A number of resources are available via Learn@ANZCA to:
The material includes self-paced e-learning modules as well as further reading and resources, which cover critical appraisal, clinical audit and learning and teaching.
Sections include:
These resources can be accessed via Learn@ANZCA (college ID and password required)
FPM trainee support resources > Scholar role - learning resources guides (college ID and password required)
An in-depth introduction to literature searching. After completing this Scholar Role Support Resources module, participants will have sufficient knowledge to:
This module can be accessed via Learn@ANZCA (college ID and password required): Modules >Critical appraisal module 6 > Literature searching
The library has also developed a guide to help users conduct their own literature searches on specific topics, using specialised resources (including those available via the ANZCA library).
ANZCA Scholar Role Subcommittee Statement:
If the local Department Scholar Role Tutor (DSRT) considers that the contribution of the trainee to a collaborative audit or research project meets the requirements for completion of the audit activity, then this SRA may be completed.
If the contribution by the trainee is not considered by the DSRT to meet criteria for the audit, then the contribution may be assessed by the DSRT (or representative) for completion of the CAP or CAT activity (for example, if an extensive literature review had been completed on the topic by the trainee).
If the audit or research leads to publication in a peer reviewed journal then the contribution of the trainee to that publication may be assessed by the SRSC as suitable for exemption for the CAP +/- CAT activities.
The trainee may appeal to the SRSC by way of a written submission. The one project cannot be used to complete both the CAP/CAT activity and the audit activity.
Roles in Practice: Scholar role library guide
Cook DA, Bordage G.Twelve tips on writing abstracts and titles: how to get people to use and cite your work. Med Teach. 2016:1-5.
Hautz SC, Hautz WE, Feufel MA, Spies CD.What makes a doctor a scholar: A systematic review and content analysis of outcome frameworks. BMC Med Educ. 2016;16(1):119.
Huria T, Palmer S, Beckert L, Lacey C, Pitama S. Indigenous health: designing a clinical orientation program valued by learners. BMC Med Educ. 2017;17(1): p.180.
Want to learn more about Scholar Role training? Check out the ANZCA Scholar Role Training page.Learn@ANZCA resources
Scholar role support resources
FPM trainee support resources > Scholar role - learning resources guides
Anaesthesia trainee toolkit
Scholar role activities - Evaluation forms and Guidelines [college website]
AMA Manual of Style by
For decades indispensable, the AMA Manual of Style continues to provide editorial support to the medical and scientific publishing community. Since the 1998 publication of the 9th edition, however, the world of medical publishing has rapidly modernized, and the intersection of research and publishing has become ever more complex.
Basic & Clinical Biostatistics, 5e by
A Doody's Core Title for 2020! Basic & Clinical Biostatistics provides medical students, researchers, and practitioners with the knowledge needed to develop sound judgment about data applicable to clinical care. This fifth edition has been updated throughout to deliver a comprehensive, timely introduction to biostatistics and epidemiology as applied to medicine, clinical practice, and research. Particular emphasis is on study design and interpretation of results of research.
Effective Writing for Health Professionals: A Practical Guide to Getting Published by
A guide to academic and professional writing and publishing for health, nursing and midwifery professionals from an internationally recognised author and nurse.
How to Display Data by
This new addition to the popular "How to" series explains how to present data in journal articles, grant applications or research presentations clearly, accurately and logically, increasing the chances of successful publication.
How to Read a Paper: The Basics of Evidence-Based Medicine, 4e by
Everyone seeks to avoid getting into a lawsuit, but what do you do if this does happen? Getting sued for medical malpractice is one of the most traumatic events of a physician's career. This text will guide doctors and physicians through the process from the moment they receive a summons until the after-trial appeal process. It contains valuable information that physicians need to know to prevent making critical mistakes that can hurt their case. It comes with strategies explained to maximize their chances of a defendant's verdict. It includes vital information on how to change your attorney, act at the deposition and dress for court, and navigate through what is a mysterious and terrifying process in non-legalese language that is easy to understand including, what makes patients angry, strategies for coping, sample questions and tips on answering them, and what happens in court and how to continue if there is a bad outcome.
