Perioperative medicine training resources: U1M6 Assessment of frailty

Frailty is a condition characterised by loss of biological reserve, failure of physiological mechanisms and vulnerability to a range of adverse outcomes including increased risk of morbidity, mortality and loss of independence in the perioperative period.

Abstract
Background: Frailty is considered highly prevalent in old age and to confer high risk for falls, disability, hospitalization, and mortality. Frailty has been considered synonymous with disability, comorbidity, and other characteristics, but it is recognized that it may have a biologic basis and be a distinct clinical syndrome. A standardized definition has not yet been established.

Methods: To develop and operationalize a phenotype of frailty in older adults and assess concurrent and predictive validity, the study used data from the Cardiovascular Health Study. Participants were 5,317 men and women 65 years and older (4,735 from an original cohort recruited in 1989-90 and 582 from an African American cohort recruited in 1992-93). Both cohorts received almost identical baseline evaluations and 7 and 4 years of follow-up, respectively, with annual examinations and surveillance for outcomes including incident disease, hospitalization, falls, disability, and mortality.

Results: Frailty was defined as a clinical syndrome in which three or more of the following criteria were present: unintentional weight loss (10 lbs in past year), self-reported exhaustion, weakness (grip strength), slow walking speed, and low physical activity. The overall prevalence of frailty in this community-dwelling population was 6.9%; it increased with age and was greater in women than men. Four-year incidence was 7.2%. Frailty was associated with being African American, having lower education and income, poorer health, and having higher rates of comorbid chronic diseases and disability. There was overlap, but not concordance, in the cooccurrence of frailty, comorbidity, and disability. This frailty phenotype was independently predictive (over 3 years) of incident falls, worsening mobility or ADL disability, hospitalization, and death, with hazard ratios ranging from 1.82 to 4.46, unadjusted, and 1.29-2.24, adjusted for a number of health, disease, and social characteristics predictive of 5-year mortality. Intermediate frailty status, as indicated by the presence of one or two criteria, showed intermediate risk of these outcomes as well as increased risk of becoming frail over 3-4 years of follow-up (odds ratios for incident frailty = 4.51 unadjusted and 2.63 adjusted for covariates, compared to those with no frailty criteria at baseline).

Conclusions: This study provides a potential standardized definition for frailty in community-dwelling older adults and offers concurrent and predictive validity for the definition. It also finds that there is an intermediate stage identifying those at high risk of frailty. Finally, it provides evidence that frailty is not synonymous with either comorbidity or disability, but comorbidity is an etiologic risk factor for, and disability is an outcome of, frailty. This provides a potential basis for clinical assessment for those who are frail or at risk, and for future research to develop interventions for frailty based on a standardized ascertainment of frailty.

PMID: 32384342 DOI: 10.1213/ANE.0000000000004785
Abstract
Anesthetists are increasingly faced with the challenge of delivering perioperative care to frail older people. Patients with frailty undergoing surgical intervention are at a significantly increased risk of perioperative complications, mortality, and longer length of stay. Moreover, frailty is often associated with multimorbidity and a range of geriatric syndromes including functional dependency, cognitive impairment, and malnutrition which further increases risk and complexity of care. There is a growing body of evidence that prehabilitation-intervention delivered during the preoperative period to improve overall health and function-can improve postoperative outcomes for patients undergoing surgery. However, whether this vulnerable population stand to benefit from prehabilitation is less clear. We review the evidence for prehabilitation for patients with frailty including whether the risks associated with and outcomes from surgery can be modified through comprehensive geriatric assessment.

Abstract
Importance: Frailty is a common geriatric syndrome of significant public health importance, yet there is limited understanding of the risk of frailty development at a population level.

Objective: To estimate the global incidence of frailty and prefrailty among community-dwelling adults 60 years or older.

