It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Anaesthesia, Critical Care & Pain Medicine (formerly Annales Françaises d'Anesthésie et de Réanimation) publishes in English the highest quality original material, both scientific and clinical, on all aspects of anaesthesia, critical care & pain medicine.
This open access journal is the official Journal of the Iranian Society of Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine (ISRAPM), covering clinical and basic research, education, patient care, health economics, and policy to inform all practitioners in pain management, such as anesthesiologists, interventional pain physicians, neurosurgeons, neurologists, and any specialists who are interested in pain medicine.
British Journal of Pain is a peer-reviewed quarterly British journal with an international multidisciplinary Editorial Board. The journal publishes Original Papers and Reviews on all major aspects of pain and pain management reflecting the body of evidence of the topic and suitable for a multidisciplinary readership. Where empirical evidence is lacking, the reviews reflect the generally held opinions of experts in the field.
The Clinical Journal of Pain explores all aspects of pain and its effective treatment, bringing you the insights of leading anesthesiologists, surgeons, internists, neurologists, orthopedists, psychiatrists and psychologists, clinical pharmacologists, and physical and rehabilitation therapists.
Published bimonthly and offering a unique and wide ranging perspective on the key developments in the field, each issue of Current Opinion in Anesthesiology features hand-picked review articles from our team of expert editors. With fifteen disciplines published across the year – including cardiovascular anaesthesiology, neuroanaesthesia and pain medicine – every issue also contains annotated references detailing the merits of the most important papers.
The European Journal of Anaesthesiology (EJA) publishes original work of high scientific quality. Preference is given to experimental work or clinical observation in man, and to laboratory work of clinical relevance. The journal also publishes commissioned narrative reviews by an authority in a field of interest to those working in anaesthesiology, pain, emergency medicine or intensive care. Editorials, commissioned commentaries and book reviews also included.
Published on behalf of the European Society of Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care.
A multi-disciplinary, international journal that aims to be a global forum on all aspects of pain research and pain management. The journal publishes clinical and basic science research papers relevant to all aspects of pain and its management.
The Journal of Headache and Pain is a peer-reviewed open access journal specifically dedicated to researchers involved in all aspects of headache and related pain syndromes, including epidemiology, public health, basic science, translational medicine, clinical trials and real-world data.
The Journal of Opioid Management deals with all aspects of opioids. From basic science, pre-clinical, clinical, abuse, compliance and addiction medicine, the journal provides and unbiased forum for researchers and clinicians to explore and manage the complexities of opioid prescription.
This journal aims to improve the care of patients in pain by providing a forum for clinical researchers, basic scientists, clinicians, and other health professionals to publish original research. Other content includes invited critical reviews, invited commentaries on reviews, and exceptional case studies.
This journal provides a forum for the publication of the latest clinical research and best practices related to the relief of illness burden among patients afflicted with serious or life-threatening illness.
The Medical Journal of Australia has an ever-growing collection of articles focused on Anesthesia, analgesia and pain from 2001 onwards. This index collates all articles on the topic published by MJA in the one place for your convenience.
Neurobiology of Pain is an international journal for the publication of basic and translational research on the mechanisms of acute and chronic pain. It focuses on experimental studies of pain mechanisms at every level from molecular and cellular to brain imaging and behavioural.
PAIN® is the official publication of the International Association for the Study of Pain® (IASP®). PAIN® publishes original research on the nature, mechanisms, and treatment of pain and provides a multidisciplinary forum for the dissemination of research in the basic and clinical sciences.
Pain Medicine is dedicated to pain clinicians, educators, and researchers with an interest in pain from various medical specialties and related health disciplines. The journal reflects the rapid growth in pain science and practice, as well as the field's need for policy, ethical, and forensic commentary on pain and its management. It promotes the visibility and development of pain medicine as a worldwide interdisciplinary medical specialty within a collaborative, multidisciplinary pain field.
A peer-reviewed, multi-disciplinary journal written by and directed to an audience of interventional pain physicians, clinicians and basic scientists with an interest in interventional pain management and pain medicine.
Pain Practice, the official journal of the World Institute of Pain, publishes international multidisciplinary articles on pain and analgesia that provide its readership with up-to-date research, evaluation methods, and techniques for pain management.
PAIN Reports is an open access multidisciplinary journal. The journal publishes full-length articles as well as brief reports, reviews, meta-analyses, meeting proceedings, and selected case reports. PAIN Reports gives special attention to submissions reporting the results of enterprising and high-risk research and pilot studies as well as locally developed clinical guidelines from scientists and clinicians in developing countries.