How to Write a Paper, 3e by
This writing guide covers topics such as the structure of a scientific paper, introductions, methods, results, discussions, titles, how to write a letter, the role of the editor, how to write an abstract for a scientific meeting, and the role of the manuscript successor.
How to write better medical papers by
This book guides medical researchers through all stages of transforming their data and ideas into a published paper. Many researchers in medicine struggle to get their research written and published. One reason for this is that most medical researchers have not received much instruction in the subjects needed to write and publish scientific papers: research methodology, ethics, statistics, data visualization, writing, revising, and the practicalities of publishing. This book tackles all the major scientific issues that routinely lead to manuscripts getting rejected from the journals. The section “Preparing” covers the range of methodological, ethical, and practical aspects that researchers need to address before starting to write their paper. The section “Analyzing” reviews commonplace problems in the statistical analysis and presentation, and how to resolve those problems. The section “Drafting” describes what to write in the various parts of a paper (the Introduction, Methods, Results, Discussion, Abstract, etc.) The section “Revising” explains and illustrates how to improve the writing style of any manuscript. The section “Publishing” discusses how to navigate the peer review process and all other practical aspects of the publishing phase. The entire book draws on the author’s decade of experience as an independent medical writer and research consultant. More importantly, the book is grounded in the existing scientific and scholarly literature, with extensive references and an annotated bibliography. After reading this book, medical researchers will know how to write better quality medical papers, so they can publish their work in better journals with less time and struggle.
Making Sense of Critical Appraisal by
Making Sense of Critical Appraisal provides all the necessary information on how to read and understand medical research publications critically and to decide whether the contents of such publications are clinically useful in the care of patients. Illustrated throughout with medically relevant examples, this text covers all aspects of study design and clinical audit to give a clear framework for critical reading.
Medical Statistics by
Presents an introduction and revision aid for undergraduate medical students and those wanting a straightforward introduction to the subject of medical statistics. This book features worked examples on various topics, with emphasis on computer analysis of data. It includes topics on Rates and Poisson regression and Generalised linear models.
Medical Statistics: For Beginners by
This book deals with statistics in medicine in a simple way. The text is supported by abundant examples from medical data. This book aims to explain and simplify the process of data presentation. Further aspects addressed include how to design and conduct clinical trials, and how to write journal articles.
Medical Statistics from Scratch: An Introduction for Health Professionals, 2e by
This long awaited second edition of this bestseller continues to provide a comprehensive, user friendly, down-to-earth guide to elementary statistics. The book presents;a detailed account of the most important procedures for the analysis of data, from the calculation of simple proportions, to a variety of statistical tests, and the use of regression models for modeling of clinical outcomes.
Originality, Imitation, and Plagiarism: Teaching Writing in the Digital Age by
Somewhat ironically, the Internet makes it both easier to copy and easier to detect copying. This volume includes essays that explore the complex issues of originality, imitation, and plagiarism, especially as they concern students and scholars.
Primer of Biostatistics, 7e by
With Primer of Biostatistics, you'll start with the basics, including analysis of variance and the t test, then advance to multiple comparison testing, contingency tables, regression, and more. Illustrative examples and challenging problems, culled from the recent biomedical literature, highlight the discussions throughout and help to foster a more intuitive approach to biostatistics. Review questions and summaries in each chapter facilitate the learning process and help you gauge your comprehension. By combining whimsical studies of Martians and other planetary residents with actual papers from the biomedical literature, the author makes the subject fun and enjoyable.
Statistical Methods for Anaesthesia and Intensive Care by
Statistics is traditionally perceived to be a difficult topic, however, it is essential for the trainee to develop a basic understanding of its fundamental principles. This book is designed to help the reader systematically learn the basics, using real examples from anaesthetic and intensive care literature to illustrate the principles discussed and relate them to practice.
Writing for Health Professionals: A Manual for Writers, 2e by
In its second edition this volume has been expanded to include many more examples of good writing practice and examples of what others have said about writing. The new design reflects these changes. The chapter on computing and software has also been updated.
The college acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present and emerging.
The college acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Te Tiriti o Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
The college recognises the special relationship between the Pacific peoples of New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific, and is committed to supporting those fellows and trainees of ANZCA, and improving the health of Pacific peoples.
Library
