Library resource guides: ANZCA Educators Program (AEP): Overview

Redesigned ANZCA Educators Program - Overview

The ANZCA Educators Program (AEP) is a practical course designed to equip participants with the knowledge and skills to be competent clinical teachers. It is open to ANZCA fellows, specialist international medical graduates, provisional fellows and trainees (BT onwards), and to FPM fellows and trainees. A review of the AEP has been completed led by the ANZCA Educators Sub-Committee, with extensive input from AEP Facilitators and external experts. The Redesigned ANZCA Educators Program has been launched and now consists of:

Five core modules over 1.5 days to complete the course (previously eight modules over 2.5 days)
A new course handbook that also functions as an enduring reference for participants

Learning outcomes for the revised course are based on the progression indicators in Tier One (Knowing and Doing) of the recently-launched ANZCA Educator Competency Framework. This is the foundational level of competency, applicable to all ANZCA and FPM fellows in their role as clinical teachers.

The following Learning Outcomes underpin the content (interweaved throughout the modules):

Establish positive working relationships and communicate effectively with learners
Promote a culture that emphasises equity and social justice, and is free from discrimination, bullying, and harassment
Recognise the influence of unconscious bias on teaching, learning, and assessment
Recognise the influence and importance of role-modelling in the educator role

Additionally, trainees are able to gain credits towards the “teach a skill” and “facilitate a group discussion/running a tutorial” activities (Scholar Role Activities).

Visit the AEP page on the ANZCA website for information on upcoming courses. If you are interested in becoming an AEP Facilitator, email us at aep@anzca.edu.au

Module 1: Planning Effective Teaching and Learning (PETL)

Describe the principles of adult learning relevant to medical education
Create a supportive and psychologically safe educational environment**
Outline an approach to performing a needs assessment
Write a SMART learning objective
Develop a teaching plan for a teaching and learning session

**New learning outcome

Module 2: Facilitating Learning in Clinical Settings 1 (FLICS1)

Identify specific characteristics of teaching and learning in the clinical setting
Evaluate the use of deliberate teaching tools in the clinical setting* • Plan a session to facilitate learning of a practical skill
Demonstrate key concepts to facilitate learning of a practical skill
Adapt teaching and learning approaches to a variety of clinical settings*

*Significantly modified learning outcome

Module 3: Facilitating Learning in Clinical Settings 2 (FLICS2)

Describe models for feedback conversations*
Conduct an effective feedback conversation*
Outline the factors required to provide effective clinical supervision
Articulate appropriate levels of supervision for various clinical scenarios*

*Significantly modified learning outcome

Module 4: Teaching in Non-Clinical Settings (TINCS)

Evaluate the utility of different non-clinical settings to facilitate teaching and learning*
Outline approaches for facilitating a small-group discussion*
Incorporate techniques to promote interactive teaching and learning in small groups*
Outline approaches for managing the 'different' participant behaviours that can impact on learning*

*Significantly modified learning outcome

Module 5: Assessment and Evaluation in Medical Education (AEME)

Describe the key concepts in assessment
Describe different assessment instruments and their role in facilitating learning, with a focus on WBAs*
Outline methods to evaluate a teaching encounter**
Outline approaches to seek feedback and reflect on own teaching practice**

*Significantly modified learning outcome
**New learning outcome

Additional concepts in medical education (included in handbook)

Recognise the importance of professionalism, leadership, and teamwork in medical education**
Recognise the basic principles of coaching, mentoring, and professional development**
Demonstrate awareness of fair and equitable selection processes for learners**
Identify and support learners experiencing difficulty**
Recognise different approaches to producing new knowledge in medical education research, including quantitative and qualitative approaches**
Describe the principles of critical appraisal and peer-review**
Identify the standards set by statutory and other regulatory bodies in provision and quality assurance of medical education**

