Merry, Alan, and Brookbanks, Warren. Merry and McCall Smith's Errors, Medicine and the Law. 2nd ed. 2017. Cambridge Bioethics and Law ; 38.Request a chapter from the Library
Yang H.Professionalism in anesthesia.Canadian Journal of Anesthesia/Journal Canadien d'Anesthésie. 2017 Feb 1;64(2):149-57.
Garden AL, Weller JM. Speaking up: does anaesthetist gender influence teamwork and collaboration? BJA 2017: 571-572
Wepa D. Cultural Safety in Aotearoa New Zealand. Second ed. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press; 2015. Request a chapter from the Library
Taylor K, Guerin P. Health Care and Indigenous Australians : Cultural Safety in Practice. Third ed. London: Red Globe Press; 2019. Request a chapter from the Library
Handbook for Culturally Competent Care
by
This concise, easy-to-read book tackles the potentially awkward subject of culture in a direct, non-intimidating style. It prepares all health professionals in any clinical setting to conduct thorough assessments of individual from culturally specific population groups, making it especially valuable in today's team-oriented healthcare environment. The book is suitable for healthcare workers in all fields, particularly nurses who interact with the patients 24 hours a day, every day of the week.
AR_PF 3.1-3.4
Chrimes N, Marshall SD. The illusion of informed consent. Anaesthesia. 2018 Jan;73(1):9-14.
Feinstein MM, Pannunzio AE, Lobell S, Kodish E. Informed consent in pediatric anesthesia: a narrative review. Anesthesia & Analgesia. 2018 Dec 1;127(6):1398-405.
Cyna AM, Simmons SW. Guidelines on informed consent in anaesthesia: unrealistic, unethical, untenable…. British Journal of Anaesthesia. 2017;119(6):1086-1089.
AR_PF 3.6
Gibbs, NM. Anaesthesia, not for resuscitation orders, and shared decision-making. Anaesth Intensive Care. 2017 May;45(3):289-290.
Ramachenderan J, Auret K. The challenge of perioperative advance care planning. Journal of pain and symptom management. 2019 Apr 25.
Harrison R, Lee H, Sharma A. A survey of the impact of patient adverse events and near misses on anaesthetists in Australia and New Zealand. Anaesthesia and intensive care. 2018 Sep;46(5):510-5.
Merry AF, Mitchell SJ. Complications of anaesthesia. Anaesthesia. 2018 Jan;73:7-11.
Supporting Professionalism and Performance: A Guide for Anaesthetists and Pain Medicine Physicians 2024
by
The guide aims to assist fellows and trainees by providing a framework for understanding professionalism and performance as it applies to the practice of anaesthesia and pain medicine. The structure mirrors the ANZCA and FPM roles in practice and builds from the curriculum frameworks of the anaesthesia and pain medicine training programs under each of these roles.
Anesthesia Student Survival Guide: A Case-Based Approach, 3e
by
This comprehensive update of the previous two successful editions covers both basic and advanced anesthesia topics. These include pharmacology, procedures, monitoring, equipment, subspecialty anesthesia, safety, professionalism, pain management, and more.
Clinical Ethics: A Practical Approach to Ethical Decisions in Clinical Medicine, 9e
by
This popular, clinically-oriented guide provides crystal-clear case-based coverage of the ethical situations encountered in everyday medical practice. Clinical Ethics introduces the proven Four Box Method--a much-needed pattern for collecting, sorting, and ordering the facts of a clinical ethical problem.
Clinical Ethics for Consultation Practice
by
This book provides a robust analysis of the history of clinical ethics the philosophical theories that support its practice, and the practical institutional criteria needed to become a practicing clinical ethicist. Featuring cases and a step-by-step approach, this book combines knowledge points associated with moral philosophy and medicine with general skill objectives for ethics consultants. The book aids in developing analytic moral reasoning skills for clinical ethicists, fostering the comprehensive education and professional development of clinical ethics consultants. In addition, it offers key components of how an ethics consultation curriculum manifest in an educational venue for clinical ethicists are illustrated. Adaptable and relevant for educating multiple disciplines in health care, this resource enables ethicists to understand the philosophical foundations and practical application of clinical ethics.
