Library resource guides: ENT, head &amp; neck: Overview

Spotlight

Infection Control in the Dental Office in the Era of COVID-19 by Robert Windsor; Nisha Ganesh; Louis G. DePaola [eds] This book discusses the treatment of dental patients in the post-COVID pandemic years and the required compliance with recommended infection control practices to ensure the safe delivery of oral health care. Readers will find guidance on the reduction of aerosol in the dental office, information on vaccines, vaccinations and the re-emergence of vaccine preventable diseases. Infection control during implant placement, oral surgical procedures, N2O administration and IV sedation is explained. In addition to SARS-CoV-2, the book provides information on other emerging respiratory diseases such as Influenza, Respiratory Syncytial Virus (RSV) and the emergence of Vaccine Preventable Diseases (Measles, Mumps, Rubella, Polio, HPV) that present significant risk of transmission if proper infection control practices are not followed.
ISBN: 9783031646102
Publication Date: 2024-10-15
Pearls and Pitfalls in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery by Dina Amin; Hisham Marwan [eds] This is the first book of its kind in the field of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery. It comprehensively reviews the most performed surgical procedures, including basic and/ or advanced techniques for dentoalveolar surgery, craniomaxillofacial trauma, temporomandibular joint surgery, benign and malignant pathology, head and neck reconstruction, craniofacial deformities, facial cosmetics, and obstructive sleep apnoea. Furthermore, the book discusses pearls and pitfalls for adult and paediatric office-based sedation. The authors present a step-by-step approach to the surgical techniques efficiently while avoiding complications.
ISBN: 9783031473067
Publication Date: 2024-05-18
Midazolam in Pediatric Dentistry by Ashwin Rao; Shweta Tiwari This book is a comprehensive guide for dentists on the practical use of midazolam in Pediatric Dentistry. It discusses predictable ways to achieve minimal/moderate sedation with midazolam. Midazolam is one of the most effective anxiolytic drugs and the sedative of choice in paediatric patients, especially for those of a certain age, extreme anxiety, and an inability to comprehend instructions. This book covers various aspects of midazolam sedation including pre-operative assessment, case selection, different routes of administration, intraoperative protocol, emergency management and meticulous documentation. It explains the importance of its conjunction with sound fundamentals of non-pharmacological behaviour guidance and good local anaesthetic techniques. Readers will learn how the rapid absorption, onset of action and fast metabolism makes midazolam an ideal short acting agent for dental procedures in children and a valuable asset in the child management armamentarium of dentists treating children.
ISBN: 9783031451461
Publication Date: 2024-04-09
Anesthesia for Dental and Oral Maxillofacial Surgery by Spencer D. Wade; Caroline M. Sawicki; Megann K. Smiley; Michael A. Cuddy; Steven Vukas; Paul J. Schwartz Anesthesia for Dental and Oral Maxillofacial Surgery A comprehensive reference to anesthesia for dental, oral, and maxillofacial surgery Anesthesia for Dental and Oral Maxillofacial Surgery offers a comprehensive yet practical approach to anesthesiology for dentist anesthesiologists, oral and maxillofacial surgeons, and anesthesia providers in a dental environment. Taking a concise bulleted approach for fast access to information, the book covers all topics relevant to providing perioperative anesthetic management for the head and neck region. Coverage ranges from equipment, anatomy, physiology, and pharmacology to anesthetizing patients with specific conditions and for specific procedures. Designed for ease of use, the book makes it easy to find information relevant to cases ranging from common to rare. Anesthesia for Dental and Oral Maxillofacial Surgery readers will also find: Images throughout to facilitate key points A bulleted approach for easy reference A practical, accessible style, making it easy to find information at point of care Detailed coverage of preoperative aspects, pharmacology, key equipment, and more Anesthesia for Dental and Oral Maxillofacial Surgery provides anesthesia providers with all the information they need to confidently manage any case.
ISBN: 9781394164899
Publication Date: 2024-05-14

Lim A, Lennie Y, Keon-Cohen Z. Ophthalmic regional anaesthesia: ANZCA survey of practice in Australia and New Zealand. Br J Anaesth. 2025 Mar;134(3):853-855. Keywords: anaesthesia; cataract surgery; ophthalmic anaesthesia; regional anaesthesia; topical anaesthesia.
Wegner GRM, Wegner BFM, Silva LS, Arias JA. Peri-operative dexmedetomidine and emergence agitation in adults undergoing nasal surgery: A systematic review and meta-analysis. Eur J Anaesthesiol. Epub March 7, 2025.
more...less...
Abstract
Background: There is a high risk of emergence agitation associated with nasal surgery.

Objective: We aimed to assess the effect of dexmedetomidine on the incidence of emergence agitation during anaesthetic recovery in patients undergoing nasal surgeries under general anaesthesia.

Design: A systematic review and meta-analysis of randomised controlled trials.

Data sources: A systematic search was conducted in Embase, Web of Science (all databases), Cochrane Library and PubMed up to 20 June 2024, following the recommendations of the Cochrane Handbook and the PRISMA statement.

Eligibility criteria: Adult patients undergoing nasal surgeries under general anaesthesia (P), peri-operative dexmedetomidine use (I), placebo (C) and emergence agitation assessment (O).

Results: Nine randomised controlled trials with a total of 620 patients were included in the analysis. The incidence of emergence agitation with the use of dexmedetomidine was significantly lower than with placebo (relative risk (RR) = 0.31, 95% CI 0.19 to 0.49, P < 0.0001, I2 = 63%, GRADE: moderate). No significant difference was found in the incidence of severe emergence agitation (RR = 0.5, 95% CI 0.24 to 1.02, P = 0.0552, I2 = 0%, GRADE: Very low). A trial sequential analysis (TSA) was conducted to assess the reliability of the findings, with parameters set at a type 1 error (α) of 5% and a power (1-β) of 80%. TSA confirmed the result for emergence agitation, but did not reach required information size for severe emergence agitation. Both assessment results were consistent and not dependent on any single study, as shown by the leave-one-out sensitivity analysis.

Conclusions: The use of dexmedetomidine significantly reduces the incidence of emergence agitation in patients undergoing nasal surgeries under general anaesthesia.

Got big ideas for this ANZCA resource guide? Why not become our advocate? Highlight valuable resources for college fellows and trainees while earning CPD hours!

Feedback Contact ANZCA Library for more info: library@anzca.edu.au

AudioDigest Spotlight

Users must register prior to listening.

ENT AudioDigest Links

Care of the Child with Congenital Heart Disease for Dental Anesthesia (7 Jun 2024)
The goal of this program is to improve the management of dental anesthesia in children with congenital heart disease (CHD).
The Growing Practice of Dental Anesthesiology and Safety (28 Apr 2022)
This program is to improve dental anaesthesiology in children, includes differentiating the roles of oral surgeons, dentists, anaesthesiologists, and various dental paraprofessional positions.
Pro/Con Debate: Does Nitrous Oxide Still Have a Role in Anesthesia? (14 Feb 2021)
This program is to improve the use nitrous oxide in anesthesia, and examines the various clinical uses of nitrous oxide in anaesthesia.

Talk to us

We rely on your feedback to further develop and support the ANZCA library. Use the link below to provide content suggestions, as well as to make recommendations, report issues, and to give general feedback.

Library feedback form