Library resource guides: Paediatric anaesthesia: Online lectures

AudioDigest Spotlight

Users must register prior to listening.

Management of Perioperative Blood Glucose in Children (14 Oct 2024)
The goal of this program is to improve the management of hypoglycemia and hyperglycemia in pediatric patients during the perioperative period.
Care of the Child with Congenital Heart Disease for Dental Anesthesia (7 Jun 2024)
The goal of this program is to improve the management of dental anesthesia in children with congenital heart disease (CHD).
Cognitive Aid Solutions for Use During a Pediatric Crisis (7 May 2024)
The goal of this program is to improve patient outcomes through use of cognitive aids in paediatric emergencies. Includes: Compare the Pedi Crisis 2.0 app with SafeLocal; strengths of the Pedi Stat app in paediatric emergencies.
The Most Influential Recent Pediatric Anesthesia Manuscripts (7 Apr 2024)
The goal of this program is to improve preoperative fasting in children and optimize the use of anesthesia to reduce environmental pollution.
Regional Anesthesia for Forearm Fracture Reduction in the Pediatric Emergency Department (7 Apr 2024)
The goal of this program is to improve the use of regional anesthesia in children by using regional anesthesia as a potential alternative to pediatric procedural sedation.
Pediatric Anesthesia (7 March 2024)
The goal of this program is to evaluate the results of recent studies assessing the neurodevelopmental effects of anesthesia in young children and the validity of current nil per os guidelines.
Cardiac Concerns in Children (21 February 2024)
The goal of this program is to improve administration of procedural sedation in children with congenital heart disease (CHD), including differentiating between acyanotic and cyanotic heart disease, and optimising use of dexmedetomidine in combination with a local anaesthetic.
Common Pediatric Pitfalls (21 January 2024)
The goal of this program is to improve management of common issues in paediatric anaesthesiology, including distinguishing nervous system response to stress and recognising risk factors for emergence delirium.
Sedation of Children with Chronic Illness (28 December 2023)
The goal of this program is to improve sedation practices in children with chronic illnesses, including benefits vs risks associated with common sedative agents, potential complications which may arise following sedation among children with select comorbidities and determining GA vs sedation.
Sedation of Pediatric Patients with Organ Failure (21 Dec 2024)
The goal of this program is to improve management of sedation in children with organ failure.
Pulmonary Hypertension in Children (7 December 2023)
The goal of this program is to improve the management of paediatric pulmonary hypertension (PPH), including use of bosentan, use of the Potts shunt and use of milrinone in paediatric pulmonary hypertensive crisis.
New Drugs in Pediatric Anesthesia for 2023 (14 Sep 2023)
The goal of this program is to improve management of pediatric patients with new medications.
Pediatric Traumatic Brain Injury (28 August 2023)
The goal of this program is to improve management of traumatic brain injury (TBI) in children.
Pediatric Anesthesia and Ophthalmic Surgery: Comorbidities (28 Apr 2023)
This program aims to improve reduction of risk associated with ophthalmic surgery in the pediatric population, inlcuding assesing patients with sleep apnea, Sturge-Weber and Alport syndromes.
Neonatal and Infant Spinal Anesthesia (14 Apr 2023)
This program aims to improve delivery of spinal anaesthesia in infants.
Nuances of Infant Sedation (14 Mar 2023)
This program aims to improve outcomes and efficacy of infant sedation, and includes choosing an appropriate level of sedation, selecting an appropriate route of administration, and minimising risk for neurodevelopmental effects.
Using Informatics to Improve Outcomes in the Pediatric Patient (21 Apr 2023)
This program aims to improve outcomes in paediatric patients with the use of informatics.
Safety and Efficacy of Regional Anesthesia in Infants, Children, and Adolescents (28 Feb 2023)
This program aims to improve management of paediatric patients receiving nerve blocks, and includes ultrasonography-guided nerve blocks.
Pediatric Anesthesia and Ophthalmic Surgery: Anxiety and Postoperative Delirium (14 Feb 2023)
This program aims to improve management of preoperative anxiety and postoperative delirium in children.
Advanced Techniques for Pediatric Vascular Access (14 Nov 2022)
The program aims to improve paediatric vascular using advanced techniques including techniques for optimising ultrasonography-guided vascular access.
Update on Management of Postoperative Nausea and Vomiting in Children (28 Sep 2022)
This program aims to improve the management of postoperative nausea and vomiting (PONV) in children.
Emerging Concepts and Controversies in Pediatric Anesthesia (28 Jul 2022)
This program aims to improve the management of pediatric anesthesia and better manage complications with difficult airways in pediatric patients.
Reducing Perioperative Respiratory Adverse Events in Children (14 Jul 2022)
This program aims to improve prevention of perioperative respiratory adverse events in children by selecting safe modes of anesthesia delivery.
Update on Pediatric Advanced Life Support (7Jul 2022)
This program aims to improve pediatric advanced life support and the contrasting use of cuffed vs uncuffed endotracheal tubes in pediatric advanced life support.
Modern Updates to Anesthesia for Pediatric Imaging Studies (21 May 2022)
This program aims to improve practice of anaesthesia use during imaging studies in children.
Perioperative Considerations for the Adolescent Patient with Chronic Pain (14 May 2022)
This program aims to improve chronic pain management in adolescent patients, better interpret pain scores, and implement strategies to improve postoperative outcomes in teenage patients.
Cardiac Prescreen Concerns in Pediatric Sedation (14 Apr 2022)
This program aims to improve cardiac prescreening in pediatric sedation.
Update on Pediatric Trauma Anesthesiology (28 Feb 2022)
This program aims to improve patient outcomes in children who have sustained traumatic injuries.
Pediatric Airway Management: When One Size Does Not Fit All (7 Feb 2022)
This program aims to improve the management of pediatric airways, especially for pediatric patients at risk of difficult intubation.
Pediatric Cardiac Surgery (7 Feb 2022)
This program aims to improve the management of anaesthesia in patients with congenital cardiac defects.
Difficult Airways in Pediatric Patients (7 Dec 2021)
This program aims to improve the management of difficult airways in paediatric patients
Problematic Pediatric Cases (14 Sep 2021)
This program aims to improve anesthesia care and surgical outcomes in problematic pediatric cases
Anesthesia for the Pediatric Outpatient (21 Jul 2021)
The program aims to improve pre-, peri- and postoperative care in paediatric outpatient surgery (OS).
Managing the Pediatric Airway (28 May 2021)
This program aims to improve the management of airways in paediatric patients, and includes recognising risk factors, treating laryngospasm, and selecting appropriate endotracheal tubes.
Ensuring Appropriate Patient Selection for Ambulatory Surgery: A Case Study (28 Sep 2020)
This program aims to improve safety in outpatient surgery, and includes applying appropriate exclusionary criteria and protocols for the assessment of children.
Management of the Difficult Airway in Children (14 Jul 2020)
The following program aims to improve the management of difficult airways in children. Areas of interest include identifying airway management issues likely to occur in children and using clinical devices to manage pediatric airways.

Fully updated 2023/4 collection now available.

AudioDigest Anesthesiology Collection [App] This link opens in a new window
AudioDigest provides instant online and mobile access to 250+ accredited anaesthesiology, pain medicine and critical care audio lectures presented by experts from leading institutions, bringing clinicians a convenient continuing medical education (CME/CE) experience. Each lecture includes: objectives, pre-test Q&A, summary & readings, post-test Q&A, evaluation.

Free registration required to access
See our dedicated AudioDigest guide for more information including full registration and access details

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under the Knowledge and skills Learning sessions activity. Use the Audio-Digest My Transcript feature to track completed activities.