Welcome to ANZCA library's WorldCat Discovery service. The service allows users to access the entire ANZCA library collection through a single Google-like search interface. This includes article-level access to over 900+ full-text medical journals, and title-level access to 12000+ medical e-books and nearly 2500 specialised anaesthesia and pain-medicine-related print items.
How to access e-resources
Your college ID (or staff username) and ANZCA/ Networks password are used to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser, and trying again.
Experiencing difficulties, or need help? Contact the Library
Search and access options
You can access the entire collection in one of several different ways:
SEARCH/ACCESS full-text articles usingDiscovery service
SEARCH/ACCESS journals/books usingDiscovery service
The ANZCA library discovery service has gotten a "facelift".
New and updated features:
The main collection - based in Melbourne - is now referred to as the Australia or Australia (National Office) collection. Other names have also been updated to clarify location and accessibility.
For those users requesting print items from the ANZCA library, the pick up options are now specific to the users home location (Australia or New Zealand) and are tailored specifically to the requestors member types.
The updated interface went live 24 June 2021.
The discovery service includes a number of features, including:
The discovery service matches on exact spelling.
- Words with alternate spellings should be searched using both spellings:
- Alternatively, wildcards and truncation can be used:
Titles containing commonly used words should be restricted to title matching.
- Click in search box and select XXXX in Title (where XXXX = your search term)
- Append an index term to your search:
- Use Boolean operators to refine your search:
Note: If you already within the discovery service, you will also have the option of just searching in Title
Cant find it? Try Worldwide!
Whilst the vast majority of ANZCA’s library resources show as held, there are some resources that can only be accessed by expanding your search to Libraries Worldwide.
In addition, for items (articles or book chapters) not held by ANZCA library, it's possible to expand your search so that you are searching against the entire Medline database.
Simply click on the Libraries Worldwide facet in the left sidebar or select the Do you want to expand your search to Libraries Worldwide? link.
Any articles/chapters not available online (or held only in print) may be requested by selecting the item title and using the [ Request article via Library ] button on the Access & Request Options panel:
Clicking on the button will automatically populate the Request an article/chapter form.
The discovery service collapses all the different editions and formats (print and e-book) for a particular title into a single grouped or representative record.
Be default, the record displayed is usually for the most recently held item.
Different (older) editions and print holdings can be accessed in several different ways:
After you perform a search in WorldCat Discovery, items in your search results will include icons for users to quickly cite an item/export citation, share a record (by either emailing or copying a link) or save records to a list (which can be emailed or permanently saved). The icons are available from the brief results, the action panel, and on the detailed record (mobile view).
- Format a citation: Generate and copy a styled citation.
- Export a citation: Cite the record using EndNote, RefWorks or RIS format.
- Email record: Email a single record with up to five (5) email recipients.
- Note: You also have the option to add a record to a list and email the list to up to five recipients at the end of your session using Saved Items or My Personal List (see details below).
- Share record link: Copy and share the link.
- Save record: Adds the record to the Saved Items list - which can then be emailed to yourself, exported as citations or shared with others (see details below).
- Note: Records added to a list are stored temporarily for the session until the session times out.
Saved Items and My Personal Lists
You can save up to 100 records in a list by clicking on the Save icon that appears next to the item. When users reach the limit, the interface displays text as a warning message: "Your list is full. Please remove records from your list or clear your list to add more records." Users can close the message and continue to search; However, they will not be able to add another record to the list until one or more records are removed.
Users can remove one record at a time by using the icon beside each record. Users can delete all records in the list by clicking Select All, then clicking the Delete icon.
To create and save a personal list:
Email item(s) from Saved/My Items or My Personal Lists:
Cite multiple items from Saved/My Items or My Personal Lists:
To move items from My Personal Lists or Saved/My Items to a Personal List:
To clear entries from your temporary list:
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of journals, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about accessing journals, see the Journals page
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of medical e-books.
For further information about accessing e-books see the e-Books page
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print books, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
First-time users of the discovery service who would like to request items, view/renew items on loan, save searches or create lists will need to create a password for their personalised library account.
NOTE: This is not the same as your ANZCA/Networks password used to access to e-resources. Setting/resetting your library account password will not affect your ANZCA/Networks password.
Note: If you do not receive an email or no longer have access to your preferred email account, contact the library and a library staff member will update your contact details
The Browse the Shelf feature allows Discovery users to see which items owned by the library are next to a selected item in the library's collection, based on the item call numbers. [Print items only]
Try emptying your browser cache and deleting your cookies, closing and reopening your browser, and trying again.
Article access issues: Some users are experiencing ongoing privacy errors when trying to access articles via the library discovery service.
This is due to HSTS redirection issues on external servers preventing the user from properly authenticating.
Users with persistent issues should contact the library for further assistance.
McGraw Hill e-Book issues
There is an ongoing issue with McGraw-Hill e-books, whereby some users are not being recognised as ANZCA users when authenticating within the IP range of another institution that also subscribes to MGH e-books. This results in the user being improperly authenticated and being unable to access some titles.
Access to the above collections should be unaffected when authenticated outside the IP range of the affected institutions. This includes access from home and access from a mobile device using 4/5G (and not the institutions' Wi-Fi). Users with a pre-existing MyAccess login, can sign out of the affected collections, and sign in using their MyAccess credentials.
Creating a MyAccess account:
ANZCA users requiring urgent access can submit chapter request/s via the Request an article service.
New Zealand-based users will be pleased to know that the discovery service includes a Māori language interface.
Simply navigate to the Language drop-down (which can be found in the navigation footer) and change the setting to Māori - the interface will then automatically update to utilise Māori language options throughout.
We rely on your feedback to further develop and support user access to the ANZCA library. Use the link below to provide content suggestions, as well as to make recommendations, report issues, and to give general feedback.
ANZCA acknowledges the traditional custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present, and emerging.
ANZCA acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.