This page contains information about accessing e-books and print books via the ANZCA Library, as well as linked list of selected books related to Pain medicine.
How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Webmaster (technical issues)" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
Acute Pain Management: A Practical Guide, 5e by
With a focus on practical acute pain management in adults in the hospital setting, this book provides health professionals with simple and practical information to help them manage patients with acute pain safely and effectively. * Combines evidence-based information with practical guidelines and protocols * Covers the pharmacology of opioids, local anesthetics, and nonopioid and adjuvant analgesic agents * Discusses management of acute pain in both surgical and nonsurgical acute pain settings including in patients with spinal cord or burns injuries and selected medical illnesses.
Acute Pain Management: Scientific Evidence, 5e by
Acute Pain Management: Scientific Evidence covers a wide range of clinical topics, combining a review of the best available evidence for acute pain management with current clinical and expert practice.
Bonica's Management of Pain, 5e by
This exhaustively comprehensive edition of the classic Bonica's Management of Pain, expertly combines the scientific underpinnings of pain with clinical management. Substantially updated with theoretical advancements and contemporary therapies that have emerged since the previous edition published over a decade ago.
Brown's Atlas of Regional Anesthesia, 7e by
An ideal clinical reference and learning tool for anaesthesiologists, nurse anaesthetists, and pain management specialists, Brown's Atlas of Regional Anesthesia, 7e, helps you provide optimal, safe regional anesthesia to every patient. Step-by-step illustrations demonstrate each technique in a simple, easy-to-follow manner, providing unmatched guidance on administering a wide range of nerve block techniques in all areas of the body. New videos, new illustrations, and new chapters improve your knowledge and expertise in all areas of this fast-changing field.
Cousins & Bridenbaugh's Neural Blockade in Clinical Anesthesia and Pain Medicine, 4e by
This comprehensive, authoritative text presents the scientific foundations and clinical practice of neural blockade in both regional anesthesia and the management of pain. The Fourth Edition has been refined for clarity and flows logically from principles and pharmacology, to techniques for each anatomic region, to applications.
Essential Notes in Pain Medicine by
Highly recommended
Mapped to the syllabus for the Fellowship of the Faculty of Pain Medicine of the Royal College of Anaesthetists (FFPMRCA), Essential Notes in Pain Medicine ensures readers have all the information needed to review the subject. Written by a multidisciplinary team of over 70 international contributors, this resource provides high-quality, up-to-date guidance on 247 topics such as pain assessment, pain physiology, pain interventions, the role of psychology and physiotherapy and many more.
Hadzic's Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management, 2e by
Presented in full color, this classic covers the theory and practice of regional anesthesia in its entirety, providing readers with both the physiologic principles and specific, state-of-the-art patient-management protocols and techniques. This second edition has been completely updated to reflect the profound advances in the field.
Oxford Textbook of Pediatric Pain, 2e by
The new edition of the Oxford Textbook of Pediatric Pain brings together an international team of experts to provide an authoritative and comprehensive textbook on all aspects of pain in infants, children, and youth. Divided into nine sections, the textbook analyses pain as a multifactorial problem to give the reader a comprehensive understanding of this challenging subject.
Wall and Melzack's Textbook of Pain, 6e by
Presenting all of the latest knowledge about the genetics, neurophysiology, psychology, and assessment of every type of pain syndrome. It also provides a practical guidance on the full range of today's pharmacologic, interventional, electrostimulative, physiotherapeutic, and psychological management options.
The 5-Minute Pain Management Consult by
The 5-Minute Consult Series is a clinically oriented quick-consult reference for pain management. More than 150 conditions associated with pain and concomitant mental health diagnoses are thoroughly and concisely presented in the famous fast-access 5-Minute Consult format. Each entry briefly describes the condition and presents succinct, bulleted facts under boldface headings: basics; diagnosis; treatment; and follow-up.
Acute Pain Management: A Practical Guide, 5e by
With a focus on practical acute pain management in adults in the hospital setting, this book provides health professionals with simple and practical information to help them manage patients with acute pain safely and effectively. * Combines evidence-based information with practical guidelines and protocols * Covers the pharmacology of opioids, local anesthetics, and nonopioid and adjuvant analgesic agents * Discusses management of acute pain in both surgical and nonsurgical acute pain settings including in patients with spinal cord or burns injuries and selected medical illnesses.
Acute Pain Management: Scientific Evidence, 5e by
Acute Pain Management: Scientific Evidence covers a wide range of clinical topics, combining a review of the best available evidence for acute pain management with current clinical and expert practice.
Anesthesia Equipment: Principles and Applications, 3e by
Anesthesia Equipment, 3e, provides detailed information on the intricate workings of each device or workstation, keeping you fully up to date and helping you meet both equipment and patient care challenges. Details the latest machines, vaporizers, ventilators, breathing systems, vigilance, ergonomics, and simulation.
The Ankle and Foot (Pain Medicine: A Case-Based Learning Series) by
The Case-Based Learning approach focuses learners and clinicians on the key elements for each diagnosis and helps develop a deep understanding of how to diagnose and treat each condition. Covers everyday clinical problems such as arthritis, deltoid ligament strain, Achilles tendinitis and tendon rupture, bunion and bunionette pain, plantar fasciitis, metatarsalgia, and more.
Assessing Pain and Communication in Disorders of Consciousness by
This book provides clinicians with a guide to recent developments in research on pain perception and assessment, and the detection of consciousness and communication in patients with disorders of consciousness (DOC). With contributions from leading global researchers, the book gives an overview of issues concerning the assessment of pain. It also covers the development of suitable tools both to improve pain management and to detect consciousness and communication in these patients, to influence their prognosis and treatment, and their quality of life.
Atlas of Common Pain Syndromes, 5e by
Making the correct diagnosis is the first step in the effective management of patients in pain, and simplifying the diagnosis is the primary focus of Atlas of Common Pain Syndromes, 5e. Dr. Steven D. Waldman provides clinicians with a clear, concise, and up-to-date understanding of the most common pain syndromes encountered in day-to-day practice, along with practical insights on how to diagnose and treat them. Featuring more than 1,000 high-quality illustrations, this unique atlas provides the information needed to make the correct diagnosis--the signs and symptoms associated with each syndrome, the testing needed to confirm the working diagnosis, and the differential diagnosis.
Atlas of Cutaneous Branch Territories for the Diagnosis of Neuropathic Pain by
This atlas is the result of research involving over 3,000 patients consecutively recruited since 2004. Clinical practice gives the opportunity to observe many more axonal lesions (axonotmesis) than transections (neurotmesis), consequently the mapped hypo aesthetic territories are partial.
Atlas of Functional Anatomy for Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine: Human Structure, Ultrastructure and 3D Reconstruction Images by
The Atlas of Functional Anatomy for Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine contains more than 1500 images of unsurpassed quality, most of which have never been published, including scanning electron microscopy images of neuronal ultrastructures, macroscopic sectional anatomy, and three-dimensional images reconstructed from patient imaging studies.
Atlas of Image-Guided Spinal Procedures, 2e by
A unique, systematic, safe, and efficient approach makes Atlas of Image-Guided Spinal Procedures your go-to resource for spine pain relief for your patients. The highly visual format shows you exactly how to perform each technique, highlighting imaging pearls and emphasizing optimal and suboptimal imaging.
Atlas of Interventional Pain Management, 5e by
An essential resource for pain medicine clinicians at all levels of practice and training, Atlas of Interventional Pain Management, 5th Edition, is a comprehensive, easy-to-follow guide to delivering safe, accurate, and cost-effective relief for patients with acute and chronic pain.
Atlas of Pain Management Injection Techniques, 5e by
The Atlas of Pain Management Injection Techniques, 5e, helps you master the key nerve blocks you need to know to successfully treat 200 common and uncommon pain syndromes. Focusing on the "how to" details of pain management injection techniques, this bestselling atlas by Dr. Steven D. Waldman equips you to deliver safe, accurate and cost-effective pain relief to your patients using the most clinically appropriate imaging modalities.
Atlas of Pain Medicine Procedures by
This must-have resource presents an encyclopedic, yet focused visual survey of pain medicine, with a strong emphasis on procedural technique and safety. Throughout, you'll find detailed, evidence-based guidance on more than 70 pain medicine procedures--all supported by an illustrated presentation that includes 950 figures (many in full color). Chapters are consistently designed--covering indications, procedural steps, and complications--with the text presented in a succinct, bulleted style.