Produced by the American Society of Regional Anesthesia (ASRA), Regional Anesthesia is aimed at fulfilling the society's fundamental purpose-continuing education, and strives to present material that withstands critical editorial review, while at the same time serves the needs and wishes of their readers.
Regional Anesthesia & Pain Medicine, the official publication of the American Society of Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine (ASRA Pain Medicine), is a monthly journal that publishes peer-reviewed scientific and clinical studies to advance the understanding and clinical application of regional techniques for surgical anesthesia and postoperative analgesia. Coverage includes intraoperative regional techniques, perioperative pain, chronic pain, obstetric anesthesia, paediatric anesthesia, outcome studies, and complications.
The Scandinavian Journal of Pain (SJPAIN) publishes internationally relevant articles on all aspects of pain. The journal is the official quarterly publication of the Scandinavian Association for the Study of Pain and serves as a forum for original research on the nature of pain, pain mechanisms, and pain management.
Techniques in Regional Anesthesia and Pain Management is a journal unlike any in the specialty. The concept underlying the publication is to combine the timeliness of a quarterly journal with the illustrative aspects of a procedure oriented atlas. Exact techniques are well-illustrated, giving precise drug dosages and helpful clinical pearls. In addition, common complications of regional anaesthesia and pain management procedures and their appropriate treatments are described.
- Dose reductions among chronic opioid therapy recipients
- Enhanced mindfulness-based stress reduction in episodic migraine
- Effect of relevant education on long-term opioid use before spinal surgery
- Education of opioid use risk prior to elective lower-extremity surgery
- ‘Embodied’ VR intervention for low back pain
- Mindfulness-oriented recovery enhancement in patients misusing opioids for chronic pain
- Wearable TENS for knee OA pain
- ESPB for pain control after spinal surgery
- Closed-loop SCS for chronic back and leg pain: clinical and QOL outcome durability
- SCS-related adverse events reported to TGA
Issue 64 (2021)
- Evidence-based psychological interventions for chronic pain
- Opioid stewardship practices in hospitals
- Implantable restorative neurostimulator for refractory chronic LBP
- Pain reprocessing therapy for chronic back pain
- Healthcare provider utilisation of prescription monitoring programmes
- Transcranial DCS for knee OA pain with dysfunctional descending pain inhibitory system
- Intra-articular botulinum neurotoxin vs. physical therapy in knee OA
- Effect of migraine on propranolol for painful temporomandibular disorder
- Catastrophisation effects of MRI report, and benefits of clinical reporting
- Liraglutide, after weight loss, for pain and weight control in knee OA
Issue 63 (2021)
- Opioid use disorder and initiation of physical therapy for LBP
- Comorbid chronic pain and depression: shared risk factors
- Association between chronic pain and long-term cognitive decline in the elderly
- Cannabinoids, cannabis and cannabis-based medicine for pain management
- Adverse effects of heavy cannabis use
- C. sativa terpenes selectively enhances cannabinoid activity
- Opioid consumption and pain after orthopaedic/urological surgery
- High-frequency SCS for painful diabetic neuropathy
- Guidance for steroid injections with COVID-19 vaccination
- Opioids: extramedical use and harm in chronic noncancer pain
Issue 62 (2021)
- Multifaceted intervention to improve LBP care in ED
- Primary-care access for individuals on prescribed opioids
- Effect of local vibratory stimulation on proprioceptive control
- Midlife family financial strain, sense of control and pain in later years
- Day-case THA
- Disposal kits and fact sheets do not improve un-needed opioid disposal
- Systemic opioid prescribing patterns and care costs on initiation of SCS
- UK recommendations on opioid stewardship
- Cannabidiol for acute LBP in ED
- Internet-delivered ACT as microlearning for chronic pain
Issue 61 (2021)
In this edition we feature:
- Chronic back pain subgroups according to walking performance, pain and disability
- Effect of aerobic exercise on response to opioids for chronic LBP
- Relationships between sensory profiles and self-reported pain in neuropathy
- Insights into the role of TRPA1 channels in cold pain
- Antidepressants for back pain and osteoarthritis
- Progression of withdrawal symptoms in medical cannabis recipients for chronic pain
- Neural systems underlying placebo analgesia
- Neuromodulation with burst and tonic SCS decreases opioid consumption
- Telemedicine for chronic pain during and after COVID-19
- Evaluation of state policy interventions targeting the US opioid epidemic
Issue 60 (2020)
In this edition we feature:
- Community pharmacy naloxone supply: effect of rescheduling as over-the-counter
