Skip to main content

Keeping current: Create alerts

This page suggests options for setting up 'alerts', which are a way of staying up-to-date with your interests by automating your searches for particular terms or subscribing to different 'feeds'.  Examples of these are subscribing to electronic/online journal table of contents (eTOCs) or blogs, and saving searches from databases/apps - then being notified when new articles are released on a topic.

Google alerts

Google alerts are a great tool for research, as you can set an alert so that Google searches the web regularly on a topic, gathering hits from a range of sources (including news sources, videos and blogs).

With Google alerts you can get the most relevant and new Google search results on topics/keywords/searches of your choice, delivered directly to your email address. All you need is a Google account, which you can set up here, and then to set up an alert on the Google alerts webpage

For support/instructions on how to create a Google alert, please visit this support site

Research reviews

NEJM Specialty Update emails

Sign up for one or more of the 20 monthly specialty email alerts from NEJM. Offering a convenient way to scan and access recently-published original research, review articles, case reports, and other valuable NEJM content important to you and your practice.

Specialties include:

  • Allergy/Immunology
  • Cardiology
  • Dermatology
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Endocrinology
  • Gastroenterology
  • Genetics
  • Geriatrics/Aging
  • Health Policy and Reform
  • Hematology/Oncology
  • Infectious Disease
  • Nephrology
  • Neurology/Neurosurgery
  • Obstetrics/Gynecology
  • Pediatrics
  • Primary Care/Hospitalist
  • Psychiatry
  • Pulmonary/Critical Care
  • Rheumatology
  • Surgery

To set up alerts:

  1. Login to NEJM
  2. Create a free account
  3. Access the My Account > Alert page from the menu
  4. Select your preferred Content Alerts and Specialty Update options
  5. Select your Email Preferences
  6. Click the Save Changes button
  7. You should receive an e-mail every time a NEW issue to released or an article is added to NEJM that matches your selected specialty.

Self-managed alerts

Want to manage your own alerts?

Then check out the Apps & podcasts tab for information on the Read by QxMD and BrowZine apps!

Ovid MEDLINE alerts

It is possible to save both a search strategy in Ovid MEDLINE (for later re-use), and to utilise that search as the basis of a search alert.

Please Note: These features require that the user have a personal account in Ovid MEDLINE so you can access My Workspace (see the dedicated info box for further details).

  1. Login to Ovid MEDLINE
  2. Create a search/search strategy
  3. Select the search lines you wish to retain in your alert
  4. Click on the Save button directly underneath the Search History and log into your personal account
  5. Enter a Search Name and Comment and ensure that you select ‘AutoAlert’ from the ‘Type’ dropdown list.
    Note: We recommend the subject search for the Search Name field and your full name in the Comment field.
  6. Choose the Scheduling and Delivery options to suit you, including the delivery option of e-mail or RSS.
  7. Click on the Save button when complete - you should receive an e-mail/RSS alert every time an article is added to the database that matches your search

For more videos like this, visit the OvidWoltersKluwer channel on YouTube

PubMed alerts

It is possible to save both a search strategy in PubMed (for later re-use), and to utilise that search as the basis of a search alert.

Please Note: These features require that the user have a personal account in PubMed so you can access MyNCBI:

  1. Login to PubMed
  2. Click ‘Save Search’ beside the search box.
  3. A pop-up box will appear. Register for a MyNCBI account or log-in if already registered.
  4. Select the option to receive e-mail alerts and then fill in the details.
  5. You should receive an e-mail every time an article is added to the database that matches your search.

Read by QxMD Notifications/alerts

It is possible to set up the Read by QxMD app to send alerts/notifications based on a whole range of settings, including publication of articles related to chosen specialties, journals, collections and keywords.

