesiology: Clinical Case Reviews begins with a specific clinical problem or a clinical case scenario, followed by concise discussions of preoperative assessment, intraoperative management, and postoperative pain management. In addition to residents and fellows, this book is written for practicing anesthesiologists, student nurse anesthetists, and certified registered nurse anesthetists (CRNAs).
Anesthesiology Applied Exam: Board Review by
The American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA) has recently changed their Part II examination for certification to include the traditional oral exam as well as a new “simulation” portion that is geared towards having the student demonstrate the appropriate communication and technical skills necessary for the practice of anaesthesiology. This book is divided into 2 sections: full length practice exams on the most high yield topic for the field of anaesthesiology and full length simulation scenarios geared towards the understanding the fundamentals of the simulation portion based on the released ABA guidelines.
Anesthesiology Critical Care Board Review by
Anesthesiology Critical Care Board Review fills a much-needed niche, not only in improving board examination test-taking skills but also as a tool for educating critical care physicians, anesthesiology practitioners, and advanced practice providers with the most relevant, up-to-date, state ofthe art considerations in critical care medicine. Content is specifically designed to prepare Anesthesiology and Emergency Medicine critical care fellows for the American Board of Anesthesiology Critical Care Medicine Certification Examination.
Anesthesiology Examination and Board Review, 7e by
Anesthesiology Examination and Board Review is the most time-proven and effective way to prepare for the ABA written examinations. This powerful study guide delivers 1,500 board-style multiple-choice questions with referenced, paragraph-length discussions for each answer.
Anesthesiology Oral Board Flash Cards by
150 two-sided cards help you develop the critical thinking skills necessary to ace the Anesthesiology Oral Boards Take the stress out of anesthesiology oral board preparation by learning how to analyze a complex situation, formulate an organized plan, and communicate it in a way that impresses the examiners. Learn simple principles that guide you through information gathering, synthesis, decision making, and reevaluation Benefit from valuable tips on what to say and do during the oral exam Study effectively alone or with a partner Save hundreds of hours sifting through textbooks and journal articles Fact-filled flash cards review the most relevant diseases, procedures, and events that are covered on the boards
Anesthesiology Resident Manual of Procedures: A Step-by-Step Guide by
This book describes in concise yet detailed step-by-step instructions on how to perform common procedures, including complex airway management, vascular access, neuraxial blocks, and nuanced anaesthetic techniques; it not only covers this breadth of procedures, but presents them in an accessible manner.
Anesthesiology Self-Assessment and Board Review: Basic Exam by
This powerful, results-oriented review delivers more than 800 Q&As that cover a wide range of topics found on the ABA BASIC exam outline. Each question comes complete with a detailed answer explanation for both the correct and incorrect answer choices, along with references to essential texts to facilitate further study. Anesthesiology Self-Assessment and Board Review: BASIC Exam is the perfect resource to supplement your daily reading in addition to the intense, streamlined study you want in the weeks and months before the exam. Detailed answer explanations for both correct and incorrect answers provide concept-clarifying "whys" behind each answer.
The ANZCA Primary Exam Companion by
Highly Recommended The only ANZCA Primary Exam primer book written by an examiner. This book addresses all components of the anaesthetics primary exam with a focus on the vivas. Exam resources, exam technique, diagrams, opening viva questions, practice SAQs, a study template and 500 short format questions and answers that traverse the entire curriculum are contained within this book.
Board Stiff Three: Preparation for Anesthesia Orals, 3e by
The new edition of this popular anesthesia review book is written in the same winning style that was the hallmark of Board Stiff Too. Dr. Gallagher's signature humor and engaging writing style make this terrific prep book a fun read while still delivering all the most important things you need to know for the boards.
The Clinical Anaesthesia Viva Book, 2e by
The second edition of the hugely popular The Clinical Anaesthesia Viva Book builds on the success of the first by providing a thorough review of short and long case questions typically given to Final FRCA Viva candidates.
Clinical Cases for the FRCA: Key Topics Mapped to the RCoA Curriculum by
This book provides short, succinct clinical cases that are mapped to the RCoA curriculum and are suitable for use when teaching or as a viva revision guide. Using this guide will ensure that FRCA exam questions can be answered correctly and confidently. It is suitable primarily for candidates preparing for the Final FRCA, but also helpful for those preparing for Primary FRCA, FFICM and EDIC, as well as for those running teaching courses and simulation programmes.