Data sources: MEDLINE, Embase, PsycINFO, Web of Science, CINAHL Plus, and AMED (Allied and Complementary Medicine Database) were searched from inception to January 2019 without language restrictions using combinations of the keywords frailty, older adults, and incidence. The reference lists of eligible studies were hand searched.

Study selection: In the systematic review, 2 authors undertook the search, article screening, and study selection. Cohort studies that reported or had sufficient data to compute incidence of frailty or prefrailty among community-dwelling adults 60 years or older at baseline were eligible.

Data extraction and synthesis: The methodological quality of included studies was assessed using The Joanna Briggs Institute's Critical Appraisal Checklist for Prevalence and Incidence Studies. Meta-analysis was conducted using a random-effects (DerSimonian and Laird) model.

Main outcomes and measures: Incidence of frailty (defined as new cases of frailty among robust or prefrail individuals) and incidence of prefrailty (defined as new cases of prefrailty among robust individuals), both over a specified duration.

Results: Of 15 176 retrieved references, 46 observational studies involving 120 805 nonfrail (robust or prefrail) participants from 28 countries were included in this systematic review. Among the nonfrail individuals who survived a median follow-up of 3.0 (range, 1.0-11.7) years, 13.6% (13 678 of 100 313) became frail, with the pooled incidence rate being 43.4 (95% CI, 37.3-50.4; I2 = 98.5%) cases per 1000 person-years. The incidence of frailty was significantly higher in prefrail individuals than robust individuals (pooled incidence rates, 62.7 [95% CI, 49.2-79.8; I2 = 97.8%] vs 12.0 [95% CI, 8.2-17.5; I2 = 94.9%] cases per 1000 person-years, respectively; P for difference < .001). Among robust individuals in 21 studies who survived a median follow-up of 2.5 (range, 1.0-10.0) years, 30.9% (9974 of 32 268) became prefrail, with the pooled incidence rate being 150.6 (95% CI, 123.3-184.1; I2 = 98.9%) cases per 1000 person-years. The frailty and prefrailty incidence rates were significantly higher in women than men (frailty: 44.8 [95% CI, 36.7-61.3; I2 = 97.9%] vs 24.3 [95% CI, 19.6-30.1; I2 = 8.94%] cases per 1000 person-years; prefrailty: 173.2 [95% CI, 87.9-341.2; I2 = 99.1%] vs 129.0 [95% CI, 73.8-225.0; I2 = 98.5%] cases per 1000 person-years). The incidence rates varied by diagnostic criteria and country income level. The frailty and prefrailty incidence rates were significantly reduced when accounting for the risk of death.

Conclusions and relevance: Results of this study suggest that community-dwelling older adults are prone to developing frailty. Increased awareness of the factors that confer high risk of frailty in this population subgroup is vital to inform the design of interventions to prevent frailty and to minimize its consequences.

Abstract
Background: Recommendations for routine frailty screening in general practice are increasing as frailty prevalence grows. In England, frailty identification became a contractual requirement in 2017. However, there is little guidance on the most effective and practical interventions once frailty has been identified.

Aim: To assess the comparative effectiveness and ease of implementation of frailty interventions in primary care.

Design and setting: A systematic review of frailty interventions in primary care.

Method: Scientific databases were searched from inception to May 2017 for randomised controlled trials or cohort studies with control groups on primary care frailty interventions. Screening methods, interventions, and outcomes were analysed in included studies. Effectiveness was scored in terms of change of frailty status or frailty indicators and ease of implementation in terms of human resources, marginal costs, and time requirements.

Results: A total of 925 studies satisfied search criteria and 46 were included. There were 15 690 participants (median study size was 160 participants). Studies reflected a broad heterogeneity. There were 17 different frailty screening methods. Of the frailty interventions, 23 involved physical activity and other interventions involved health education, nutrition supplementation, home visits, hormone supplementation, and counselling. A significant improvement of frailty status was demonstrated in 71% (n = 10) of studies and of frailty indicators in 69% (n=22) of studies where measured. Interventions with both muscle strength training and protein supplementation were consistently placed highest for effectiveness and ease of implementation.