Atlas of Sonoanatomy for Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine by
A comprehensive full-color anatomical atlas designed specifically for the anesthesiologist and pain physician. A clear understanding of relevant anatomy is essential for physicians who wish to master ultrasound-guided nerve blocks.
Atlas of Uncommon Pain Syndromes, 4e by
Covering the many relatively uncommon pain conditions that are often misdiagnosed, this one-of-a-kind visual resource clearly presents the extensive knowledge and experience of world-renowned pain expert Steven D. Waldman, MD, JD. Atlas of Uncommon Pain Syndromes, 4th Edition, first and foremost helps you make a correct diagnosis - a critical step in managing patients in chronic pain.
Back Pain (OPML) by
Back pain is one of the most common reasons cited by patients seeking medical help, and it is a leading cause of time off work and long term disability. Causes of back pain are complex and many health care professionals devote a substantial amount of their time dealing with it. This pocketbook will summarise the current literature on management of back pain and provide evidence-based, practical guidelines for clinicians.
Bedside Pain Management Interventions by
This book describes bedside pain management interventions for basic clinical situations commonly encountered during the inpatient care. It aims to provide clinicians with real-world practical information, including patient selection, required equipment, and procedure guidance, that will optimize patient management. Each chapter addresses a particular procedure or a set of procedures, with specialties selected according to the subject matter.
Bonica's Management of Pain, 5e by
This exhaustively comprehensive edition of the classic Bonica's Management of Pain, expertly combines the scientific underpinnings of pain with clinical management. Substantially updated with theoretical advancements and contemporary therapies that have emerged since the previous edition published over a decade ago.
Brown's Atlas of Regional Anesthesia, 7e by
An ideal clinical reference and learning tool for anaesthesiologists, nurse anaesthetists, and pain management specialists, Brown's Atlas of Regional Anesthesia, 7e, helps you provide optimal, safe regional anesthesia to every patient. Step-by-step illustrations demonstrate each technique in a simple, easy-to-follow manner, providing unmatched guidance on administering a wide range of nerve block techniques in all areas of the body. New videos, new illustrations, and new chapters improve your knowledge and expertise in all areas of this fast-changing field.
Cancer-Related Bone Pain (OPML) by
Part of the Oxford Pain Management Library, this volume summarises the latest evidence-based and practical information on the management of cancer-related bone pain. Chapters cover the pathophysiology and clinical features of bone pain, general principles of management, and the use of opioids.
Cancer-Related Breakthrough Pain, 3e (OPML) by
This volume contains chapters detailing strategies for the assessment, management, and treatment of breakthrough pain. The use of opioids for the treatment of breakthrough pain is thoroughly explored, with material covering oral, nasal, and other routes for opioid administration. Furthermore, the book includes chapters on non-opioid pharmacological treatments, as well as non-pharmacological interventions.
A Case-Based Approach to Shoulder Pain: A Pocket Guide to Pathology, Diagnosis and Management by
This practical text is an evidence-based, user-friendly review of the literature for the breadth of shoulder pathologies that present to the busy practitioner. Opening with a review of the relevant anatomy, subsequent chapters discuss injuries to the rotator cuff, biceps tendonitis, labral tears, adhesive capsulitis, and osteoarthritis. Additional chapters cover shoulder pain in the paediatric patient, sports trauma and fractures, and medical causes of shoulder pain. And while reviewing pathology and its diagnosis and treatment is important, proceeding through real case studies is extremely valuable in bringing the diagnosis and treatment of shoulder pathologies to life, hence an engaging section of clinical case material rounds out the presentation. Taken together, A Case-Based Approach to Shoulder Pain will be an ideal resource for musculoskeletal medicine practitioners of all types.
Case Studies in Pain Management by
Cases are divided into seven sub-topics: neurologic disorders, spinal disorders, musculoskeletal pain, visceral pain, headache and facial pain, cancer pain, and special topics such as pain in children and older adults. Discussions follow a question-and-answer format, facilitating learning and also enabling self-testing.
Central Pain Syndrome, 3e by
This book sheds new light on central pain, a field that is largely obscured by lack of knowledge among pain professionals at all levels, including high-end pain centers. By weighing up the relevant evidence, the authors aim to provide clear-cut, no-nonsense, unbiased and directly applicable clinical information.
Challenging Cases and Complication Management in Pain Medicine by
This comprehensive book provides reviews of pain management complications that arise in clinical practice. Organized into sections focused on types of pain therapy and procedures, each chapter is based on actual complications; starting with a case description that delineates the context with a short past medical and surgical history, pain management technique and outcome it is followed by a comprehensive review of the topic described in the first section. Authors emphasize the elements of differential diagnosis that pointed towards establishing of the complication and describe the best way to treat the identified complication. Physicians treating pain patients will be presented the necessary tools in identifying and treating unanticipated complications following pain interventions, thus providing safer care for their patients.
Challenging Topics in Neuroanesthesia and Neurocritical Care by
This book focuses on controversial issues in neuroanesthesia and neurocritical care that in general have been subjected to insufficient professional scrutiny. The book is in three parts, the first of which is devoted to topics relating to traumatic brain and spinal cord injury, such as brain tissue oxygenation, the role of biomarkers, and diagnosis of brain death. Aspects of airway and pain management are then addressed, covering, for example, airway management in an emergency setting, airway evaluation in the edentulous patient, and pain management in neurosurgery and after craniotomy. The final part of the book considers a wide range of other challenging subjects in the field of neuroanesthesia and neurocritical care. Throughout, much information is provided on the latest, state of the art management. The authors are acknowledged experts in the issues they discuss, and the book will be of interest for graduate and undergraduate students, residents, neuroanesthetists, neurointensivists, emergency medicine residents and specialists, fellows in neurocritical care and all those directly involved in the perioperative care of patients with head and neck pathology.
The Chest Wall and Abdomen (Pain Medicine: A Case-Based Learning Series) by
The Case-Based Learning approach focuses learners and clinicians on the key elements for each diagnosis and helps develop a deep understanding of how to diagnose and treat each condition. Covers everyday clinical problems such as costosternal syndrome, Tietze's syndrome, devil's grip, fractured ribs, post-thoracotomy pain, acute and chronic pancreatitis, diverticulitis, and more.
Chronic Pain by
Providing a general approach to the understanding and management of all forms of chronic pain, this book offers a clear and reader-friendly format that clarifies procedures in the diagnosis, assessment, and treatment of the most common chronic non-cancer pain entities.
Chronic Pain (OPML) by
Part of the Oxford Pain Management Library, this book succinctly describes the options available for the management of chronic pain, including pharmacological therapies, anaesthetic techniques and complementary approaches.
Clinical Pain Management: Acute Pain, 2e by 
Clinical Pain Management: A Practical Guide, 2e by
This revised and updated second edition of Clinical Pain Management: A Practical Guide draws attention to the challenges that exist for people living with chronic pain conditions, for the clinician trying to provide effective management of the patient's pain, for the scientist seeking to unravel the mechanisms underlying pain, and for society as a whole. This book offers the opportunity for clinicians to improve their knowledge about pain and apply that knowledge for the benefit of their patients.
Clinical Pain Management: Cancer Pain, 2e by
Now divided into four parts, the second edition of Cancer Pain delivers broad coverage of the issues that arise in the management of malignancy-related pain, from basic science, through end of life care and associated ethical issues, to therapies, both medical and complementary.
Clinician's Guide to Chronic Headache and Facial Pain by
As headache and facial pain are two of the most common medical complaints, it is essential that clinicians are well equipped to handle these issues. Clinician's Guide to Chronic Headache and Facial Painis designed for all clinicians dealing with these syndromes in daily practice--whether in the outpatient, emergency, or ambulatory setting. Features: Presents the advice of 12 experts with considerable experience in headache and facial pain management Contains evidence-based chapters derived from past successes and failures and including clear, concise statistical outcomes Reviews both traditional and alternative interdisciplinary and interventional pain management therapies to help practitioners choose the best treatment or combination of treatments for their patients Offers broad-based coverage of all types of headaches and facial pain syndromes from facial neuralgias to post-traumatic headache Includes additional chapters on opioid usage and legal aspects of treatment help to prepare practitioners for a range of possible scenarios Devoted exclusively to managing chronic headache and facial pain, this book is an essential resource for clinicians.
Comorbidities in Headache Disorders by
This book provides up-to-date information on all aspects of the comorbidities that are associated with the headache disorders commonly seen in the primary care and hospital settings, including migraine, tension-type headache, and cluster headache. The coverage is wide ranging and encompasses all of the well-established comorbidities.
