This page contains the various e-books recommended throughout the rest of this guide.
For exam-specific texts, please refer to the assessment tab.
How to access e-books
Use your ANZCA college ID (or staff username) and password to access library e-resources.
Having trouble logging into e-resources? Try emptying your browser cache, closing and reopening your browser and trying again.
Forgotten your ANZCA password? Try resetting your password using the "Forgot Password?" link and/or messaging the "Technical support" via the college contact form
Can't find your book online? Borrow a print copy or request a chapter via our article request service
Experiencing difficulties, or need help accessing e-books? Contact the Library
For further information about searching and accessing e-books, see the E-books guide
Borrowing books
ANZCA library provides access to a large range of print items, specialising in anaesthesia and pain medicine-related titles.
For further information about requesting books, see the Borrowing books page
Recommended training texts
Useful resources to help with your training.
ANZCA Course in Perioperative Medicine handbook by 
ANZCA Course in Perioperative Medicine curriculum by 
A Framework for Perioperative Care in Australia and New Zealand by
This document is primarily aimed at equipping medical staff for their role within the perioperative medicine team (see below) and for the interactions with surgeon’s and primary care doctors. It provides a high-level resource for those creating, leading and improving perioperative medical teams.
Standards for Perioperative Medicine by
The purpose of this document is to articulate standards and associated indicators of quality care against which performance can be compared.
Recommended texts
Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z, 6e by
The alphabetical arrangement with extensive cross-referencing ensures a full understanding of topics. The succinct and clear text and diagrams'make for easy quick reference. The exam preparation checklist is ordered by key topics to facilitate effective revision. The contents are easily accessible with the accompanying ebook.
Anaesthetic and Perioperative Complications by
Anaesthetic and Perioperative Complications dissects the nature of complications and helps anaesthetists and anaesthetic practitioners understand, avoid and manage them efficiently. Leading experts combine the detailed clinical management of common and important anaesthetic and perioperative complications with discussion of the key philosophical, ethical and medico-legal issues that arise with assessing a medical complication.
Anesthesia and Perioperative Care of the High-Risk Patient, 3e by
The fully updated third edition of this popular handbook provides a concise summary of perioperative management of high-risk surgical patients. Written by an international group of senior clinicians, chapters retain the practical nature of previous editions, with concise text in a bulleted format offering rapid access to key facts and advice.
A Case Approach to Perioperative Drug-Drug Interactions by
The occurrence of deleterious or even fatal drug-drug interactions (DDIs) in the perioperative period is no longer a theoretical concern but a harrowing reality. A Case Approach to Perioperative Drug-Drug Interactions addresses the complex realm of pharmacokinetic drug interactions in an easy-to-read volume that functions as both a comprehensive clinical reference and a casebook.
Core Topics in Preoperative Anaesthetic Assessment and Management by
Part of the popular Core Topics series, this book provides a practical guide to pre-operative assessment for consultants and trainee anaesthetists. Chapters cover comprehensive evidence-based guidance for assessing and managing patients with particular conditions, as well as perioperative risk stratification and challenges of pre-assessment.
Decision Making in Perioperative Medicine: Clinical Pearls by
Decision Making in Perioperative Medicine: Clinical Pearls focuses on the critical process of assessing and managing patients with medical comorbidities undergoing surgical procedures. It provides preoperative validated risk assessment tools and mitigation strategies for identified comorbidities. Emphasizing risk factors and filled with clinical pearls for postoperative complications, this thorough, expertly written resource covers perioperative medication management; cardiac, pulmonary, and frailty risk indices with modification strategies; diabetes management using target-specific anticoagulants; and challenging perioperative cases.
Patient Safety and Quality Improvement in Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine by
An accessible and richly illustrated guidebook to the most important methodologies and frameworks for improving safety and quality, written specifically for clinicians in anaesthesia and perioperative medicine. The book begins with chapters on design and the use of simulation to set the stage for successful quality improvement (QI) efforts before providing an in-depth look at the individual tools, reporting and use of databases. The following chapters then discuss the use of these tools and theories in practical projects. Finally, the book considers the difficult topic of people, communication and behaviour, importantly addressing the human factors that can make or break QI efforts. The book skilfully blends expert knowledge and valuable examples from years of experience and trials from varied providers to demonstrate the successful paths to improve patient outcomes. For clinicians, nurses and trainees in anaesthesia and perioperative medicine seeking tools and strategies to lead and participate in QI projects.
External resources
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Patient Care Guideline by 
Hauora : Report on Stage One of the Health Services and Outcomes Kaupapa Inquiry. New edition with final recommendations. by 
Perioperative care in adults: [D] Evidence review for preoperative optimisation clinics in older adults; NICE guideline NG180 by 
Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans, 2e by 
Providing Inclusive Services and Care for LGBT People. A Guide for Healthcare Staff. by
Providing Inclusive Services and Care for LGBT People has been developed to help all members of the health care team provide an inclusive and affirmative environment for all clients, with a focus on lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) people.
Creating an inclusive environment in which health care conversations are more comfortable for the patient is an important goal for all health care staff. All patients deserve access to high quality health care; in health care organizations, both front-line staff and clinicians must be prepared to serve people of all races, ethnicities, religions, ages, and backgrounds.
Self-care and Health: By All, For All. Learning from COVID-19 by 
Self-care for Health: A National Policy Blueprint by 
Writing Themselves in 4 : The Health and Wellbeing of LGBTQA Young People in Australia : National Report by
This report describes findings from Writing Themselves In 4: a national survey of health and wellbeing among LGBTQA+ young people in Australia. Writing Themselves In 4 involved an online survey of people living in Australia aged between 14 and 21 years who identified as LGBTIQA+. The survey was open for completion between 2 September and 28 October 2019. Summaries of the data broken down at the state and territory level are available for Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, South Australia, Victoria. Chapters 3 to 14 of this report provide an overview of key findings across the entire sample of Writing Themselves In 4 and, where possible, a breakdown of responses by gender and sexuality. In Chapters 16 to 18, we replicate some of the analyses reported in earlier chapters, to show how responses to certain questions relating to health and wellbeing vary for participants who reported disability, those living in different parts of their state (i.e. metropolitan, rural, and remote locations) and those from ethnically diverse backgrounds. In addition to presenting results to questions that were asked only of trans and gender diverse young people, Chapter 15 also provides a similar breakdown of findings according to whether non-binary participants had been assigned male or female sex at birth.
Quick links
About ANZCA
Connect with us
ANZCA
FPM
Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.
Library