Conclusion: A combination of muscle strength training and protein supplementation was the most effective intervention to delay or reverse frailty and the easiest to implement in primary care. A map of interventions was created that can be used to inform choices for managing frailty.

Abstract
This article reviews the current state of knowledge regarding the epidemiology of frailty by focusing on 6 specific areas: (1) clinical definitions of frailty, (2) evidence of frailty as a medical syndrome, (3) prevalence and incidence of frailty by age, gender, race, and ethnicity, (4) transitions between discrete frailty states, (5) natural history of manifestations of frailty criteria, and (6) behavior modifications as precursors to the development of clinical frailty.

Abstract
Background: The demands for health care services from the frail elderly individuals in the community continue to increase, which will exert a tremendous burden on health care costs. However, little is known regarding the magnitude of these impacts. In this study, we performed a systematic review and meta-analysis of the evidence to explore the impact of frailty on health care costs among community-dwelling older adults.

Materials and methods: Relevant published articles were searched from PubMed, Embase, Web of Science, the Cochrane Library, China National Knowledge Infrastructure (CNKI), Chinese Science and Technology Journal Full-text Database (VIP), Wanfang Database, Chinese Biomedical Literature Database (CBM), and the reference lists of articles. Published cohort or cross-sectional studies assessing the impacts of frailty on health care costs among community-dwelling older adults were identified (to June 2020). The outcomes on health care costs before and after baseline were stratified by frailty status.

Results: A total of 7 cohort studies comprised of a total of 3,750,611 participants were included in our study. Our analyses showed that: (1) compared with the robust group, health care costs increased by $79-13,423.83 (standardized mean difference, SMD = 0.22, 95% Confidence interval, 95% CI, 0.22-0.22; P < 0.00001) in the pre-frail elderly and by $616-32,549.96 (SMD = 0.55, 95% CI, 0.44-0.67; P < 0.00001) in the frail elderly in the community. A significantly higher in the increase of health care costs was observed in the frail group compared with the pre-frail group(SMD = 0.35, 95% CI, 0.19-0.51; P < 0.0001); (2) the frailty phenotype components increased the health care costs of the elderly in community (weight loss: $1,630-6,209, SMD = 0.43, 95% CI, 0.17-0.69; P = 0.001; weakness: $275-7,586, SMD = 0.24, 95% CI, 0.08-0.40; P = 0.001; exhaustion: $1,545-10,559, SMD = 0.31, 95% CI, 0.13-0.49; P = 0.0006; slowness: $352-1,1891, SMD = 0.40, 95% CI = 0.14-0.65; P = 0.003; low physical activity: $512-3,459, SMD = 0.26, 95% CI, 0.16-0.36; P < 0.00001); (3) the increase in the frailty index was parallel with the increase in health care costs by $12,363-21,066 (SMD = 0.41, 95% CI, 0.29-0.53; P < 0.00001).

Conclusions and implications: This study revealed the adverse economic impacts of frailty status, frailty phenotype components, and frailty index on health care costs in community-dwelling older adults. Future research is warranted to investigate costs incurred by interventions to improve frailty, which will provide further insights into additional health care costs due to frailty.

Abstract
Frailty is the most problematic expression of population ageing. It is a state of vulnerability to poor resolution of homoeostasis after a stressor event and is a consequence of cumulative decline in many physiological systems during a lifetime. This cumulative decline depletes homoeostatic reserves until minor stressor events trigger disproportionate changes in health status. In landmark studies, investigators have developed valid models of frailty and these models have allowed epidemiological investigations that show the association between frailty and adverse health outcomes. We need to develop more efficient methods to detect frailty and measure its severity in routine clinical practice, especially methods that are useful for primary care. Such progress would greatly inform the appropriate selection of elderly people for invasive procedures or drug treatments and would be the basis for a shift in the care of frail elderly people towards more appropriate goal-directed care.