Clinical Ethics in Anesthesiology: A Case-Based Textbook
by
In this clinical ethics textbook, authors from across the USA, Canada and Europe draw on ethical principles and practical knowledge to provide a realistic understanding of ethical anaesthetic practice. The result is a compilation of expert opinion and international perspectives from clinical leaders in anaesthesiology. Building on real-life, case-based problems, each chapter is clinically focused and addresses both practical and theoretical issues.
Difficult Decisions in Surgical Ethics: An Evidence-Based Approach
by
This book provides a detailed guide to the ethical considerations involved when making decisions in surgery. Chapters feature a uniform format, which feature a case that represents a real-life problem, discussion of the medical indications of that issue, the latest available medical solutions, and related ethical considerations.
Ethical Issues in Anesthesiology and Surgery
by
Each chapter includes an ethical challenge presented as a clinical case scenario that readers may relate to in their daily practice of anesthesiology and surgery. The ethical issues surrounding each chapter's content are examined in an easily understandable manner for the specific target audience to improve the understanding and management of ethical dilemmas in patient care.
Ethics in Intensive Care Medicine
by
In this book, part of the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine (ESICM) textbook series, experts in the field of clinical ethics describe basic principles of clinical ethics and ethical reasoning, the fundamental pillars of intensive care medicine as well as the decision-making processes necessary to arrive at appropriate decisions for each individual patient. Specifically, the complex decision-making process, with regard to limiting life-sustaining therapies and integrating palliative care into intensive care, are expounded. Furthermore, the still controversial topics of ethical climate, proportionate care, and prioritization are elaborated upon.
Good Medical Practice: A Code of Conduct for Doctors in Australia
by
Good medical practice (the code) describes what is expected of all doctors registered to practise medicine in Australia. It sets out the principles that characterise good medical practice and makes explicit the standards of ethical and professional conduct expected of doctors by their professional peers and the community.
Good Medical Practice: Professionalism, Ethics and Law
by
The primary purpose of this book is to provide, in a single source, information that is central to the professional, ethical and legal requirements of being a doctor. It covers a core curriculum for medical students, doctors in training and international medical graduates coming to work in Australia. It will also serve as a reference book for doctors in independent clinical practice and as a guide to medical regulators and lawyers, doctors, and community members who serve on performance and conduct panels and tribunals.
Medical Ethics
by
Describes the gradual steps in the development of medical ethics in many parts of the world. Looks back over more than 4000 years as ethics developed. Compares attitudes to modern discoveries that have themselves posed – and are posing - ethical questions.
Medical Ethics in Clinical Practice
by
This book discusses medicine from an ethical perspective, whereas books on medical ethics more commonly present ethics from a bio-medical standpoint. The introductory chapters present some basic concepts of medical ethics, such as the relation between the legal system and ethics, ethical documents, ethical theories, and ethical analysis. The following chapters address issues of importance in all fields of medicine: respecting autonomy, communication, relations within a healthcare team, professional malpractice, limited resources, and the portrait of a physician. In turn, the third part of the book focuses on ethical aspects in a broad range of medical activities - preventive medicine, human reproduction, genetics, pediatrics, intensive care, palliative medicine, clinical research, unproven methods in diagnostics and treatment, and the role of physicians who aren't directly responsible for patient care. The last part presents students' seminars with case stories. The book offers a valuable resource for physicians of all specialties, students of medicine, professionals, and students from other fields devoted to human health, journalists, and general readers with an interest in medicine.
Pain, Drugs, and Ethics
by
This book delves into the challenge to balancing the safe, compassionate, and effective treatment of chronic pain against serious negative outcomes associated with the increased abuse and misuse of these medications, and offers the context of professionalism and ethics taught to most healthcare professionals today, and describes how these principles can help to maximize safety, efficacy, and compassionate pain care, regardless of the direction the “opioid pendulum” is swinging. A framework is provided for clinicians to rely on best practices in managing acute, subacute, and chronic pain. The goal is to help clinicians provide patients with pain the most reliable, contextual, and ethical pain care possible.
Professionalism in Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Pain Medicine
by
Teaching Professional Attitudes and Basic Clinical Skills to Medical Students: A Practical Guide
by
First of its kind, concise, easy to read resource. Written by an accomplished clinical teacher. Covers full range of topics related to teaching ideal attitudes and basic clinical skills.
Understanding Medical Professionalism
by
A groundbreaking text on how to deliver the highest quality patient care through professionalism in daily medical practice.
Quick links
About ANZCA
Connect with us
ANZCA
FPM
Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.
Library