Clinical Data Interpretation for Medical Finals: Single Best Answer Questions by
Featuring over 200 questions on key topics in medicine, each question is set around an image or investigation and tests identification and interpretation of the data provided. Thorough explanation of the correct and incorrect answers, this book helps you learn from mistakes.
Clinical Data Interpretation in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care by
This new resource explains how to interpret the data encountered in everyday practice, such as in X-rays or coronary angiograms, and how to use them to formulate a diagnosis. Real-world examples in data interpretation prepare readers for the OSCE paper in the primary exam, and for the structured vivas in the final exam for the Fellowship of the RCoA.
Clinical Pediatric Anesthesia: A Case-Based Handbook, 2e by
This second edition of Clinical Pediatric Anesthesia: A Case-Based Handbook offers a comprehensive review of the options, advantanges, and disadvantages of different aspects of the perioperative management of the pediatric patient, as well as examples of a wide range of relevant clinical scenarios.
Clinical Thoracic Anesthesia by
This book covers all aspects of thoracic anesthesia to equip the anesthesiologist in dealing with patient care from the time of admission to discharge. Apart from an understanding of anatomy, physiology, pathophysiology, and imaging in thoracic anesthesia this book provides important nuggets of patient examination to help in decision making. Chapters provide information on the interpretation of various tests and intra-operative data for successful conduct of the surgery.
Companion to the FFARCS Part III by
This publication includes answer plans, a practical clinical section, Viva questions, and core references to help you complete your exams successfully.
Core Clinical Competencies in Anesthesiology: A Case-Based Approach by
The core clinical competencies in anaesthesiology can be pretty blurry - just how do they apply to real life? This book answers this question, incorporating the core clinical competencies into an engaging format that anaesthesiologists like - case studies. Written in the same engaging style as a number of other anesthesia books (specifically, the Board Stiff opus) by leading anaesthesiologists from leading medical centers across the United States, this book will bring the core clinical competencies to life for medical students.
Essential Clinical Anesthesia Review: Keywords, Questions and Answers for the Boards by
This concise, evidence-based board review book, organized according to the ABA keyword list, covers all the fundamental concepts needed to pass written and re-certification board examinations. Each chapter begins with a case scenario or clinical problem from everyday practice, followed by concise discussion and clinical review questions and answers.
The Final FFICM Structured Oral Examination Study Guide by
This book is the definitive guide to the Final Fellowship of the Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine (FFICM) Structured Oral Examination. With a broad coverage of the clinical curriculum, it equips candidates to tackle this challenging examination. Each chapter contains sample questions with concise answers, focusing on key concepts to facilitate deeper understanding. The content is organised by subject, enabling more structured revision in an easy-to-use format. This text provides references to guidance that will remain relevant in the ever-changing landscape of intensive care medicine. Not only is this book an essential resource for studying intensivists but it also forms a useful reference for any professional encountering the world of critical care in their practice.
The Final FRCA Structured Oral Examination: A Complete Guide by
This comprehensive revision aid has been compiled by two talented authors who have been running a course on this subject for three years. Motivated to make the cases as close as possible to the exam, they have collected a vast database of questions from their trainees and the book reflects a variety of commonly asked themes.
Ganong's Physiology Examination and Board Review by
Ganong's Medical Physiology Examination & Board Review succinctly covers all key physiology principles and includes clinical correlations to clarify the connection between physiology and clinical medicine. The book includes two comprehensive 100-question examinations, followed by the correct answer and rationales. Learning aids included bolded key terms, skill-builder questions that prompt readers to review previous material, and end-of-chapter checklists.
Handbook of Clinical Anaesthesia, 4e by
The Handbook of Clinical Anaesthesia provides all the essential practical knowledge required by anaesthetists on co-existing medical conditions, operative procedures, and techniques. The fourth edition retains the concise and comprehensive nature of the third, giving readers all they need to know about each part of the FRCA syllabus in short, digestible, practical entries.
Interactive Cases for the Oral Boards by
Learn essential principles of anesthesiology through an interactive environment that guides you through information gathering, synthesis, decision making, and reevaluation in order to arrive upon the best anesthetic plan.