**New learning outcome

Medical Education Spotlight

Problems and Pitfalls in Medical Literature: A Practical Guide for Clinicians by Adam L. Cohen This book aims to teach the skills for assessing the quality of a medical article. It focuses on problems and pitfalls that may interfere with the validity of an article so that readers know what problems to look for and how to tell if an article has successfully addressed them. It focuses on concepts rather than formulas. In each chapter, one article will be analyzed to illustrate a particular concept, demonstrating when to look for that pitfall, how to recognize it, what effect it would have on results, and how to tell if an author has successfully mitigated the pitfall. Written with clarity and precision, this invaluable resource ensures that readers develop a deep understanding of the critical elements that underpin the quality of medical literature. Each chapter presents a specific concept and employs a practical approach, utilizing the analysis of a real-world medical article to illustrate the concept in action. By dissecting the research, readers learn to identify common pitfalls, recognize their influence on the results, and determine whether the author has effectively addressed them. By exploring topics such as research methodology, bias detection, and result interpretation, Problems and Pitfalls in Medical Literature empowers readers to go beyond a superficial understanding of articles and critically evaluate their reliability and relevance.
ISBN: 9783031402951
Publication Date: 2023-09-27
Preparing Learners for Uncertainty in Health Professions: A Handbook for Educators by Michelle D. Lazarus, Georgina C. Stephens [eds] This book serves to fill a critical gap in existing healthcare education resources, by raising healthcare professional and healthcare educators’ awareness of uncertainty tolerance. This handbook explores the impact health professions education (and educators) can have on the future healthcare workforce’s ability to manage uncertainty effectively, and provides practical approaches (including exemplar curricular templates) for supporting this essential workplace-ready, transferable attribute.
Publication Date: 2024
The First Year: What You Should Know After a Year of Anaesthesia Training (Revised Edition) by Rathie, Lachlan Recommended This book is not an exam primer nor is it a comprehensive textbook of anaesthesia. This is the book you give to the trainee specialist who is about to embark on their anaesthesia training. It contains the information they need to formulate and develop a safe practice of anaesthesia. This book lucidly describes and justifies the core knowledge, behaviours and practical skills that a junior trainee would be expected to possess after a year of anaesthesia. Written specifically for Australasian specialist anaesthetic trainees and those doing the Rural Generalist Anaesthesia (RGA) training course, this book fills the gaping hole in the existing anaesthetic literature. The curriculum for the Introductory Training period and the RGA is comprehensively addressed in this book.
Call Number: >> REQUEST PRINT LOAN <<
Publication Date: 17 February 2023

Tolentino R, Baradaran A, Gore G, Pluye P, Abbasgholizadeh-Rahimi S. Curriculum Frameworks and Educational Programs in AI for Medical Students, Residents, and Practicing Physicians: Scoping Review. JMIR Med Educ. 2024;10:e54793. Keywords: artificial intelligence; curriculum; framework; machine learning; medical education; review.
more...less...
Abstract
Background: The successful integration of artificial intelligence (AI) into clinical practice is contingent upon physicians' comprehension of AI principles and its applications. Therefore, it is essential for medical education curricula to incorporate AI topics and concepts, providing future physicians with the foundational knowledge and skills needed. However, there is a knowledge gap in the current understanding and availability of structured AI curriculum frameworks tailored for medical education, which serve as vital guides for instructing and facilitating the learning process.

Objective: The overall aim of this study is to synthesize knowledge from the literature on curriculum frameworks and current educational programs that focus on the teaching and learning of AI for medical students, residents, and practicing physicians.

Methods: We followed a validated framework and the Joanna Briggs Institute methodological guidance for scoping reviews. An information specialist performed a comprehensive search from 2000 to May 2023 in the following bibliographic databases: MEDLINE (Ovid), Embase (Ovid), CENTRAL (Cochrane Library), CINAHL (EBSCOhost), and Scopus as well as the gray literature. Papers were limited to English and French languages. This review included papers that describe curriculum frameworks for teaching and learning AI in medicine, irrespective of country. All types of papers and study designs were included, except conference abstracts and protocols. Two reviewers independently screened the titles and abstracts, read the full texts, and extracted data using a validated data extraction form. Disagreements were resolved by consensus, and if this was not possible, the opinion of a third reviewer was sought. We adhered to the PRISMA-ScR (Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses extension for Scoping Reviews) checklist for reporting the results.

Results: Of the 5104 papers screened, 21 papers relevant to our eligibility criteria were identified. In total, 90% (19/21) of the papers altogether described 30 current or previously offered educational programs, and 10% (2/21) of the papers described elements of a curriculum framework. One framework describes a general approach to integrating AI curricula throughout the medical learning continuum and another describes a core curriculum for AI in ophthalmology. No papers described a theory, pedagogy, or framework that guided the educational programs.

Conclusions: This review synthesizes recent advancements in AI curriculum frameworks and educational programs within the domain of medical education. To build on this foundation, future researchers are encouraged to engage in a multidisciplinary approach to curriculum redesign. In addition, it is encouraged to initiate dialogues on the integration of AI into medical curriculum planning and to investigate the development, deployment, and appraisal of these innovative educational programs.
Wynn SN, Solanki P, Millington J, et al. LGBTQIA health in medical education: a national survey of Australian medical students. BMC Med Educ. 2024;24(1):733. Keywords: Gender; Health education; LGBTQIA; Medical curriculum; Queer; Sexuality.
more...less...
Abstract
Purpose: Lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, intersex and asexual (LGBTQIA) individuals experience poorer health outcomes than other individuals. Insufficient LGBTQIA health education of doctors in existing medical curricula contributes to these outcomes. We sought to explore medical students' experiences of content coverage and mode of delivery, as well as their preparedness, attitudes and learning needs regarding LGBTQIA health education in Australia.

Methods: Using a conceptual framework specific to curricular development, we adapted a previous cross-sectional national survey. This included 28 questions (analysed statistically) and 5 free text responses (analysed deductively using Braun and Clarke's thematic analysis framework). Data was compared between LGBTQIA and non-LGBTQIA respondents, and clinical and preclinical students.

