Library resource guides: Keeping current: Apps &amp; podcasts

Guide index

Related guides

Apps

Wellbeing apps

Podcasts

Related websites

iMedicalApps (reviews of medical apps & healthcare technology)

iTunes (medical category)

Google Play (medical category)

ANZCA & FPM CPD

ANZCA & FPM CPD [App] This link opens in a new window
Designed for ANZCA and FPM fellows and continuing professional development (CPD) participants, the CPD Portfolio App streamlines the management of your CPD portfolio. From logging activity on-the-go, to real-time progress monitoring, this app makes staying up to date with your CPD requirements easier than ever.

ANZCA & FPM CPD (iOS/Apple)
ANZCA & FPM CPD (Android/Google Play)
ANZCA: CPD app FAQs We've collated answers to frequently asked questions (FAQs) from CPD participants.
ANZCA: Setting up SSO and MFA

Read by QxMD

Read by QxMD [App] This link opens in a new window
Read by QxMD aims to provide a single place to keep up with new medical & scientific articles.

It is easy to set-up, employs an alerts-based approach to notifications, and displays content in the style of a personalised digital journal.

Includes full-text access to all subscribed ANZCA journal content, and the ability to request articles for non-subscribed content. For CPD participants it also includes a downloadable credits/time spent certificate.

Recommendation: This app is ideal for tracking newly-published articles and claiming time spent for CPD purposes.

See our dedicated Read by QxMD guide for more information including full access details

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under Knowledge and skills journal reading activity.

BrowZine

BrowZine [App] This link opens in a new window
BrowZine is a mobile app for tablets and smart phones that allows you to access and browse e-journals from different publishers in one simple interface.

It is easy to set-up, defaults to PDF format for reading purposes, and journals can be browsed by both title and subject categories. Includes full-text access to all subscribed ANZCA journal content.

Recommendation: The perfect “armchair-reading” app for catching up with your favourite journals. Users are also able to create a user profile and save PDFs for offline use/bookmark articles for CPD purposes.

See our dedicated BrowZine guide for more information including full access details

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under Knowledge and skills journal reading activity.

ClinicalKey

ClinicalKey [App] This link opens in a new window
The ClinicalKey app provides access to the Australian version of ClinicalKey, allowing ANZCA fellows and trainees to access e-books, journals and a range of other resources.

See our dedicated ClinicalKey app guide for further information including full access details.

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under Knowledge and skills journal reading activity. Use the CME feature to earn and track completed activities (local profile required).

ANZCA social media

Faculty of Pain Medicine (FPM) social media:

Podcasts

Podcasts are audio-only 'episodes', which you can subscribe to through many smart phone apps, or listen to them on your computer, even download them in an appropriate format to listen to in your car on your daily commute.

They are an easy way to stay informed in your area of interest while you are on the move, or simply doing other things.

ANZCA: Podcasts Library Guide
This guide displays podcasts related to anaesthesia, pain medicine and other areas that might be useful to medical professionals.

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under the Knowledge and skills Learning sessions activity.

AudioDigest (Audio lectures)

Fully updated 2023/4 collection now available.

AudioDigest Anesthesiology Collection [App] This link opens in a new window
AudioDigest provides instant online and mobile access to 250+ accredited anaesthesiology, pain medicine and critical care audio lectures presented by experts from leading institutions, bringing clinicians a convenient continuing medical education (CME/CE) experience. Each lecture includes: objectives, pre-test Q&A, summary & readings, post-test Q&A, evaluation.

Free registration required to access
See our dedicated AudioDigest guide for more information including full registration and access details

CPD Value: CPD participants may claim this under the Knowledge and skills Learning sessions activity. Use the Audio-Digest My Transcript feature to track completed activities.