Build a case from color-coded cards that guide you through various clinical conditions, surgical procedures, and events or crises that can occur during your patient encounter. Cases can be selected from discrete topics or built at random to test your knowledge. Progress within a case is tracked so you can start and stop at any time, or retake them at your convenience to practice difficult concepts.
Morgan & Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology Cases by
Essential for written and oral board preparation, this new companion to Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology, 6e is packed with informative clinical case vignettes. 300 succinct case descriptions emphasize common medical issues faced in clinical practice. Each case is followed by a series of board-style question and answers. The book reveals how experienced clinicians use critical thinking in their clinical decision making.
The Objective Structured Clinical Examination in Anaesthesia by
The Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE) is a highly reliable and valid tool for the evaluation of trainees in anaesthesia. It enables examiners and trainers to assess a number of competencies in an organised way. The book contains 100 OSCE stations with answers based on key practical procedures, clinical skills, communication
Obstetric Anesthesiology: An Illustrated Case-Based Approach by
This book provides concise, case-based discussion on the clinical scenarios and challenges faced in the provision of anesthesia and pain relief for expectant mothers. In the style of problem-based learning, each case is presented as a short scenario, followed by discussion of the causes, risk factors, management and controversies involved. The textbook features a wide range of cases, from common clinical scenarios that are experienced in day-to-day practice to the rare but significant pathologies less familiar to most clinicians.
OSCEs for Anaesthetists by
OSCEs (Objective Structured Clinical Examinations) have been introduced by the Royal College of Anaesthetists. This book contains 120 conventional OSCEs, arranged as 10 circuits of twelve questions each, and aims to do more than just give candidates some practice: answers and explanatory notes are provided, together with some key references. The questions are fully illustrated and cover clinical assessment, data interpretation, technical skills and communication skills. The book should serve as a general revision tool, and should be of interest to trainee anaesthetists.
Oxford Handbook of Clinical Examination and Practical Skills, 2e by 
Passing the Primary FRCA SOE: A Practical Guide by
The Structured Oral Examination can be the hardest component of the Primary FRCA examination to prepare for, but help is at hand. This book has been specifically designed to give realistic practice questions and to show you how to phrase and develop your answers. The questions included have been mapped to the FRCA examination curriculum and reflect both core and niche subject areas. Questions are presented as full mock examinations and also divided by section, enabling you to use the book in whichever way you find most effective.
Pediatric Anesthesiology Review: Clinical Cases for Self-Assessment, 3e by
This book functions as a workbook for consultants in pediatric anesthesia. Based on a curriculum developed at the Boston Children's Hospital Department of Anesthesiology, the content illustrates the breadth and depth of the practice of pediatric anesthesia. Organised into two parts, the book seeks to provide a sense of progression and feedback using clinical scenarios to aid the medical professional in developing autonomy, while preserving the availability of expert level discussion. Each chapter features self-assessments in question and answer format, and encourages the reader to be creative in their responses by invoking not only their clinical knowledge, but their philosophical views of pediatric anesthesia practice as well.
The Physiology Viva: Questions and Answers, Rev Ed by
Fluid & electrolyte physiology -- Acid-base physiology -- Cardiovascular physiology -- Respiratory physiology -- Renal physiology -- Endocrine physiology & metabolism -- Physiology of blood -- Gastrointestinal physiology -- Neurophysiology -- Physiology of muscle & the neuromuscular junction -- Maternal, foetal & neonatal physiology -- Clinical measurement -- Miscellaneous topics.
Primary FRCA: OSCEs in Anaesthesia by
Primary FRCA: OSCEs in Anaesthesia provides candidates with over 80 practice OSCE stations presented in the style of the Royal College exam. Covering the main OCSE categories such as physical examination, resuscitation and simulation, anaesthetic hazards, and equipment, this book will help candidates prepare for the exam and test their knowledge.
The Primary FRCA Structured Oral Exam Guide 1, 2e by
The Primary FRCA Structured Oral Examination Study Guide 1 is the definitive revision aid to the Primary FRCA structured oral examination. This second edition is revised and updated in line with the new Royal College of Anaesthetists 'Guide to the Primary FRCA', with over 20 new topics to reflect changes to the RCoA's model questions and major revisions to graphs, diagrams and many of the pre-existing sections.
