Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Pain medicine essentials: Other resources

This page contains educational resources that are related to the topic of Pain medicine.

Spotlight: 2021 Global Year About Back Pain

                            This year's IASP theme focuses on helping clinicians, scientists, those living with back pain and the public understand the nature of back pain and the utility of available treatment modalities.

                            View resources

National Strategic Action Plan for Pain Management

                            17 May 2021: Australia's peak pain organisations for health professionals welcome national pain management plan

International Classification of Diseases 11th Revision

The International Classification of Diseases (ICD) "is the foundation for the identification of health trends and statistics globally, and the international standard for reporting diseases and health conditions. It is the diagnostic classification standard for all clinical and research purposes".  

WebsiteSee more information here from the World Health Organization.

WebsiteVisit the ICD home page.

"A version of ICD-11 was released on 18 June 2018 to allow Member States to prepare for implementation, including translating ICD into their national languages. ICD-11 will be submitted to the 144th Executive Board Meeting in January 2019 and the Seventy-second World Health Assembly in May 2019 and, following endorsement, Member States will start reporting using ICD-11 on 1 January 2022."

World Health Organization. Classifictations: ICD-11 is here! [Internet]. 2019. From: https://www.who.int/classifications/icd/en/. Accessed 17 July 2019.

Opioids and Pain collection - Oxford Medicine online

Since the opioid crisis was announced in the USA, Oxford Medicine has been creating a series of content pieces to inform the public about the medicinal impact of opioids. Now, with the crisis as widespread as ever and sparking debate internationally, they have collated resources in order to provide detailed, authoritative, and varied information about opioid use from a medical perspective.

Explore this content collection here.

PAIN+

Pain+ (Premium LiteratUre Services) is a resource that provides access to current, high-quality evidence from health care research, to support evidence-based clinical decisions. 

PAIN+ is a continuously updated, unique resource which allows you to see what other clinicians are reading and to search citations (from over 120 premier clinical journals) that are pre-rated for evidence quality by research staff. 

How you can use it:

  • Register to create a free account where you can set up alert preferences for email alerts
  • Receive email alerts about new evidence. Each alert includes clinical ratings and comments, and electronic links to the article's abstract via PubMed (if available) and full-text article via PubMed or the publisher's site (if available for free)
  • Search the ANZCA journal list and find the articles you want from our subscriptions, or if you need assistance locating an article - request the article from the Library by email: library@anzca.edu.au

Physical diagnosis of pain videos

Videos on this topic, as referenced below, are sourced from the online version of the book "Physical diagnosis of pain" 3rd edition.  Click the link to the book to explore this topic further. 

Videos

Click here to explore the full list of videos, or click the link/image below.

Pain resources

Pain+

Pain PLUS (Premium LiteratUre Service) is a resource that provides access to current, high-quality evidence from health care research, to support evidence-based clinical decisions. 

PAIN+ is continuously updated, unique resource which allows you to see what other clinicians are reading, and search citations (from over 120 premier clinical journals) that are pre-rated for evidence quality by research staff. 

How you can use it:

  • Register to create a free account where you can set up alert preferences for email alerts
  • Receive e-mail alerts about new evidence, each alert includes clinical ratings and comments, and electronic links to the article's abstract via PubMed (if available) and fulltext article via PubMed or the publisher's site (if available for free)
  • Search the ANZCA discovery service and find the articles you want and either access the full-text or request an article using the discovery service request article feature.

Safety Practices for Interventional Pain Procedures

Safety Practices for Interventional Pain Procedures

These safety practices have been developed by the Spine Intervention Society (SIS) to highlight the important elements in the safe performance of interventional pain procedures. They suggest that adherence to these practices will help decrease the risk of preventable complications.

WebsiteVisit the Safety Practices for Interventional Pain Procedures page on the SIS website for access to the free modules.

For additional information about the indications and technical aspects that yield improved treatment outcomes, there are many resources available through the SIS website, please note many of these are paid access resources.

ANZCA acknowledges the traditional custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present, and emerging.

ANZCA acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.