Perioperative medicine training resources: U2M4: Perioperative management plans

Leaders of a health service organisation set up and maintain systems and processes to support effective communication with patients, carers and families; between multidisciplinary teams and clinicians; and across health service organisations. The workforce uses these systems to effectively communicate to ensure safety.

Abstract
Opioids are a mainstay of acute pain management but can have many adverse effects, contributing to problematic long-term use. Opioid tolerance (increased dose needed for analgesia) and opioid-induced hyperalgesia (paradoxical increase in pain with opioid administration) can contribute to both poorly controlled pain and dose escalation. Hyperalgesia is particularly problematic as further opioid prescribing is largely futile. The mechanisms of opioid tolerance and hyperalgesia are complex, involving μ opioid receptor signalling pathways that offer opportunities for novel analgesic alternatives. The intracellular scaffold protein β-arrestin-2 is implicated in tolerance, hyperalgesia, and other opioid side-effects. Development of agonists biased against recruitment of β-arrestin-2 could provide analgesic efficacy with fewer side-effects. Alternative approaches include inhibition of peripheral μ opioid receptors and blockade of downstream signalling mechanisms, such as the non-receptor tyrosine kinase Src or N-methyl-D-aspartate receptors. Furthermore, it is prudent to use multimodal analgesic regimens to reduce reliance on opioids during the perioperative period. In the third paper in this Series we focus on clinical and mechanism-based understanding of tolerance and opioid-induced hyperalgesia, and discuss current and future strategies for pain management.

Abstract
Over the past decade there has been an increasing reliance on strong opioids to treat acute and chronic pain, which has been associated with a rising epidemic of prescription opioid misuse, abuse, and overdose-related deaths. Deaths from prescription opioids have more than quadrupled in the USA since 1999, and this pattern is now occurring globally. Inappropriate opioid prescribing after surgery, particularly after discharge, is a major cause of this problem. Chronic postsurgical pain, occurring in approximately 10% of patients who have surgery, typically begins as acute postoperative pain that is difficult to control, but soon transitions into a persistent pain condition with neuropathic features that are unresponsive to opioids. Research into how and why this transition occurs has led to a stronger appreciation of opioid-induced hyperalgesia, use of more effective and safer opioid-sparing analgesic regimens, and non-pharmacological interventions for pain management. This Series provides an overview of the epidemiology and societal effect, basic science, and current recommendations for managing persistent postsurgical pain. We discuss the advances in the prevention of this transitional pain state, with the aim to promote safer analgesic regimens to better manage patients with acute and chronic pain.

Abstract
Elective surgical pathways offer a particular opportunity to plan radical change in the way care is delivered, based on patient need rather than provider convenience. Peri-operative pathway redesign enables improved patient experience of care (including quality and satisfaction), population/public health, and healthcare value (outcome per unit of currency). Among physicians with the skills to work within peri-operative medicine, anaesthetists are well positioned to lead the re-engineering of such pathways. Re-engineered pre-operative pathways open up opportunities for intervention before surgery including shared decision-making, comorbidity management and collaborative behavioural change. Individualised, risk-adapted, intra-operative interventions will drive more reliable and consistent care. Risk-adapted postoperative care, particularly around transitions of care, has a significant role in improving value through peri-operative medicine. Improved integration with primary care providers offers the potential for minimising errors around transitions of care before and after surgery, as well as maximising opportunities for population health interventions, including lifestyle modification (e.g. activity/exercise, smoking and/or alcohol cessation), pain management and sleep medicine. Systematic data collection focused on quality improvement is essential to drive continuous clinical improvement and will be enabled by technological development in predictive analytics, systems modelling and artificial intelligence.

Abstract
Pain is a subjective and multidimensional experience that is often inadequately managed in clinical practice. Effective control of postoperative pain is important after anesthesia and surgery. A systematic review was conducted to identify the independent predictive factors for postoperative pain and analgesic consumption. The authors identified 48 eligible studies with 23,037 patients included in the final analysis. Preoperative pain, anxiety, age, and type of surgery were four significant predictors for postoperative pain. Type of surgery, age, and psychological distress were the significant predictors for analgesic consumption. Gender was not found to be a consistent predictor as traditionally believed. Early identification of the predictors in patients at risk of postoperative pain will allow more effective intervention and better management. The coefficient of determination of the predictive models was less than 54%. More vigorous studies with robust statistics and validated designs are needed to investigate this field of interest.