Comprehensive Atlas of Ultrasound-Guided Pain Management Injection Techniques, 2e by
In recent years, ultrasound has become an essential tool for clinicians who care for patients suffering from acute or chronic pain. Comprehensive Atlas of Ultrasound-Guided Pain Management Injection Techniques, 2nd Edition, depicts in clear, step-by-step detail how to prepare and perform injections under ultrasound guidance.
Comprehensive Pain Management in the Rehabilitation Patient by
Whether patients are in the acute or sub-acute phase of treatment at a rehabilitation hospital or skilled nursing facility or in the chronic phase of treatment at an outpatient clinic, the approaches to adequate pain control explored in this volume can dictate the success of rehabilitation. The treatment of pain in rehabilitation patients varies depending on the etiology and diagnosis.
Conn's Current Therapy 2024 by
Trusted by clinicians for more than 75 years, Conn’s Current Therapy presents today’s evidence-based information along with the personal experience and discernment of expert physicians. The 2024 edition is a helpful resource for a wide range of healthcare providers, including primary care physicians, subspecialists, and allied health professionals, providing current treatment information in a concise yet in-depth format. Nearly 350 topics have been carefully reviewed and updated to bring you state-of-the-art content in even the most rapidly changing areas of medicine.
Controlled Substance Management in Chronic Pain: A Balanced Approach by
This comprehensive guide covers prescribing controlled substances for patients with acute or chronic pain and provides a balanced discussion on appropriate treatment, addiction, safety and complications.
Core Curriculum for Professional Education in Pain, 3e by Cousins & Bridenbaugh's Neural Blockade in Clinical Anesthesia and Pain Medicine, 4e by
This comprehensive, authoritative text presents the scientific foundations and clinical practice of neural blockade in both regional anesthesia and the management of pain. The Fourth Edition has been refined for clarity and flows logically from principles and pharmacology, to techniques for each anatomic region, to applications.
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2025 by
The #1 annual guide in adult internal medicine. Each year CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment (CMDT) undergoes extensive revision to deliver new clinical developments in every field of adult internal medicine--making it the most popular annual textbook of its kind.
Decompressive Techniques by
Part of the Atlas of Interventional Pain Management series, this is a concise, practical guide that provides clinicians with detailed, step-by-step guidance on how to perform decompressive procedures for treating patients with chronic lower back pain. This comprehensive, easy-to-follow guide offers expert coverage of how to deliver safe, accurate, and cost-effective pain relief to patients using all clinically useful imaging modalities, including ultrasound-guided techniques and fluoroscopy. With high-quality images and clear, authoritative guidance throughout, it shows exactly how to evaluate the causes of pain, identify the most promising stimulation technique, locate the site with precision, and deliver effective relief.
Diagnosis and Management of Head and Face Pain: A Practical Approach by
This text is a comprehensive guide to the evaluation of patients with head and face pain. It is a resource for any physician or dentist to properly diagnosis and to learn the options for treating head and face pain, as well as know when to refer a patient to a specialist and how to identify which specialist is needed. It discusses the basic anatomy, etiology, and pathophysiology of head and face pain, classification guidelines for treatment, and clinical case examples.
Educating Together, Improving Together : Harmonizing Interprofessional Approaches to Address the Opioid Epidemic by
The United States is in the midst of an urgent and complex opioid crisis. To address how education and training can more effectively respond to this crisis, we must have a better understanding of problems in practice?or professional practice gaps?for health professionals and teams in practice. A coordinated response requires identifying and addressing professional practice gaps (PPGs) related to pain management, opioid use disorder, and other substance use disorder (SUD) care, as well as integrating evidence-based best practices into health professional education and training curricula across the continuum from undergraduate training into post-graduate continuing education This Special Publication presents two information-gathering efforts to assess persisting PPGs pertaining to pain management and SUD care and to better understand the current health professional education environment: the first is a comprehensive literature review, and the second is a survey of the regulatory landscape.
Effective Treatments for Pain in the Older Patient by
This clinically focused book provides the essential modalities for managing pain in older patients. Chapters cover a variety of topics important for clinicians, including effective approaches, evaluation, acute and chronic pain, interventional strategies, and addiction issues. Complexities in assessing and treating pain when presented with multiple comorbidities and the unique physical, cognitive, and sensory changes that occur in the elderly are discussed in detail. Practical, concise and authored by leaders in pain medicine, this will serve as an invaluable guide to practitioners that care for older people.
Encyclopedia of Pain, 2e by
The Encyclopedia of Pain includes more than 3,000 entries and provides clear, detailed and up-to-date coverage of the current state of research, and treatment of pain. In addition, detailed essays provide in-depth information on all aspects of nociception and pain, including substrates, causes, pathophysiology, symptoms and signs, diagnoses and treatment. A thousand color figures enhance understanding of this too-little-understood topic. The book is available in print, in online only form, or in a print-online bundle.
Essential Notes in Pain Medicine by
Highly recommended
Mapped to the syllabus for the Fellowship of the Faculty of Pain Medicine of the Royal College of Anaesthetists (FFPMRCA), Essential Notes in Pain Medicine ensures readers have all the information needed to review the subject. Written by a multidisciplinary team of over 70 international contributors, this resource provides high-quality, up-to-date guidance on 247 topics such as pain assessment, pain physiology, pain interventions, the role of psychology and physiotherapy and many more.
Essentials of Interventional Techniques in Managing Chronic Pain by
This comprehensive review covers the full and latest array of interventional techniques for managing chronic pain. Chapters are grouped by specific treatment modalities that include spinal interventional techniques, nonspinal and peripheral nerve blocks, sympathetic interventional techniques, soft tissue and joint injections, and implantables.
Essentials of Pain Medicine, 4e by
Covers all you need to know to stay up to date in practice and excel at examinations - everything from basic considerations through local anesthetics, nerve block techniques, acupuncture, cancer pain, and much more. Uses a practical, quick-reference format with short, easy-to-read chapters.
Essentials of Regenerative Medicine in Interventional Pain Management, 2e by
Regenerative medicine is an emerging and integral part of interventional pain management and meets definitions of interventional pain management and interventional techniques. Interventional techniques are defined as minimally invasive procedures including, percutaneous precision needle placement, with placement of drugs in targeted areas or ablation of targeted nerves; and some surgical techniques such as laser or endoscopic diskectomy, intrathecal infusion pumps, and spinal cord stimulators, for the diagnosis and management of chronic, persistent, or intractable pain. On the same token, interventional pain management is defined as the discipline of medicine devoted to the diagnosis and treatment of pain related disorders principally with the application of interventional techniques in managing subacute, chronic, persistent, and intractable pain, independently or in conjunction with other modalities of treatment. This new edition brings a wide array of information for interventional pain physicians and other physicians practicing regenerative medicine with its applications in managing chronic pain and other disorders.
Essentials of Regional Anesthesia, 2e by
A guide to regional anesthesia. It covers various anatomical regions as well as the considerations in patients with chronic pain, obstetric patients, pediatric patients, and patients treated in the outpatient setting.
Evaluation and Management of Chronic Pain for Primary Care: A Pocket Guide for the Primary Care Provider by
Primary care physicians are often the first caretakers to whom patients present for chronic pain. The current literature targeted at these providers is sparse, and the existing literature is very broad and large in scope and size. This first of its kind text provides a practical, hands-on approach to the evaluation and treatment of chronic pain in the family medicine setting.
The Evolution of Complex Regional Pain Syndrome: From Schloss Rettershof to a New Clinical Language by
Long before any written accounts of what has come to be described as Complex Regional Pain Syndrome (CRPS), this book entails a record that began in the department of Anesthesiology headed by Dr. John Bonica who during the Pacific arena of World War II came to manage thousands of wounded servicemen many of whom suffered from this complicated clinical entity often long after their original wounds had healed. Divided into two sections, the first provides a detailed chronology of the research and establishment of diagnostic criteria for CRPS. The second section provides an overview of how CRPS is evaluated and treated, along with the research that serves as its foundations.
Fundamentals of Pain Medicine by
Characterized by clarity and straddling the line between scope and depth of information, this concise book provides physicians a comprehensive overview of pain medicine. Chapters are written by some of the leading minds in pain medicine and feature case studies, key points and suggested readings.
Goldman-Cecil Medicine, 27e by
For more than 90 years, what is now called Goldman-Cecil Medicine has been the authoritative source for internal medicine and the care of adult patients. Every chapter is written by acclaimed experts who, with the oversight of our editors, provide definitive, unbiased advice on the diagnosis and treatment of thousands of common and uncommon conditions, always guided by an understanding of the epidemiology and pathobiology, as well as the latest medical literature.
