This guide contains resources provided by the ANZCA library to support your exam preparation. Titles hyperlinked in crimson, can be accessed by clicking the heading. Titles without a hyperlink are hardcopy resources only and can be requested via the discovery service using the REQUEST PRINT LOAN link. Access and request items from the complete hardcopy list here.
Written exams - SAQs
The following texts have a short answer question (SAQ) or constructed response question (CRQ) section or focus.
CRQs for the Final FRCA by
CRQs for the Final FRCA is the first book of its kind and an invaluable resource for any candidate preparing to pass the written aspect of the Final FRCA. Unlike other revision texts, this book will enable candidates to practise the CRQ format and refine their exam technique to ensure they are best equipped to succeed.
CRQs for the Final FRCA (OST) by
Focusing solely on the Constructed Response Question (CRQ), the book is organised into six practice papers each comprised of 12 CRQs, reflecting the real exam. Each question has been carefully laid out, clearly identifying the weighting of each part of the question and with appropriate space towrite your answer.
SAQs for the Final FRCA by
SAQs for the Final FRCA is an invaluable guide to the Short Answer Question paper for the Final FRCA examination, providing 9 papers of 12 questions per paper. Each question is accompanied by a full model answer structured using a star system to indicate the essential, desirable and supplementary information. Most answers also carry references and additional notes giving insight into why a question was written or what the examiner was really after.
SAQs for the Final FRCA by
This book offers a comprehensive solution to any person wishing to sit, and ultimately pass, the SAQ paper for the Final FRCA exam. It is designed specifically to fit the examination format, with each double page spread containing a sample question and detailed model answer, acting both as a revision guide and as a template for answering similar questions in the exam.
SBAs and MCQs for Drugs in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care by
Designed to complement the highly popular Drugs in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care, this companion title provides high quality pharmacology practice questions for exam revision. Focusing specifically on pharmacological principles and agents, it is tailored for postgraduate exams in anaesthesia and intensive care including the FRCA, FFICM, the EDAIC, and the EDIC. Over 230 True/False MCQs and Single Best Answers help readers to test and consolidate knowledge learnt from Drugs in. Questions are arranged into 17 subject-themed chapters such as 'Intravenous anaesthetic agents' to focus revision. Structured questions and answers are accompanied by detailed explanations, cross-references to Drugs in where relevant, and further reading.
SBAs for the Final FRCA by
This is the first book dedicated to providing exam practice in the new required single best answer question style for the FRCA. It contains 300 single best answer multiple choice questions and advice on how to approach revision and sitting the exam. There are also four 75-question exam papers, each with an answer section containing detailed explanations of the reasoning behind the answer and providing background information about each topic.
SBAs for the Final FRCA by
Prepare with confidence for the Final FRCA with this dedicated guide featuring 300 original single best answer questions (SBAs) covering the whole breadth of the RCOA basic and intermediate curricula. SBAs correspond to the Royal College of Anaesthetist's units of training, so candidates can focus their revision in each sub-specialty area, such as paediatrics, neuroanaesthesia, and pain management. Individuals can track their progress, identify gaps in their knowledge, and target their ongoing revision as needed, assured that chapters cover all aspects of the curriculum as required for the exam.
Short Answer Questions in Anaesthesia, 2e by
Vastly expanded and completely re-written, this is the definitive companion and revision aid for the short answer paper which forms part of the Final FRCA examination. It includes a comprehensive introduction to this section of the examination together with details of examination technique (much of which applies both to oral and to written questions). It contains 180 sample questions which cover the breadth of the specialty and which are divided into subspecialty areas.
How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Webmaster (technical issues)" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
McGraw Hill e-Book access issues: There is an ongoing issue with McGraw-Hill e-books, whereby some users are improperly authenticated when accessing content within the IP range of another institution that also subscribes to MGH e-books. This results in the user being being unable to access some titles.
Access to the above collections should be unaffected when authenticated outside the IP range of the affected institutions. This includes access from home and access from a mobile device using 4/5G (and not the institutions' Wi-Fi). Users with a pre-existing MyAccess login, can sign out of the affected collections, and sign in using their MyAccess credentials.
Creating a MyAccess account:
ANZCA users requiring urgent access can submit chapter request/s via the Request an article service.
ANZCA acknowledges the traditional custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present, and emerging.
ANZCA acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
Library