- Effects of opioid stewardship interventions
- Deprescribing long-term opioids in chronic pain
- Buprenorphine/naloxone vs. methadone for failed back surgery syndrome/opioid addiction
- Transcranial DCS for chronic neuropathic pain in multiple sclerosis
- Effect of OUD on initiating physical therapy for LBP
- Graded motor imagery for reducing phantom limb pain in amputees
- Psychosocial and functional outcomes and opioid usage following burst SCS
- Self-administered skills-based VR intervention for chronic pain
- Botulinum neurotoxin for neuropathic pain
Analgesic dependence severity and medication overuse headache
Opioid/benzodiazepine prescriptions for patients with overdose history
Conventional vs. burst SCS in chronic neuropathic pain model: effect of amplitude
Psychophysical-based prediction of duloxetine efficacy for migraine prevention
Transdiagnostic emotion-focused exposure for chronic pain with anxiety/depression
Brief CBT for chronic pain
Botulinum toxin for chronic pelvic pain in endometriosis
REN for acute migraine treatment
Pulsed radiofrequency outcomes according to electrodiagnosis in intractable lumbosacral radicular pain
Perioperative duloxetine for acute postoperative analgesia
Issue 58 (2019)
In this edition we feature:
- Single-fraction stereotactic vs. conventional multifraction RT for pain relief of bone metastases
- Ketamine infusions for chronic pain
- Opioid safety initiative for TKR
- Brief psychological expectancy intervention for postoperative pain
- Benchmarking children’s persistent pain services in Australasia
- Reasons for percutaneous SCS explantation
- Role of afferent input in postamputation pain
- Ketoprofen or methylprednisolone in acute sciatica
- Chronic insufficient sleep alters pain habituation and sensitisation processes
- Pronociceptive effect of sleep deprivation mediated by nucleus accumbens
Issue 57 (2019)
The first research paper selected for this issue found that combining three nonopioid analgesics with morphine for postoperative
analgesia provided better analgesia with significant morphine-sparing over 48 hours postsurgery when compared with morphine
alone. An oromucosal spray containing THC (Δ9-tetrahydrocannabinol) and cannabidiol was found to be effective and well
tolerated when used as add-on treatment for refractory chronic pain, with the effect particularly promising in neuropathic
pain. A prospective 2-year trial has addressed the question of opioid efficacy for chronic noncancer pain, finding limited
effectiveness as long-term management. A post hoc analysis of the TOPCARE (Transforming Opioid Prescribing in Primary
Care) study has identified reasons for opioid discontinuation and associated outcomes.
Issue 56 (2019)
This issue begins with a study demonstrating that anxiety, depression and their interaction all affected changes in pain disability at 1 year of follow-up in attendees of a multidisciplinary chronic LBP (low back pain) clinic. Other research included this issue found that intravenous lignocaine provided a similar degree of pain relief with fewer side effects compared with intravenous morphine when given to patients presenting at an ED with undifferentiated severe pain. Another paper reports on fremanezumab, a humanised monoclonal antibody that targets CGRP (calcitonin gene-related peptide), for treating migraine, nicely complementing a review on the role of CGRP in the pathophysiology of migraine. This issue concludes with research reporting that both sleep and fatigue impact on the success of multidisciplinary programmes for chronic pain.
Issue 55 (2019)
This issue begins with a retrospective analysis reporting decreased opioid use and increased successful extubation in the operating room when a multimodal analgesia protocol that enhances recovery after cardiac surgery was used. Other included research reports that mechanistic pain profiling was able to predict pain alleviation associated with NSAID plus paracetamol (acetaminophen) use for chronic knee OA (osteoarthritis). An internet-delivered exposure therapy programme for fibromyalgia was found to be cost effective with large societal cost savings. This issue concludes with an open-label study reporting on the real-world use of long-term onabotulinumtoxin A for managing chronic migraine.
Conference Review - APS 39th Annual Scientific Meeting (2019)
This review focuses on the 2019 APS (Australian Pain Society)
39th Annual Scientific Meeting, held at the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre in Queensland, in the IASP Global Year Against Pain in the Most Vulnerable. The meeting provided a programme that included mechanistic and clinical research spanning psychological, surgical, pharmaceutical, social and epidemiological domains. It provided attendees with the opportunity to learn from these sessions and also to meet and network with colleagues interested in pain management research.
From the wealth of presentations, ten have been selected for inclusion in this Conference Review, which we hope you will find interesting and informative.