Good Medical Practice: A Code of Conduct for Doctors in Australia by
Good medical practice (the code) describes what is expected of all doctors registered to practise medicine in Australia. It sets out the principles that characterise good medical practice and makes explicit the standards of ethical and professional conduct expected of doctors by their professional peers and the community.
Gray's Anatomy for Students, 5e by
Gray's Anatomy for Students, 5e, is your go-to text for essential information in human anatomy. This fully revised volume focuses on the core information medical students need to know, in an easy-access format and with additional multimedia content to facilitate effective study and mastery of the material. A team of expert authors share a wealth of diverse teaching and clinical experience-all enhanced by more than 1,000 innovative, original illustrations by renowned illustrators Richard Tibbitts and Paul Richardson, who capture anatomical features with unrivalled clarity. Helps you understand the practical applications of anatomical concepts through unique coverage of surface anatomy, correlative diagnostic images, and clinical case studies. Contains increased representation of diverse population groups throughout, incorporating a wider range of skin tones and important clinical considerations related to transgender and intersex individuals.
Groin Pain Syndrome: A Multidisciplinary Guide to Diagnosis and Treatment by
This book provides accurate descriptions of the injuries responsible for groin pain, which tend to occur in association with particular sports. The approach is multidisciplinary, ensuring that the book will be of broad appeal, and the focus is especially on epidemiology, etiology, and possible treatment options. Throughout, care has been taken to depict the state of the art in this constantly evolving field. A new classification of groin pain syndrome is presented, and the coverage encompasses hip, visceral, tendon/muscle, bone, and neurologic pathology. In addition, guidance is provided in selection of the rehabilitation program that will best meet the patient's needs, taking into account individual circumstances. Groin pain is among the most prevalent lower limb symptoms. The pain may occur immediately after an injury or develop gradually and is often exacerbated by continued use of the injured area. In presenting the latest knowledge on groin pain syndrome and its management, this book will be of value to a range of practitioners, including sports medicine specialists, primary care providers, urologists, orthopedists, and physiatrists.
Guide to Pain Management in Low-Resource Settings by
The Guide to Pain Management in Low-Resource Settings is intended to support health care providers in low-resource settings. Chapters were written by a multidisciplinary and multinational team of authors. Practitioners in settings with limited resources will benefit from easy-to-read information about simple and cost-effective approaches that can provide maximum effects in managing pain in their patients.
Hadzic's Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management, 2e by
Presented in full color, this classic covers the theory and practice of regional anesthesia in its entirety, providing readers with both the physiologic principles and specific, state-of-the-art patient-management protocols and techniques. This second edition has been completely updated to reflect the profound advances in the field.
Hadzic's Textbook of Regional Anesthesia and Acute Pain Management: Self-Assessment and Review by
Regional anesthesia and acute pain management protocols are rapidly changing. The introduction of ultrasound in international pain management and regional anesthesia has resulted in significant changes in the practice, management, protocols, techniques applications, and their effects on patient safety and efficacy.
Headache and Facial Pain (Pain Medicine: A Case-Based Learning Series) by
Covers everyday clinical problems such as migraine and other headaches, occipital neuralgia, temporal arteritis, trigeminal neuralgia, temporomandibular joint dysfunction, and more. The "perfect" text if you need to provide your learners with real-life clinical scenarios that are ideal for Case-Based Learning and Discussion.
The Hip and Pelvis (Pain Medicine: A Case-Based Learning Series) by
Linking theory to practice through the use of authentic clinical cases, Dr. Steven D. Waldman's Pain Medicine: A Case-Based Learning Series helps readers acquire the valuable skill of effective diagnostic thinking in daily practice. The Hip and Pelvis volume uses an in-depth case format, preparing you to correctly analyse clinical vignettes and formulate a clinically sound, evidence-based approach to realistic patient scenarios.
Interventional Pain: A Step-by-Step Guide to the FIPP Exam by
This comprehensive book serves as a review for the Fellow of Interventional Pain Practice (FIPP) exam and functions as a concise guide for all interventional pain doctors. Through educational initiatives, it helps to promote consensus-building among experts on the effectiveness of existing techniques and avenues for advancement of therapeutic performances.
John Loeser: The Man Who Reimagined Pain by
This uniquely written title presents both the fascinating biography of Dr. John Loeser, a visionary pioneer in the field of pain medicine, as well as the compelling account of the birth and evolution of pain medicine in the United States and beyond. In this captivating work, readers are taken down the path of an extraordinary man who not only shaped the discipline of pain medicine but also embraced a multitude of passions, leaving an indelible mark on those lucky enough to know him.
The Knee (Pain Medicine: A Case-Based Learning Series) by
Linking theory to practice through the use of authentic clinical cases, Dr. Steven D. Waldman's Pain Medicine: A Case-Based Learning Series helps readers acquire the valuable skill of effective diagnostic thinking in daily practice. The Knee volume uses an in-depth case format, preparing you to correctly analyse clinical vignettes and formulate a clinically sound, evidence-based approach to realistic patient scenarios.
Long-Term Pain: A Guide to Practical Management by
Designed for primary care clinicians, this book is about patients who suffer with long term pain. Written in a distinct, friendly style, it analyses ideas about pain from the simple to the complex and provides up-to-date and relevant information written by doctors whose practice is either wholly or substantially related to people with pain. It provides examples of everyday patients to provide clinicians with the confidence to prescribe and treat patients with more difficult pain. In an attempt to 'demystify' some areas of pain medicine it also includes details of the science behind common conditions and their remedies in order to emphasise the psychological and social impacts of pain.
MACPainP Multiaxial Classification of Pain Psychosocial Dimension: Systematic Approach to Classify Biopsychosocial Aspects of Pain Disorders by
This book offers a diagnostic tool for physicians and psychologists who want to systematically document pain within a multimodal structure. MACPainP (multiaxial classification of pain-psychosocial dimension) is a systematic, comprehensive and clinically oriented diagnostic instrument for evaluating pain-related disorders, and includes differentiated descriptions to enable syndromes to be systematized and diagnoses compared.
The Massachusetts General Hospital Handbook of Pain Management, 4e by
Offering expert guidance from seasoned clinicians at Massachusetts General Hospital, this bestselling handbook provides accurate, clinically essential information in a portable, quick-reference format. Broad-based, multidisciplinary coverage draws from the disciplines of anaesthesiology, neurology, behavioural medicine, nursing, psychiatry, and physical therapy to provide practical, evidence-based information for sound therapeutic choices.
Migraine and Other Primary Headaches (OPML) by
The scope of this pocketbook is intended to give a comprehensive but concise knowledge of established and salient new data on the diagnosis, pathophysiology, and treatment of headaches and migraines.
Multiple Choice Questions in Pain Management by
This book presents current clinical knowledge relating to key topics in acute and chronic pain in a multiple choice question (MCQ) format. Individual chapters are devoted to subjects such as the anatomy of pain pathways, pain processing, evaluation of pain, different pain syndromes and pain involving different regions of the body, pharmacologic and physical pain management, neural blockade, and special procedures.
Muscles, Nerves, and Pain: A Guide to Diagnosis, Pain Concepts, and Therapy, 2e by
This book summarizes the latest scientific information on pain states and their mechanisms. It provides a deeper understanding of the different pain conditions and allows physicians to form strategies for better pain therapy. The second edition includes more graphs, tables, and illustrations. It is updated with the current and dynamically expanding knowledge on the therapy of several disease states and explains in more detail the processing of pain in the central nervous system.
Nerve Blockade and Interventional Therapy by
This book provides physicians practicing at pain management clinics with comprehensive explanations of interventional therapeutic procedures including nerve blockade, as well as pharmacotherapy. Interventional therapeutic procedures including nerve blockade are categorized by devices into landmark ("blind"), X-ray-guided, ultrasound-guided, CT-guided, MR-guided, and endoscopic techniques.
Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy: Classic Regional Approach, 8e by
For students and clinical professionals who are learning anatomy, participating in a dissection lab, sharing anatomy knowledge with patients, or refreshing their anatomy knowledge, the Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy illustrates the body, region by region, in clear, brilliant detail from a clinician's perspective. Unique among anatomy atlases, it contains illustrations that emphasize anatomic relationships that are most important to the clinician in training and practice.
Neuromodulation in Headache and Facial Pain Management: Principles, Rationale and Clinical Data by
This book addresses all aspects of neuromodulation therapy in the management of headache and facial pain disorders, paying particular attention to the application of this rapidly growing and fascinating therapy to different forms of headache and facial pain conditions.
