This page contains database recommendations for performing literature searches, as well as saving your search results. For a full list of available databases and collections, see the databases & collections guide.
Related guides
How to access e-resources
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser, and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Webmaster (technical issues)" via the college contact form
Want to learn more about SSO/MFA at ANZCA? See Protecting your data for more information, including instructions on how to set up MFA/SSO.
Experiencing difficulties, or need help? Contact the Library
Ovid MEDLINE is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) and covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published worldwide.
See the dedicatedOvid MEDLINElibrary guidefor more information
PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Access Note: Click on the ANZCA logo in PubMed to link direct to the full-text article.
See the dedicated PubMed library guide for more information
Informit Health Collection covers more than 190 titles from Australasia (including ANZCA publications), including peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, conference papers and e-books. Coverage includes evidence-based healthcare extending to all nursing specialties and professions.
Note: Citation-access only.
ERIC is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about Cochrane groups. Excellent source for systematic reviews.
ANZCA Library discovery service
Search the books, e-books, journals, e-journals and articles available via the ANZCA library.
See the Library Help page for more information
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
See the dedicated Google Scholar library guide for more information
Database syntax for searching
Flinders University library have produced a database syntax guide to assist with the searching of most major databases.
Therapeutic Guidelines is a leading source of accurate, independent and practical treatment advice for a wide range of clinical conditions. It includes explicit instructions for therapy, assisting practitioners in making decisions to ensure their patients receive optimum treatment.
Trip Database (Pro) is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
See the dedicatedTrip Database (Pro)library guidefor more information
ClinicalKey Clinical Overviews: Succinct, clinical answers for clinicians at the point of care.
ClinicalKey Guidelines: Full-text practice guidelines from journals, links to full-text guidelines from professional and government agencies (including Australian and New Zealand), and summaries from the US National Guideline Clearinghouse.
ClinicalKey Procedure Videos is an online procedure reference tool that offers access to complete details on how to prepare for, perform and follow up on the most common procedures required in hospital settings. Each procedure includes ICD9 codes, procedural videos, step-by-step guidelines, and clinical pearls
Health Systems Evidence is a comprehensive, free access point for evidence to support policy makers, stakeholders and researchers interested in how to strengthen or reform health systems or in how to get cost-effective programs, services and drugs to those who need them.
Europe PMC is a repository, providing access to worldwide life sciences articles, books, patents and clinical guidelines. Europe PMC provides links to relevant records in databases such as Uniprot, European Nucleotide Archive (ENA), Protein Data Bank Europe (PDBE) and BioStudies.
The college acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present and emerging.
The college acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Te Tiriti o Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
The college recognises the special relationship between the Pacific peoples of New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific, and is committed to supporting those fellows and trainees of ANZCA, and improving the health of Pacific peoples.
Library
