This guide contains resources provided by the ANZCA library to support your exam preparation. Titles hyperlinked in crimson, can be accessed by clicking the heading. Titles without a hyperlink are hardcopy resources only and can be requested via the discovery service using the REQUEST PRINT LOAN link. Access and request items from the complete hardcopy list here.
Pain and intensive care medicine
The following texts have a specific section or focus on written exams.
Essential Notes in Pain Medicine by 
Anesthesiology Critical Care Board Review by
Anesthesiology Critical Care Board Review fills a much-needed niche, not only in improving board examination test-taking skills but also as a tool for educating critical care physicians, anesthesiology practitioners, and advanced practice providers with the most relevant, up-to-date, state ofthe art considerations in critical care medicine. Content is specifically designed to prepare Anesthesiology and Emergency Medicine critical care fellows for the American Board of Anesthesiology Critical Care Medicine Certification Examination.
Anesthesiology In-Training Exam Review: Regional Anesthesia and Chronic Pain by
Focused on rotations in regional anesthesia and chronic pain, this book provides a structured review of the concepts covered in the American Board of Anesthesiology in-training exam. The first section of the book covers regional anesthesia with dedicated chapters on basic science, acute postoperative pain, and nerve blocks for neuraxial, lower and upper extremity blocks, and head and neck. The second section on chronic pain includes chapters on basic science and common pain conditions - including craniofacial pain, CRPS, neuropathic pain, and cancer pain. This section closes on multimodal analgesia and other treatment approaches.
Clinical Data Interpretation in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care by
This new resource explains how to interpret the data encountered in everyday practice, such as in X-rays or coronary angiograms, and how to use them to formulate a diagnosis. Real-world examples in data interpretation prepare readers for the OSCE paper in the primary exam, and for the structured vivas in the final exam for the Fellowship of the RCoA.
Data Interpretation in Critical Care Medicine by
The management of critically ill patients not only involves a thorough daily review of investigations and monitoring. A detailed knowledge and understanding of data is crucial in the day-to-day management of patients in intensive care. With over 100 data sets composed of a brief history, relevant clinical findings, investigation and monitoring results, Venkatesh provides a source of real clinical data, with questions and answers, enabling you to tet and develop your interpretation skills.
Equipment in Anaesthesia and Critical Care: A Complete Guide for the FRCA by
This textbook offers an excellent detailed overview of basic principles, mechanics, and physics of technical equipment used in anaesthesia and intensive care medicine.
Essays and Multiple Choice Questions in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care by
'Essays and MCQs in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care' is written to an exam orientated format and is suitable for all candidates preparing for Parts I and III of the FRCA examination, or their equivalent. The information has been collated from recent review articles and publications to complement standard reference works in the field, enabling the reader to extract both current and basic information from one source. The text has been divided into 23 chapters and each consists of an essay question and answer followed by 10 MCQs. Each essay provides a comprehensive review of a topic and is presented in a clear and easily readable manner, demonstrating how information should be presented to the examiner. The topics, chosen to reflect their importance in the exam and in the clinical setting, represent areas where there have been considerable advances in recent years.
Examination Intensive Care Medicine, 2e by
This book covers the key components of the exam syllabuses for FCICM, EDIC and DICM, and builds on the ICM component of the previous edition, Examination Intensive Care and Anaesthesia. The book deals with all elements of the individual clinical examinations including performance strategies and provides a chapter on paediatric intensive care.
Hadzic's Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management: Self-Assessment and Review by
Regional anesthesia and acute pain management protocols are rapidly changing. The introduction of ultrasound in international pain management and regional anesthesia has resulted in significant changes in the practice, management, protocols, techniques applications, and their effects on patient safety and efficacy.
Interventional Pain: A Step-by-Step Guide to the FIPP Exam by
This comprehensive book serves as a review for the Fellow of Interventional Pain Practice (FIPP) exam and functions as a concise guide for all interventional pain doctors. Through educational initiatives, it helps to promote consensus-building among experts on the effectiveness of existing techniques and avenues for advancement of therapeutic performances.
Maths, Physics and Clinical Measurement for Anaesthesia and Intensive Care by
This book covers these core topics in a logical and structured format, creating a more enjoyable learning experience that is accessible and easy to digest. Each chapter opens with a set of learning objectives and summary of chapter contents. Following this is a clinical scenario that relates to the themes of the chapter and a number of hypothetical questions relating to the scenario are laid-out. Clinical pearls are presented in boxes for more advanced learning opportunities. Each chapter closes with a set of MCQ or SBA self-test questions to test the readers' knowledge of the chapter. This book covers everything needed for the FFICM and FRCA exams, making it an essential text for exam candidates, tutors, and those working in theatres, anaesthesia and the ICU.
MCQs and SBAs in Intensive Care Medicine by
Prepare with confidence for the FFICM and EDIC with this dedicated guide featuring 300 original multiple choice (MCQ) and single best answer questions (SBAs) covering the whole FICM curricula. Organized into ten practice papers so readers can practice the style and format of the real exam, questions cover a broad range of intensive care topics for postgraduate exams. Each answer includes a full explanation, up-to-date evidence-based guidelines and sources for further reading to ensure high-quality self-assessment. This invaluable resource provides intensive care medicine trainees with an ideal companion for the FFICM and EDIC and other postgraduate critical care exams.
MCQs in Regional Anaesthesia and Pain Therapy by
This revision guide provides essential information in a concise manner and targets trainees with an interest in regional anaesthesia who may be taking any MCQ-based exam in the specialty. Divided into nine clear chapters, it serves both as an overview and as examination practice.
Multiple Choice Questions in Pain Management by
This book presents current clinical knowledge relating to key topics in acute and chronic pain in a multiple choice question (MCQ) format. Individual chapters are devoted to subjects such as the anatomy of pain pathways, pain processing, evaluation of pain, different pain syndromes and pain involving different regions of the body, pharmacologic and physical pain management, neural blockade, and special procedures.
Multiple Choice Questions in Regional Anaesthesia, 2e by
This book is aimed at those studying for the European Society of Regional Anesthesia Diploma Examinations, regional anesthesia component of FRCA examinations, and exit examinations for regional anesthesia fellowships. It is also relevant to the regional anesthesia component of US Board examinations and the Canadian fellowships in regional anesthesia.
Pain Medicine Board Review by
As the number of medical organizations offering pain examinations increase, the need for well-selected collection of questions with detailed but concise explanations became apparent. Consequently, we have tried to make this book a reasonably complete source of "board-type information" and a "one-stop shop" to practice questions for all the major examinations with included answers and suggested reading so that the reader does not need to use other sources for explanation of the answers.
Questions and Answers in Pain Medicine: A Guide to Board Exams by
This book provides a practical and comprehensive review of pain medicine in a clear and easy to apply question and answer format. Divided by topic, the book includes Q&As on Pain Basics, Psychology, Common Pain Syndromes, Medications, Pain Management in Special Populations and Interventional Pain. It is intended as a guide for residents and fellows and is written in such a manner to provide instantaneous feedback on correct answer choice and explanation for self-evaluation while preparing for written board examinations.
How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Webmaster (technical issues)" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
The college acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present and emerging.
The college acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Te Tiriti o Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
The college recognises the special relationship between the Pacific peoples of New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific, and is committed to supporting those fellows and trainees of ANZCA, and improving the health of Pacific peoples.
Library