Neuroradiology Companion: Methods, Guidelines, and Imaging Fundamentals, 5e by
Neuroradiology Companion, 5e is an ideal one-volume resource covering the fundamentals of neuroradiology for residents, fellows, and practitioners. More than 1,400 high-quality images depict key disorders of the brain, spine, and head and neck. Each disorder is presented in a concise, consistent manner, with bulleted Key Facts, six to eight images that show the most common findings, and suggested readings.
Office Based Anesthesia Complications: Prevention, Recognition and Management by
This text provides detailed methods to allow the surgeon and anesthetist to risk stratify patients as well as prevent, recognize and manage the most common anesthesia related complications in office-based settings.
Opioids in Non-Cancer Pain, 2e (OPML) by
This edition of Opioids in Non-Cancer Pain brings clinicians up to date on the current use of opioid drugs in patients with non-cancer pain, and highlights the potential benefits of therapy as well as the problems that can occur. The edition includes new chapters on the history of opioids to help contextualize the following discussions, and a new chapter covering the emerging field of pharmacogenomics.
Orofacial Disorders: Current Therapies in Orofacial Pain and Oral Medicine by
This cutting-edge book is a quick reference guide to the evidence-based evaluation, diagnosis, and management of the broad spectrum of orofacial disorders. Each chapter is devoted to a particular disease or disorder and presents advances in understanding of the condition, the most recent evaluation and diagnostic strategies, and up-to-date treatment approaches.
Orofacial Pain Biomarkers by
This book provides up-to-date information on all aspects of orofacial pain biomarkers, which are of evolving importance. The first section includes explanation of the neurobiological substrates underlying chronic orofacial pain and the potential role of biomarkers in diagnosis, prognosis, and treatment. Differences and similarities between saliva and serum biomarkers for pain are then explained, and assessment methods and statistical analyses used in evaluating biomarkers are considered. The main section of the book examines the contribution of clinical studies to the field of biomarkers for orofacial pain and discusses biomarkers for masticatory muscle pain, temporomandibular joint pain, neuropathic face pain, and autonomic nervous system involvement in trigeminal facial pain.
Oxford Handbook of Pain Management by
The Oxford Handbook of Pain Management is the essential resource for all clinicians involved in the management of pain. Organised into sections dealing with basic principles of treatment, therapeutic interventions, including non-medical management of pain, and specific clinical situations, the Handbook emphasises the multimodal treatment options available for patients with pain conditions and brings them together to provide a truly biopsychosocial approach to management.
Oxford Textbook of Pediatric Pain, 2e by
The new edition of the Oxford Textbook of Pediatric Pain brings together an international team of experts to provide an authoritative and comprehensive textbook on all aspects of pain in infants, children, and youth. Divided into nine sections, the textbook analyses pain as a multifactorial problem to give the reader a comprehensive understanding of this challenging subject.
Pain after Surgery by
Pain After Surgery offers an in-depth, comprehensive overview of basic and clinical research in the field. It presents the current knowledge and expertise of top global researchers on changes in central nervous system function accompanying and following surgery, as a model of chronic pain development. It also translates scientific understanding into effective clinical management of acute and persistent pain after surgery, including preoperative interventions to decrease the risk of chronification of post-surgical pain.
Pain in Older People (OPML) by
Pain in older people is both common and disabling, and differs significantly in terms of its aetiology, diagnosis and treatment from pain in the general adult population. This online resource is a concise companion for anyone managing older patients suffering with pain and covers areas such as depression, pain and addiction and assessment.
Pain Management: Special Issue of Anesthesiology Clinics by
This issue of Anesthesiology Clinics focuses on Pain Management.Topics include: The Pain Treatment Imperative: Developments in the 21st Century, Imaging Pain, The Opioid Conundrum, Advancing the Pain Agenda in the Veteran Population and more.
Pain Management for Clinicians: A Guide to Assessment and Treatment by
This book focuses on the modern clinical management of acute and chronic pain syndromes. It not only presents information in a clinically illuminating format, but in a manner that is cognizant of the current prescription opioid epidemic.
Pain Management Secrets, 4e by
Pain Management Secrets, 4th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, and an easy-to-read style - making reference and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. Covers the full range of essential topics in pain management for in-training or practicing professionals.
Pain Medicine: An Essential Review by
This book serves as a practical resource for pain medicine providers. &It presents important clinical concepts while covering critical pain medicine fundamentals. Chapters were carefully chosen to cover common aspects of clinical pain medicine and also follow a common format to facilitate quick look-up. Each chapter includes a concise discussion of the latest supporting evidence as well as relevant case scenarios. The coverage is clinically and board relevant, evidence-based and up-to-date. It will appeal to residents preparing for the written board examination and practitioners preparing for board re-certification, which now occurs every 10 years. &Beyond these groups, the book has the potential to appeal to learners and practitioners around the world; pain medicine is burgeoning globally, and there is great need for concise, clinically relevant resources.
Pain Medicine Board Review by
As the number of medical organizations offering pain examinations increase, the need for well-selected collection of questions with detailed but concise explanations became apparent. Consequently, we have tried to make this book a reasonably complete source of "board-type information" and a "one-stop shop" to practice questions for all the major examinations with included answers and suggested reading so that the reader does not need to use other sources for explanation of the answers.
Pain Procedures in Clinical Practice, 3e by
In the 3rd edition, Dr. Ted Lennard helps you offer the most effective care to your patients by taking you through the various approaches to pain relief used in physiatry today. In this completely updated, procedure-focused volume, you'll find nearly a decade worth of new developments and techniques supplemented by a comprehensive online video collection of how-to procedures at www.expertconsult.com. You'll also find extensive coverage of injection options for every joint, plus discussions of non-injection-based pain relief options such as neuromuscular ultrasound, alternative medicines, and cryotherapy.
The Pain Procedure Handbook: A Milestones Approach by
This book fills the need for a succinct reference on how to master the progressive steps necessary to complete a wide range of complex pain procedures. Organized by anatomic regions and target tissues, the book takes a structured approach to obtaining mastery of the steps required to perform a given procedure rather than providing more in depth or exhaustive reviews of theory and literature. The book covers various nerve blocks and injections for treating chronic pain; how to correctly and safely perform the injection; feature x- ray or ultrasound pictures to help; and offer safety tips, and other pertinent information. Chapters begin with a brief summary, then define the specific skills necessary to perform a given procedure and deconstruct the procedure back into the individual skills expected by novice, intermediate, and advanced practitioners. Practical and concise, The Pain Procedure Handbook is aimed for medical students, residents, fellows, and physicians interested in chronic pain medicine, anesthesiology, acute pain medicine, interventional radiology, and physical medicine and rehabilitation.
Peripheral Nerve Stimulation: A Comprehensive Guide by
Peripheral Nerve Stimulation: A Comprehensive Guide is a one-stop resource offering practical guidance on performing a wide array of pain-relieving procedures using office-based ultrasound-guided techniques, fluoroscopy, and more. Concise and user-friendly, this easy-to-use guide helps physicians deliver safe, accurate, and cost-effective care by demonstrating how to evaluate the causes of pain, identify the most promising stimulation technique, locate the site with precision, and provide effective pain relief.
Personalized Medicine in Anesthesia, Pain and Perioperative Medicine by
This book discusses the current and future impact of cellular and molecular medicine (CMM) on anesthesiology and perioperative medicine. It covers the topic from a translational perspective and describes the relevance of CMM to daily clinical practice.
Physical Diagnosis of Pain: An Atlas of Signs and Symptoms, 5e by
In this easy-to-follow, how-to-do-it atlas, internationally recognized pain expert Dr. Steven D. Waldman provides a compendium of practical physical examination techniques that you can use in your daily practice to evaluate and diagnose patients in pain. Physical Diagnosis of Pain, 5e, is the only atlas devoted to this critical area of pain medicine, offering a real-world focus on how clinicians evaluate pain: "What is it?" rather than "Where is it?". You’ll be guided step by step through the evaluation and diagnosis of more than 280 pain-related conditions based on physical signs. Concise, superbly illustrated chapters help you rapidly diagnose pathology based on physical techniques rather than relying on imaging alone.
A Practical Approach to Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine, 5e by
Originally authored by Michael F. Mulroy, MD, this respected title has helped practitioners provide effective regional anesthesia for nearly 30 years. Now it has been retitled A Practical Approach to Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine to reflect the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education's recent establishment of Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine as an anesthesiology fellowship. This clinical reference has evolved with the many changes in this subspecialty to continue bringing you the up-to-date, clinically focused, hands-on guidance you need to offer your patients the best possible care.