Issue 54 (2019)
To begin the first issue for 2019, data from three RCTs of the humanised monoclonal antibody galcanezumab for treating episodic or chronic migraine have been analysed and reported, focussing on the impact of continued treatment among participants who did not achieve an optimal early response. This is followed by the presentation of ≤2-year data from an
Australian RCT of the internet-delivered pain management programme the Pain Course, which offers varying levels of clinician support. Betulinic acid, extracted from Hyptis emoryi (a desert lavender plant), has been studied and found to offer broadspectrum biological and medicinal properties that could have potential as a natural nonopioid treatment for chronic pain. This issue concludes with an analysis of US prescription drug monitoring programme data alerting physicians to escalating opioid
dosage patterns as an important indicator of increased mortality risk, particularly in patients with OUD (opioid use disorder).
SPEAKER SERIES The changing experience of cancer: Challenges, opportunities and the role of palliative medicine in cancer (2019)
In a recent seminar hosted in Sydney, Professor Ahmedzai from the UK discussed the paradigm shift from treating patients dying of cancer to people living with their disease. This summary of that presentation has been produced to enable those who could not attend to benefit from the valuable learning opportunities provided. These included: i) the changing landscape of cancer as a chronic disease for many patients, and the implications for palliative care delivery; ii) insights into the mechanisms of pain at all stages of the disease, including treatment-induced pain and focusing on practical approaches to tailoring care, including patient selection, initiation of targeted therapies and multimodal analgesia; iii) the role of opioids and considerations for special patient populations, including a practical approach to patient assessment, titration, rotation and screening of hepatic impairment; and iv) challenges and opportunities for the future positioning of palliative medicine in relation to oncology and interventional pain medicine.
Issue 53 (2018)
Research papers selected for this issue include the impact that legalising cannabis for medical use has had on opioid prescriptions/use in the US, an evaluation of composite responder outcomes of pain intensity and physical function in clinical trials of neuropathic pain, the use of a mobile app in the management of chronic musculoskeletal pain, guidelines regarding the use of onabotulinumtoxin A for chronic migraine, and the contributions of chronic pain among suicide decedents and of
opioids in depression among patients with chronic pain.
SPEAKER SERIES Treatment of chronic cancer pain: current evidence (2018)
This is a summary of a presentation by A/Prof Michael Franco, from Monash Health, Victoria, who spoke on the current evidence for treating chronic cancer pain as part of Breakfast Session 6 at the MOGA (Medical Oncology Group of Australia) 2018 Annual Scientific Meeting, which was held on Aug 1–3 in Adelaide. A/Prof Franco’s talk covered the WHO ladder for managing cancer pain, opioid switching/rotation, two specific opioids (TARGIN® tablets [modified release oxycodone/naloxone] and methadone) and novel techniques. This Breakfast Session was sponsored by Mundipharma, and we hope you find this summary enlightening.
Issue 52 (2018)
This issue contains research from the US VA (Veteran’s Affairs) healthcare system reporting on the success of integrating an interdisciplinary chronic pain care intervention into primary care. Other papers in the issue focus on this topic, looking at changes in pain intensity following discontinuation of long-term opioid therapy, and the value of ACT (acceptance and commitment therapy) in individuals at risk of chronic pain and opioid use following orthopaedic surgery.
Issue 51 (2018)
This issue begins with research in rats showing that postoperative pain was increased with a high-fat diet, particularly
in males, with some effects not depending on weight gain. Research from the US has explored associations between medical marijuana use and both medical and nonmedical prescription drug use. Another of the research papers selected for this issue found that the use of IV remifentanil PCA during labour reduced conversion to epidural analgesia by about half compared with IM pethidine (meperidine). The ability of psychological interventions delivered by physiotherapists to improve health outcomes is addressed in research concluding this issue.
SPEAKER SERIES How the management of breakthrough cancer pain is evolving (2018)
This review is a summary of a Menarini-sponsored educational meeting on BTcP presented by Dr Andrew Davies from the Royal Surrey County Hospital, United Kingdom. Dr Davies’ presentation included how supportive care fits in with palliative care, clinical features of BTcP, the Association of Palliative Medicine (APM) recommendations for the treatment of BTcP, the use of rapid onset opioids, and some of the ongoing controversies such as addiction and abuse.
CPD Credit: CPD participants may claim this under Knowledge and skills ‘Journal readings’ activity at 1 credit per hour.
ANZCA acknowledges the traditional custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present, and emerging.
ANZCA acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.