  1. Sign into the Read by QxMD app and select the Settings cog (top corner)
  2. Select the Settings cog (top-right corner)
  3. Under Content Settings:
    • Select one of the following:
      • Specialties to Follow
      • Journals to Follow
      • Collections to Follow
      • Keywords to Follow
    • Search/select/enter your specialty(-ties)/journals(s)/collection(s)/keywords for which you would like to set up alerts/notifications
    • Click Done (or tick) when complete
  4. Under Account Settings, select App Settings & Information (or App Settings on Android)
  5. The following settings can be adjusted:
    • Automatic PDF Download
    • Download Finished Notification
    • Color Code Papers by Paper Type
    • Attach PDF when Emailing Papers
    • Notification Settings: Push & Email Notifications [*recommended]
      • New articles from journals you've subscribed to*
      • New articles from collections you've subscribed to
      • New articles from keywords you've subscribed to
      • Landmark new research
      • General notifications
      • Updates on Read
      • Updates on QxMD news, software updates and the latest information on our products, services and partners
      • This Week's Most Read Papers*
      • Weekly Update
      • New comment on paper's I'm interested in
      • New follower for my shared collection
      • New comment on papers in my collection
      • Trending papers*
    • Click Done (or tick) when complete

Blogs

Blogging is an easy way of disseminating one's thoughts and ideas over the internet. Doctors increasingly are using blogs to share information with their colleagues and patients are blogging to share their experiences. 

Blogging resources:

Examples of anaesthesia related blogs:

CPD Credit: Journals

Table of contents alerts (TOCs)

Self-service TOCs & RSS feeds

Setting up your own journal TOCs by email:

  1. Find the journal from the ANZCA Library journal list, and click through to the website (authentication may be required) 
  2. Depending on the publisher, look for a link such as ‘Register for TOC Alerting’, ‘eTOC subscription’ or ‘Email alerts’ and register your details
  3. Once you have confirmed your registration, you should start to receive the latest Table of Contents for your journals of interest via email as soon as they are published online
  4.  

You can select RSS feeds from your favourite journals as well. 

  1. Find the journal from the ANZCA Library journal list, and click through to the website (authentication may be required) 
  2. Look for the RSS icon
  3. You can proceed through to the link, and copy the address into your feed reader or app, or even link it to your email. For example, see these instructions on how to subscribe to RSS in Outlook.

​JournalTOCs Tables of Contents service

The ​JournalTOCs Tables of Contents service allows you to keep up-to-date with newly published journal articles by enabling you to browse, view, save, and search across thousands of journal tables of contents from hundreds of publishers. 

Free registration on this site allows users to create a customised list of their most important and favorite journals, and includes export options such as email alerts, RSS feeds, and formats for bibliographic managers. Note: there is a limit of 30 journal titles that can be followed.

ANZCA Library TOCs service

If you would like to receive certain Table of Contents alerts from the Library to your email, you can email library@anzca.edu.au and request this service.

RSS feed readers and apps

RSS (Really Simple Syndication) is a method of receiving the latest information from websites and blogs. It is easiest to understand once it has been set-up so have a play around with it.

An example of a medically themed RSS feed provider is MedWorm, which is a medical RSS feed provider as well as a search engine built on data collected from RSS feeds. It then provides new outgoing RSS feeds on various medical categories that you can subscribe to via any RSS reader of your choice. Find out more on their website.

Below are some links to information about RSS feed readers, and recommended apps for smart phones and tablets (there are also links about how to use RSS on your computer). 

Metajournal

  • Metajournal is another way to stay informed about the highest quality and most personally relevant medical research related to your specialty. It is both a personalised and curated weekly email, and an online tool for exploring this research/evidence.
  • Metajournal allows you to save, favourite and share the papers that you find most interesting – knowing that you will always be able to come back to review them at any time in the future, safely kept in your metajournal account. Follow other metajournal users sharing your interests to keep abreast of views and shifting practice within your specialty's community.

​Metajournal has (https://www.metajournal.com/) created a seamless link from the app to the full-text article in ANZCA Library resources (using your College ID and password).


ANZCA acknowledges the traditional custodians of Country throughout Australia and recognises their unique cultural and spiritual relationships to the land, waters and seas and their rich contribution to society. We pay our respects to ancestors and Elders, past, present, and emerging.

ANZCA acknowledges and respects Māori as the Tangata Whenua of Aotearoa and is committed to upholding the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi, fostering the college’s relationship with Māori, supporting Māori fellows and trainees, and striving to improve the health of Māori.