Practical Guide to Chronic Pain Syndromes by
Clinically oriented and evidence-based, Practical Guide to Chronic Pain Syndromes supplies pain specialists, neurologists, and anesthesiologists with the latest critical advances in pain management.
Practical Management of Pain, 6e by
This authoritative reference is a comprehensive, practical resource for pain diagnosis and treatment using a variety of pharmacologic and physical modalities. The fully revised 6th edition brings you fully up to date with new developments in patient evaluation, diagnosis of pain syndromes, rationales for management, treatment modalities, and much more.
Preoperative Optimization of the Chronic Pain Patient: Enhanced Recovery Before Surgery by
Preoperative Optimization of the Chronic Pain Patient is a ground-breaking collaborative effort written by medical and psychological experts in the field of pain management with a specific interest in the perioperative arena. The modern emphasis on biopsychosocial-spiritual care is as important here as anywhere in medicine as comprehensive mind-body preparation is essential to optimize outcomes.
Principles and Practice of Pain Medicine, 3e by
Learn a multidisciplinary approach to pain management This concise yet comprehensive text is a true one-stop resource for anesthesiologists, specialists in pain medicine, neurologists, physiatrists, and primary care physicians wishing to understand more about pain medicine, and fellows and residents training in pain medicine.
Questions and Answers in Pain Medicine: A Guide to Board Exams by
This book provides a practical and comprehensive review of pain medicine in a clear and easy to apply question and answer format. Divided by topic, the book includes Q&As on Pain Basics, Psychology, Common Pain Syndromes, Medications, Pain Management in Special Populations and Interventional Pain. It is intended as a guide for residents and fellows and is written in such a manner to provide instantaneous feedback on correct answer choice and explanation for self-evaluation while preparing for written board examinations.
Radiofrequency Ablation Techniques: Atlas of Interventional Pain Management Series by
Radiofrequency Augmentation Techniques, part of the Atlas of Interventional Pain Management series, is a concise, practical guide that provides clinicians with detailed, step-by-step guidance on how to perform the latest interventional techniques for treating patients with chronic pain. This comprehensive, easy-to-follow guide offers expert coverage of how to deliver safe, accurate, and cost-effective pain relief to patients using all clinically useful imaging modalities, including ultrasound-guided techniques and fluoroscopy. With high-quality images and clear, authoritative guidance throughout, it shows exactly how to evaluate the causes of pain, identify the most promising stimulation technique, locate the site with precision, and deliver effective relief.
Short Stay Management of Chest Pain, 2e by
The second edition of this book provides scientific and clinical insights on the management of patients who arrive at the hospital with a presentation consistent with a potential acute coronary syndrome. Focusing on the cardiology aspects of chest pain, it presents the science and methodology that has allowed the remarkable improvements in diagnostic accuracy and improved patient outcomes for the evaluation of patients presenting with suspected acute coronary syndromes.
Sacroiliac Joint Techniques (Atlas of Interventional Pain Series) by
Sacroiliac joint pain is one of the most common painful conditions, as disorders of this joint are often the cause or a contributing factor to back pain. Treatment of sacroiliac joint pain has advanced significantly in the last decade, ranging from minor interventions to major surgical interventions. Written for pain physicians, neurologists, neurosurgeons, and orthopedic surgeons at all levels of training and practice, this book highlights new and innovative approaches to sacroiliac disease so clinicians may incorporate current techniques into practice. The international roster of authors present up to date information on interventional and surgical pain procedures including peripheral nerve stimulation, surgical fusion, and regenerative techniques. In addition to providing well-illustrated, step-by-step guidance on procedural technique, chapters review patient selection, instrumentation, complications management, and outcomes.
The Shoulder and Elbow (Pain Medicine: A Case-Based Learning Series) by
Linking theory to practice through the use of authentic clinical cases, Dr. Steven D. Waldman's Pain Medicine: A Case-Based Learning Series helps readers acquire the valuable skill of effective diagnostic thinking in daily practice. The Shoulder and Elbow volume uses an in-depth case format, preparing you to correctly analyze clinical vignettes and formulate a clinically sound, evidence-based approach to realistic patient scenarios.
Spinal Fusion Techniques by
Spinal Fusion Techniques, a volume in the Atlas of Interventional Pain Management series, is a concise, practical guide that provides clinicians with detailed, step-by-step guidance on how to perform the latest interventional techniques for treating patients with chronic pain as a result of spinal stenosis. This comprehensive, easy-to-follow guide offers expert coverage of how to deliver safe, accurate, and cost-effective pain relief to patients using all clinically useful imaging modalities, including ultrasound-guided techniques and fluoroscopy. With high-quality images and clear, authoritative guidance throughout, it shows exactly how to evaluate the causes of pain, identify the most promising stimulation technique, locate the site with precision, and deliver effective relief.
The Spine (Pain Medicine: A Case-Based Learning Series) by
Linking theory to practice through the use of authentic clinical cases, Dr. Steven D. Waldman's Pain Medicine: A Case-Based Learning Series helps readers acquire the valuable skill of effective diagnostic thinking in daily practice. The Spine volume uses an in-depth case format, preparing you to correctly analyse clinical vignettes and formulate a clinically sound, evidence-based approach to realistic patient scenarios.
Spine Pain Care: A Comprehensive Clinical Guide by
This six part reference begins with a review on the epidemiology and economic impacts that present clinical and financial challenges for spine pain care. Part two then brings the reader into a review of the anatomy, pathophysiology, and etiology of spine pain. Subsequent parts then dive into clinical evaluation tactics, unique disease conditions and treatment options. Finally, the book closes with two chapters discussing the challenges of spine pain medicine and the potential future directions of the field.
Surgical Treatment of Chronic Headaches and Migraines by
Surgical Treatment of Chronic Headaches and Migraines is organized across 17 chapters and contributed to by a multidisciplinary wealth of practitioners in the fields of plastic surgery, neurology, pain medicine, and more. Topics examine the various types of headaches that may require surgical treatment and include postoperative care alongside minimally invasive interventions. The text is rounded out by a look towards the future in this field and further enhanced by high-quality videos, tables, and figures, making it a valuable reference for anyone looking to treat patients exhibiting the debilitating pain of chronic headaches and migraines.
Trigeminal Nerve Pain: A Guide to Clinical Management by
Trigeminal Nerve Pain comprehensively covers how to manage patients with this often debilitating pain and is of use to trainees and practising internists, hospitalists, surgeons and anaesthesiologists seeking to increase their understanding of this complex condition.
Visceral Pain: From Bench to Bedside by
Patients with chronic visceral pain present a challenge for medical providers because of their vague presenting symptoms and frequent lack of identifiable pathology. Despite this, chronic visceral pain can be a debilitating medical condition that increases morbidity and decreases quality of life; the long-term consequences of which cause significant socioeconomic burden and debility. Covering the newest trends, studies, diagnosis and treatments in visceral pain care, as well as the pain treatment strategies that have been successfully employed in the past, this book brings readers fully up to date with effective recognitions and treatments for visceral pain. The clinical evaluation and presentation of common chronic visceral pain conditions and multimodal treatment options that can be used to assist patients and providers are focused.
Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine, 2e by
Get up-to-date on all of the techniques that are rapidly becoming today's standard of care with Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine, 2nd Edition. With this extensively revised edition, you'll see how the increased use of ultrasound for diagnosis and treatment of chronic pain and other medical conditions can transform your patient care.
Unlearn Pain: The Successful Techniques And Exercises Of Psychological Pain Management by
This book shows concrete techniques and exercises of psychological pain management, with which it is possible to reduce pain permanently. It is aimed at all pain patients who want to actively manage pain and at all therapists and doctors who want to support their patients in this. The more than 30 successful techniques and exercises, such as mindfulness exercises, relaxation techniques or hypnosis procedures, can be used alone at home without a doctor or therapist. Each exercise is explained step-by-step and simply, is scientifically recognized, has no side effects, and is effective regardless of the cause or location of the pain. The book also provides a wealth of background information on the development of pain and numerous practical tips. The 4th edition is completely updated.
Urogenital Pain: A Clinicians Guide to Diagnosis and Interventional Treatments by
This book provides an up to date, comprehensive, review of the common urogenital painful conditions. It will serve as a valuable resource for clinicians, urologists, surgeons, gynecologists, palliative care physicians, and many other medical providers. The book reviews presenting signs and symptoms, diagnostic workup, differential diagnoses, interventional treatments, and alternative medical therapy for painful conditions that occur in the urogenital region. The text also provides a clear understanding of how pain is transmitted along with what patient populations are at increased risk in suffering these conditions. The risks, benefits, and indications are discussed in detail for the variety of interventional injections that are available to help manage these conditions.