Abstract
Objectives: To compare the validity of a parsimonious frailty index (components: weight loss, inability to rise from a chair, and poor energy (Study of Osteoporotic Fractures (SOF) index)) with that of the more complex Cardiovascular Health Study (CHS) index (components: unintentional weight loss, low grip strength, poor energy, slowness, and low physical activity) for prediction of adverse outcomes in older men.

Design: Prospective cohort study.

Setting: Six U.S. centers.

Participants: Three thousand one hundred thirty-two men aged 67 and older.

Measurements: Frailty status categorized as robust, intermediate stage, or frail using the SOF index and criteria similar to those used in CHS index. Falls were reported three times for 1 year. Disability (>or=1 new impairments in performing instrumental activities of daily living) ascertained at 1 year. Fractures and deaths ascertained during 3 years of follow-up. Analysis of area under the receiver operating characteristic curve (AUC) statistics compared for models containing the SOF index versus those containing the CHS index.

Results: Greater evidence of frailty as defined by either index was associated with greater risk of adverse outcomes. Frail men had a higher age-adjusted risk of recurrent falls (odds ratio (OR)=3.0-3.6), disability (OR=5.3-7.5), nonspine fracture (hazard ratio (HR)=2.2-2.3), and death (HR=2.5-3.5) (P<.001 for all models). AUC comparisons revealed no differences between models with the SOF index and models with the CHS index in discriminating falls (AUC=0.63, P=.97), disability (AUC=0.68, P=.86), nonspine fracture (AUC=0.63, P=.90), or death (AUC=0.71 for model with SOF index and 0.72 for model with CHS index, P=.19).

Conclusion: The simple SOF index predicts risk of falls, disability, fracture, and mortality in men as well as the more-complex CHS index.

Abstract
Background: Both frailty and postoperative delirium (POD) are common in elective surgical patients 65 years of age and older. However, the association between preoperative frailty and POD remains difficult to characterize owing to the large number of frailty and POD assessment tools used in the literature, only a few of which are validated. Furthermore, some validated frailty tools fail to provide clear score cutoffs for distinguishing frail and nonfrail patients. We performed a meta-analysis to estimate the relationship between preoperative frailty and POD.

Methods: We searched several major databases for articles that investigated the relationship between preoperative frailty and POD in patients with mean age ≥65 years who were undergoing elective, nonemergent inpatient surgery. Inclusion criteria included articles published in English no earlier than 1999. Both preoperative frailty and POD must have been measured with validated tools using clear cutoff scores for frailty and delirium. Articles were selected and data extracted independently by 2 researchers. Risk of bias (ROBINS-I) and presence of confounders were summarized. Odds ratios (ORs) for POD associated with frailty relative to nonfrailty were computed with adjusted ORs when available. Original estimates were pooled by random effects analysis. Statistical significance was set at 2-sided P < .05.

Results: Nine studies qualified for meta-analysis. The Fried score or a modified version of it was used in 5 studies. Frailty prevalence ranged from 18.6% to 56%. Delirium was assessed with the Confusion Assessment Method (CAM) or Confusion Assessment Method for the Intensive Care Unit (CAM-ICU) in 7 studies, Delirium Observation Scale in 1 study, and Intensive Care Delirium Screening Checklist in 1 study. The incidence of POD ranged from 7% to 56%. ROBINS-I risk of bias was low in 1 study, moderate in 4 studies, serious in 3 studies, and critical in 1 study. Random effects analysis (n = 794) of the OR for POD in frail versus nonfrail patients based on adjusted OR estimates was significant with an OR of 2.14 and a 95% confidence interval of 1.43-3.19. The I2 value was in the low range at 5.5, suggesting small variability from random effects. Funnel-plot analysis did not definitively support either the presence or absence of publication bias.

Conclusions: This meta-analysis provides evidence for a significant association between preoperative frailty and POD in elective surgical patients age 65 years or older.