The Primary FRCA Structured Oral Exam Guide 2, 2e by
The Primary FRCA Structured Oral Examination Study Guide 2 is the definitive revision aid to the Primary FRCA structured oral examination. This second edition is revised and updated in line with the new Royal College of Anaesthetists 'Guide to the Primary FRCA', with over 20 new topics to reflect changes to the RCoA's model questions and major revisions to graphs, diagrams and many of the pre-existing sections.
Review of Clinical Anesthesia, 5e by
Keyed to the newly revised and updated Sixth Edition of Barash, Cullen, Stoelting, Cahalan and Stock's Clinical Anesthesia, this comprehensive review book is an excellent study tool. It contains over 1,000 questions with answers and succinct, clearly written explanations.
The Structured Oral Examination in Anaesthesia: Practice Papers for Teachers and Trainees by
The Structured Oral Examination in Anaesthesia is made up of questions and answers that closely simulate the Royal College of Anaesthetists' oral examination format. Set up as complete exam papers, the book enables candidates to assess their knowledge accurately and within time limits.
The Structured Oral Examination in Clinical Anaesthesia: Practice Examination Papers by
This book comprises structured questions and answers that closely simulate the structured oral examination (SOE) format of The RCoA final FRCA examination. The style of exam questions has changed over the years and this book matches the most recent changes in this updated exam.
Structured Oral Examination Practice for the Final FRCA by
Structured Oral Examination Practice for the Final FRCA offers well-researched, relevant, and carefully constructed questions with evidence-based answers. The book specifically addresses the new clinical emphasis in the FRCA examination, giving candidates an insight into the way the vivaworks, offering general guidance on examination techniques, and providing readily accessible information relating to a wide range of potential questions.
Surgical and Anaesthetic Instruments for OSCEs: A Practical Study Guide by
This book provides an exam-focused revision guide to both anaesthetic and surgical instruments. This is a comprehensive guide to passing an exam station and includes commonly tested knowledge. The Anaesthetic section includes airway, breathing, circulation and analgesia equipment. Surgical instruments include those used in cardiothoracic surgery, ENT, general surgery, orthopaedics and urology. Each instrument entry follows a standard format - description, indications for use, contraindications and complications.
Talley & O'Connor's Clinical Examination: A Systematic Guide to Physical Diagnosis (Vols. 1 & 2), 9e by
Talley and O'Connor's Clinical Examination addresses the core principles and clinical skills that underpin diagnosis for safe, effective medical practice. The text takes an evidence-based, patient-centric approach to conducting a clinical examination.
Talley and O'Connor's Clinical Examination Essentials: An Introduction to Clinical Skills (and How to Pass your Clinical Exams), 5e by
Talley and O'Connor's Clinical Examination Essentials, 5e provides an introduction to the skills required to successfully pass your clinical exams. It offers tips on how to impress your examiners and highlights key steps in taking a history and conducting a physical examination. With practice these will become second nature, even under the stress of exam conditions.
Yao & Artusio’s Anesthesiology: Problem-Oriented Patient Management, 9e by
Case-based and easy to use, Yao & Artusio's Anesthesiology: Problem-Oriented Patient Management is the bestselling study and review reference preferred by both residents and practicing anesthesiologists. The revised Ninth Edition prepares you for the oral and written boards with more than 60 real-world cases accompanied by questions that conform to the four areas of questioning on the oral boards, reinforcing step-by-step critical thinking about today's surgical anesthesia and patient management.
How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Webmaster (technical issues)" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
McGraw Hill e-Book access issues: There is an ongoing issue with McGraw-Hill e-books, whereby some users are improperly authenticated when accessing content within the IP range of another institution that also subscribes to MGH e-books. This results in the user being being unable to access some titles.
Access to the above collections should be unaffected when authenticated outside the IP range of the affected institutions. This includes access from home and access from a mobile device using 4/5G (and not the institutions' Wi-Fi). Users with a pre-existing MyAccess login, can sign out of the affected collections, and sign in using their MyAccess credentials.
Creating a MyAccess account:
ANZCA users requiring urgent access can submit chapter request/s via the Request an article service.
ANZCA acknowledges the traditional custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present, and emerging.
ANZCA acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
Library