Urological and Gynaecological Chronic Pelvic Pain: Current Therapies by
This text is designed for those clinicians who feel comfortable diagnosing these illnesses and wish to enhance their knowledge base and skill set regarding treatment options. Referrals for pelvic pain are common in urological and gynaecological practice; and may lead to varied diagnoses such as interstitial cystitis/bladder pain syndrome, chronic prostatitis/chronic pelvic pain syndrome, pelvic floor dysfunction, chronic orchialgia, and vulvodynia. To make matters more complex, each of these conditions is frequently associated by co-morbidities. The text is unique in being organized by the multiple and multifaceted therapies that are available, rather than by specific disorders. The text is richly illustrated with multiple diagrams, figures, and tables, making it the "go to" and "how to" reference for patient treatment.
Visceral Pain: Clinical, Pathophysiological and Therapeutic Aspects by
Visceral pain, or pain in the internal organs, is often quite difficult for the clinician to recognize promptly as its characteristics are often atypical and vary with time. Patients with visceral pain also often present with concurrent painful conditions in more than one internal organ; this can give rise to an intricate complex of symptoms which can be misleading if not accurately evaluated.
Vulvar Pain: From Childhood to Old Age by
This book offers detailed coverage of all aspects of vulvar pain in age groups from children to the elderly, with a particular focus on factors that precipitate or maintain the pain. Guidance is provided on diagnosis and treatment, and careful consideration is given to special circumstances associated with vulvar pain, including childbirth, recurrent cystitis, female genital mutilation, medical comorbidities, and sexual comorbidities in both partners. Vulvar pain of neurogenic and iatrogenic origin is also fully discussed. Two innovative chapters present case reports highly relevant to clinical practice and address outstanding issues, including controversies and difficulties in terminology, initial triggers, the role of stress, psychogenic causes, and misuse and abuse. The book is exceptional in covering vulvar pain throughout the human life span and in a wide range of situations, and it will be of value to all who are involved in management of the condition.
Wall and Melzack's Textbook of Pain, 6e by
Presenting all of the latest knowledge about the genetics, neurophysiology, psychology, and assessment of every type of pain syndrome. It also provides a practical guidance on the full range of today's pharmacologic, interventional, electrostimulative, physiotherapeutic, and psychological management options.
The Wrist and Hand (Pain Medicine: A Case-Based Learning Series) by
Here is the perfect text you need to provide your learners with real-life clinical scenarios that are ideal for Case-Based Learning and Discussion. Presents real-world patients in a real-world clinical setting, making learning fun and engaging.
For a comprehensive list of titles, see: Pain medicine
IASP pain refresher courses
Pain 2018: Refresher Courses, 17th World Congress on Pain by
Presented at the 17th World congress on Pain in Boston, Massachusetts, in September 2018, these papers represent the thinking of the world’s top pain scientists and clinicians. IASP distributes this book to participants in the Refresher courses, and it is now available to pain researchers and clinicians who were unable to attend the Congress.
Pain 2016: Refresher Courses, 16th World Congress on Pain by
Pain 2016 Refresher Courses: 16th World Congress on Pain, was written by the instructors of the Refresher Courses offered in conjunction with the 16th World Congress on Pain, held September 26-30, 2016, in Yokohama, Japan. The publication incorporates the latest thinking on a diverse range of topics in pain research and treatment and is a valuable resource not only for those new to the pain field but also for those seeking to update their knowledge.
Pain 2014: Refresher Courses, 15th World Congress on Pain by
Every two years, the International Association for the Study of Pain publishes a compendium of benchmark papers that summarize the current status of pain research, treatment, and management throughout the world. Presented at the 15th World Congress on Pain in Buenos Aires in October 2014, these papers represent the thinking of the world's top pain scientists and clinicians. IASP distributes this book to participants in the Refresher Courses, and it is now available to pain researchers and clinicians who were unable to attend the Congress.
Pain 2012: Refresher Courses, 14th World Congress of Pain by
Pain 2012: Refresher Courses, 14th World Congress on Pain, is based on IASP's refresher courses on pain research and treatment. Includes techniques (neuroimaging, genetics), treatments (interventional, psychological, pharmacological, complementary/alternative), and disorders (neuropathic pain, headache, cancer pain, musculoskeletal pain, CRPS, orofacial pain, postoperative pain, pediatric pain, abdominopelvic pain).
Pain 2010 - An Updated Review: Refresher Course Syllabus by
Pain 2010 – An Updated Review: Refresher Course Syllabus, based on sessions held at the 13th World Congress on Pain, 2010, in Montréal, covers pain research and treatment. Includes techniques (imaging, genetics, pain models), treatments (interventional, psychological, pharmacological), disorders (cancer pain, neuropathic pain, musculoskeletal pain, CRPS, orofacial pain, postoperative pain, abdominal/pelvic pain, back pain, paediatric pain), and drug development.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5e Text Revision: DSM-5-TR by
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5e, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. It features a new disorder, Prolonged Grief Disorder, as well as codes for suicidal behaviour available to all clinicians of any discipline without the requirement of any other diagnosis.
DSM-5-TR® Clinical Cases by
DSM-5-TR Clinical Cases clarifies and discusses psychiatric diagnosis with a particular focus on how diagnoses have evolved from DSM-5. Designed for teachers, students, and clinicians, this book presents a broad range of patient vignettes that cover the diagnostic waterfront.
DSM-5-TR® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis by
The DSM-5-TR Handbook of Differential Diagnosis is the preeminent guide to differential diagnosis for both clinicians and students learning psychiatric diagnosis. Fully updated to reflect the recent Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5e, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), this handbook includes two newly developed diagnostic trees (for dissociative symptoms and repetitive pathological behaviours). This indispensable guide offers a rich selection of diagnostic lenses through which to consider symptomatic presentations, grounded in the latest research and standards of practice. The clinician must have empathy, listening skills, the ability to identify symptoms and contextualize them, and a familiarity with the body of knowledge represented by DSM-5. The handbook offers an assortment of approaches to differential diagnosis, and a number of features designed to benefit clinicians in the exam room.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5e: DSM-5 by
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health.
DSM-5® Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview by
DSM-5 Handbook of the Cultural Formulation Interview provides the background, context, and detailed guidance necessary to train clinicians in the use of the Cultural Formulation Interview (CFI), which was created as part of the 2007-2013 DSM revision process. The purpose of the CFI--and this unique handbook--is to make it easier for providers to account for the influence of culture in their clinical work to enhance patient-clinician communication and improve outcomes. Cultural psychiatry as a field has evolved enormously from the days when it was principally concerned with epidemiological and clinical studies of disease prevalence; it now examines a multitude of issues, primary among them the differing patient, family, and practitioner models of illness and treatment experiences within and across cultures. The editors, all of whom have been intimately involved in the evolution of the field, have designed the book and accompanying videos for maximum instructional and clinical utility.
National Strategy for Health Practitioner Pain Management Education by
The National Strategy for Health Practitioner Pain Management Education provides a blueprint for the future of pain education over the next five to 10 years with its underpinning values, principles, goals and detailed implementation plan. It articulates not only ‘what’ needs to be achieved, but ‘how’ we can achieve the desired goals in the most effective and resource-efficient way, to ensure a meaningful and positive impact for those in the community living with pain.
National Strategy for Health Practitioner Pain Management Education: Implementation Guide by
This Implementation Guide is a companion document to the National Strategy for Health Practitioner Pain Management Education and provides the key elements of the strategy, including a detailed ‘Implementation Plan’. It is recommended that the guide be read in conjunction with the main strategy document which provides essential background and contextual information.
Acute Pain Management: A Practical Guide, 5e by
With a focus on practical acute pain management in adults in the hospital setting, this book provides health professionals with simple and practical information to help them manage patients with acute pain safely and effectively. * Combines evidence-based information with practical guidelines and protocols * Covers the pharmacology of opioids, local anesthetics, and nonopioid and adjuvant analgesic agents * Discusses management of acute pain in both surgical and nonsurgical acute pain settings including in patients with spinal cord or burns injuries and selected medical illnesses.
Acute Pain Management: Scientific Evidence, 5e by
Acute Pain Management: Scientific Evidence covers a wide range of clinical topics, combining a review of the best available evidence for acute pain management with current clinical and expert practice.