Abstract
We developed and validated a prediction rule for the occurrence of early postoperative severe pain in surgical inpatients, using predictors that can be easily documented in a preoperative setting. A cohort of surgical inpatients (n=1416) undergoing various procedures except cardiac surgery and intracranial neurosurgery in a University Hospital were studied. Preoperatively the following predictors were collected: age, gender, type of scheduled surgery, expected incision size, blood pressure, heart rate, Quetelet index, the presence and severity of preoperative pain, health-related quality of life the (SF-36), Spielberger's State-Trait Anxiety Inventory (STAI) and the Amsterdam Preoperative Anxiety and Information Scale (APAIS). The outcome was the presence of severe postoperative pain (defined as Numeric Rating Scale > or =8) within the first hour postoperatively. Multivariate logistic regression in combination with bootstrapping techniques (as a method for internal validation) was used to derive a stable prediction model. Independent predictors of severe postoperative pain were younger age, female gender, level of preoperative pain, incision size and type of surgery. The area under the receiver operator characteristic (ROC) curve was 0.71 (95% CI: 0.68-0.74). Adding APAIS scores (measures of preoperative anxiety and need for information), but not STAI, provided a slightly better model (ROC area 0.73). The reliability of this extended model was good (Hosmer and Lemeshow test p-value 0.78). We have demonstrated that severe postoperative pain early after awakening from general anesthesia can be predicted with a scoring rule, using a small set of variables that can be easily obtained from all patients at the preoperative visit. Before this internally validated preoperative prediction rule can be applied in clinical practice to support anticipatory pain management, external validation in other clinical settings is necessary.

Abstract
The chronic pain patient has certain distinctive features important for her/his perioperative management. Altered opioid sensitivity and behavior are the major points to be considered. The pre-anesthetic visit should therefore include questions regarding chronic pain and regular use of analgesics and coanalgesics, among others. Although a number of characteristics-including increased opioid demand, underreporting of pain, and non-compliance--are known, only a few specific recommendations are available, viz. adequate increase of opioid dose for analgesia, continuation of pre-operative opioids and coanalgesics to prevent withdrawal, and intensive education to strengthen the patient's coping potential. No differences between specific techniques for post-operative analgesia (e.g. systemic, patient-controlled or regional analgesia) have been shown so far.

Abstract
Worldwide, the use of prescription opioid analgesics more than doubled between 2001 and 2013, with several countries, including the USA, Canada, and Australia, experiencing epidemics of opioid misuse and abuse over this period. In this context, excessive prescribing of opioids for pain treatment after surgery has been recognised as an important concern for public health and a potential contributor to patterns of opioid misuse and related harm. In the second paper in this Series we review the evolution of prescription opioid use for pain treatment after surgery in the USA, Canada, and other countries. We summarise evidence on the extent of opioid overprescribing after surgery and its potential association with subsequent opioid misuse, diversion, and the development of opioid use disorder. We discuss evidence on patient, physician, and system-level predictors of excessive prescribing after surgery, and summarise recent work on clinical and policy efforts to reduce such prescribing while ensuring adequate pain control.

Abstract
Background: This is the second updated Enhanced Recovery After Surgery (ERAS®) Society guideline, presenting a consensus for optimal perioperative care in bariatric surgery and providing recommendations for each ERAS item within the ERAS® protocol.

Methods: A principal literature search was performed utilizing the Pubmed, EMBASE, Cochrane databases and ClinicalTrials.gov through December 2020, with particular attention paid to meta-analyses, randomized controlled trials and large prospective cohort studies. Selected studies were examined, reviewed and graded according to the Grading of Recommendations, Assessment, Development and Evaluation (GRADE) system. After critical appraisal of these studies, the group of authors reached consensus regarding recommendations.

Results: The quality of evidence for many ERAS interventions remains relatively low in a bariatric setting and evidence-based practices may need to be extrapolated from other surgeries.

Conclusion: A comprehensive, updated evidence-based consensus was reached and is presented in this review by the ERAS® Society.

Abstract
Background: Clinical pathways are structured multidisciplinary care plans used by health services to detail essential steps in the care of patients with a specific clinical problem. They aim to link evidence to practice and optimise clinical outcomes whilst maximising clinical efficiency.

Objectives: To assess the effect of clinical pathways on professional practice, patient outcomes, length of stay and hospital costs.

Search strategy: We searched the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE), the Effective Practice and Organisation of Care (EPOC) Register, the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) and bibliographic databases including MEDLINE, EMBASE, CINAHL, NHS EED and Global Health. We also searched the reference lists of relevant articles and contacted relevant professional organisations.

Selection criteria: Randomised controlled trials, controlled clinical trials, controlled before and after studies and interrupted time series studies comparing stand alone clinical pathways with usual care as well as clinical pathways as part of a multifaceted intervention with usual care.

Data collection and analysis: Two review authors independently screened all titles to assess eligibility and methodological quality. Studies were grouped into those comparing clinical pathways with usual care and those comparing clinical pathways as part of a multifaceted intervention with usual care.

Main results: Twenty-seven studies involving 11,398 participants met the eligibility and study quality criteria for inclusion. Twenty studies compared stand alone clinical pathways with usual care. These studies indicated a reduction in in-hospital complications (odds ratio (OR) 0.58; 95% confidence interval (CI) 0.36 to 0.94) and improved documentation (OR 13.65: 95%CI 5.38 to 34.64). There was no evidence of differences in readmission to hospital or in-hospital mortality. Length of stay was the most commonly employed outcome measure with most studies reporting significant reductions. A decrease in hospital costs/ charges was also observed, ranging from WMD +261 US$ favouring usual care to WMD -4919 US$ favouring clinical pathways (in US$ dollar standardized to the year 2000). Considerable heterogeneity prevented meta-analysis of length of stay and hospital cost results. An assessment of whether lower hospital costs contributed to cost shifting to another health sector was not undertaken.Seven studies compared clinical pathways as part of a multifaceted intervention with usual care. No evidence of differences were found between intervention and control groups.