Results: There were 913 participants from 21 of 23 medical schools, with most preclinical (55%) and clinical (89%) students reporting no teaching specific to LGBTQIA health. Reported content coverage was highest for sexual history taking (30%), and especially low for transgender and intersex health (< 16%), and intersectional LGBTQIA health (< 7%). Participants had positive attitudes towards LGBTQIA health, with 89% agreeing LGBTQIA topics were important and need to be covered in detail. Students desired longitudinal integration of LGBTQIA content, and LGBTQIA community involvement and case-based teaching that allows for interaction and questions. Self-perceived competency was low in all LGBTQIA health topics, although LGBTQIA participants reported higher preparedness than non-LGBTQIA participants.

Conclusions: Majority of survey participants reported limited teaching of LGBTQIA health-specific content, highlighting the limited coverage of LGBTQIA health in Australian medical schools. Participants expressed positive attitudes towards LGBTQIA content and broadly agreed with statements supporting increased integration of LGBTQIA health content within medical curricula.
Moldt JA, Festl-Wietek T, Fuhl W, et al. Assessing AI Awareness and Identifying Essential Competencies: Insights From Key Stakeholders in Integrating AI Into Medical Education. JMIR Med Educ. 2024;10:e58355. Keywords: qualitative analysis; AI in medicine; artificial intelligence; medical education; medical students; needs assessment; qualitative approach.
more...less...
Abstract
Background: The increasing importance of artificial intelligence (AI) in health care has generated a growing need for health care professionals to possess a comprehensive understanding of AI technologies, requiring an adaptation in medical education.

Objective: This paper explores stakeholder perceptions and expectations regarding AI in medicine and examines their potential impact on the medical curriculum. This study project aims to assess the AI experiences and awareness of different stakeholders and identify essential AI-related topics in medical education to define necessary competencies for students.

Methods: The empirical data were collected as part of the TüKITZMed project between August 2022 and March 2023, using a semistructured qualitative interview. These interviews were administered to a diverse group of stakeholders to explore their experiences and perspectives of AI in medicine. A qualitative content analysis of the collected data was conducted using MAXQDA software.

Results: Semistructured interviews were conducted with 38 participants (6 lecturers, 9 clinicians, 10 students, 6 AI experts, and 7 institutional stakeholders). The qualitative content analysis revealed 6 primary categories with a total of 24 subcategories to answer the research questions. The evaluation of the stakeholders' statements revealed several commonalities and differences regarding their understanding of AI. Crucial identified AI themes based on the main categories were as follows: possible curriculum contents, skills, and competencies; programming skills; curriculum scope; and curriculum structure.

Conclusions: The analysis emphasizes integrating AI into medical curricula to ensure students' proficiency in clinical applications. Standardized AI comprehension is crucial for defining and teaching relevant content. Considering diverse perspectives in implementation is essential to comprehensively define AI in the medical context, addressing gaps and facilitating effective solutions for future AI use in medical studies. The results provide insights into potential curriculum content and structure, including aspects of AI in medicine.

Can't find it? See our SOT support hub.

Looking for the latest medical education resources? Check out our Medical Education guide.

Learn@ANZCA

Learn@ANZCA (formerly Networks) is the college's learning management system.

ANZCA educators program The AEP has been developed as a practical teaching course to support all clinicians who have a teaching role and particularly those who work with trainees, including supervisors, fellows and senior trainees. The course will prepare you with the appropriate knowledge and skills in educational principles to facilitate learning and teach with results in the anaesthetic and pain medicine environment.
FPM: Better Pain Management The Better Pain Management program has been designed for those engaged in the care of patients with persistent pain. FPM trainees may find these modules to be a useful resource for consolidating their learning. ANZCA Fellows and trainees may also find this program to be helpful in extending an interest in pain topics.
Supervisor of training induction course This course is designed to be an interactive guide for new supervisors of training orientating themselves to the role. These modules explore key functions and responsibilities of an SOT including conducting effective workplace based assessments, navigating pathways for supporting trainees as well as guidance on what to do in situations around bullying, discrimination and sexual harassment.
Fundamentals of feedback Comprised of seven e-learning modules - including an introductory module - designed to up-skill and support you to have effective feedback conversations in all aspects of your daily practice, the Fundamentals of Feedback course is designed to introduce you to a conversational framework that may be applied to feedback conversations, both clinical and simulated settings.

Related courses

ANZCA Educators Program (AEP)
This is an interactive five module course, delivered over 1.5 days, designed to equip anaesthetists and faculty of pain medicine specialists with the knowledge and skills to be competent clinical teachers.
FPM: Better Pain Management Program
The FPM Better Pain Management program has been designed for specialist and general medical practitioners, medical students, nurses and allied health practitioners engaged in the care of patients with persistent pain.

Talk to us

We rely on your feedback to further develop and support the ANZCA library. Use the link below to provide content suggestions, as well as to make recommendations, report issues, and to give general feedback.

Library feedback form

It is now possible to chat direct with library staff using our new chat service.

ANZCA LibChat - Chat with a Librarian