Bonica's Management of Pain, 5e by
This exhaustively comprehensive edition of the classic Bonica's Management of Pain, expertly combines the scientific underpinnings of pain with clinical management. Substantially updated with theoretical advancements and contemporary therapies that have emerged since the previous edition published over a decade ago.
Clinical Pain Management: Acute Pain, 2e by Clinical Pain Management: Cancer Pain, 2e by
Now divided into four parts, the second edition of Cancer Pain delivers broad coverage of the issues that arise in the management of malignancy-related pain, from basic science, through end of life care and associated ethical issues, to therapies, both medical and complementary.
Clinical Pain Management: Chronic Pain, 2e by
The second edition of Chronic Pain now covers a vast scientific and clinical arena, with the scientific background and therapeutic options much expanded. In common with the other titles comprising Clinical Pain Management, the volume gathers together the available evidence-based information in a reader-friendly format without unnecessary detail, and is divided into three parts.
Clinical Pain Management: Practice and Procedures, 2e by
Largely reorganised and much expanded in this second edition, Practice and Procedures brings together in a single volume general methods of pain assessment and presents the wide range of therapies that can be provided by a range of health care disciplines.
Complications in Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine by
This single-source reference addresses complications related to the practice of regional anesthesia and pain medicine. Chapters are written by a world authority on each specific complication and are evidence-based from an extensive literature search. Each chapter is constructed to follow a defined approach to the problem to ensure inclusiveness of evidence, clarity, and consistency.
Core Curriculum for Professional Education in Pain, 3e by Cousins & Bridenbaugh's Neural Blockade in Clinical Anesthesia and Pain Medicine, 4e by
This comprehensive, authoritative text presents the scientific foundations and clinical practice of neural blockade in both regional anesthesia and the management of pain. The Fourth Edition has been refined for clarity and flows logically from principles and pharmacology, to techniques for each anatomic region, to applications.
Essential Notes in Pain Medicine by
Highly recommended
Mapped to the syllabus for the Fellowship of the Faculty of Pain Medicine of the Royal College of Anaesthetists (FFPMRCA), Essential Notes in Pain Medicine ensures readers have all the information needed to review the subject. Written by a multidisciplinary team of over 70 international contributors, this resource provides high-quality, up-to-date guidance on 247 topics such as pain assessment, pain physiology, pain interventions, the role of psychology and physiotherapy and many more.
Essentials of Pain Medicine, 3e by
Accessible, concise, and clinically focused, Essentials of Pain Medicine presents a complete overview of today’s theory and practice of pain medicine and regional anaesthesia. It provides practical guidance on the full range of today’s pharmacologic, interventional, neuromodulative, physiotherapeutic, and psychological management options for the evaluation, treatment, and rehabilitation of persons in pain.
Evidence-Based Interventional Pain Medicine: According to Clinical Diagnoses by
Unrelieved chronic pain is a worldwide epidemic Chronic pain has been subject to multiple international initiatives through the World Health Organization. Interventional Pain Medicine, the use of minimally invasive techniques to relieve pain, is the best approach when simpler measures such as physical therapy or medications fail. However, these procedures can be associated with significant risk and expense. Establishing uniformity in diagnostic criteria and procedural performance can reduce both morbidity and unnecessary procedures, and hence healthcare expenditures. While other texts explain how to perform these procedures, little focus has been given to diagnostic considerations: if and when these procedures should be performed.
Explain Pain by
Designed to be used as a manual for clinicians to explain pain to patients, as a workbook completed with patient and clinician, or as a part of a cognitive-behavioural multidisciplinary pain management program, or for the patient to use as a take-home resource.
Handbook of Pain Management: A Clinical Companion to Wall and Melzack's "Textbook of Pain" by
The essential companion to the Textbook of Pain, this book provides the pain specialist and trainee with an easy-to-access overview on the management complexities, assessment tools and multiple treatment modalities that are currently available to the physician dealing with the full spectrum of pain syndromes. The emphasis throughout is on the clinical aspects of pain medicine. It contains the core information that the practitioner and trainee needs.
Opioids and Pain Relief by
Opioid use for the alleviation of pain can prove problematic. Differing opinions within the medical community arise from the dual nature of these drugs. Despite universal recognition of the potent analgesic effects of opioids, many health care providers are reluctant to employ them - especially for chronic pain - due to the risk for addiction. Ample literature exists for opioid addiction, yet this volume stands alone in its examination of the history of opioid use for pain relief. It presents a balanced view of the topic by discussing both the benefits and risks of opioid use in pain treatment. International experts from the pain field examine from a historical perspective International experts from the pain field examine from a historical perspective the beneficial and detrimental consequences of opioid use in pain management. From medieval times to the Victorian era to the 21st century, these specialists offer unprecedented insights into understanding and appreciating the usefulness of these drugs. They remove the mythological shrouds surrounding opioid use and they identify objective criteria for incorporating opioids into pain treatment protocols. This volume enlightens and informs readers so that they may broaden and deepen their understanding of the subject.
Opioid Therapy for Pain: A Practical Clinical Guide by 
Opioid Therapy in the 21st Century (OAPL) by
Over the last thirty years, the concern of Pain Medicine practitioners about the potential for their patients to develop a dependence on opioids has left opioid therapy as a largely underutilized treatment. While there is no simple answer to chronic pain, opioids remain the only class of drugscapable of providing relief to patients experiencing serious pain.
Oxford Handbook of Pain Management by
The Oxford Handbook of Pain Management is the essential resource for all clinicians involved in the management of pain. Organised into sections dealing with basic principles of treatment, therapeutic interventions, including non-medical management of pain, and specific clinical situations, the Handbook emphasises the multimodal treatment options available for patients with pain conditions and brings them together to provide a truly biopsychosocial approach to management.
Pain Killer: An Empire of Deceit and the Origin of America's Opioid Epidemic by
The origin story of the opioid epidemic - a searing account of America's greatest health crisis that implicates OxyContin's maker and the U.S. government from a Pulitzer Prize-winning New York Times reporter.
Between 1999 and 2017, an estimated 250,000 Americans died from overdoses involving prescription painkillers, a plague ignited by the aggressive marketing of OxyContin by its maker, Purdue Pharma.
Purdue, owned by a wealthy and secretive family--the Sacklers--knew early on that teenagers and others were abusing its billion dollar "wonder" drug. But Justice Department officials balked a decade ago when it came to meting out justice, allowing an opioid crisis to evolve into a catastrophe.
Pain Management, 2e by
Regarded as the premiere clinical reference in its field, Pain Management, 2e provides comprehensive, practical, highly visual guidance to help you effectively apply the most recent evidence-based advances in pain management.
Pain Medicine: A Comprehensive Review, 2e by
Based upon Dr. Raj's Practical Management of Pain, 3e, it presents concise outline summaries of the most important concepts in the field. Board-style review questions, with answers, test readers' mastery of the material in each chapter. And, a new, comprehensive exam at the end of the book enables readers to assess their overall grasp of the subject matter.
Pain Medicine: A Multidisciplinary Approach by
This is designed as a textbook for medical practitioners preparing for higher qualification examinations in pain medicine, as well as a reference book for other medical and allied healthcare workers. A unique feature of the book is its multidisciplinary approach to manage pain. This is reflected by the contributors' multi-national/cultural origin and the diversity in their medical background (anaesthesiology, neurosurgery, orthopaedic surgery, internal medicine, clinical oncology, clinical psychology, nursing, physiotherapy, and occupational therapy). Essential topics in pain medicine are grouped under five sections scientific basis of pain medicine, common clinical pain conditions, pain pharmacology, interventional procedures, and multidisciplinary approach. Different aspects and approaches in modern pain medicine are covered, including advances in research on pain mechanism, pain psychology, epidemiology, diagnosis, pain assessment, patient evaluation, pain medications, up-to-date interventional procedures, cognitive behavioral therapy, and other specialized therapeutic modalities. Besides the above topics, which assist the patient in fighting acute, chronnic, and cancer pain, there are two chapters dedicated to paediatric and geriatric patients respectively, as special consideration is need for these age groups.
Principles and Practice of Pain Medicine, 3e by
Learn a multidisciplinary approach to pain management This concise yet comprehensive text is a true one-stop resource for anesthesiologists, specialists in pain medicine, neurologists, physiatrists, and primary care physicians wishing to understand more about pain medicine, and fellows and residents training in pain medicine.
The college acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present and emerging.
The college acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Te Tiriti o Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
The college recognises the special relationship between the Pacific peoples of New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific, and is committed to supporting those fellows and trainees of ANZCA, and improving the health of Pacific peoples.
Library
Articles