Authors' conclusions: Clinical pathways are associated with reduced in-hospital complications and improved documentation without negatively impacting on length of stay and hospital costs.

Abstract
Background: Acute high-risk abdominal (AHA) surgery carries a very high risk of morbidity and mortality and represents a massive healthcare burden. The aim of the present study was to evaluate the effect of a standardized multidisciplinary perioperative protocol in patients undergoing AHA surgery.

Methods: The AHA study was a prospective single-centre controlled study in consecutive patients undergoing AHA surgery, defined as major abdominal pathology requiring emergency laparotomy or laparoscopy including reoperations after elective gastrointestinal surgery. Consecutive patients were included after initiation of the AHA protocol as standard care. The intervention cohort was compared with a predefined, consecutive historical cohort of patients from the same department. The protocol involved continuous staff education, consultant-led attention and care, early resuscitation and high-dose antibiotics, surgery within 6 h, perioperative stroke volume-guided haemodynamic optimization, intermediate level of care for the first 24 h after surgery, standardized analgesic treatment, early postoperative ambulation and early enteral nutrition. The primary outcome was 30-day mortality.

Results: Six hundred patients were included in the study and compared with 600 historical controls. The unadjusted 30-day mortality rate was 21·8 per cent in the control cohort compared with 15·5 per cent in the intervention cohort (P = 0·005). The 180-day mortality rates were 29·5 and 22·2 per cent respectively (P = 0·004).

Conclusion: The introduction of a multidisciplinary perioperative protocol was associated with a significant reduction in postoperative mortality in patients undergoing AHA surgery. NCT01899885 (http://www.clinicaltrials.gov).

Abstract
Identifying patients at risk is the start of adequate perioperative pain management. We aimed to identify preoperative predictors for acute postsurgical pain (APSP) and for pain at 3 months after surgery to develop prediction models. In a prospective observational study, we collected preoperative predictors and the movement-evoked numerical rating scale (NRS-MEP) of postoperative pain at day 1, 2, 3, 7, week 1, 6 and 3 months after surgery from patients with a range of surgical procedures. Regression analyses of data of 2258 surgical in- and outpatients showed that independent predictors for APSP using the mean NRS-MEP over the first three days after surgery were hospital admittance, female sex, higher preoperative pain, younger age, pain catastrophizing, anxiety, higher score on functional disability, highest categories of expected pain, medical specialty, unknown wound size, and wound size > 10 cm compared to wound size ≤ 10 cm (RMSE = 2.11). For pain at three months, the only predictors were preoperative pain and a higher score on functional disability (RMSE = 1.69). Adding pain trajectories improved the prediction of pain at three months (RMSE = 1.37). Our clinically applicable prediction models can be used preoperatively to identify patients at risk, as well as in the direct postoperative period.

Abstract
Modern healthcare is delivered by multidisciplinary, distributed healthcare teams who rely on effective teamwork and communication to ensure effective and safe patient care. However, we know that there is an unacceptable rate of unintended patient harm, and much of this is attributed to failures in communication between health professionals. The extensive literature on teams has identified shared mental models, mutual respect and trust and closed-loop communication as the underpinning conditions required for effective teams. However, a number of challenges exist in the healthcare environment. We explore these in a framework of educational, psychological and organisational challenges to the development of effective healthcare teams. Educational interventions can promote a better understanding of the principles of teamwork, help staff understand each other's roles and perspectives, and help develop specific communication strategies, but may not be sufficient on their own. Psychological barriers, such as professional silos and hierarchies, and organisational barriers such as geographically distributed teams, can increase the chance of communication failures with the potential for patient harm. We propose a seven-step plan to overcome the barriers to effective team communication that incorporates education, psychological and organisational strategies. Recent evidence suggests that improvement in teamwork in healthcare can lead to significant gains in patient safety, measured against efficiency of care, complication rate and mortality. Interventions to improve teamwork in healthcare may be the next major advance in patient outcomes.

Abstract
Quantitative testing of a patient's basal pain perception before surgery has the potential to be of clinical value if it can accurately predict the magnitude of pain and requirement of analgesics after surgery. This review includes 14 studies that have investigated the correlation between preoperative responses to experimental pain stimuli and clinical postoperative pain and demonstrates that the preoperative pain tests may predict 4-54% of the variance in postoperative pain experience depending on the stimulation methods and the test paradigm used. The predictive strength is much higher than previously reported for single factor analyses of demographics and psychologic factors. In addition, some of these studies indicate that an increase in preoperative pain sensitivity is associated with a high probability of development of sustained postsurgical pain.