There are six (6) units of study, which define the POM specialty knowledge and skills. Each unit has been subdivided into a series of key themes and modules comprised of recommended guidelines, readings, texts and videos.
How to access e-resources
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser, and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Technical support" via the college contact form
Want to learn more about SSO/MFA at ANZCA? See Protecting your data for more information, including instructions on how to set up MFA/SSO.
Experiencing difficulties, or need help? Contact the Library
Unit of study 1: Preoperative assessment - Index
ANZCA professional documents
Recommended professional documents are listed below. The full suite of ANZCA professional documents can be accessed via the college page.
Suggested texts
Core Topics in Preoperative Anaesthetic Assessment and Management by
Part of the popular Core Topics series, this book provides a practical guide to pre-operative assessment for consultants and trainee anaesthetists. Chapters cover comprehensive evidence-based guidance for assessing and managing patients with particular conditions, as well as perioperative risk stratification and challenges of pre-assessment.
Frail and Elderly Hospital Patients The Challenge of Participation in Medical Decision Making by 
Frailty in Older Adults with Cancer by
This book summarizes evidence on frailty and ageing, how this may impact patient outcomes and how frailty can be assessed, managed and incorporated in the decision-making process for older patients with cancer. The book aims to: empower clinical teams to assess and support older cancer patients with frailty, ideally within a multidisciplinary setting; and to improve the selection of older cancer patients to the most appropriate management/treatment strategies in order to improve the outcomes of this group of patients often underrepresented in research. The reader will learn the methods available for assessing frailty, such as screening tools, but also how to perform different geriatric assessments covering the different key components (physical, nutritional, social, psychological, etc.). The book also provides information on how to manage and intervene on frailty with the role of pre-habilitation and re-habilitation, how to set-up specialised teams and pathways within one's hospital and community for these older cancer patients with frailty. Finally, the management of this challenging group of patients according to the cancer type is discussed in detail, alongside with mapping the unmet research needs and future directions in this field.
Pre-Operative Assessment by
This book uses a case-based approach to provide current information on a range of medical issues with the goal of enhancing preoperative evaluation and optimization. It meets the market need for a resource that concisely encapsulates current knowledge on the medical management of specific topics in a setting relevant to the preoperative clinic. In so doing the book aims to improve patient care and safety, enhance resource use, facilitate appropriate and timely management of pre-existing conditions and diminish patient concerns.
Preoperative Assessment and Management, 3e by
This latest edition of Preoperative Assessment and Management offers up-to-date, concise, and comprehensive information for anyone who performs preoperative assessments on patients. With a practical, no-nonsense writing style, it provides fast, efficient answers on evaluating patients with neurological, cardiac, renal, endocrine, metabolic, hematologic, musculoskeletal, and other disorders; administering medications; and more.
Preoperative Optimization of the Chronic Pain Patient: Enhanced Recovery Before Surgery by
Preoperative Optimization of the Chronic Pain Patient is a ground-breaking collaborative effort written by medical and psychological experts in the field of pain management with a specific interest in the perioperative arena. The modern emphasis on biopsychosocial-spiritual care is as important here as anywhere in medicine as comprehensive mind-body preparation is essential to optimize outcomes.
Telemedicine: Overview and Application in Pulmonary, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine by
This book provides an overview of key issues with regards to implementing telemedicine services as well as an in depth overview of telemedicine in pulmonary, critical care, and sleep medicine. Topics range from specific practices to program development. Telemedicine has experienced explosive growth in recent years and yet, implementing telemedicine solutions is complex with substantial regulatory, legal, financial, logistical, and intra-organization/intra-personal barriers that must be overcome. This book provides the necessary information and guidance to address those complex issues. This book is broadly divided into two parts 1) a primer on requisite steps before embarking on telemedicine service development and 2) specific applications and examples where telemedicine is successfully utilized to improve quality of care in pulmonary, critical care, and sleep medicine. The first part includes coverage of telemedicine and finance, regulatory and legal issues, and program development. The second part delves into specifics with information on ambulatory telemedicine programs, inpatient consultations, and tele-ICU programs. All chapters are written by interprofessional authors that are leaders in the field of telemedicine with extensive knowledge of diverse telemedicine programs and robust real-world experience on the topic. This is an ideal guide for telehealth program managers, and pulmonary, critical care, and sleep medicine professionals interested in improving their telehealth practice.
Telemedicine in the ICU by
This text provides a concise, yet comprehensive overview of telemedicine in the ICU. Written by experts in the field, Telemedicine in the ICU is a practical guide for intensive care physicians and hospital administrators that provides all the information necessary in building and maintaining a successful tele-ICU program.
The college acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present and emerging.
The college acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Te Tiriti o Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.
The college recognises the special relationship between the Pacific peoples of New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific, and is committed to supporting those fellows and trainees of ANZCA, and improving the health of Pacific peoples.
Library