Abstract
Few studies have focused on frailty as a predictor of mortality and readmission among inpatients in the acute care setting, especially over long follow-up periods. We conducted this study to determine the impact of the frailty on subsequent mortality and readmission in this setting. This study was a prospective observational study conducted in the acute geriatric wards, with a three-year follow-up duration. We assessed frailty via the 36-item Frailty Index (FI), and a cut-off value of 0.25 was used to identify the presence or absence of frailty. We collected survival and readmission information through telephone interviews at 12, 24, and 36 months. We used the Cox regression model to examine the association between frailty and outcomes interested (death and readmission). The present study included 271 patients (mean age: 81.1 years old; 20.3% females), of whom 21.4% died during the 3-year follow-up period. One hundred and thirty-three patients (49.1%) were identified as being frail. The prevalence of frailty was similar in men and women (46.8% vs.58.2%, P = 0.130). Compared with non-frail patients, death and hospital readmission rates of frail patients were increased. Frailty was an independent predictor of 3-year death (adjusted hazard ratio (HR): 2.09; 95% confidence interval (CI): 1.20 to 3.63) and readmission (adjusted HR: 1.40; 95% CI: 1.04 to 1.88) after adjusting for several potential confounders. Frailty is prevalent among older inpatients and is a valuable predictor of 3-year mortality and hospital readmission in an acute care setting.

Abstract
Comprehensive geriatric assessment is an established clinical approach. It reduces mortality and improves the physical wellbeing of older people in the community or hospitalised for medical reasons. Pre-operative comprehensive geriatric assessment seems a plausible method for reducing adverse postoperative outcomes. The objectives of this systematic review and narrative synthesis are to describe how pre-operative comprehensive geriatric assessment has been used in surgical patients and to examine the impact of comprehensive geriatric assessment on postoperative outcomes in older patients undergoing scheduled surgery. We searched MEDLINE, EMBASE and Web of Science from 1980 to 2013 (week 26). We included five studies: two randomised controlled trials and three before-and-after intervention quasi-experimental studies. Patient populations, interventions and outcome measures varied between studies. Both the randomised trials showed benefit on postoperative outcomes, including medical complications. Two of the before-and-after studies reported a positive impact on postoperative length of stay and other outcomes. The heterogeneity of study methods, populations, interventions and outcomes precluded meta-analysis. Based on this narrative synthesis, pre-operative comprehensive geriatric assessment is likely to have a positive impact on postoperative outcomes in older patients undergoing elective surgery, but further definitive research is required. Clinical services providing pre-operative comprehensive geriatric assessment for older surgical patients should be considered.

Abstract
Background: There is no single generally accepted clinical definition of frailty. Previously developed tools to assess frailty that have been shown to be predictive of death or need for entry into an institutional facility have not gained acceptance among practising clinicians. We aimed to develop a tool that would be both predictive and easy to use.

Methods: We developed the 7-point Clinical Frailty Scale and applied it and other established tools that measure frailty to 2305 elderly patients who participated in the second stage of the Canadian Study of Health and Aging (CSHA). We followed this cohort prospectively; after 5 years, we determined the ability of the Clinical Frailty Scale to predict death or need for institutional care, and correlated the results with those obtained from other established tools.

Results: The CSHA Clinical Frailty Scale was highly correlated (r = 0.80) with the Frailty Index. Each 1-category increment of our scale significantly increased the medium-term risks of death (21.2% within about 70 mo, 95% confidence interval [CI] 12.5%-30.6%) and entry into an institution (23.9%, 95% CI 8.8%-41.2%) in multivariable models that adjusted for age, sex and education. Analyses of receiver operating characteristic curves showed that our Clinical Frailty Scale performed better than measures of cognition, function or comorbidity in assessing risk for death (area under the curve 0.77 for 18-month and 0.70 for 70-month mortality).

Interpretation: Frailty is a valid and clinically important construct that is recognizable by physicians. Clinical judgments about frailty can yield useful predictive information.